Stricken language would be deleted from and underlined language would be added to the law as it existed prior to this session of the General Assembly.

1	State of Arkansas	As Engrossed: H4/11/03	
2	84th General Assembly	A Bill	
3	Regular Session, 2003		HOUSE BILL 2548
4			
5	By: Representatives Ledbette	er, Hathorn	
6	By: Senators Wilkins, J. Jeffe	ress	
7			
8			
9		For An Act To Be Entitled	
10	AN ACT I	TO REAPPORTION THE COURT OF APPEALS	3
11	DISTRIC	IS; AND FOR OTHER PURPOSES.	
12			
13		Subtitle	
14	AN AC	CT TO REAPPORTION THE COURT OF	
15	APPEA	ALS DISTRICTS.	
16			
17			
18	BE IT ENACTED BY THE G	SENERAL ASSEMBLY OF THE STATE OF AR	KANSAS:
19			
20	SECTION 1. Purp	pose.	
21	<u>(a) Under Act 8</u>	889 of 1999, the Arkansas Court of .	Appeals Apportionment
22	<u>Commission was created</u>	to review the electoral districts	for the Court of
23	<u>Appeals and make a rec</u>	commendation on the changes to be m	ade effective January
24	1, 2004. The commissi	ion has reviewed the current distri	cts and the data from
25	the 2000 census, recei	lved input from judges, lawyers, an	d the general public,
26	and considered the req	quirements and restrictions of fede	ral and state law.
27	<u>Because of major shift</u>	s in population which have occurre	d since the current
28	districts were created	l utilizing the 1970 census, a real	ignment of these
29	<u>districts is necessary</u>	<u>r.</u>	
30	<u>(b) The Arkansa</u>	as Court of Appeals consisted of si	x (6) judges when it
31	was first created. Th	ne number of members grew to nine (9) judges in 1996,
32	and to twelve (12) jud	lges in 1997. However, when the ne	w judgeships were
33		nade to stagger the dates of the en	
34	each of the judges. A	As a result, the terms of eight (8)	of the twelve (12)
35	judges end in 2004. 1	In order to provide for an orderly	transition of members
36	<u>and create a reasonabl</u>	le level of stability on the court,	it is necessary to



1	adjust the current terms of office.		
2	(c) It is the purpose of this act to create new electoral districts		
3	for the Arkansas Court of Appeals and to establish the dates for electing the		
4	judges within each of these districts.		
5			
6	SECTION 2. <u>Court of Appeals Districts</u>		
7	The State of Arkansas is divided into the following seven (7) districts		
8	for the election of judges to the Arkansas Court of Appeals:		
9	(1) District 1 shall be composed of Clay, Craighead, Crittenden,		
10	Cross, Greene, Lonoke, Mississippi, Monroe, Poinsett, Prairie, White and		
11	Woodruff counties;		
12	(2) District 2 shall be composed of Baxter, Boone, Cleburne,		
13	Conway, Faulkner, Fulton, Independence, Izard, Jackson, Lawrence, Marion,		
14	Newton, Pope, Randolph, Searcy, Sharp, Stone, and Van Buren counties;		
15	(3) District 3 shall be composed of Benton, Carroll, Crawford,		
16	Franklin, Johnson, Madison, and Washington counties;		
17	(4) District 4 shall be composed of Clark, Garland, Hempstead,		
18	Hot Spring, Howard, Little River, Logan, Miller, Montgomery, Pike, Polk,		
19	Scott, Sebastian, Sevier, and Yell counties;		
20	(5) District 5 shall be composed of Ashley, Bradley, Calhoun,		
21	<u>Cleveland, Columbia, Dallas, Drew, Grant, Lafayette, Lincoln, Nevada,</u>		
22	Ouachita, and Union counties;		
23	(6) District 6 shall be composed of Pulaski, Perry and Saline		
24	counties; and		
25	(7) District 7 shall be composed of Arkansas, Chicot, Desha,		
26	Jefferson, Lee, Phillips, and St. Francis counties.		
27			
28	SECTION 3. Court of Appeals Transition.		
29	The elections under this section 3 shall be for an eight (8) year term		
30	<u>as follows:</u>		
31	(1) The judgeship currently designated as District 2, Position		
32	2, shall continue to be designated District 2, Position 2 and shall be		
33	subject to election in 2004 in District 2;.		
34	(2) The judgeship currently designated as District 4, Position 1		
35	shall continue to be designated District 4, position 1 and shall be subject		
36	<u>to election in 2004 in District 4;</u>		

2

1	(3) The judgeship currently designated as District 4, Position 2		
2	shall continue to be designated District 4, Position 2 and shall be subject		
3	<u>to election in 2004 in District 4;</u>		
4	(4) The judgeship currently designated as District 5, Position 1		
5	shall be designated District 5 judge and shall be subject to election in 2004		
6	<u>in District 5;</u>		
7	(5) The judgeship currently designated as District 3, Position 2		
8	shall continue to be designated District 3, Position 2 and shall be subject		
9	<u>to election in 2006 in District 3;</u>		
10	(6) The judgeship currently designated as District 1, Position		
11	2, shall be designated District 1, Position 1 and shall be subject to		
12	<u>election in 2006 in District 1;</u>		
13	(7) The judgeship currently designated District 5, Position 2		
14	shall be designated District 1, Position 2 and shall be subject to election		
15	<u>in 2006 in District l;</u>		
16	(8) The judgeship currently designated District 6, Position 2		
17	shall continue to be designated District 6, Position 2 and shall be subject		
18	to election in 2006 in District 6;		
19	(9) The judgeship currently designated District 1, Position 1		
20	shall be designated District 7 judge and shall be subject to election in 2008		
21	<u>in District 7;</u>		
22	(10) The judgeship currently designated District 6, Position 1		
23	shall continue to be designated District 6, Position 1 and shall be subject		
24	to election in 2008 in District 6;		
25	(11) The judgeship currently designated District 2, Position 1		
26	shall continue to be designated District 2, Position 1 and shall be subject		
27	to election in 2010 in District 2; and		
28	(12) The judgeship currently designated District 3, Position 1		
29	shall continue to be designated District 3, Position 1 and shall be subject		
30	to election in 2010 in District 3.		
31			
32	SECTION 4. Each currently serving member of the Court of Appeals shall		
33	continue in office until his or her position shall be subject to election, as		
34	provided for under this act, regardless of the date otherwise set as the		
35	expiration of his or her term, and regardless of any changes in the		
36	geographical boundaries in the district from which he or she was elected.		

3

1	
2	/s/ Ledbetter, et al
3	
4	
5	
6	
7	
8	
9	
10	
11	
12	
13	
14	
15	
16	
17	
18	
19	
20	
21	
22	
23	
24	
25	
26	
27	
28	
29	
30	
31	
32	
33	
34	
35	
36	