| 1 | State of Arkansas As Engrossed: H12/16/03 H12/19/03 S1/5/04 S1/7/04 Call Item 4 84th General Assembly A Bill |
|--------|-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------|
| 2 | |
| 3 | Second Extraordinary Session, 2003 HOUSE BILL 1018 |
| 4 5 | By: Representatives Boyd, Cleveland, Milligan, Jacobs, Seawel, Hathorn, House, Bennett, King, Fite, |
| 6 | Weaver, Rankin, Adams, Berry, Gillespie, Norton |
| 7 | By: Senators Gullett, Horn, Laverty, Wooldridge, J. Jeffress, Miller |
| 8 | |
| 9 | |
| 10 | For An Act To Be Entitled |
| 11 | AN ACT TO PROVIDE FOR THE CONTINUED SUPPORT OF |
| 12 | ISOLATED SCHOOL DISTRICTS; AND FOR OTHER |
| 13 | PURPOSES. |
| 14 | |
| 15 | Subtitle |
| 16 | AN ACT TO PROVIDE FOR THE CONTINUED |
| 17 | SUPPORT OF ISOLATED SCHOOL DISTRICTS. |
| 18 | |
| 19 | |
| 20 | BE IT ENACTED BY THE GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF THE STATE OF ARKANSAS: |
| 21 | SECTION 1. Arkansas Code Title 6, Chapter 20, Subchapter 6 is amended |
| 22 | to add an additional section to read as follows: |
| 23 | 6-20-602. Designated isolated districts. |
| 24 | The following school districts are designated as isolated districts |
| 25 | under § 6-20-601 and shall not be subject to consolidation, annexation, or |
| 26 | reorganization solely because of the school district's average daily |
| 27 | membership: |
| 28 | (1) Alread School District; |
| 29 | (2) Delta Special School District; |
| 30 | (3) Biggers-Reyno School District; |
| 31 | (4) Bright Star School District; |
| 32 | (5) Marion County School District; |
| 33 | (6) Carthage School District; |
| 34 | (7) Cord-Charlotte School District; |
| 35 | (8) Deer School District; |
| 36 | (9) Delaplaine School District; |



| 1 | (10) Elaine School District; |
|----|------------------------------------------------------------------------------------|
| 2 | (11) Evening Shade School District; |
| 3 | (12) Fourche Valley School District; |
| 4 | (13) Gillett School District; |
| 5 | (14) Kingston School District; |
| 6 | (15) Lynn School District; |
| 7 | (16) Mount Judea School District; |
| 8 | (17) Mount Pleasant School District; |
| 9 | (18) Oark School District; |
| 10 | (19) Oden School District; |
| 11 | (20) Paron School District; |
| 12 | (21) Randolph County School District; |
| 13 | (22) River Valley School District; |
| 14 | (23) Rural Special School District; |
| 15 | (24) Scotland School District; |
| 16 | (25) Sparkman School District; |
| 17 | (26) St. Joe School District; |
| 18 | (27) St. Paul School District; |
| 19 | (28) Stone County School District; |
| 20 | (29) Taylor School District; |
| 21 | (30) Umpire School District; |
| 22 | (31) Williford School District; and |
| 23 | (32) Winslow School District; |
| 24 | (33) Swifton School District; and |
| 25 | (34) Concord School District. |
| 26 | |
| 27 | SECTION 2. Arkansas Code § 6-20-601(a), concerning funding for |
| 28 | isolated school districts, is amended to read as follows: |
| 29 | (a) As Effective for the 2004-2005 school year and each school year |
| 30 | thereafter, as used in this section, "isolated school district" means a |
| 31 | school district that <u>is listed under § 6-20-602 and that</u> meets any four (4) |
| 32 | of the following five (5) criteria: |
| 33 | (1) There is a distance of twelve (12) miles or more by hard- |
| 34 | surfaced highway from the high school of the district to the nearest adjacent |
| 35 | high school in an adjoining district; |
| 36 | (2) The density ratio of transported students is less than three |
| | |

2

| 1 | (3) four (4) students per square mile of area; |
|----|-------------------------------------------------------------------------------|
| 2 | (3) The total area of the district is ninety-five square miles |
| 3 | (95 sq. mi.) eighty square miles (80 sq. mi.) or greater; |
| 4 | (4) Less than fifty percent (50%) of bus route miles is on hard- |
| 5 | surfaced roads; and |
| 6 | (5) There are geographic barriers such as lakes, rivers, and |
| 7 | mountain ranges which would impede travel to schools that otherwise would be |
| 8 | appropriate for consolidation, cooperative programs, and shared services. |
| 9 | |
| 10 | SECTION 3. EMERGENCY CLAUSE. It is found and determined by the |
| 11 | General Assembly of the State of Arkansas that the Arkansas Supreme Court in |
| 12 | Lake View School District No. 25 v. Huckabee, 351 Ark. 31 (2002) declared the |
| 13 | current system of education to be unconstitutional because it is both |
| 14 | inequitable and inadequate; and the Arkansas Supreme Court set forth the test |
| 15 | for a constitutional system to be one in which the State has an "absolute |
| 16 | duty" to provide an "equal opportunity to an adequate education"; and the |
| 17 | Arkansas Supreme Court instructed the General Assembly to define and provide |
| 18 | what is necessary to provide an adequate and equitable education for the |
| 19 | children of Arkansas; that in the process of restructuring school districts |
| 20 | certain areas of the state need to be afforded protection from consolidation |
| 21 | prior to any restructuring. Therefore, an emergency is declared to exist and |
| 22 | this act being immediately necessary for the preservation of the public |
| 23 | peace, health, and safety shall become effective on: |
| 24 | (1) The date of its approval by the Governor; |
| 25 | (2) If the bill is neither approved nor vetoed by the Governor, |
| 26 | the expiration of the period of time during which the Governor may veto the |
| 27 | <u>bill; or</u> |
| 28 | (3) If the bill is vetoed by the Governor and the veto is |
| 29 | overridden, the date the last house overrides the veto. |
| 30 | |
| 31 | /s/ Boyd |
| 32 | |
| 33 | |
| 34 | |
| 35 | |
| 36 | |

3