Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content
Skip navigation links
Higher Education Home
Newest Higher Education Research
Academic Challenge Other State Scholarships
Reports and Interim Study Proposals
Legislation/Recently Filed Bills
Budget and Funding
State Initiatives and National Research

 Arkansas Department of Higher Education / Arkansas Higher Education Coordinating Board


The Arkansas Department of Higher Education (ADHE) is responsible for carrying out the policy directives of the Arkansas Higher Education Coordinating Board (AHECB), approving and reviewing college and university academic programs and developing funding recommendations for the state’s 11 public universities and 22 public two-year colleges as well as several other post-secondary entities. In addition, the agency is responsible for distributing approximately $170 million annually from state revenues and lottery funds intended to ease the financial burden of students seeking an education beyond high school.

The Arkansas Higher Education Coordinating Board (AHECB)is charged by state law to coordinate higher education in Arkansas and to assure an orderly and effective development of each of the publicly supported institutions of higher education. The Board consists of 12 members who are appointed by the governor and serve staggered six-year terms.


 AHECB Documents and Links