1	State of Arkansas 84th General Assembly A Bill	
2		
3	Regular Session, 2003 HOUSE BILL	2877
4		
5	By: Representative King	
6		
7	For An Ast To Do Entitled	
8	For An Act To Be Entitled	
9	AN ACT TO REAPPORTION THE ELECTORAL DISTRICTS FOR	
10	THE ARKANSAS COURT OF APPEALS; TO STAGGER THE	
11	TERMS AND ELECTIONS FOR THE MEMBERS OF THE COURT	
12 13	OF APPEALS; AND FOR OTHER PURPOSES.	
14		
15	Subtitle	
16	TO REAPPORTION THE ARKANSAS COURT OF	
17	APPEALS.	
18		
19		
20	BE IT ENACTED BY THE GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF THE STATE OF ARKANSAS:	
21		
22	SECTION 1. Purpose.	
23	(a) Under Act 889 of 1999, the Arkansas Court of Appeals Apportion	ment
24	Commission was created to review the electoral districts for the Court of	
25	Appeals and make a recommendation on the changes to be made effective Jan	uary
26	1, 2004. The commission has reviewed the current districts and the data	from
27	the 2000 census, received input from judges, lawyers, and the general pub	lic,
28	and considered the requirements and restrictions of federal and state law	<u>, </u>
29	Because of major shifts in population which have occurred since the curre	<u>nt</u>
30	districts were created utilizing the 1970 census, a realignment of these	
31	districts is necessary.	
32	(b) The Arkansas Court of Appeals consisted of six (6) judges when	<u>it</u>
33	was first created. The number of members grew to nine (9) judges in 1996,	
34	and to twelve (12) judges in 1997. However, when the new judgeships were	<u>.</u>
35	created, no plan was made to stagger the dates of the end of the terms fo	<u>r</u>
36	each of the judges. As a result, the terms of eight (8) of the twelve (1	2)

- l judges end in 2004. In order to provide for an orderly transition of members
- 2 <u>and create a reasonable level of stability on the court, it is necessary to</u>
- 3 <u>adjust the current terms of office.</u>
- 4 (c) It is the purpose of this act to create new electoral districts
- 5 for the Arkansas Court of Appeals and to establish the dates for electing the
- 6 judges within each of these districts.

7

- 8 SECTION 2. Court of Appeals districts.
- 9 (a)(1) District 1 shall be composed of Clay, Greene, Craighead,
- 10 Poinsett, White, Woodruff, Cross, Mississippi, Crittenden, St. Francis, Lee,
- 11 Monroe, and Phillips counties.
- 12 (2) The judgeships currently designated as District 1, Positions
- 13 <u>1</u> and 2, shall continue to be designated as District 1, Positions 1 and 2.
- (b)(1) District 2 shall be composed of Boone, Marion, Baxter, Fulton,
- 15 Sharp, Randolph, Jackson, Lawrence, Independence, Izard, Stone, Searcy,
- 16 Newton, Pope, Van Buren, Cleburne, Conway, and Faulkner counties.
- 17 (2) The judgeships currently designated as District 2, Positions
- 18 1 and 2, shall continue to be designated as District 2, Positions 1 and 2.
- (c)(1) District 3 shall be composed of Benton, Carroll, Washington,
- 20 Madison, Crawford, Franklin, and Johnson counties.
- 21 (2) The judgeships currently designated as District 3, Positions
- 22 1 and 2, shall continue to be designated as District 3, Positions 1 and 2.
- 23 (d)(1) District 4 shall be composed of Sebastian, Logan, Scott, Yell,
- 24 Perry, Polk, Montgomery, Garland, Howard, Pike, Clark, Sevier, Little River,
- 25 <u>Miller</u>, and Hot Spring counties.
- 26 (2) The judgeships currently designated as District 4, Positions
- 27 1 and 2, shall continue to be designated as District 4, Positions 1 and 2.
- 28 (e)(1) District 5 shall be composed of Lonoke, Prairie, Grant,
- 29 Jefferson, Arkansas, Dallas, Cleveland, Lincoln, Hempstead, Nevada, Ouachita,
- 30 <u>Calhoun, Bradley, Drew, Lafayette, Columbia, Union, Desha, Chicot, and Ashley</u>
- 31 counties.
- 32 (2) The judgeships currently designated as District 5, Positions
- 1 and 2, shall continue to be designated as District 5, Positions 1 and 2.
- 34 (f)(1) District 6 shall be composed of Pulaski and Saline counties.
- 35 (2) The judgeships designated as District 6, Positions 1 and 2,
- 36 shall continue to be designated as District 6, Positions 1 and 2.

1	
2	SECTION 3. Court of Appeals elections.
3	(a) The elections under this section 3 shall be for an eight (8) year
4	term.
5	(b) The date of election for each of the twelve (12) positions of the
6	Court of Appeals shall be staggered so that these positions shall be subject
7	to election at each general election on the following schedule:
8	(1) The following positions as designated in section 2 of this
9	act shall be subject to election in 2004:
10	(A) District 2, Position 2;
11	(B) District 4, Position 1;
12	(C) District 4, Position 2; and
13	(D) District 5, Position 1.
14	(2) The following positions as designated in section 2 of this
15	act shall be subject to election in 2006:
16	(A) District 1, Position 2;
17	(B) District 3, Position 2;
18	(C) District 5, Position 2; and
19	(D) District 6, Position 2.
20	(3) The following positions as designated in section 2 of this
21	act shall be subject to election in 2008:
22	(A) District 1, Position 1; and
23	(B) District 6, Position 1.
24	(4) The following positions as designated in section 2 of this
25	act shall be subject to election in 2010:
26	(A) District 2, Position 1; and
27	(B) District 3, Position 1.
28	
29	SECTION 4. Each currently serving member of the Court of Appeals shall
30	continue in office until his or her position shall be subject to election, as
31	provided for under this act, regardless of the date otherwise set as the
32	expiration of his or her term, and regardless of any changes in the
33	geographical boundaries in the district from which he or she was elected.
34	
35	
36	