1 2	State of Arkansas 88th General Assembly	As Engrossed: H3/15/11 H3/22/11 $f A~Bill$	
3	Regular Session, 2011		HOUSE BILL 1738
4	regular Session, 2011		TIO COL BILL 1730
5	By: Representative Ingram		
6			
7		For An Act To Be Entitled	
8	AN ACT TO PROHIBIT THE DISTRIBUTION OF INSURANCE		
9	PREMIUM TAX MONEYS TO INACTIVE FIRE DEPARTMENTS; AND		
10	FOR OTHER PURPOSES.		
11			
12			
13		Subtitle	
14	TO I	PROHIBIT THE DISTRIBUTION OF INS	SURANCE
15	PREM	MIUM TAX MONEYS TO INACTIVE FIRE	I
16	DEPA	ARTMENTS.	
17			
18			
19	BE IT ENACTED BY THE	GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF THE STATE O	F ARKANSAS:
20			
21	SECTION 1. Ark	ansas Code § 14-284-403 is amen	ded to read as follows:
22	14-284-403. Ap	portionment of funds.	
23	(a)(l) These p	remium tax moneys are assessed	for disbursement from the
24	Fire Protection Premi	um Tax Fund, § 19-6-468, by the	Department of Finance
25	and Administration to	the counties in the following	percentages:
26	Arkansas County - 0.7	78%, Ashley County $-$ 1.39 $%$, Baxt	er County -1.78% , Benton
27	County - 3.86%, Boone	e County $-$ 1.46%, Bradley County	- 0.52%, Calhoun County
28	- 0.51%, Carroll Coun	ty -0.97 %, Chicot County -0.5	1%, Clark County - 1.13%,
29	Clay County -1.10% ,	Cleburne County - 1.11%, Clevel	and County -0.66% ,
30	Columbia County -1.2	24%, Conway County $-$ 1.04%, Crai	ghead County -2.91% ,
31	Crawford County -1.9	8%, Crittenden County -1.32% ,	Cross County -0.84% ,
32	Dallas County - 0.45%	, Desha County — 0.71%, Drew Co	unty — 0.80%, Faulkner
33	County - 2.30%, Frank	clin County $-$ 0.97%, Fulton Coun	ty - 0.84%, Garland
34	County - 3.12%, Grant	County - 1.13%, Greene County	- 1.39%, Hempstead County
35	- 1.89%, Hot Spring C	County - 1.46%, Howard County -	0.75%, Independence
36	County = 1.00% Trand	County - 0 91% Tackson County	_ 0 95% Tefferson

12-29-2010 14:20:20 KLL045

- 1 County 2.32%, Johnson County 1.05%, Lafayette County 0.71%, Lawrence
- 2 County -0.96%, Lee County -0.73%, Lincoln County -1.12%, Little River
- 3 County -0.77%, Logan County -1.06%, Lonoke County -1.70%, Madison County -
- 4 0.95%, Marion County -1.00%, Miller County -1.44%, Mississippi County -
- 5 1.77%, Monroe County 0.53%, Montgomery County 0.66%, Nevada County -
- 6 0.58%, Newton County 0.67%, Ouachita County 1.37%, Perry County 0.62%,
- 7 Phillips County 1.12%, Pike County 0.87%, Poinsett County 1.14%, Polk
- 8 County 1.01%, Pope County 1.73%, Prairie County 0.83%, Pulaski County -
- 9 5.99%, Randolph County 0.96%, St. Francis County 1.45%, Saline County -
- 10 3.00%, Scott County -0.59%, Searcy County -0.73%, Sebastian County -2.06%,
- 11 Sevier County -0.82%, Sharp County -1.30%, Stone County -0.77%, Union
- 12 County -2.01%, Van Buren County -1.18%, Washington County -3.46%, White
- County -2.71%, Woodruff County -0.47%, Yell County -1.11%.
- 14 (2)(A) The moneys shall be apportioned by each quorum court to
- 15 the districts and municipalities within the county based upon population
- 16 unless the Gounty Intergovernmental Gooperation Council county
- 17 <u>intergovernmental cooperation council</u> notifies the quorum court of the fire
- 18 protection needs of the districts and municipalities, in which case the
- 19 moneys shall be apportioned by the quorum court based on those needs.
- 20 (B) The funds shall be distributed to municipalities and
- 21 those certified departments in districts $\frac{\text{which}}{\text{that}}$ are in compliance with
- 22 this subchapter, § 20-22-801 et seq., and § 6-21-106.
- 23 (C) Fire departments which that are not certified by the
- Office of Fire Protection Services pursuant to under § 20-22-801 et seq.
- 25 shall also be eligible to receive moneys disbursed under this section so long
- 26 as all moneys received are spent directly on equipment, training, capital
- 27 improvements, or other expenditures necessary for upgrading the service
- 28 provided by the department.
- 29 <u>(D)(i) An inactive fire department, as determined by the</u>
- 30 county judge, is not eligible to receive moneys disbursed under this section.
- 31 <u>(ii) Any moneys allocated by the county</u>
- 32 <u>intergovernmental cooperation council and any moneys that would have been</u>
- 33 apportioned to an inactive fire department based upon population shall be
- 34 disbursed by the quorum court to the active departments based upon fire
- 35 protection needs.
- 36 <u>(iii) If a quorum court has passed a resolution that</u>

1	reallocates the moneys remaining after the disbursement of moneys under thi			
2	section, then the moneys shall be reallocated based upon the quorum court			
3	resolution.			
4	(b) Disbursements shall be made on forms prescribed by the Department			
5	of Finance and Administration.			
6	(c) A county treasurer shall not collect the treasurer's commission			
7	provided in § $21\text{-}6\text{-}302$ on any of the premium tax moneys disbursed from the			
8	Fire Protection Premium Tax Fund.			
9				
10	/s/Ingram			
11				
12				
13				
14				
15				
16				
17				
18				
19				
20				
21				
22				
23				
24				
25				
2627				
28				
29				
30				
31				
32				
33				
34				
35				
36				