1	A D:11	
2		
3		SENATE BILL 449
4		
5	-	
6	5 1	
7		
8	AN ACT CONCERNING THE SAFE SCHOOLS COMMITTEE; TO	
9 10	AMEND PROVISIONS OF THE ARKANSAS CODE WITH RESPECT TO	
10	THE COMPOSITION OF THE SAFE SCHOOLS COMMITTEE; AND	
12	FOR OTHER PURPOSES.	
12		
14		
15		
16		ODE
17	WITH RESPECT TO THE COMPOSITION OF THE	
18		
19	9	
20	0	
21	1 BE IT ENACTED BY THE GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF THE STATE OF .	ARKANSAS:
22	2	
23	3 SECTION 1. Arkansas Code § 6-15-1301(a) and (b)	, concerning the
24	composition of the Safe Schools Committee, are amended to read as follows:	
25	5 (a) The Department of Education is directed to	<u>shall</u> create a Safe
26	6 Schools Committee.	
27	7 (b)(1) The Safe Schools Committee shall be comp	osed of the following
28	8 individuals:	
29	9 (A) Two (2) <u>One (1)</u> classroom teach	ers <u>teacher</u> appointed
30	by the Arkansas Education Association;	
31	1 (B) Two (2) school administrators a	ppointed by the
32	Arkansas Association of Educational Administrators;	
33	3 (C) Two (2) school district board ma	embers appointed by the
34		
35	5 (D) A staff member of the department	t appointed by the
36	6 Commissioner of Education;	



.

1	(E) A school safety specialist, employed by an Arkansas		
2	school district, appointed by the commissioner;		
3	(F) One (1) school counselor appointed by the Arkansas		
4	Counseling Association; and		
5	(G) One (1) additional person knowledgeable in the field		
6	of school safety appointed by the commissioner <u>The director of the Criminal</u>		
7	Justice Institute and of the Arkansas Center for School Safety, or his or her		
8	designee;		
9	(H) One (1) classroom teacher appointed by the Arkansas		
10	State Teachers Association;		
11	(I) The Director of the Arkansas Department of Emergency		
12	Management, or his or her designee;		
13	(J) The Director of the Arkansas Public School Resource		
14	Center, Inc., or his or her designee;		
15	(K) A chief of police or a sheriff appointed by the		
16	<pre>commissioner;</pre>		
17	(L) The Director of the Arkansas Rural Ed Association, or		
18	his or her designee;		
19	(M) The State Fire Marshall, or his or her designee;		
20	(N) One (1) school psychologist appointed by the Arkansas		
21	School Psychology Association; and		
22	(0) One (1) director of an Arkansas education service		
23	cooperative appointed by the commissioner.		
24	(2) The Chair of the House Committee on Education and the Chair		
25	of the Senate Committee on Education or their designees shall serve as ex		
26	officio members of the Safe Schools Committee.		
27			
28			
29			
30			
31			
32			
33			
34			
35			
36			