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A Broken System
Counties have substantially shouldered the costs associated 

with state deputy prosecutors and public defenders.

As a government system, we expect our state stat-
utes to be upheld as our governing rules of law. 
For 20 years now, the counties have substantially 
shouldered the cost of state deputy prosecuting 

attorney salaries and total costs for their office operations. 
County government has also had to substantially fund public 
defender operations during this time period, even though 
Act 1341 of 1997 and Act 1044 of 1999 promised a “transi-
tion to state-funded” public defender and deputy prosecuting 
attorney systems. This should not be a county government 
responsibility under the law. 

Deputy Prosecuting Attorneys
Rather, under Act 1044 of 1999, it is a clearly stated re-

sponsibility of the state of Arkansas to pay for the salaries of 
deputy prosecuting attorneys. However, counties continue to 
shoulder much of this burden. Act 1044 states that in every 
monthly distribution of general revenues to the counties, the 
state shall retain “one-twelfth (1/12th) of 80 percent” of the 
amount that was appropriated by the counties for salaries 
and other benefits ascertained as the base amount in 1999. 

Every year since Act 1044 was passed, the state has continued 
to withhold this 1/12th of 80 percent from the county’s net 
reduction turnback. This equates to $5,459,621.28 being 
deducted from the counties on an annual basis, according to 
a chart created by AAC Consultant Eddie A. Jones and found 
on the AAC website at https://bit.ly/2VRdXUu. Arkanas 
Legislative Audit also outlines some of these spending issues 
in a report found online at https://www.arklegaudit.gov/pdf.
aspx?id=SPSA01315. The state is actually using this with-
held money, appropriated to counties, in order to pay the 
state deputy prosecuting attorneys instead of using its own 
state funds. Prior to 1999, deputy prosecuting attorneys were 
classified as county employees, but they became state em-
ployees with the enactment of Act 1044. Since these deputy 
prosecuting attorneys classify as state employees, the state of 
Arkansas should be responsible for their salaries as well.

This general turnback the state retains is allocated to the 
State Central Services Fund in order to help pay for the 
“regular salaries and personal services” of deputy prosecuting 
attorneys. Therefore, funds are transferred from the County 
Aid Fund to the Auditor of State for payment of deputy 
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prosecuting attorneys. Money is transferred from the Consti-
tutional Officers Fund to the Auditor of State for a variety of 
payments, including the salaries and benefits of prosecuting 
attorneys. However, under Ark. Code § 16-21-156(1) counties 
are only liable for the costs of “facilities, equipment, supplies, 
salaries and benefits of existing support staff and other office 
expenses for elected prosecuting attorneys and deputy pros-
ecuting attorneys.” The counties are also listed, in this statute, 
as responsible for “any and all other line item appropriations’’ 
approved in their 1999 budget, “except for deputy prosecuting 
attorneys’ salaries and benefits.” Based on budgeting data from 
the Arkansas Department of Finance and Budget Administra-
tion (DFA), in the last 10 years, the amount of County Aid 
allocations given per fiscal year from General Revenue has 
hovered between $19 million and $21.5 million.

There were 188 deputy prosecutors in 1999. Through Act 
1044 of 1999, the state appropriated approximately $5.3 
million to cover expenses for deputy prosecuting attorneys 
for the last six months of FY 2000 and $11.1 million for 
FY 2001. In 2001, Act 595 was enacted to set the number 
of deputy prosecuting attorneys and the budget for deputy 
prosecuting attorneys for FY 2002 and 2003. The number of 
deputy prosecuting attorneys was set at 190. The state budget 
appropriated $11,427,486 in FY 2002 for their salaries 
and personal services and $11,710,111 for FY 2003. In the 
year 2019, there were 258 deputy prosecutors, and the total 
amount appropriated became $24,868,441 in Act 142. There 
has been an exponential increase in the appropriated amounts 
from 1999 when deputy prosecutors became state employees. 
Also, this $5.5 million has continued to be withheld from 
the county’s general turnback annually for two decades to 
be applied to these state salary payments. At the same time, 
with an increased number of deputy prosecutors, the county 
funded budgets for office operations of deputy prosecutors in 
the state court system have skyrocketed. 

Public Defenders
Public defenders became state employees with the passing 

of Act 1341 of 1997, which detailed the transfer of financial 
responsibility from the county to the state, including coun-
ties giving to the state 85 percent of their dedicated public 
defender revenue through the Administration of Justice 
Fund. By statute, the state of Arkansas is responsible for 
the salaries of public defenders, the salaries of secretaries 
and other support staff of the public defenders, and for the 
payment of the costs of certain expenses. These expenses are 
designated to be paid by the Arkansas Public Defender Com-
mission (Ark. Code § 16-87-302). According to data from 
Transparency.Arkansas.gov, since 2013 the Arkansas Public 
Defender Commission has routinely received between $23 
million and $29 million in revenue. Furthermore, Act 871 
of 2019 appropriated an approximate total of $30,452,927 
to the Arkansas Public Defender Commission. Arkansas law 

designates the Arkansas Public Defender Commission as 
the entity that “allocates positions to each county or judicial 
district.” This includes the distribution of public defenders. 
The Commission is guided by factors listed in the statute in 
determining how many positions are necessary in a given 
county or judicial district (Ark. Code § 16-87-304). The state 
of Arkansas is also given the power to set a floor for the entry 
level salaries of public defenders and public defender staff 
(Ark. Code § 16-87-305).

