AGENDA (Revised 7/30/13 at 3:45 p.m.) Joint Performance Review Committee

Thursday, August 01, 2013 09:30 AM Room A, MAC Little Rock, Arkansas

Sen. Jane English, Chair

Sen. Uvalde Lindsey, Vice Chair

Sen. David Wyatt

Sen. Larry Teague

Sen. Jason Rapert

Sen. Keith Ingram

Sen. Jon Woods

Sen. Jimmy Hickey

Sen. David J. Sanders

Sen. Bryan King

Rep. Terry Rice, Chair

Rep. James Ratliff, Vice Chair

Rep. Debra M. Hobbs

Rep. Jody Dickinson

Rep. Nate Steel

Rep. Charlie Collins

Rep. Tommy Wren

Rep. Bruce Westerman

Rep. Justin T. Harris

Rep. Jon S. Eubanks

Rep. Douglas House

Rep. Harold Copenhaver

Rep. Mark Lowery

Rep. Randy Alexander

Rep. Josh Miller

Rep. Richard Womack

Rep. Bob Ballinger

Rep. Wes Wagner

Rep. Warwick Sabin

Rep. Brent Talley

A. Call to Order.

- B. Approval of Minutes—July 11, 2013 [Exhibit B]
- C. Opening Comments by Representative Rice and Senator English, JPR Co-Chairs
- D. Discussion of Status of Petition to Obtain Arkansas Department of Community Correction (DCC) Records Concerning Darrell Dennis by Court Order
 - Committee Discussion of Authorizing Co-Chairs to Take Action Regarding Appeal of Court Order if Necessary
 - 2. Committee Action—Motion
- E. Review with Discussion of Files Obtained from the Arkansas Department of Community Correction Relating to the Darrell Dennis matter [Handout-Part 1-2]
 - 1. Sheila Sharp, Interim Director, Arkansas Department of Community Correction
 - 2. Veter Howard, Chief Deputy Director
 - 3. Dan Roberts, Deputy Director, Parole/Probation
 - 4. Arzo Johnson, Parole Officer, Arkansas Department of Community Correction
 - 5. Damian McNeal, Deputy Director for Parole/Probation
 - 6. Violet Renee, Assistant Area Manager, Area 7-Little Rock
 - 7. Jim Cheek, Assistant Area Manager, Area 7-Little Rock
 - 8. Shawanna Willis, Assistant Area Manager
 - 9. Kristie Baker, Probation/Parole Agent
 - 10. Debra James, Parole/Probation Officer II, Area 7-Little Rock
 - 11. Questions by Committee Members

Page 1 of 2

- F. Ohio Risk Assessment System (ORAS)—Discussion of Occurrences of Removal, Erasures, Alterations of Critical Incidents Reports and Other Documents / Record Retention Schedule [Exhibit F]
 - 1. Sheila Sharp, Interim Director, Arkansas Department of Community Correction
 - 2. Dan Roberts, Deputy Director, Parole/Probation, DCC
 - 3. Damian McNeal, Deputy Director for Parole/Probation
 - 4. Phillip Collins, Information Technology Administrator, DCC
 - 5. Dickey Johnson, Administrator, Internal Affairs, DCC
 - 6. Nicholas Stewart, Information Services Coordinator, DCC
 - 7. Jay Winters, Director, Arkansas Crime Information Center (ACIC)
 - 8. Questions by Committee Members
- G. Overview of the Technical Violators Program (TVP) [Exhibit G, G-1, and CD]
 - 1. Sheila Sharp, Interim Director, Arkansas Department of Community Correction
 - 2. Dan Roberts, Deputy Director, Parole/Probation, DCC
 - 3. Questions by Committee Members
- H. Discussion of Arkansas Parole Procedures and Policies
 - 1. Office of the Prosecutor Coordinator / State Prosecutors
 - 2. Ronnie Baldwin, Executive Director, Arkansas Sheriffs' Association
 - 3. Boyce Hamlet, Arkansas State Council for Interstate Commission of Adult Offenders
 - 4. Bilenda Harris-Ritter, Crime Victim and former Commissioner on the California Board of Parole Hearings Commission
 - 5. Questions by Committee Members
- I. Administrative Review—Rule Changes, Ongoing Investigations, etc.
 - 1. Sheila Sharp, Interim Director, Arkansas Department of Community Correction
 - 2. Benny Magness, Chair, and Dr. Mary Parker, Vice Chair, Board of Corrections
 - 3. John Felts, Chairman, Arkansas Parole Board
 - 4. Questions by Committee Members
- J. Discussion of the JPR Committee's Subpoena Powers for Persons, Documents, and Records
 - 1. Comments by Senator English and Representative Rice, Co-Chairs
 - 2. Committee Discussion
 - 3. Committee Action—Motion for Issuance of Subpoenas
- K. Next JPR Committee Meeting—September 19, 2013 at 9:30 a.m. Room A, MAC Building
- L. Other Business
- M. Adjournment