1	State of Arkansas	A Bill			
2	84th General Assembly		HOUSE DILL	2552	
3	Regular Session, 2003		HOUSE BILL	2333	
4	D D	4			
5	By: Representative Ledbet	ter			
6					
7 8		For An Act To Be Entitled			
9	AN ACT TO REAPPORTION THE ELECTORAL DISTRICTS FOR				
10	THE ARKANSAS COURT OF APPEALS; TO STAGGER THE				
11	TERMS AND ELECTIONS FOR THE MEMBERS OF THE COURT				
12	OF APPEALS; AND FOR OTHER PURPOSES.				
13	V				
14		Subtitle			
15	TO	REAPPORTION THE ARKANSAS COURT OF			
16	API	PEALS.			
17					
18					
19	BE IT ENACTED BY THE	GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF THE STATE OF ARKAN	SAS:		
20					
21	SECTION 1. Pu	rpose.			
22	(a) Under Act 889 of 1999, the Arkansas Court of Appeals Apportionment				
23	Commission was created to review the electoral districts for the Court of				
24	Appeals and make a recommendation on the changes to be made effective January				
25	1, 2004. The commis	sion has reviewed the current districts	and the data	from	
26	the 2000 census, rec	eived input from judges, lawyers, and t	<u>he general pub</u>	lic,	
27	and considered the requirements and restrictions of federal and state law.			<u>' • </u>	
28	Because of major shifts in population which have occurred since the current			<u>nt</u>	
29	districts were creat	ed utilizing the 1970 census, a realign	ment of these		
30	districts is necessary.				
31	(b) The Arkan	sas Court of Appeals consisted of six (6) judges when	<u>it</u>	
32	was first created. The number of members grew to nine (9) judges in 1996,				
33	and to twelve (12) judges in 1997. However, when the new judgeships were				
34	created, no plan was made to stagger the dates of the end of the terms for				
35	each of the judges.	As a result, the terms of eight (8) of	the twelve (1	2)	
36	indoes end in 2004	In order to provide for an orderly tra-	nsition of mem	hers	

1 and create a reasonable level of stability on the court, it is necessary to 2 adjust the current terms of office. 3 (c) It is the purpose of this act to create new electoral districts 4 for the Arkansas Court of Appeals and to establish the dates for electing the 5 judges within each of these districts. 6 7 SECTION 2. Court of Appeals districts. 8 (a)(1) District 1 shall be composed of Clay, Greene, Craighead, 9 Poinsett, White, Woodruff, Cross, Mississippi, Crittenden, St. Francis, Lee, 10 Monroe, and Phillips counties. 11 (2) The judgeships currently designated as District 1, Positions 12 1 and 2, shall continue to be designated as District 1, Positions 1 and 2. (b)(1) District 2 shall be composed of Boone, Marion, Baxter, Fulton, 13 Sharp, Randolph, Jackson, Lawrence, Independence, Izard, Stone, Searcy, 14 15 Newton, Pope, Van Buren, Cleburne, Conway, and Faulkner counties. 16 (2) The judgeships currently designated as District 2, Positions 17 1 and 2, shall continue to be designated as District 2, Positions 1 and 2. 18 (c)(1) District 3 shall be composed of Benton, Carroll, Washington, Madison, Crawford, Franklin, and Johnson counties. 19 20 (2) The judgeships currently designated as District 3, Positions 1 and 2, shall continue to be designated as District 3, Positions 1 and 2. 21 22 (d)(1) District 4 shall be composed of Sebastian, Logan, Scott, Yell, 23 Perry, Polk, Montgomery, Garland, Howard, Pike, Clark, Sevier, Little River, 24 Miller, and Hot Spring counties. 25 (2) The judgeships currently designated as District 4, Positions 26 1 and 2, shall continue to be designated as District 4, Positions 1 and 2. 27 (e)(1) District 5 shall be composed of Lonoke, Prairie, Grant, 28 Jefferson, Arkansas, Dallas, Cleveland, Lincoln, Hempstead, Nevada, Ouachita, 29 Calhoun, Bradley, Drew, Lafayette, Columbia, Union, Desha, Chicot, and Ashley 30 counties. 31 (2) The judgeships currently designated as District 5, Positions 32 1 and 2, shall continue to be designated as District 5, Positions 1 and 2. 33 (f)(1) District 6 shall be composed of Pulaski and Saline counties. 34 (2) The judgeships designated as District 6, Positions 1 and 2,

35 36 shall continue to be designated as District 6, Positions 1 and 2.

1	SECTION 3. Court of Appeals elections.
2	(a) The elections under this section 3 shall be for an eight (8) year
3	term.
4	(b) The date of election for each of the twelve (12) positions of the
5	Court of Appeals shall be staggered so that these positions shall be subject
6	to election at each general election on the following schedule:
7	(1) The following positions as designated in section 2 of this
8	act shall be subject to election in 2004:
9	(A) District 2, Position 2;
10	(B) District 4, Position 1;
11	(C) District 4, Position 2; and
12	(D) District 5, Position 1.
13	(2) The following positions as designated in section 2 of this
14	act shall be subject to election in 2006:
15	(A) District 1, Position 2;
16	(B) District 3, Position 2;
17	(C) District 5, Position 2; and
18	(D) District 6, Position 2.
19	(3) The following positions as designated in section 2 of this
20	act shall be subject to election in 2008:
21	(A) District 1, Position 1; and
22	(B) District 6, Position 1.
23	(4) The following positions as designated in section 2 of this
24	act shall be subject to election in 2010:
25	(A) District 2, Position 1; and
26	(B) District 3, Position 1.
27	
28	SECTION 4. Each currently serving member of the Court of Appeals shall
29	continue in office until his or her position shall be subject to election, as
30	provided for under this act, regardless of the date otherwise set as the
31	expiration of his or her term, and regardless of any changes in the
32	geographical boundaries in the district from which he or she was elected.
33	
34	
35	
36	