Arkansas Psychology Board



Maggie Sponer, Administrative Director Brandi Thompson, Administrative Specialist III

> 101 East Capitol Avenue | Suite 415 | Little Rock, AR 72201 *Phone* (501) 682-6167 | *Fax* (501) 682-6165 <u>www.psychologyboard.arkansas.gov</u> <u>APBinfo@arkansas.gov</u>

November 9th Joint Performance Review Committee Meeting

Responses to October 13, 2015 Letter:

- 1. The average length of time to process applications completely depends on the applicant and when they can submit the completed paperwork to the Board office.
 - a. In-state re-licensure The Arkansas Psychology Board renews licenses between May 1st and June 30th of each year. The renewal process is online, so each morning all renewals are printed and mailed to the licensee. Each licensee receives their renewal in less than 10 days. (See Rules and Regs §14 p.52)
 - b. Initial/ Out of State Can take anywhere between a month or 1 year, depending on how soon the applicant submits the completed application paperwork.
 - c. Provisional Provisional licenses are given out once the applicant has completed the application process and the Board has reviewed and approved the application. (Always effective on the date the Board approves) Applicants can be provisionally licensed for anywhere from 1 month to 18 months. (Usually, Post-Doc fellows take 18 months to complete the required supervised hours of practice and take and pass the national exam).
- 2,4,5, &6. There is currently no backlog status. The only waiting period is when the applicant has not completed the application process. If anything is inaccurate, then staff immediately notifies the applicant to correct the issue so that their application may be reviewed. The process is mostly dependent upon the potential licensee gathering all the paperwork in a timely manner and submitting it to the Board office. We also require a Final/official transcript for verification of hours, courses, etc. In some instances, receiving this information form the graduate program may take at least a month. This pertains to all types of applications. There is no plan to shorten the licensing process.
- 3. Depending on the nature of the complaint, additional information may be needed and requested to review, investigate, and complete the complaint process. (See Rules and Regs §12.1, p. 48)

Responses to November 2, 2015 Letter:

- 1. The Arkansas Psychology Board issues about 25-30 new licensees and around 50 new applications each year. The applications include: (See Rules and Regs §5.4 5.6 for the application process and requirements)
 - Psychologist Application @ 25-30
 - Reciprocity Application @ 10/year
 - National Registry/CPQ Applications @ 0-5/year
 - Senior Psychologist Application @ 5-10/year

- The Board usually will receive anywhere from 10 to 20 complaints per year. In the last 5 years, the Board has had 8 complaints that have let to Consent Agreements with disciplinary actions taken against the licensee. These actions usually include a monetary fee and CEUs (Continuing Education) requirements. Additional actions can be in the form of a Letter of Caution, Letter of Reprimand, and either suspension or revocation of one's license depending on the severity of the violation. (See Rules and Regs §12.1, p. 48)
- 3. The Board and all licensees are required to follow APA's (American Psychological Association) Code of Ethics and Principles and the Board's Law (Chapter 97) and its Rules and Regulations. Some types of violations that the Board has seen in the last couple of years, include, multiple relationships, required consent, sex with patients, and not suppling patient with records in a timely manner. (See Rules and Regs §16 p. 53)
- 4. The Board usually get about half of its applicants form out of state to complete their Post-Doc hours and the rest come from in state schools. There are probably less than 50 applicants and/or licensees that move out of state each year and those applicants that do leave have been working in the VA system.

The application process, licensure, complaint, renewal, CEU, and general information may be found on our website at <u>www.psychologyboard.arkansas.gov</u> under our Rules and Regulation and Chapter 97. I have copies of the Law and our Rules and Regulations if anyone would like a copy. Please feel free to contact the Board office if any additional questions or concerns may arise after today's meeting.

Thank you,

Maggie Sponer Administrative Director Arkansas Psychology Board (501) 682-6168