#### AGENDA

## Senate Committee on Agriculture, Forestry, and Economic Development House Committee on Agriculture, Forestry, and Economic Development Meeting Jointly

## Thursday, May 24, 2018 10:00 AM 3 Statehouse Plaza, Fulton Room, Statehouse Convention Center Little Rock, Arkansas

Sen. Ronald Caldwell, Chair Sen. John Cooper, Vice-Chair Sen. Jonathan Dismang Sen. Jane English Sen. Bruce Maloch Sen. Eddie Cheatham Sen. Blake Johnson Sen. David Wallace Rep. Dan M. Douglas, Chair Rep. David Hillman, Vice-Chair Rep. Stephen Meeks Rep. Lane Jean Rep. Matthew J. Shepherd Rep. Bruce Cozart Rep. Scott Baltz Rep. Mark D. McElroy Rep. Stephen Magie Rep. Ken Bragg

Rep. David Whitaker Rep. Ron McNair Rep. Mary Bentley Rep. Rick Beck Rep. Dan Sullivan Rep. Karilyn Brown Rep. Mathew W. Pitsch Rep. Jack Fortner Rep. Fred Allen

#### A. Call to Order / Remarks

- 1. Senator Ronald Caldwell, Co-Chairman
- 2. Representative Dan Douglas, Co-Chairman
- B. Consideration to Approve the December 5, 2017, Meeting Minutes [EXHIBIT B]
- C. Review of Proposed Regulations on Soil Amendment [EXHIBIT C]
  - Mr. Terry Walker, Director, Arkansas State Plant Board
- D. Update on Big River Steel
  - Mr. Mike Preston, Executive Director, Arkansas Economic Development Commission
- E. Presentation on Arkansas Agriculture Issues and Concerns
  - Mr. Wes Ward, Secretary of Agriculture, Arkansas Agriculture Department
- F. Update on the University of Arkansas, Division of Agriculture, Cooperative Extension Services
  - 1. Dr. Mark Cochran, Vice President for Agriculture, Division of Agriculture, University of Arkansas
  - 2. Dr. Wayne Miller, Professor, Community and Economic Development, University of Arkansas
- G. Other Business
- H. Adjournment

# \*Refreshments available to all in attendance

- Note: All exhibits for this meeting are available by electronic means and are accessible on the General Assembly's website at <u>www.arkleg.state.ar.us</u>
- Notice: Silence your cell phones. Keep your personal conversations to a minimum. Observe restrictions designating areas as 'Members and Staff Only'.