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Subtitle TO RECONCILE DIFFERENCES BETWEEN THE OFFENSES OF DOMESTIC BATTERING IN 

THE FIRST DEGREE AND BATTERY IN THE FIRST DEGREE; AND TO INCREASE THE PENALTIES 

FOR BATTERY OFFENSES UNDER CERTAIN CIRCUMSTANCES. 

 

Impact Summary
1
  Cannot be determined. 

  

Change from current law
2
 Makes various amendments to A.C.A. § 5-13-201, Battery in the first degree and 

A.C.A. § 5-26-303, Domestic battery in the first degree.  This impact focuses solely on new courses of conduct 

and increased penalties.  See attached for reproduction of the full statutes as written under current law. 

 

Section 1 of the proposed bill amends A.C.A. § 5-13-201 (a)(7).  Under the proposed bill, a person commits 

the offense of Battery in the first degree if he or she knowingly, without legal justification, causes serious 

physical injury to a person he or she knows to be sixty (60) years of age or older or twelve (12) years of age or 

younger.  (Emphasis added)  Currently, only victims twelve (12) years of age or younger are covered under the 

Class B penalty provision.  [For reference, causing physical injury to a person sixty (60) years of age or older 

is currently prohibited under A.C.A. § 5-13-202, Battery in the second degree, Class D felony.] 

  

Section 2 of the proposed bill amends A.C.A. § 5-13-201(c).  Under the proposed bill, conduct proscribed 

under current subdivision (a)(2) would be increased from a Class B felony to a Class Y felony.  The conduct 

prohibited in subdivision (a)(2) is as follows:  A person commits battery in the first degree if with the purpose 

to seriously and permanently disfiguring another person or of destroying, amputating, or permanently disabling 

a member or organ of that other person’s body, the person causes such an injury to any person.  Currently, a 

violation of A.C.A. § 5-13-201(a)(2) is a Class Y felony only if committed against a Law Enforcement Officer, 

but a Class B felony if otherwise committed. 

  

Section 3 of the proposed bill amends A.C.A. § 5-26-303, Domestic battery in the first degree.  The proposed 

bill adds subdivision (a)(7), a course of conduct by which the offense of Domestic Battery in the first degree 

can be committed: A person commits domestic battery in the first degree if the person knowingly causes 

serious physical injury to a family or household member who is four (4) years of age or younger under 

                                                
1
  This impact assessment was prepared (2/6/2019, 2:58 p.m.) by the staff of the Arkansas Sentencing Commission pursuant to A. 

C. A. § 16-90-802(d)(6) with data supplied by the Arkansas Department of Correction and the Administrative Office of the 

Courts. A micro-simulation model may be used for bills which have the potential for significant impact on correctional resources. 

The following designations will be used: “minimal” = less than 10 offenders per year will be affected; “medium” = would require 

budgetary increases for ADC inmate costs; and “major” = would require budgetary increases for ADC inmate costs and 

construction costs for additional beds. 

 
2
   Standard punishment ranges:        Misdemeanors 

Class Y 10-40 years or life   Class C 3-10 years; up to $10,000 Class A Up to 1 year; up to $2,500 

Class A  6-30 years; up to $15,000   Class D 0-6 years; up to $10,000 Class B Up to 90 days; up to $1,000 

Class B  5-20 years; up to $15,000   Unclassified  As specified in statute Class C Up to 30 days; up to $500 
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circumstances manifesting extreme indifference to the value of human life. The proposed penalty for this 

course of conduct is a Class Y felony. [For reference, knowingly causing serious physical injury to any person 

four (4) years of age or younger under circumstances manifesting extreme indifference to the value of human 

life is currently prohibited under A.C.A. § 5-13-201, Battery in the first degree, Class Y felony.] 

  

Additionally, Section 3 of the proposed bill would increase the penalty for conduct proscribed under current 

subsection (a)(2) from a Class B felony to a Class Y felony.  The conduct prohibited in subdivision (a)(2) is as 

follows:  A person commits domestic battery in the first degree if with the purpose to seriously and 

permanently disfiguring another person or of destroying, amputating, or permanently disabling a member or 

organ of that other person’s body, the person causes such an injury to any person.  Under current law, this 

conduct is punishable as a Class B felony under A.C.A. § 5-26-303 (a)(3) & (b)(1), Domestic battery in the 

first degree, a Class A felony under A.C.A. § 5-26-303 (a)(3) & (b)(2), Domestic battery in the first degree 

when the victim is a pregnant woman or when a person has one or more domestic battery convictions within 

the last five (5) years, and a Class Y felony under A.C.A. § 5-13-201(a)(9), Battery in the first degree.   

   

Impact Information  

 

Because the courses of conduct with increased penalties in this proposed bill are not uniformly distinguished in 

current charging practice, data is unavailable as to the likely number of convictions per year.  Therefore, the 

impact of this proposed bill cannot be determined.   

 

  



 

A.C.A. § 5-13-201. Battery in the first degree. 

