## AGENDA Joint Committee on Public Retirement & Social Security Programs

## Wednesday, September 19, 2012 10:00 AM Room 130, State Capitol Little Rock, Arkansas

Sen. Johnny Key, Chair Sen. Joyce Elliott, Vice Chair Sen. Jimmy Jeffress Sen. Jim Luker Sen. Gene Jeffress Sen. David Wyatt Sen. Jason Rapert Sen. Bill Sample Sen. Jeremy Hutchinson Sen. Mike Fletcher Rep. Les "Skip" Carnine, Chair Rep. Butch Wilkins, Vice Chair Rep. Johnnie J. Roebuck Rep. Randy Stewart Rep. Tim Summers Rep. Mark Perry Rep. Jim Nickels Rep. Allen Kerr Rep. Homer Lenderman Rep. Gary Deffenbaugh Rep. Tommy Wren, Non-Voting Rep. John Catlett, Non-Voting Rep. David L. Branscum, Non-Voting Rep. Sheilla E. Lampkin, Non-Voting Rep. Fred Allen, Alternate Rep. Billy W. Gaskill, Alternate Rep. Toni Bradford, Alternate Rep. Duncan Baird, Alternate Rep. Robert E. Dale, Alternate Rep. Jody Dickinson, Alternate Rep. Josh Johnston, Alternate Rep. Josh Johnston, Alternate Rep. Nate Bell, Alternate Rep. Efrem Elliott, Alternate

- A. Call to Order
- B. Approval of Minutes—April 16-17, 2012 [Exhibit B, B-1]
- C. Consideration of Re-Appointment of Mr. Buddy Ledford to the Pension Review Board (PRB) [Exhibit C]
  - 1. Comments by David Clark, Executive Director, Local Police and Fire Retirement System (LOPFI)
  - 2. Discussion and Action by the Committee
- D. Discussion of ISP 2011-196 by Senator Johnny Key "Requesting the Interim Joint Retirement Committee Study the Effect of Automatically Enrolling New State Employees in a Deferred Compensation Plan Subject to Certain Opt-Out Provisions" [Exhibit D]
  - 1. Comments by Senator Johnny Key
  - 2. Comments by Gail Stone, Executive Director, Arkansas Public Employees Retirement System (APERS)
  - 3. Comments by Jason Lee, Executive Director, EBD, Arkansas Diamond Deferred Compensation Plan
  - 4. Comments by George Hopkins, Director, Arkansas Teacher Retirement System (ATRS)
  - 5. Questions by Committee Members
- E. Update on Current Condition of Public Retirement Systems
  - 1. Arkansas Diamond Deferred Compensation Plan, Jason Lee, Executive Director
  - 2. APERS, ASPRS, AJRS—Gail Stone, Executive Director
  - 3. ATRS—George Hopkins, Director
- Notice: Silence your cell phones. Keep your personal conversations to a minimum. Observe restrictions designating areas as "*Members and Staff Only*"

- 4. LOPFI—David Clark, Executive Director [Exhibit E-4]
- 5. ASHERS—Larry Dickerson, Executive Secretary [Exhibit E-5]
- 6. Comments by Committee Members
- F. Consideration of a Request for an Actuarial Study Eliminating the Mandatory Retirement Age for Judges [Exhibit F]
  - 1. Comments by the Honorable Vann Smith, Circuit Judge, Sixth Judicial Circuit
  - 2. Discussion and Action by the Committee
- G. Adjournment