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Sexual Assault Reimbursement Program
Relationship with medical facility

Crime Victims Reparations Board
Relationship with victim/eligible claimant



i Revenue

Assessment of court costs and fees
Court ordered restitution

Victims of Crime Act — VOCA Grant



Sexual Assault Reimbursement
i Program

Arkansas Code Annotated
12-12-401 - 12-12-405

Collection of forensic evidence following a
sexual assault



i Eligibility Criteria
Treatment within 96 hours
(may be waived for good cause, minors excluded)

* Must be reported to law enforcement

* No pre-existing or physical injury

* No federally financed benefit programs



i Eligible Expenses

 Emergency room or facility fee
* Physician or SANE fee
e L_ab fees

e Preventive medications for STDs
and pregnancy

 Sedative or tranquilizer

« Ambulance fee



Maximum Limits

v

* Facility fee (including medications)
 Physician or SANE fee

 Ambulance fee

o Lab fees (priority to outside facilities)

 Colposcopy fee

$350.00
$350.00
$350.00

$200.00

$160.88



Program

i Sexual Assault Reimbursement

Arkansas Code Annotated
12-12-403

Payment in full and bars any legal action
Agalinst victim of sexual assault



i Not Eligible

e Treatment for pre-existing or
physical injuries

e Counseling

* Follow-up visits



i Reimbursement Process

« Complete Sexual Assault
Reimbursement Form

o Attach itemized statement



Serving Victims of

Violent
Crime

The Arkansas Crime Victims Reparations Board
was enacted by the Arkansas Legislature in 1987 to
provide financial compensation to victims of violent
crime.



Crime Victims Reparations

i Board

Arkansas Code Annotated
16-90-701 - 16-90-718

Compensation for victims of violent crime
Effective date: July 1, 1988



i Who qualifies as a claimant?

e Avictim
* A dependent of a homicide victim

A person authorized to act on behalf of
the victim

Does not include a service provider



+

Who qualifies as a
victim?



i Who qualifies as a victim?

*Personal injury or death as a result of a
criminal act

*Personal injury or death as a result of an
act of terrorism

*Resided in the permanent residence of a
homicide victim



i Who qualifies as a victim?

Discovers body of a homicide victim
Minor child of an eligible victim

lmmediate family member of a homicide
victim, sexual assault victim, or minor child
victim



i Immediate Family Member

e Spouse

e Children
* Parents
e Siblings

e Grandparents



i Eligibility Criteria

In Arkansas on or after July 1, 1988
* File within one year of incident
* Report to proper authorities within 72 hrs

* Injury or death caused by a criminal act



i Eligibility Criteria

Cooperate with investigation/prosecution
* No collateral sources
* No contributory conduct/illegal activity
* Not incarcerated at the time of incident

« No criminally injurious conviction(s)



i Eligibility Criteria Continued...

e Motor vehicle incidents must
Involve:

 Alcohol or Drugs
e Intentional Act

e Hit and Run



i Assistance Available

e Medical and rehabilitation
e Dental
e Work loss

e Funeral



i Assistance Available

e Loss of support
(Homicide cases only)

e Mental health

* Crime scene clean-up
(Homicide cases only)



Assistance continued. . .

o Security
e Installation of locks and windows

 Victims of sexual assault and
domestic violence

* Incident occurred In primary
residence



Assistance Continued. . .

 Lodging
e Expenses related to victim’s medical treatment
and/or participation in criminal justice activities

e Travel

* Expenses related to participation in criminal
Jjustice activities

 Mileage
o Expenses related to the victim’s medical
treatment



i Not Eligible

e Pain and suffering
* Property damage or loss

o Attorney fees
(Guardianship fees for minors may be considered)



i Maximum Limits

e Overall Maximum $10,000
« Catastrophic Injury $25,000
 Mental Health

In-Patient $2500

Out-Patient $2500
e Funeral $7500
e Guardianship Fees $250
 Medical

(65% of balance due is payment in full)



i Maximum Limits Continued...

e Crime Scene Clean-up $3000
 Security $500
e Travel $300
 Lodging $300

(Reimbursement Basis Only)



i Processing Procedure

e Collect information to determine eligibility
e Compile summary of information obtained

 Forward summary to Board for a final
decision



i Board Members

e Governor appointed
e 1 Mental Health Professional
e 2 Victim Advocates

e 2 Attorneys



i Payment Delay

* Financial obligation
 Mental Health Agreement

e Copy of therapists’ license



i Supplemental Expenses

» Expenses submitted after the
decision date

ACVRB Rule No. 24: All supplemental expenses

must be submitted within one year of the date of
treatment or payment by collateral sources.



i Appeal Process

 Denied or diminished claims may be
appealed to the Board within 45 days.

e Final recourse: The victim or claimant
may file an appeal In Circuit Court
within 30 days.



i Application Process

« Complete application

o Attach incident report or verification
that proper authorities were notified

e ltemized statements



Contact us at...

¥

501-682-1020
or
1-800-448-3014

(outside Pulaski County
https://www.dps.arkansas.gov
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