EXHIBIT B

ELECTRONIC RECORDING COMMISSION

Draft Minutes – March 8, 2016 Association of Arkansas Counties Little Rock, Arkansas 2:00 p.m.

Members

Brenda Deshields, Chair Cheryl Cochran-Wilson Misty Richardson Sharon Blount-Baker Kristi McKinnon Myka Sample Sharon Brooks Alicia Nowotny-Stewart

Mayme Brown, Secretary Mary Pankey

*Absent

Ms. Deshields called the meeting to order at 2:00 p.m.

Approval of Minutes [Exhibit B]

Ms. Cheryl Cochran-Wilson made a motion to approve the December 8, 2015, meeting minutes. Ms. Alicia Nowotny-Stewart seconded the motion, and without objection, the minutes were approved.

Introduction of Commission Members

Ms. Deshields asked each returning member and new member to introduce themselves and state their interest and hopeful goals in joining the Electronic Recording Commission.

Discussion of Electing a New Vice Chair

Ms. Myka Sample nominated Ms. Sharon Blount-Baker as the new Vice Chair for the Electronic Recording Commission. Ms. Mary Pankey seconded the motion, and without objection, the motion passed.

<u>Discussion of Adding Electronic Recording Commission to the Association of Arkansas</u> Counties Website [Handout]

Mr. Josh Curtis, Governmental Affairs Director, Association of Arkansas Counties, provided a printout of the electronic recording website via the Association of Arkansas Counties. The website included a mission and vision statement, statutes pertaining to the Commission, and a list of the Electronic Recording Commission members. At a later date, a map of Arkansas and the counties that e-record, and testimonials stating the advantages of e-recording will be added. The website will be listed as www.arcounties.org/erecording and could be available as early as spring 2016. Ms. Deshields also suggested adding documents such as the Memorandum of Understanding to the website.

Review of the Mission and Vision Statement for the Electronic Recording Commission [Exhibit F]

The Commission reviewed and suggested minimal changes to the mission and vision statement for the Electronic Recording Commission's website. Ms. Mayme Brown made a motion to approve the mission and vision statement. Ms Sharon Blount-Baker seconded the motion, and without objection, the motion passed.

Discussion of a Uniform State Memorandum of Understanding for Recorders [Exhibit H]

Ms. Brenda Deshields, Chair, stated for the new members who had not reviewed the Memorandum of Understanding that was handed out at a previous meeting, she would postpone the discussion until the next meeting to allow the new members time to review the document.

Status of Electronic Recording [Exhibit G]

The commission discussed possible reasons to why some Arkansas counties are hesitant to e-record or what barriers they face to keep them from e-recording. The fear of new technology and the limited wiring and internet speed connection in old buildings were amongst some of the barriers discussed. Ms. Mary Pankey suggested having speakers/vendors travel to different counties to further inform them of the simplicity and benefits of e-recording.

- A total of 17 Arkansas counties are currently e-recording;
- A total of 14 Arkansas counties are preparing to e-record in the future; and
- A total of 44 Arkansas counties are not pursuing e-recording at this time.

Motion

Ms. Sharon Blount-Baker, Vice Chair, made a motion to give Ms. Brenda Deshields, Chair, the authority to act as liaison between the Electronic Recording Commission and the Association of Arkansas Counties regarding the implementation of the website. Ms. Sharon Brooks seconded the motion and without objection, the motion passed.

Establish Date and Time of Next Meeting

The next meeting is scheduled for Wednesday, May 11, 2016, at 2:00 p.m. at the Arkansas State Capitol, Room 207, Little Rock, Arkansas.