1	State of Arkansas
2	84th General Assembly
3	Second Extraordinary Session, 2003 SR 19
4	
5	By: Senator T. Smith
6	
7	
8	SENATE RESOLUTION
9	COMMENDING ARKANSAS SCHOOL FOR MATHEMATICS
10	SCIENCES AND THE ARTS STUDENTS AUDREY MORRIS,
11	KATHERINE HERRING, JOHNSON WONG, AND ALEX WONG
12	FOR THEIR DESIGNATION AS A NATIONAL OUTSTANDING
13	TEAM IN THE SIXTH ANNUAL HIGH SCHOOL MATHEMATICAL
14	CONTEST IN MODELING.
15	
16	Subtitle
17	COMMENDING ARKANSAS MATH AND SCIENCE
18	STUDENTS AUDREY MORRIS, KATHERINE
19	HERRING, JOHNSON WONG, AND ALEX WONG.
20	
21	
22	WHEREAS, The Consortium for Mathematics and its Applications (COMAP) is
23	an award-winning non-profit organization whose mission is to improve
24	mathematics education for students of all ages; and
25	
26	WHEREAS, Since 1980, The Consortium for Mathematics and its
27	Applications (COMAP) has worked with teachers, students, and business people
28	to create learning environments where mathematics is used to investigate and
29	model real issues in our world; and
30	
31	WHEREAS, in November 2003, The Consortium for Mathematics and its
32	Applications (COMAP) held the Sixth Annual High School Mathematical COMAP
33	Modeling (HiMCM) contest, with a total of two hundred seventy-four (274)
34	teams, with up to four (4) students each, from fifty-nine (59) different
35	schools competing; and
36	

1	WHEREAS, four (4) students from the Arkansas School for Mathematics
2	Sciences and the Arts competed in the contest - Audrey Morris of
3	Russellville, Katherine Herring of Conway, Johnson Wong of Little Rock, and
4	Alex Wong of Searcy, with the team being led by Bruce Turkal; and
5	
6	WHEREAS, the Arkansas School for Mathematics Sciences and the Arts
7	earned a "National Outstanding" designation and a "Regional Outstanding"
8	designation; and
9	
10	WHEREAS, the Senate of the Eighty-fourth General Assembly wishes to
11	publicly recognize the efforts of students Audrey Morris, Katherine Herring,
12	Johnson Wong, and Alex Wong in the Sixth Annual High School Mathematical
13	COMAP Modeling (HiMCM) contest,
14	
15	NOW THEREFORE,
16	BE IT RESOLVED BY THE SENATE OF THE EIGHTY-FOURTH GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF THE
17	STATE OF ARKANSAS;
18	
19	THAT the Senate recognizes Audrey Morris, Katherine Herring, Johnson
20	Wong, and Alex Wong for their hard work, commitment, and dedication in The
21	Consortium for Mathematics and its Applications' Sixth Annual High School
22	Mathematical COMAP in Modeling (HiMCM) contest, and upon adoption of this
23	resolution, an appropriate copy shall be forwarded to these individuals, the
24	Arkansas School for Mathematics Sciences and the Arts, and Bruce Turkal.
25 26	
27	
28	
29	
30	
31	
32	
33	
34	
35	
36	