Stricken language would be deleted from and underlined language would be added to the law as it existed prior to this session of the General Assembly.

1	State of Arkansas	As Engrossed: H3/13/03	
2	84th General Assembly	A Bill	
3	Regular Session, 2003		HOUSE BILL 2886
4			
5	By: Representative C. Taylo	or	
6			
7			
8		For An Act To Be Entitled	
9	AN ACT TO REAPPORTION THE ELECTORAL DISTRICTS FOR		
10	THE ARK	ANSAS COURT OF APPEALS; TO STAGGER	ГНЕ
11	TERMS A	AND ELECTIONS FOR THE MEMBERS OF THE	COURT
12	OF APPE	CALS; AND FOR OTHER PURPOSES.	
13			
14		Subtitle	
15	TO R	REAPPORTION THE ARKANSAS COURT OF	
16	APPE	CALS.	
17			
18			
19	BE IT ENACTED BY THE	GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF THE STATE OF ARK	ANSAS:
20			
21	SECTION 1. Pur	pose.	
22	(a) Under Act	889 of 1999, the Arkansas Court of A	Appeals Apportionment
23	Commission was create	d to review the electoral districts	for the Court of
24	Appeals and make a re	commendation on the changes to be ma	nde effective January
25	1, 2004. The commiss	ion has reviewed the current distric	ets and the data from
26	the 2000 census, rece	ived input from judges, lawyers, and	the general public,
27	and considered the re	quirements and restrictions of feder	cal and state law.
28	Because of major shif	ts in population which have occurred	l since the current
29	districts were create	d utilizing the 1970 census, a reali	ignment of these
30	districts is necessar	<u>y •</u>	
31	(b) The Arkans	as Court of Appeals consisted of six	(6) judges when it
32	was first created. T	the number of members grew to nine (9	9) judges in 1996,
33	and to twelve (12) judges in 1997.		
34	(c) It is the purpose of this act to create new electoral districts		
35	for the Arkansas Court of Appeals and to establish the dates for electing the		
36	judges within each of	these districts.	

As Engrossed: H3/13/03 HB2886

1		
2	SECTION 2. Court of Appeals districts.	
3	(a)(1) District 1 shall be composed of Clay, Greene, Craighead,	
4	Poinsett, White, Woodruff, Cross, Mississippi, Crittenden, St. Francis, Lee,	
5	Monroe, and Phillips counties.	
6	(2) The judgeships currently designated as District 1, Position	
7	1 and 2 shall continue to be designated as District 1, Position 1 and 2.	
8	(b)(1) District 2 shall be composed of Boone, Marion, Baxter, Fulton,	
9	Sharp, Randolph, Jackson, Lawrence, Independence, Izard, Stone, Searcy,	
10	Newton, Pope, Van Buren, Cleburne, Conway, and Faulkner counties.	
11	(2) The judgeships currently designated as District 2, Positions	
12	1 and 2 shall continue to be designated as District 2, Positions 1 and 2.	
13	(c)(1) District 3 shall be composed of Benton, Carroll, Washington,	
14	Madison, Crawford, Franklin, and Johnson counties.	
15	(2) The judgeships currently designated as District 3, Positions	
16	1 and 2 shall continue to be designated as District 3, Positions 1 and 2.	
17	(d)(1) District 4 shall be composed of Sebastian, Logan, Scott, Yell,	
18	Perry, Polk, Montgomery, Garland, Howard, Pike, Clark, Sevier, Little River,	
19	Miller, and Hot Spring counties.	
20	(2) The judgeships currently designated as District 4, Positions	
21	1 and 2 shall continue to be designated as District 4, Positions 1 and 2.	
22	(e)(1) District 5 shall be composed of Lonoke, Prairie, Grant,	
23	Jefferson, Arkansas, Dallas, Cleveland, Lincoln, Hempstead, Nevada, Ouachita,	
24	Calhoun, Bradley, Drew, Lafayette, Columbia, Union, Desha, Chicot, and Ashley	
25	counties.	
26	(2) The judgeships currently designated as District 5, Position	
27	1 and 2 shall continue to be designated as District 5, Position 1 and 2.	
28	(f)(1) District 6 shall be composed of Pulaski and Saline counties.	
29	(2) The judgeships designated as District 6, Positions 1 and 2	
30	shall continue to be designated as District 6, Positions 1 and 2.	
31		
32	SECTION 3. Court of Appeals elections.	
33	(a)(1) The elections under this section 3 shall be for an eight (8)	
34	year term.	
35	(2) The date of election for each of the twelve (12) positions	
36	of the Court of Appeals shall be subject to election at each general election	

As Engrossed: H3/13/03 HB2886

1	on the following schedule:
2	(A) The following positions as designated in section 2 of
3	this act shall be subject to election in 2004:
4	(i) District 1, Position 2;
5	(ii) District 2, Position 2;
6	(iii) District 3, Position 2;
7	(iv) District 4, Position 1;
8	(v) District 4, Position 2;
9	(vi) District 5, Position 1;
10	(vii) District 5, Position 2; and
11	(viii) District 6, Position 2.
12	(B) The following positions as designated in section 2 of
13	this act shall be subject to election in 2008:
14	(i) District 1, Position 1; and
15	(ii) District 6, Position 1.
16	(C) The following positions as designated in section 2 of
17	this act shall be subject to election in 2010:
18	(i) District 2, Position 1; and
19	(ii) District 3, Position 1.
20	
21	SECTION 4. Each currently serving member of the Court of Appeals shall
22	continue in office until his or her position shall be subject to election, as
23	provided for under this act, regardless of the date otherwise set as the
24	expiration of his or her term, and regardless of any changes in the
25	geographical boundaries in the district from which he or she was elected.
26	
27	/s/ C. Taylor
28	
29	
30	
31	
32	
33	
34	
35	
36	