1	State of Arkansas	A D;11	
2	84th General Assembly	A Bill	
3	Regular Session, 2003		SENATE BILL 70
4			
5	By: Senator J. Jeffress		
6			
7			
8		For An Act To Be Entitled	
9		O CREATE THE ARKANSAS TEENAGE SUI	
10		ON TASK FORCE; TO PROVIDE FOR APP	
11		RS; AND TO DESCRIBE ITS MISSION A	
12	RESPONSII	BILITIES; AND FOR OTHER PURPOSES.	•
13		Subtitle	
14	mo on		D.
15		EATE THE ARKANSAS TEENAGE SUICIDE	
16		NTION TASK FORCE AND TO PROVIDE I	
17	APPOLI	NTMENT OF MEMBERS AND ITS MISSION	N •
18			
19 20	מר זיי המארייהט מע יישה רב מר זיי המארייהט מע יישה רב	ENERAL ASSEMBLY OF THE STATE OF A	DVANCAC.
21	DE II ENACIED DI INE GE	NERAL ASSERBLE OF THE STATE OF A	: CACNANA
22	SECTION 1. Arkan	nsas Code Title 20, Chapter 77, i	s amended to add an
23	additional subchapter t	<u>-</u>	
24	_	arkansas Teenage Suicide Preventi	on Task Force
25			
26	<u>20-77-1501.</u> Esta	ıblishment.	
27	(a)(l) The Arkan	nsas Teenage Suicide Prevention T	ask Force is
28	established to address	issues related to the prevention	of teenage suicides
29	in this most vulnerable	e age group for mental depression	1.
30	<u>(2)</u> The ta	isk force shall be made up of tee	nage school students
31	from around Arkansas, s	school counselors, and classroom	teachers in Arkansas's
32	schools.		
33	(b) The offices	of the task force shall be locat	ed with the Department
34	of Education in Little Rock, Pulaski County, Arkansas, and the department		
35	shall provide administr	eative staff for the task force.	
36			

01212003EAN1020.VJF171

1	20-77-1502. Task force membership and qualifications.		
2	(a) The Arkansas Teenage Suicide Prevention Task Force shall consist		
3	of twelve (12) members who are residents of this state.		
4	(b) The membership of the Arkansas Teenage Suicide Prevention Task		
5	Force shall be appointed as follows:		
6	(1) The Governor shall appoint four (4) members who are teenage		
7	school students, and each student shall reside in and represent a different		
8	Arkansas congressional district;		
9	(2) The Governor shall appoint two (2) members who are classroom		
10	teachers;		
11	(3) The Governor shall appoint two (2) members who are school		
12	<pre>counselors;</pre>		
13	(4) The President Pro Tempore of the Arkansas Senate shall		
14	appoint two (2) members who are teenage school students representing the		
15	state at large; and		
16	(5) The Speaker of the Arkansas House of Representatives shall		
17	appoint two (2) members who are teenage school students representing the		
18	state at large;		
19	(c)(1)(A) The members of the task force that are teenage school		
20	students shall be students who have been recommended by the superintendents		
21	of the school districts to the Department of Education.		
22	(B) Teenage school student members shall be more than age		
23	fourteen (14), but less than age nineteen (19) when appointed.		
24	(2) The classroom teacher members shall come from a list of		
25	interested teachers recommended to the Governor by the Arkansas Education		
26	Association.		
27	(3) The school counselor members appointed by the Governor shall		
28	<pre>come from a list of interested school counselors recommended to the Governor</pre>		
29	by the Arkansas Counseling Association.		
30	(d)(1)(A) Beginning January 15, 2004, each member shall serve for a		
31	term of two (2) years.		
32	(B) The term of office of each member of the task force		
33	shall begin on January 15 following the expiration date of the predecessor's		
34	term, and shall end on January 14 of the second year following the year in		
35	which the term commenced.		
36	(2) Any vacancies arising in the membership of the board for any		

1	reason other than expiration of the regular terms shall be filled by		
2	appointment by the appointing authority effective until the expiration of the		
3	regular term.		
4			
5	20-77-1503. Mission.		
6	The Arkansas Teenage Suicide Prevention Task Force shall:		
7	(1) Assist in increasing the awareness among school personnel and		
8	community leaders of the incidence of teenage suicide;		
9	(2) Enhance school climate and relationships between teachers,		
10	counselors, and students to encourage everyone to recognize signs of suicidal		
11	tendencies and other facts about teenage suicide;		
12	(3) Encourage the development and implementation of school-based		
13	teenage suicide prevention programs and pilot projects;		
14	(4) Through cooperative efforts, utilize community resources in the		
15	development and implementation of teenage suicide prevention programs;		
16	(5) Increase students' awareness of the relationship between drug and		
17	alcohol use and youth suicide;		
18	(6) Advocate for programs to collect data on teenage suicide attempts;		
19	and		
20	(7) Develop a program of suicide prevention public awareness for		
21	distribution to the schools of Arkansas.		
22			
23	20-77-1504. Meetings.		
24	(a)(1) The Arkansas Teenage Suicide Prevention Task Force shall hold		
25	meetings at least once during each calendar quarter of the year.		
26	(2) At the end of each calendar year, the task force shall		
27	report to the Director of the Department of Education.		
28	(b)(l) At the first meeting called by the director, the task force		
29	shall select from its membership a chair and a secretary that shall serve		
30	until the first meeting of the following year.		
31	(2) The task force shall elect officers annually to serve one-		
32	year terms at the taskforce's first meeting of each calendar year.		
33	(c) A quorum shall consist of not less than a majority of the		
34	membership of the task force and the affirmative vote of that number is		
35	necessary for the disposition of business.		
36	(d)(1) Members shall receive no pay for services with respect to		

1	attendance at each meeting.	
2	(2) However, if funds are appropriated for the purpose, members	
3	are entitled to expense reimbursement under § 25-16-902 for each day the task	
4	force is in session.	
5		
6	SECTION 2. Arkansas Code § 6-18-1005(a)(7), concerning student	
7	services programs in Arkansas schools, is amended to read as follows:	
8	(7) The distribution of a suicide prevention public awareness	
9	program developed for distribution by the interprogram task force establishe	
10	by the Lieutenant Governor's Arkansas Teenage Suicide Prevention Task Force.	
11		
12		
13		
L4		
15		
16		
17		
18		
19		
20		
21		
22		
23		
24		
25		
26		
27		
28		
29		
30		
31		
32		
33		
34		
35		
36		