1	State of Arkansas
2	94th General Assembly
3	Fiscal Session, 2024 SR 40
4	
5	By: Senator M. Johnson
6	
7	SENATE RESOLUTION
8	TO RECOGNIZE ARKANSAS-OWNED MYSTIK DAN AS THE 2024
9	KENTUCKY DERBY WINNER.
10	
11	
12	Subtitle
13	TO RECOGNIZE ARKANSAS-OWNED MYSTIK DAN AS
14	THE 2024 KENTUCKY DERBY WINNER.
15	
16	
17	WHEREAS, the 2024 Kentucky Derby was won by Mystik Dan in a thrilling
18	photo finish at Churchill Downs in Louisville, Kentucky, on May 4, 2024; and
19	
20	WHEREAS, Mystik Dan from 4G Racing in Ferndale, Arkansas, came into the
21	Kentucky Derby with an 18-1 shot and pulled off a dramatic last-second
22	victory in the 150th Kentucky Derby; and
23	
24	WHEREAS, Mystik Dan beat out Sierra Leone and Forever Young by a nose
25	as all three (3) horses reached the finish line, marking the 10th time that
26	the Kentucky Derby has been won by a nose; and
27	
28	WHEREAS, Mystik Dan is co-owned by Lance Gasaway, Brent Gasaway, and
29 30	Sharilyn Gasaway, who are owners of 4 G Racing, Daniel Hamby III, and Scott
30 31	Hamby, owner of Valley View Farm; and
32	WHEREAS, Mystik Dan has strong Arkansas ties with the horses owners,
33	the Gasaways and Hambys, coming from the Natural State; and
34	the babawayo and hampyo, coming from the natural blate, and
35	WHEREAS, all three (3) of Mystik Dan's graded stakes races prior to the
36	Kentucky Derby were on the track at Oaklawn Park in Hot Springs, with Mystik



.

Dan taking: (1) 5th place in the 2024 Smarty Jones; (2) 1st place in the 2024 Southwest Stakes; and (3) 3rd place in the 2024 Arkansas Derby; and WHEREAS, Mystik Dan's trainer Kenny McPeek was born in Fort Chaffee in 1962, grew up in Lexington, Kentucky, and now lives in Hot Springs, Arkansas, NOW THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE SENATE OF THE NINETY-FOURTH GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF THE STATE OF ARKANSAS: THAT the Senate recognize the Arkansas-owned Mystik Dan as the 2024 Kentucky Derby Champion. BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED THAT upon adoption, a copy of this resolution shall be presented to Lance Gasaway, Brent Gasaway, Sharilyn Gasaway, Daniel Hamby III, and Scott Hamby by the Secretary of the Senate.