Stricken language would be deleted from and underlined language would be added to the law as it existed prior to this session of the General Assembly.

1 2	A D:11	
3		SENATE BILL 917
4	-	SERVITE DIEL 917
5		
6		
7	,	
8	For An Act To Be En	titled
9	AN ACT TO REAPPORTION THE ELECTORAL DISTRICTS FOR	
10	THE ARKANSAS COURT OF APPEALS; TO STAGGER THE	
11	TERMS AND ELECTIONS FOR THE MEMBERS OF THE COURT	
12	OF APPEALS; AND FOR OTHER PURPOS	ES.
13	3	
14	•	
15	S Subtitle	
16	TO REAPPORTION THE ARKANSAS C	OURT OF
17	APPEALS.	
18	3	
19		
20	BE IT ENACTED BY THE GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF THE STATE OF ARKANSAS:	
21		
22	SECTION 1. Purpose.	
23	(a) Under Act 889 of 1999, the Arkansas Court of Appeals Apportionment	
24	Commission was created to review the electoral districts for the Court of	
25	Appeals and make a recommendation on the change	es to be made effective January
26	1, 2004. The commission has reviewed the current districts and the data from	
27	the 2000 census, received input from judges, 1a	awyers, and the general public,
28	and considered the requirements and restriction	ns of federal and state law.
29	Because of major shifts in population which have occurred since the current	
30	districts were created utilizing the 1970 censu	is, a realignment of these
31	districts is necessary.	
32	(b) The Arkansas Court of Appeals consisted of six (6) judges when it	
33	was first created. The number of members grew to nine (9) judges in 1996,	
34	and to twelve (12) judges in 1997. However, wh	nen the new judgeships were
35	created, no plan was made to stagger the dates of the end of the terms for	
36	each of the judges. As a result, the terms of eight (8) of the twelve (12)	



1	judges end in 2004. In order to provide for an orderly transition of members	
2	and create a reasonable level of stability on the court, it is necessary to	
3	adjust the current terms of office.	
4	(c) It is the purpose of this act to create new electoral districts	
5	for the Arkansas Court of Appeals and to establish the dates for electing the	
6	judges within each of these districts.	
7		
8	SECTION 2. Court of Appeals districts.	
9	(a)(1) District 1 shall be composed of Clay, Greene, Craighead,	
10	Poinsett, White, Woodruff, Cross, Mississippi, Crittenden, St. Francis, Lee,	
11	Monroe, and Phillips counties.	
12	(2) The judgeships currently designated as District 1, Positions	
13	1 and 2, shall continue to be designated as District 1, Positions 1 and 2.	
14	(b)(1) District 2 shall be composed of Boone, Marion, Baxter, Fulton,	
15	Sharp, Randolph, Jackson, Lawrence, Independence, Izard, Stone, Searcy,	
16	Newton, Pope, Van Buren, Cleburne, Conway, and Faulkner counties.	
17	(2) The judgeships currently designated as District 2, Positions	
18	1 and 2, shall continue to be designated as District 2, Positions 1 and 2.	
19	(c)(1) District 3 shall be composed of Benton, Carroll, Washington,	
20	Madison, Crawford, Franklin, and Johnson counties.	
21	(2) The judgeships currently designated as District 3, Positions	
22	1 and 2, shall continue to be designated as District 3, Positions 1 and 2.	
23	(d)(1) District 4 shall be composed of Sebastian, Logan, Scott, Yell,	
24	Perry, Polk, Montgomery, Garland, Howard, Pike, Clark, Sevier, Little River,	
25	Miller, and Hot Spring counties.	
26	(2) The judgeships currently designated as District 4, Positions	
27	<u>1 and 2, shall continue to be designated as District 4, Positions 1 and 2.</u>	
28	(e)(1) District 5 shall be composed of Lonoke, Prairie, Grant,	
29	Jefferson, Arkansas, Dallas, Cleveland, Lincoln, Hempstead, Nevada, Ouachita,	
30	Calhoun, Bradley, Drew, Lafayette, Columbia, Union, Desha, Chicot, and Ashley	
31	counties.	
32	(2) The judgeships currently designated as District 5, Positions	
33	<u>1 and 2, shall continue to be designated as District 5, Positions 1 and 2.</u>	
34	(f)(1) District 6 shall be composed of Pulaski and Saline counties.	
35	(2) The judgeships designated as District 6, Positions 1 and 2,	
36	shall continue to be designated as District 6, Positions 1 and 2.	

2

1		
2	SECTION 3. Court of Appeals elections.	
3	(a) The elections under this section 3 shall be for an eight (8) year	
4	term.	
5	(b) The date of election for each of the twelve (12) positions of the	
6	Court of Appeals shall be staggered so that these positions shall be subject	
7	to election at each general election on the following schedule:	
8	(1) The following positions as designated in section 2 of this	
9	act shall be subject to election in 2004:	
10	(A) District 2, Position 2;	
11	(B) District 4, Position 1;	
12	(C) District 4, Position 2; and	
13	(D) District 5, Position 1.	
14	(2) The following positions as designated in section 2 of this	
15	act shall be subject to election in 2006:	
16	(A) District 1, Position 2;	
17	(B) District 3, Position 2;	
18	(C) District 5, Position 2; and	
19	(D) District 6, Position 2.	
20	(3) The following positions as designated in section 2 of this	
21	act shall be subject to election in 2008:	
22	(A) District 1, Position 1; and	
23	(B) District 6, Position 1.	
24	(4) The following positions as designated in section 2 of this	
25	act shall be subject to election in 2010:	
26	(A) District 2, Position 1; and	
27	(B) District 3, Position 1.	
28		
29	SECTION 4. Each currently serving member of the Court of Appeals shall	
30	continue in office until his or her position shall be subject to election, as	
31	provided for under this act, regardless of the date otherwise set as the	
32	expiration of his or her term, and regardless of any changes in the	
33	geographical boundaries in the district from which he or she was elected.	
34		
35		
36		