

MINUTES JOINT COMMITTEE ON ENERGY

Thursday, October 26, 2023 9:30 AM

ARDOT District 3 Headquarters, 2911 Highway 29 North, Interstate 30, Exit 31 Hope, Arkansas

Committee members present: Senators Ben Gilmore, Co-Chair; Matt McKee, Vice-Chair and Mark Johnson; Representatives Rick Beck, Co-Chair; Steve Hollowell, Wayne Long, Ron McNair and Danny Watson

Other members present: Senators Linda Chesterfield, Steve Crowell and Fredrick Love; Representatives Stephen Meeks and David Ray

Representative Beck called the meeting to order.

Consideration of a Motion to Approve the Meeting Minutes [Exhibits B1-B2]

Representative McNair made a motion to approve the minutes for July 6, 2023, and July 7, 2023, seconded by Representative Watson, and the motion carried.

Consideration to Adopt Interim Study Proposal (ISP) 2023-016 by Representative Denise Ennett to Create the Advanced Energy Jobs Task Force [Exhibit C]

Senator Johnson made a motion to adopt the ISP 2023-016, seconded by Representative Watson, and the motion carried.

Discussion on Energy Issues – Past and Present [HANDOUTS 1-2]

Mr. William Ball, Chief Executive Officer, Natural Environments Inc., reviewed past developments in renewable energy policy and driving factors. He stated his goal of providing useful information for future discussions.

Introduction to Electrical Power and Overview of Power Plant Operations – Turk Power Plant [HANDOUT 3]

Mr. Tim Gross, Plant Manager, John W. Turk, Jr. Power Plant, provided an overview of coal generation and discussed the power plant operations.

Mr. Bradley Hardin, Manager, Government Affairs, American Electric Power, briefly explained the history of the Southwestern Electric Power Company.

With no further business, the meeting adjourned at 11:00 a.m.