MINUTES

HOUSE & SENATE INTERIM COMMITTEES ON STATE AGENCIES AND GOVERNMENTAL AFFAIRS

November 19, 2012

The Senate and House State Agencies and Governmental Affairs Interim Committees met on Monday, November 19, 2012 at 1:30 p.m. in Room 171, of the State Capitol in Little Rock, Arkansas.

Members in Attendance

The following members attended: Senators Sue Madison, Chair; Kim Hendren, and Johnny Key. Representatives Clark Hall, Chair; Duncan Baird, Ann Clemmer, Jane English, Ed Garner, Stephen Meeks, Jim Nickels, Linda Tyler, John Vines, Butch Wilkins, and Marshall Wright.

Other Members in Attendance: Senators Jonathan Dismang, Mike Fletcher, Jimmy Jeffress, and Eddie Joe Williams. Representatives Jonathan Barnett, Nate Bell, Lori Benedict, John Burris, John Catlett, Jody Dickinson, David Fielding, Billy Gaskill, Sheilla Lampkin, Homer Lenderman, Buddy Lovell, Walls McCrary, Betty Overbey, Mike Patterson, James Ratliff, Garry Smith, Randy Stewart, and Tommy Wren.

The Interim Committees on State Agencies and Governmental Affairs were called to order by Representative Clark Hall.

Remarks By Chairs

Representative Hall briefly reviewed highlights of the meeting at Flippin, Arkansas for the members who were unable to attend. Next he introduced the following members-elect who were present at today's meeting: Representatives-Elect John Hutchison, Joe Jett, and Chris Richey.

Approval of The Minutes from September 26 & 27, 2012 Meetings (EXHIBITS C1 & C2)

Representative Hall stated that without objection, the minutes were approved.

Overview of the Arkansas Tobacco Settlement Commission

Faye Shepherd, Executive Director, Arkansas Tobacco Settlement Commission (ATSC), presented an overview of the operations of the Arkansas Tobacco Settlement Commission (*Handout #1*). In 2001 the Tobacco Settlement Proceeds Act of 2000 was established. It is funded through the Master Settlement Agreement (MSA) that was signed by all the states of the U.S. and the major tobacco companies. The handout lists the members of the commission and the commission's purpose. Ms. Shepherd listed the goals of the ATSC as follows:

- To reduce tobacco use which in turn, reduces negative health & economic impacts
- To expand access to health care
- To develop new tobacco-related medical & agricultural research initiatives
- To improve Arkansas health care systems & access to health care delivery systems

Seven programs were created to achieve the aforementioned goals:

- The Tobacco Prevention & Cessation Program (TPCP)
- Medicaid Expansion
- Arkansas Biosciences Institute
- The Delta AHEC
- The College of Public Health (COPH)
- Arkansas Minority Health Initiative
- Arkansas Aging Initiative

The Tobacco Prevention & Cessation Program (TPCP) has the same goals as the CDC, and the Quitline is the most successful part of the TPCP. Arkansas's quit rates are the highest in the country, with high school student smoking rates having decreased by 50%. All of the above-mentioned programs have met their goals and went beyond.

Representative Ann Clemmer wanted to know the process the TPCP uses for determining their statistical data they use for their reports. Ms. Shepherd said she would get that information from the external evaluator, the Rand Corporation, and send it to Representative Clemmer.

Representative Hall asked the leader of each of the seven Tobacco Settlement Commission programs to give a brief description of their program. Ms. Shepherd said that funding is decreasing each year and if it continues at this same rate, this funding will not last until the projected date of 2025.

Representative Hall said the next meeting will be December 20, 2012 per Senator Johnny Key's request to make a presentation to this committee. Representative Larry Cowling will also be making a presentation.

The meeting was adjourned at 2:42 p.m.

