1	State of Arkansas	
2	92nd General Assembly A Bill	
3	Regular Session, 2019 HOUSE BILL 19	937
4		
5	By: Representative Dalby	
6	By: Senator S. Flowers	
7		
8	For An Act To Be Entitled	
9	AN ACT CONCERNING THE TRANSITION FROM LOCAL DISTRICT	
10	COURTS TO STATE DISTRICT COURTS; AND FOR OTHER	
11	PURPOSES.	
12		
13		
14	Subtitle	
15	CONCERNING THE TRANSITION FROM LOCAL	
16	DISTRICT COURTS TO STATE DISTRICT COURTS.	
17		
18		
19	BE IT ENACTED BY THE GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF THE STATE OF ARKANSAS:	
20		
21	SECTION 1. Arkansas Code § 16-17-1113(e), concerning the transition	to
22	state district courts for Cleburne and Stone counties in 2021, is repealed.	
23	(e)(1) The Thirteenth District is composed of the counties of Stone	
24	and Gleburne.	
25	(2) The Thirteenth District has five (5) departments as follows	<del>s :</del>
26 27	(A) One (1) located in Heber Springs; (B) One (1) located in Greers Ferry;	
2 <i>1</i> 28	(C) One (1) located in Concord;	
20 29	(D) One (1) located in Quitman; and	
30	(E) One (1) located in Mountain View.	
31	(3) The Thirteenth District is served by one (1) state distric	£
32	court judge.	_
33	(4) The Thirteenth District judge is elected districtwide.	
34	(5) The Thirteenth District court has districtwide jurisdiction	n -
35	(a, Jari	-•
36	SECTION 2. Arkansas Code § 16-17-1113(h), concerning the transition	to

```
1
     state district courts for Monroe and Arkansas counties in 2021, is repealed.
 2
           (h)(1) The Sixteenth Judicial District shall be composed of the
 3
     counties of Monroe and Arkansas.
 4
                 (2) The Sixteenth District shall have seven (7) departments as
 5
     follows:
 6
                       (A) One (1) located in Stuttgart;
 7
                       (B) One (1) located in DeWitt:
                       (C) One (1) located in Gillett;
 8
 9
                       (D) One (1) located in St. Charles:
10
                       (E) One (1) located in Brinkley:
11
                       (F) One (1) located in Clarendon; and
12
                       (C) One (1) located in Holly Grove.
13
                 (3) The Sixteenth Judicial District shall be served by one (1)
     state district court judge.
14
15
                (4) The Sixteenth Judicial District judge shall be elected
16
     districtwide.
17
                (5) The Sixteenth Judicial District court shall have
18
     districtwide jurisdiction.
19
20
           SECTION 3. Arkansas Code Title 16, Chapter 17, Subchapter 11, is
21
     amended to add an additional section to read as follows:
22
           16-17-1115. Reorganization of local district courts to state district
23
     courts as of January 1, 2025.
           (a)(1) Beginning January 1, 2025, the following cities and counties,
24
25
     currently being served by a local district court under § 16-17-901 et seq.
26
     shall be reorganized as a state district court and served by state district
27
     court judges as assigned.
28
                 (2) The new state district court judgeship created by this
     section shall become effective January 1, 2025, and shall be placed on the
29
30
     ballot to be elected in the 2024 nonpartisan judicial election from the newly
     constructed state district court district.
31
32
                 (3) The cities and counties that were previously served by local
33
     district courts and will be served by state district courts shall comply with
34
     the cost-sharing requirements established in § 16-17-1106, effective January
35
     1, 2025.
36
           (b)(1) The Thirteenth District is composed of the counties of Stone
```

1	and Cleburne.
2	(2) The Thirteenth District has five (5) departments as follows:
3	(A) One (1) located in Heber Springs;
4	(B) One (1) located in Greers Ferry;
5	(C) One (1) located in Concord;
6	(D) One (1) located in Quitman; and
7	(E) One (1) located in Mountain View.
8	(3) The Thirteenth District is served by one (1) state district
9	court judge.
10	(4) The Thirteenth District judge is elected districtwide.
11	(5) The Thirteenth District court has districtwide jurisdiction.
12	(c)(1) The Sixteenth Judicial District shall be composed of the
13	counties of Monroe and Arkansas.
14	(2) The Sixteenth District shall have seven (7) departments as
15	follows:
16	(A) One (1) located in Stuttgart;
17	(B) One (1) located in De Witt;
18	(C) One (1) located in Gillett;
19	(D) One (1) located in St. Charles;
20	(E) One (1) located in Brinkley;
21	(F) One (1) located in Clarendon; and
22	(G) One (1) located in Holly Grove.
23	(3) The Sixteenth Judicial District shall be served by one (1)
24	state district court judge.
25	(4) The Sixteenth Judicial District judge shall be elected
26	districtwide.
27	(5) The Sixteenth Judicial District court shall have
28	districtwide jurisdiction.
29	
30	
31	
32	
33	
34	
35	
36	