ELECTRONIC RECORDING COMMISSION

Draft Minutes – October 16, 2013 Association of Arkansas Counties Building Little Rock, Arkansas 10:00 a.m.

<u>Members in Attendance</u>

The following members attended: Laurie Westfall, Chair, Rhonda Wharton, Vice Chair, Sharon Blount-Baker, Andrea Billingsly, Mayme Brown, Cheryl Cochran-Wilson, Alicia Nowotny, and Martha Smith.

Chair called the meeting to order at 10:00 a.m.

Approval of Minutes [EXHIBIT B]

<u>Ms. Billingsly made a motion to approve the August 28, 2013, meeting minutes with the correction of changing the name Linda Deshields to Brenda Deshields. Ms. Wharton seconded the motion, and the minutes were approved.</u>

Election of Officers

- <u>Ms. Smith nominated Laurie Westfall for the position of Chair. Ms. Cochran-Wilson seconded the</u> motion, and without objection, the motion carried.
- <u>Ms. Smith nominated Rhonda Wharton for the position of Vice Chair. Ms. Cochran-Wilson</u> seconded the motion, and without objection, the motion carried.
- <u>Ms. Smith nominated Mayme Brown for the position of Secretary. Ms. Cochran-Wilson seconded</u> the motion, and without objection, the motion carried.

<u>Review of Legislation Regarding the Electronic Recording Commission</u> [Handout #1]

A brief summary of Act 734 of 2007, Act 725 of 2009, and Act 1157 of 2011 concerning the Electronic Recording Commission was given.

Status of E-recording

Ms. Westfall stated it was helpful to have Tom Atchley, Office of Excise Tax Administrator, Department of Finance and Administration at the last meeting to explain the process and procedure for the electronic Real Estate Transfer Stamp. The members discussed the implementation of the electronic Real Estate Transfer Stamp and issues with the process.

Ms. Cheryl Cochran-Wilson stated in the Union County clerk's office they are doing more electronic recording but could not give an actual percentage; and local banks are beginning to electronic record more documents. Ms. Rhonda Wharton stated Benton County is electronic recording approximately 50 percent of documents submitted. Ms. Wharton stated Maricopa County, Arizona recorded approximately 80 percent of its submissions electronically in 2012.

Establish Date and Time of Next Meeting

The Commission agreed the next meeting would be Wednesday, January 29, 2014, at 10:30 a.m. in Room 151 of the State Capitol.

<u>Ms. motioned to adjourn the meeting</u>. <u>Ms. seconded the motion</u>. <u>With no further business, the meeting</u> <u>adjourned</u>.