Stricken language would be deleted from and underlined language would be added to the law as it existed prior to this session of the General Assembly.

1	State of Arkansas	As Engrossed: S3/13/03			
2	84th General Assembly	A Bill			
3	Regular Session, 2003		SENATE BILL	921	
4					
5	By: Senator J. Jeffress				
6					
7					
8		For An Act To Be Entitled			
9	AN ACT TO RETAIN THE CURRENT ELECTORAL DISTRICTS				
10	FOR THE ARKANSAS COURT OF APPEALS AND SET				
11	ELECTION DATES; AND FOR OTHER PURPOSES.				
12					
13		Subtitle			
14	AN A	ACT TO MAINTAIN THE CURRENT ELECTORAL			
15	DIST	TRICTS FOR THE ARKANSAS COURT OF			
16	APPE	EALS AND SET ELECTION DATES.			
17					
18					
19	BE IT ENACTED BY THE GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF THE STATE OF ARKANSAS:				
20					
21	SECTION 1. Pur	pose.			
22	(a) For purposes of the 2004 general election and elections				
23	thereafter, the State of Arkansas shall retain the current six (6) districts				
24	for the election of j	udges to the Arkansas Court of Appeals	<u>3 .</u>		
25	(b) It is the	purpose of this act to provide that th	<u>ie six (6)</u>		
26	electoral districts f	or the Arkansas Court of Appeals shall	remain the sam	<u>ıe</u>	
27	as now established by	law and to establish the dates for el	ection of the t	.WO	
28	(2) judges within eac	h of those districts.			
29					
30	SECTION 2. Cou	rt of Appeals Districts.			
31	(a) Court of A	ppeals District l shall continue to be	composed of Cl	ay,	
32	Craighead, Crittenden, Cross, Greene, Lee, Mississippi, Monroe, Phillips,				
33	Poinsett, St. Francis, and Woodruff Counties.				
34	(b) Court of A	ppeals District 2 shall continue to be	composed of		
35	Boone, Marion, Baxter	, Fulton, Sharp, Randolph, Newton, Sea	arcy, Stone, Iza	ırd,	
36	Lawrence, Van Buren,	Cleburne, Independence, Jackson, Faulk	oner, White,		

03102003JDF1319.CDS328

As Engrossed: S3/13/03 SB921

- 1 Lonoke, and Prairie Counties.
- 2 (c) Court of Appeals District 3 shall continue to be composed of
- 3 <u>Benton, Carroll, Crawford, Franklin, Johnson, Madison, Pope, Sebastian, and</u>
- 4 Washington Counties.
- 5 (d) Court of Appeals District 4 shall continue to be composed of
- 6 Clark, Conway, Garland, Grant, Hempstead, Hot Spring, Howard, Lafayette,
- 7 Little River, Logan, Miller, Montgomery, Nevada, Pike, Polk, Saline, Scott,
- 8 Sevier, and Yell Counties.
- 9 (e) Court of Appeals District 5 shall continue to be composed of
- 10 Arkansas, Ashley, Bradley, Calhoun, Chicot, Cleveland, Columbia, Dallas,
- 11 Desha, Drew, Jefferson, Lincoln, Ouachita, and Union Counties.
- 12 (f) Court of Appeals District 6 shall continue to be composed of Perry
- 13 and Pulaski Counties.

14

- 15 SECTION 3. Court of Appeals Elections.
- 16 (a) The elections under this section shall be for eight-year terms,
- 17 <u>except as otherwise provided by this act.</u>
- 18 <u>(b) The date of election for each of the twelve (12) judges of the</u>
- 19 <u>Court of Appeals shall be according to the following schedule:</u>
- 20 (1) The judgeship that is currently designated as District 1,
- 21 Position 1, shall be subject to election in 2008;
- 22 (2) The judgeship that is currently designated as District 1,
- 23 <u>Position 2, shall be subject to election in 2004;</u>
- 24 (3) The judgeship that is currently designated as District 2,
- 25 <u>Position 1, shall be subject to election in 2010;</u>
- 26 (4) The judgeship that is currently designated as District 2,
- 27 Position 2, shall be subject to election in 2004;
- 28 (5) The judgeship that is currently designated as District 3,
- 29 Position 1, shall be subject to election in 2010;
- 30 (6) The judgeship that is currently designated as District 3,
- 31 <u>Position 2, shall be subject to election in 2004;</u>
- 32 (7) The judgeship that is currently designated as District 4,
- 33 Position 1, shall be subject to election in 2004;
- 34 (8) The judgeship that is currently designated as District 4,
- 35 Position 2, shall be subject to election in 2004;
- 36 <u>(9) The judgeship that is currently designated as District 5,</u>

As Engrossed: S3/13/03 SB921

1	Position 1, shall be subject to election in 2004;			
2	(10) The judgeship that is currently designated as District 5,			
3	Position 2, shall be subject to election in 2004;			
4	(11) The judgeship that is currently designated as District 6,			
5	Position 1, shall be subject to election in 2008; and			
6	(12) The judgeship that is currently designated as District 6,			
7	Position 2, shall be subject to election in 2004.			
8				
9	SECTION 4. <u>Transition.</u>			
10	Each currently serving judge of the Court of Appeals shall continue in			
11	office until his or her position is subject to election, as provided under			
12	this act, regardless of the date otherwise set as the expiration of his or			
13	<u>her term.</u>			
14	/s/ J. Jeffress			
15				
16				
17				
18				
19				
20				
21				
22				
23				
24				
25				
26				
27				
28				
29				
30				
31 32				
32 33				
34				
35				
36				