1 2	State of Arkansas 84th General Assembly	A Bill		
3	Regular Session, 2003		SENATE BILL	753
4				
5	By: Senator Wilkins			
6				
7		E. A. A. T. D. E. A. I.		
8	AN A CIT.	For An Act To Be Entitled		
9		TO REAPPORTION THE ELECTORAL DISTRICTS		
10		AND DOD OFFICE DUPPOSES	)N	
11 12	DAIES;	AND FOR OTHER PURPOSES.		
13		Subtitle		
14	AN A	CT TO REAPPORTION THE ELECTORAL		
15		RICTS FOR THE ARKANSAS COURT OF		
16		ALS AND SET ELECTION DATES.		
17	<del></del>			
18				
19	BE IT ENACTED BY THE (	GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF THE STATE OF ARKAN	SAS:	
20				
21	SECTION 1. Purp	pose.		
22	(a) For purposes of the 2004 general election and elections			
23	thereafter, the State of Arkansas is divided into eight (8) districts for the			
24	election of judges to	the Arkansas Court of Appeals.		
25	(b) It is the p	purpose of this act to create new elec	toral districts	í -
26	for the Arkansas Court	t of Appeals and to establish the date	s for election	of
27	the judges within each	of those districts.		
28				
29	SECTION 2. Cour	rt of Appeals Districts.		
30	(a) District l	shall be composed of Clay, Craighead,	Greene, Jackso	<u>n,</u>
31	Lawrence, Randolph, Sh	harp, and Woodruff counties.		
32	(b) District 2	shall be composed of Baxter, Boone, C	<u>leburne</u> , Conway	<u>,</u>
33	Faulkner, Fulton, Independence, Izard, Newton, Marion, Pope, Searcy, Stone,			
34	Van Buren, and White counties.			
35	-	shall be composed of Benton, Carroll,	Crawford,	
36	Franklin, Johnson, Mad	dison, and Washington counties.		

1 (d) District 4 shall be composed of Clark, Garland, Hot Spring, Logan, 2 Montgomery, Perry, Pike, Polk, Saline, Sebastian, Scott, and Yell counties. 3 (e) District 5 shall be composed of Calhoun, Cleveland, Columbia, Dallas, Grant, Hempstead, Howard, Lafayette, Little River, Miller, Nevada, 4 5 Ouachita, and Sevier counties. 6 (f) District 6 shall be composed of Arkansas, Lonoke, Prairie and 7 Pulaski counties. 8 (g) District 7 shall be composed of Cross, Crittenden, Lee, 9 Mississippi, Monroe, Phillips, Poinsett, and St. Francis counties. 10 (h) District 8 shall be composed of Ashley, Bradley, Chicot, Desha, 11 Drew, Jefferson, Lincoln, and Union counties. 12 13 SECTION 3. Court of Appeals elections. 14 (a) The elections under this section shall be for eight-year terms, 15 except as otherwise provided by this act. 16 (b) The date of election for each of the twelve (12) positions of the 17 Court of Appeals shall be according to the following schedule: 18 (1) The judgeship currently designated as District 1, position 1 19 shall be designated as District 1 judge and shall be subject to election in 20 2008; 21 (2)(A) The judgeship currently designated as District 1, 22 position 2 shall be temporarily designated as District 1, position 2 and be 23 subject to election in the combined Districts 1 and 7 in 2004. 24 (B) At the end of the eight-year term that begins in 2005, the judgeship currently designated as District 1, position 2 shall be 25 26 designated District 7 judge and be subject to election in 2012 in District 7; 27 (3) The judgeship currently designated as District 2, Position 1 28 shall continue to be designated as District 2, position 1 and shall be 29 subject to election in 2010 in District 2; 30 (4) The judgeship currently designated as District 2, position 2 shall continue to be designated as District 2, position 2 and shall be 31 32 subject to election in 2004 in District 2; 33 (5) The judgeship currently designated as District 3, position 1 34 shall continue to be designated as District 3, position 1 and shall be subject to election in 2010 in District 3; 35

(6) The judgeship currently designated as District 3, position 2

36

1	shall continue to be designated as District 3, position 2 and shall be			
2	subject to election in 2006 in District 3;			
3	(7) The judgeship currently designated as District 4, position			
4	shall continue to be designated as District 4, position 1 and shall be			
5	subject to election in 2004 in District 4;			
6	(8) The judgeship currently designated as District 4, position			
7	shall continue to be designated as District 4, position 2 and shall be			
8	subject to election in 2004 in District 4;			
9	(9) The judgeship currently designated as District 5, position			
10	shall be designated as District 5 judge and shall be subject to election in			
11	2004 in District 5;			
12	(10)(A) The judgeship currently designated as District 5,			
13	position 2 shall be temporarily designated as District 5, position 2 and be			
14	subject to election in the combined Districts 5 and 8 in 2004.			
15	(B) At the end of the eight-year term that begins in 2005,			
16	the judgeship currently designated as District 5, position 2 shall be			
17	designated District 8 judge and be subject to election in 2012 in District 8.			
18	(11) The judgeship currently designated as District 6, position			
19	1 shall continue to be designated as District 6, position 1 and shall be			
20	subject to election in 2004 in District 6; and			
21	(12) The judgeship currently designated as District 6, position			
22	2 shall continue to be designated as District 6, position 1 and shall be			
23	subject to election in 2004 in District 6.			
24				
25	SECTION 4. <u>Transition.</u>			
26	Each currently serving judge of the Court of Appeals shall continue in			
27	office until his or her position shall be subject to election, as provided			
28	under this act, regardless of the date otherwise set as the expiration of his			
29	or her term, and regardless of any changes in the geographical boundaries in			
30	the district from which he or she was elected.			
31				
32				
33				
34				
35				
36				