AGENDA Senate Committee on State Agencies and Governmental Affairs House Committee on State Agencies and Governmental Affairs Meeting Jointly

Wednesday, September 19, 2012 01:30 PM Room 171, State Capitol Little Rock, Arkansas

- Sen. Sue Madison, Chair Sen. Gilbert Baker, Vice Chair Sen. Kim Hendren Sen. Bill Pritchard Sen. Paul Bookout Sen. Robert Thompson Sen. David Johnson Sen. Johnny Key
- Rep. Clark Hall, Chair Rep. Mary L. Slinkard, Vice Chair Rep. Eddie L. Cheatham Rep. Ed Garner Rep. Johnnie J. Roebuck Rep. Donna Hutchinson Rep. Larry Cowling Rep. Tracy Pennartz Rep. Duncan Baird Rep. Debra M. Hobbs Rep. Andrea Lea Rep. Butch Wilkins Rep. Linda S. Tyler

Rep. Karen S. Hopper Rep. Ann V. Clemmer Rep. Jim Nickels Rep. James McLean Rep. Tiffany Rogers Rep. Nate Steel Rep. John T. Vines Rep. Jane English, Non-Voting Rep. Stephen Meeks, Non-Voting Rep. Greg Leding, Non-Voting Rep. Fredrick J. Love, Non-Voting Rep. Reginald Murdock, Non-Voting Rep. Leslee Milam Post, Non-Voting

A. Call to Order

- B. Approval of Minutes from August 23, August 24, August 25, 2012, and August 30, 2012
- C. Interim Study Proposal 2011-178 by Senator Johnson To study the current status of children of incarcerated parents and the caregivers for the children left behind by examining the laws, policies, procedures, rules, programs, training, benefits, and funding available for improving the outcomes for these children and their caregivers and make recommendations for improving the outcomes for this population.
 - 1. Senator David Johnson, Sponsor
 - 2. Testimony by State Agency Personnel
 - a. Department of Health, Stephanie Williams, Director of the Center for Health Advancement
 - b. Department of Human Services, Cecile Blucker, DCFS Director and Marilyn Strickland, Chief Operating Officer of the Division of Medical Services
 - c. Department of Workforce Services, Artee Williams, Director and Phil Harris, Administrator
 - d. Department of Education, Tony Wood, Deputy Commissioner
 - e. Arkansas Public Defender Commission, Scott Turner, Coordinator
 - f. Department of Correction, Ray Hobbs, Director and Dina Tyler, Deputy Director
 - g. Department of Community Correction, Myra Woolfolk, Treatment Administrator for Residential Services

Notice: Silence your cell phones. Keep your personal conversations to a minimum. Observe restrictions designating areas as "*Members and Staff Only*"

3. Other Testimony

- a. Dee Ann Newell, Executive Director, Arkansas Voices for the Children left Behind
- b. Susan D. Phillips, PhD, Sentencing Project
- c. Kathy Russell, PhD, Dean of Social Work, Pacific Lutheran University
- 4. Committee Discussion
- D. Other Business
- E. Adjournment