TENTATIVE AGENDA

Senate Committee on City, County and Local Affairs, House Committee on City, County and Local Affairs, Joint **Committee on Public Retirement & Social Security Programs, House Committee on State Agencies and Governmental Affairs, Senate Committee on State Agencies** and Governmental Affairs **Meeting Jointly**

Tuesday, November 17, 2009 01:30 PM

Economic Opportunity Commission (EOC) - 1400 North Division Blytheville, Arkansas

Sen. Steve Faris. Chair Sen. Sue Madison. Chair Sen. Gene Jeffress, Chair Sen. Gilbert Baker, Vice Chair Sen. Robert Thompson, Vice Chair Sen. Johnny Key, Vice Chair Sen. Jimmy Jeffress

Sen. Ed Wilkinson Sen. Steve Bryles Sen. Kim Hendren Sen. Jim Luker Sen. Tracy Steele Sen. Randy Laverty Sen. Bobby Glover Sen. Bill Pritchard Sen. Paul Bookout Sen. Jack Crumbly Sen. David Johnson Sen. Cecile Bledsoe Sen. David Wyatt Sen. Joyce Elliott

Rep. George Overbey, Chair Rep. Rick Saunders. Chair Rep. Tommy Lee Baker, Chair Rep. Eddie Cheatham, Vice Chair Rep. Toni Bradford, Vice Chair Rep. Mark Perry, Vice Chair Rep. Nancy Duffy Blount Rep. Beverly Pyle Rep. Otis Davis Rep. Lindsley Smith Rep. Bill Sample Rep. Ray Kidd Rep. David Cook Rep. Steve Harrelson Rep. Kathy Webb Rep. Gene Shelby Rep. Ed Garner

Rep. Clark Hall Rep. Donna Hutchinson Rep. Larry Cowling Rep. Randy Stewart Rep. Steven Breedlove Rep. Dan Greenberg Rep. Duncan Baird Rep. Tim Summers

Rep. Johnnie Roebuck

Rep. James Word Rep. Andrea Lea

Rep. Jonathan Dismang

Rep. Les "Skip" Carnine Rep. Garry Smith Rep. Butch Wilkins Rep. Uvalde Lindsey Rep. Linda Tyler Rep. Darrin Williams Rep. Karen Hopper Rep. Steve Cole Rep. Davy Carter

Rep. James McLean Rep. Tiffany Rogers Rep. Barbara Nix Rep. John Edwards Rep. John Burris Rep. Mary Slinkard

Rep. Jim Nickels, Non-Voting Rep. Jody Dickinson, Non-Voting Rep. Jane English, Non-Voting Rep. Eddie Cooper, Alternate Rep. J. R. Rogers, Alternate Rep. David Dunn, Alternate Rep. Robert Dale, Alternate

Rep. Allen Kerr, Alternate

A. Call to Order at 1:30 p.m.

B. Approval of Minutes—August 12-13, 2009 [Exhibit B, B-1]

Notice: Silence your cell phones. Keep your personal conversations to a minimum. Observe restrictions designating areas as "Members and Staff Only"

- C. Opening Welcome by Representative Tommy Baker, Chair, House Interim Committee on City, County, & Local Affairs
- D. Welcome and Remarks by local officials
 - 1. County Judge Steve Maguire, Mississippi County
 - 2. Mayor Barrett Harrison, City of Blytheville
 - 3. Mayor Dickie Kennemore, City of Osceola
- E. Overview of the operation of the Mississippi County Arkansas Economic Opportunity Commission (MCAEOC)
 - 1. Mr. Sam Scruggs, Executive Director, MCAEOC
 - 2. Question by Committee Members
- F. Bus tour highlighting various manufacturing plants and organizations in Mississippi County. Potential site visits are:
 - 1. Arkansas Aeroplex (a multi-modal transportation facility located at the former Eaker Air Force Base at Gosnell)
 - 2. Nucor-Yamato Steel Co. and Nucor Steel-Hickman
 - 3. American Greetings Manufacturing-Osceola
 - 4. Denso Manufacturing Arkansas, Inc. (DMAR)
 - 5. Plum Point Energy Station (a coal-fired power plant)
- G. Adjournment