

# MINUTES JOINT PERFORMANCE REVIEW COMMITTEE

Tuesday, October 24, 2023 1:30 PM Room A, MAC Little Rock, Arkansas

Committee members present: Senators Kim Hammer, Co-Chair; Jonathan Dismang, and Dan Sullivan; Representatives David Ray, Vice-Chair; Brandon Achor, Mary Bentley, Rebecca Burkes, Cindy Crawford, Les D. Eaves, Tony Furman, Jimmy Gazaway, Ashley Hudson, Kendra Moore, Marcus E. Richmond, Jamie Scott, Tara Shephard, Joy Springer, and Carlton Wing

Other members present: Senators Jane English and Mark Johnson; Representatives Keith Brooks, Nicole Clowney, Denise Jones Ennett, Tippi McCullough, Stephen Meeks, Jay Richardson, Johnny Rye, and Dwight Tosh

Senator Hammer called the meeting to order.

## Consideration to Approve the August 29, 2023, Meeting Minutes [Exhibit B]

Representative Bentley made a motion to approve the minutes, seconded by Representative Eaves, and the motion carried.

#### Discussion of the Arkansas Library Association (ArLA)

Carol Coffey, President, ArLA, was not in attendance.

### Discussion of Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion (DEI) Policies, Origins, and Effects

Jon Schweppe, Director of Policy and Government Affairs, American Principles Project, gave an overview of DEI programs.

# Discussion of Wastewater Permits Issued by the Division of Environmental Quality (DEQ) in the Mill Bayou and Lake Maumelle Watersheds in West Pulaski County [Exhibit E]

Richard H. Mays, Attorney, Richard Mays Law Firm PLLC; Kristy Eanes, Former Commissioner, Pulaski County Planning Board; and Christina Centofante, Member, Pinnacle Mountain Community Coalition; discussed their concerns regarding the Arkansas Department of Environmental Quality (ADEQ). Lauren Ballard, Chief of Staff, Arkansas Department of Energy and Environment, and Caleb Osborne, DEQ Director and Chief Administrator of the Environment, ADEQ, gave an update regarding the wastewater permits and addressed concerns of Pulaski County watersheds.

With no further business, the meeting adjourned at 4:20 p.m.