(a)  A person commits battery in the first degree if: 

(1)  With the purpose of causing serious physical injury to another person, the person causes serious 

physical injury to any person by means of a deadly weapon; 

(2)  With the purpose of seriously and permanently disfiguring another person or of destroying, 

amputating, or permanently disabling a member or organ of that other person's body, the person causes 

such an injury to any person; 

(3)  The person causes serious physical injury to another person under circumstances manifesting extreme 

indifference to the value of human life; 

(4)  Acting alone or with one (1) or more other persons: 

(A)  The person commits or attempts to commit a felony; and 

(B)  In the course of and in furtherance of the felony or in immediate flight from the felony: 

(i)  The person or an accomplice causes serious physical injury to any person under circumstances 

manifesting extreme indifference to the value of human life; or 

(ii)  Another person who is resisting the felony or flight causes serious physical injury to any 

person; 

(5)  With the purpose of causing serious physical injury to an unborn child or to a woman who is pregnant 

with an unborn child, the person causes serious physical injury to the unborn child; 

(6)  The person knowingly causes physical injury to a pregnant woman in the commission of a felony or a 

Class A misdemeanor, and in so doing, causes serious physical injury to the pregnant woman's unborn 

child, and the unborn child is subsequently born alive; 

(7)  The person knowingly, without legal justification, causes serious physical injury to a person he or she 

knows to be twelve (12) years of age or younger; 

(8)  With the purpose of causing physical injury to another person, the person causes physical injury to any 

person by means of a firearm; or 

(9)  The person knowingly causes serious physical injury to any person four (4) years of age or younger 

under circumstances manifesting extreme indifference to the value of human life. 

(b)  It is an affirmative defense in any prosecution under subdivision (a)(4) of this section in which the 

defendant was not the only participant that the defendant: 

(1)  Did not commit the battery or in any way solicit, command, induce, procure, counsel, or aid the 

battery's commission; 

(2)  Was not armed with a deadly weapon; 

(3)  Reasonably believed that no other participant was armed with a deadly weapon; and 

(4)  Reasonably believed that no other participant intended to engage in conduct that could result in serious 

physical injury. 

(c)  

(1)  Except as provided in subdivisions (c)(2) and (3) of this section, battery in the first degree is a Class B 

felony. 

(2)  Battery in the first degree is a Class Y felony under the circumstances described in subdivision (a)(9) 

of this section. 

(3)  Battery in the first degree is a Class Y felony if the injured person is a law enforcement officer acting 

in the line of duty. 

 

HISTORY: Acts 1975, No. 280, § 1601; A.S.A. 1947, § 41-1601; Acts 1987, No. 482, § 1; 1995, No. 360, § 1; 

1995, No. 1305, § 1; 2005, No. 1994, § 474; 2007, No. 622, § 1; 2007, No. 709, § 2; 2007, No. 827, § 26. 

 



 

A.C.A. § 5-26-303. Domestic battering in the first degree. 

(a)  A person commits domestic battering in the first degree if: 

(1)  With the purpose of causing serious physical injury to a family or household member, the person 

causes serious physical injury to a family or household member by means of a deadly weapon; 

(2)  With the purpose of seriously and permanently disfiguring a family or household member or of 

destroying, amputating, or permanently disabling a member or organ of a family or household member's 

body, the person causes such an injury to a family or household member; 

(3)  The person causes serious physical injury to a family or household member under circumstances 

manifesting extreme indifference to the value of human life; 

(4)  The person knowingly causes serious physical injury to a family or household member he or she 

knows to be sixty (60) years of age or older or twelve (12) years of age or younger; 

(5)  The person: 

(A)  Commits any act of domestic battering as defined in § 5-26-304 or § 5-26-305; and 

(B)  For conduct that occurred within the ten (10) years preceding the commission of the current 

offense, the person has on two (2) previous occasions been convicted of any act of battery against a 

family or household member as defined by the laws of this state or by the equivalent laws of any other 

state or foreign jurisdiction; or 

(6)  With the purpose of causing physical injury to a family or household member, the person causes 

physical injury to a family or household member by means of a firearm. 

(b)  

(1)  Domestic battering in the first degree is a Class B felony. 

(2)  However, domestic battering in the first degree is a Class A felony upon a conviction under subsection 

(a) of this section if: 

(A)  Committed against a woman the person knew or should have known was pregnant; or 

(B)  The person committed one (1) or more of the following offenses within five (5) years of the 

offense of domestic battering in the first degree: 

(i)  Domestic battering in the first degree; 

(ii)  Domestic battering in the second degree, § 5-26-304; 

(iii)  Domestic battering in the third degree, § 5-26-305; or 

(iv)  A violation of an equivalent penal law of this state or of another state or foreign jurisdiction. 

 

 

HISTORY: Acts 1979, No. 396, § 1; A.S.A. 1947, § 41-1653; Acts 1995, No. 1291, § 1; 1999, No. 1317, § 2; 

1999, No. 1365, § 1; 2001, No. 1553, § 8; 2003, No. 944, § 1; 2003, No. 1079, § 1; 2005, No. 1994, § 481; 

2007, No. 671, § 1; 2009, No. 194, § 1; 2009, No. 748, § 16; 2011, No. 1120, § 7; 2013, No. 417, § 1; 2017, 

No. 301, § 1. 


