1	State of Arkansas
2	84th General Assembly
3	Second Extraordinary Session, 2003 HR 1014
4	
5	By: Representatives C. Johnson, Chesterfield, Clemons, Cleveland, Dangeau, Dickinson, Elliott, Fite,
6	Goss, Jones, Lewellen, Mahony, Penix, Pickett, Thomas, White
7	
8	
9	HOUSE RESOLUTION
10	COMMENDING THE DIRECTORS OF THE FEDERAL TRIO
11	PROGRAMS AND RECOGNIZING THEIR CONTRIBUTION OF
12	\$18.2 MILLION TO EDUCATION IN ARKANSAS FOR THE
13	2002-2003 SCHOOL YEAR.
14	
15	Subtitle
16	COMMENDING THE DIRECTORS OF THE FEDERAL
17	TRIO PROGRAMS AND RECOGNIZING THEIR
18	CONTRIBUTION OF \$18.2 MILLION TO
19	EDUCATION IN ARKANSAS FOR THE 2002-2003
20	SCHOOL YEAR.
21	
22	
23	WHEREAS, the Federal TRIO Programs incorporate the following nine major
24	programs for disadvantaged young people and adults: Educational Talent
25	Search, Upward Bound, Upward Bound Math/Science, Veterans' Upward Bound,
26	Student Support Services, Educational Opportunity Centers, Ronald E. McNair
27	Post-Baccalaureate Achievement, Training Program for Special Programs Staff
28	and Leadership Personnel, and TRIO Dissemination Partnership Program; and
29	
30	WHEREAS, the Federal TRIO Programs are designed to prepare
31	disadvantaged persons for the successful entry, retention, and completion of
32	postsecondary education; and
33	
34	WHEREAS, TRIO Programs identify low-income and first generation college
35	students, and provide them with encouragement, support, and assistance; and
36	



- WHEREAS, TRIO services are designed to improve academic performance,
  increase student motivation, and facilitate transitions from one level of
  education to the next; and
- 4

5 WHEREAS, during the 2002-2003 school year alone, TRIO Programs served 6 20,602 Arkansas participants and awarded \$18.2 million to Arkansas TRIO 7 Programs; and

8

9 WHEREAS, TRIO Programs have directly benefitted the following 10 educational institutions in Arkansas: Arkansas State University - Beebe; 11 Arkansas State University; Cossatot Community College of the University of 12 Arkansas; East Arkansas Community College; Garland County Community College; Harding University; Henderson State University; Henderson State University, 13 14 Disabled; Lyon College; Mid-South Community College; Mississippi County 15 Community College; North Arkansas College; Ouachita Baptist University; 16 Ouachita Technical College; Ozarka Technical College; Philander Smith 17 College; Phillips Community College of the University of Arkansas; Rich 18 Mountain Community College; South Arkansas Community College; Southern 19 Arkansas University; University of Arkansas - Fayetteville; University of Arkansas - Little Rock; University of Arkansas - Pine Bluff; University of 20 21 Arkansas Community College at Hope; University of Arkansas - Monticello; and 22 University of the Ozarks; and

23

WHEREAS, the great strides in improving education in Arkansas could not have been made without the hard work and dedication of TRIO's directors, directors,

27 NOW THEREFORE,

28 BE IT RESOLVED BY THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES OF THE EIGHTY-FOURTH GENERAL29 ASSEMBLY OF THE STATE OF ARKANSAS:

30

31 That the House of Representatives recognizes TRIO's contribution of 32 \$18.2 million to education in Arkansas and commends its directors for their 33 commitment, hard work, and dedication.

2

- 34
- 35
- 36