## **AGENDA** LEGISLATIVE TASK FORCE ON THE BEST PRACTICES FOR SPECIAL **EDUCATION**

## Wednesday, December 09, 2015 10:00 AM Room 130, State Capitol Little Rock, Arkansas

## Legislative Members

Sen. Uvalde Lindsey, Chair

Sen. Blake Johnson

Rep. Tim Lemons, Vice-Chair Rep. Sheilla E. Lampkin

Non-Legislative Members

Ms. Carla Brainard Dr. Anne Butcher Ms. Jessica Dewitt Ms. Lisa Haley Ms. Barbara Hunter Cox Ms. Renee Johnson Ms. Sarah Moore Dr. Greg Murry Ms. Bailey Perkins Ms. Debra Poulin Ms. Shirley Ann Renix Dr. Bruce Smith Ms. Lisa Tisdale-Parker Ms. Tina Vineyard Ms. Cindy Marie Weathers Ms. Angela Winfield Mr. Samuel Young

- A. Call to Order
- B. Consideration to approve the Minutes of November 4, 2015 [EXHIBIT B]
- C. Current Practices for Identifying Students for Special Education Services and Programs in Public Schools (Matrix Item A)
  - 1. Ms. Lisa Haley, Associate Director, Special Education, Division of Learning Services, Arkansas Department of Education
  - 2. Parent
- D. Current Practices for Screening Students for Learning Disabilities and the Services Provided for these Students (Matrix Item H)
  - 1. Ms. Lisa Haley, Associate Director, Special Education, Division of Learning Services, Arkansas Department of Education
  - 2. Parent
- E. Disability Rights Arkansas (Matrix Items A, F, and H)
  - Ms. Debbie Poulin, Legal Director, DRA
- F. Engaging Parents of Children with Disabilities (Matrix Item I)
  - Ms. Tonya Russell-Williams, Director, Division of Child Care and Early Childhood Education
- G. Task Force Assignment Updates
- H. Other Business
- Adjournment

Notice: Silence your cell phones. Keep your personal conversations to a minimum. Observe restrictions designating areas as "Members and Staff Only"