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Gallonage Fuel Taxes Based on Price of Fuel

State Wholesale/ Frequency - | Prepay
Retail Of Rate Change | System
New York Retail quarterly yes
Michigan Pump price less state motor fuel tax quarterly’ yes
Indiana Total sales price less IN & fed excise tax | Bi-annual yes
Georgia X% of the average statewide retail price | Bi-annual” yes
California Retail Annual’ yes
West Virginia | Wholesale Annual no"
Iinois Impossible to find any information!
Florida See note 5 Annual No°
North Carolina’ | Wholesale Bi-annual No'
Kentucky® Wholesale Quarterly No

1. Rate changed every 3 months unless the department certifies that the change in the
statewide average retail price of a gallon of self-serve unleaded regular gasoline has been
less than 10% since the establishment of the rate of prepayment then in effect.

2. Prepaid tax rate is adjusted semiannually unless the statewide average motor fuel price
deviates either up or down by more than 25% during the 6 month period.

3. Board of Equalization establishes the prepayment tax rate once per year unless price
of fuels increases or decreases after the rates have been set for the year, resulting in
prepayments that consistently exceed or are significantly lower than the fuel retailer’s
sales tax liability.

4. On or before the 25" day of each month, the taxpayer (distributors/importers) shall
make and file a return for the preceding month showing the information as the tax
comimissioner requires.

5. Fuel sales tax is applied at the wholesale point of distribution against a legislated retail
price per gallon. A “floor” tax rate that has been periodically readjusted by the
legislature is currently indexed to the CPI (all items).

6. Per Rule 12B, gas distributors, wholesalers, importers, etc. must complete a Florida
Fuel Tax Application and enroll in the e-Services program. Electronic payment of taxes
is required by the 20th of each month.

7. Excise tax includes a flat 17.5¢ per gallon levy plus 7% of the average wholesale price
of motor fuels. Wholesale tax is adjusted every 6 months and can’t fall below 3.5¢ per
gallon. Taxes are paid by wholesale distributors of motor fuel on purchases made from
the major oil companies at the terminal rack. Taxes are due by the 22™ of each month for
the previous month’s activity.



8. Entire excise tax is 9% of average wholesale price, paid on a per gallon basis. The tax
is adjusted quarterly, based on information provided by licensed gasoline dealers at the
end of each calendar quarter on the wholesale selling prices for the previous month (so
that 1% quarter would reflect average March prices?). Average wholesale price will not
be set at less than $1.786 per gallon, also the price adjustment won’t increase more than
10% from the previous fiscal year. Wholesalers provide payment of taxes electronically
on a monthly basis.



