

MINUTES

Senate Committee on State Agencies and Governmental Affairs
House Committee on State Agencies and Governmental Affairs
Meeting Jointly
Thursday, August 19, 2021
1:00 P.M.
Room A, MAC
Little Rock, Arkansas

Committee members present: Senators Jason Rapert, Chair; Bob Ballinger, Breanne Davis, Jane English and Clarke Tucker; Representatives Dwight Tosh, Chair; Justin Gonzales, Vice Chair; Rick Beck, Bruce Cozart, Gary Deffenbaugh, Spencer Hawks, Lane Jean, Jack Ladyman, Fredrick J. Love, Stephen Meeks, Marcus E. Richmond, Nelda Speaks, and Jeff Wardlaw

Other members present: Senators Linda Chesterfield, Alan Clark, Jonathan Dismang, Joyce Elliott, Kim Hammer, Jimmy Hickey, and Mark Johnson; Representatives Fred Allen, Mary Bentley, Stan Berry, Marsh Davis, Denise Ennett, Kenneth B. Ferguson, Charlene Fite, Vivian Flowers, Jack Fortner, Denise Garner, Joe Jett, Mark Lowery, Tippi McCullough, Ron McNair, Milton Nicks, Aaron Pilkington, David Ray, Johnny Rye, Matthew J. Shepherd, Keith Slape, and DeAnn Vaught

Senator Jason Rapert called the meeting to order.

Approval of Minutes for the June 23, 2020, November 13, 2020, June 8, 2021, and August 9, 2021 Meetings [Exhibits B1-B4]

Senator English made a motion to approve the minutes, seconded by Representative Jack Ladyman, and the motion carried.

Consideration of a Motion to Authorize the Chairs to Approve Special Expenses Incurred by the House and Senate Committees on State Agencies and Governmental Affairs

Without objection, the motion to authorize the chairs to approve special expenses incurred by the House and Senate committees on State Agencies and Governmental Affairs was approved.

Overview of Redistricting [Exhibit D]

Mr. Matthew Miller, Assistant Director, Legal Division, Bureau of Legislative Research (BLR), and Ms. Michelle Davenport, Legislative Attorney, Legal Division, BLR, presented an overview of redistricting.

Discussion of Election Technology Study [Exhibit E]

Representative Stephen Meeks, District 67, discussed his proposals for improving the integrity and transparency of elections using biometric technology and a system of unique ballot identification numbers for study as directed by Act 421.

Renaming of the Law and Public Policy Professorship [Exhibit F]

Ms. Theresa Beiner, Dean, William H. Bowen School of Law, and Mr. Robert Steinbuch, Professor of Law, William H. Bowen School of Law, discussed the renaming of the Public Policy Professorship and the contention the professorship has created within the institution.

Discussion of the Arkansas Folk and Traditional Arts: Arkansas Drag Community Oral History Project

Mr. Randy Massanelli, Vice Chancellor for Government and Community Relations, University of Arkansas at Fayetteville, discussed the purpose of the University Libraries Special Collections and the reason for moving the Arkansas Drag Community Oral History Project to Special Collections.

Consideration for Adoption of Interim Study Proposals (ISPs) [Exhibits H1-H10] The sponsors of 2021-070, 2021-083, and 2021-087 requested their ISPs be deferred to a later meeting. Without objection, ISPs 2021-005, 2021-031, 2021-046, 2021-047, 2021-096, 2021-097, and 2021-106 were adopted.

With no further business, the meeting adjourned at 3:00 p.m.