According to DFA, at the beginning of 1998, there were 
still 15 public defenders being paid by the counties. The 
counties were told in 2001 that paying for those additional 
public defenders was to cease. Act 1799 in 2001 added 22 
public defenders in order to alleviate the gap this transition 
would create. Despite this, counties are still paying extra for 
public defenders that are not their financial responsibility, be-
cause the state does not fund an adequate number of public 
defender positions and public defender office personnel.

The county is only legally responsible for the cost of facili-
ties, equipment, and supplies in order to provide an efficient 
operation of the public defender’s office. However, for the 
past 20 years, the counties have also been paying for some 
public defenders, in addition to the counties’ original respon-
sibility for the payment of office operations. Based on budget 
data provided by Transparency Arkansas Counties, approxi-
mately 27 counties across the state are paying for public 
defender expenses that are actually the financial responsibility 
of the state. These extra costs range from a low of $1,000 in 
Hot Spring County to a high of $938,531 in Benton Coun-
ty. A breakdown of the total unnecessary costs to each county 
is included in the graph on Page 35.

According to Transparency Arkansas Counties, the follow-
ing counties have been paying the most for public defenders 
and other expenses in the public defender’s office for which a 
county is not legally obligated:

•	 Benton County — $938,531 for personal services such 
as salaries and benefits;

•	 Washington County — $643,609 for personal ser-
vices, including salaries and benefits;

•	 Pulaski County — $409,844 in salaries, fringe ben-
efits;

•	 Crittenden County — $154,202 for salaries and ben-
efits;

•	 Crawford County — $148,399 in public defender 
costs including a secretary, other personnel and ben-
efits;

•	 Mississippi County — $67,626 for support staff;
•	 Carroll County — $28,847 for a public defender; and
•	 Van Buren County — $46,644 for personnel services 

including a secretary.

See “COSTS”  on  Page 34 > > > 
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Costs Continued From Page 33 < < <

According to a report by the Arkansas DFA, prior to the 
state taking over the bulk of the public defender system, 
there were 147 public defender positions across the state 
paid for by county government. Act 51 in the 1997 Regular 
Legislative Session explicitly set the number of employees for 
the Arkansas Public Defender Commission at 18 employees, 
including 7 public defender attorneys. The appropriated bud-
get for fiscal year 1997 was set at $951,318 and for fiscal year 
1998 it was set at $948,814. However according to DFA, 
overall the state budgeted for a total of 104 public defend-
ers after takeover. This level of staffing was still 40 short 
compared to the amount of public defenders that existed 
statewide before the state took over. Act 1799 in 2001 added 
an additional 22 public defenders. Act 145 in the 2020 Fiscal 
Session set the number of public defenders, public defender 
office employees, and appropriations for the public defender 
system. In 2020, the total number of public defenders totaled 
171, and the total number of non-attorney employees for 
the public defender system totaled 103. In total, there were 
274 employees in the public defender system. Furthermore, 
$27,244,627 was appropriated to the Arkansas Public De-
fender Commission for the salaries and personal services of 
State Operations for public defenders and the Trial Public 
Defender Office. 

In conclusion, not only is approximately $5.5 million 
dollars being withheld from the county’s general turnback, 
but this is county money that is being used by the state to 
pay for the salaries of state deputy prosecutors and associated 
benefit costs. To make matters worse, Pulaski County does 
not receive any general turnback from the state at all because 
it is all deducted as their share of deputy prosecutor salaries 
and benefits. Thus, the only remedy for this injustice is for 
the state to stop withholding this money and release this $5.5 
million which rightfully belongs to the counties of Arkansas. 
The breakdown for each judicial district can be found in the 
relevant codes provided in the footnotes. Furthermore, at 
least 27 counties in Arkansas are paying for expenses in the 
public defender’s office that are statutorily the responsibility 
of the state. This is despite the fact that the counties were 
told in 2001 to cease spending on public defenders. In addi-
tion to paying the costs of facilities, equipment, and sup-
plies in order to provide an efficient operation of the public 
defender’s office, counties are spending thousands of dollars 
on extra costs. These extra costs include public defenders, sec-
retaries, benefits, and other support staff. The counties should 
not be paying for the clearly defined responsibilities of the 
state listed in Ark. Code § 16-87-302. In order to cease the 
hemorrhaging of county funds on these expenses that are not 
legal obligations of the counties, the state of Arkansas should 

fulfill the responsibilities they voluntarily agreed to and 
promoted. This can be done by the Arkansas Public Defender 
Commission expanding the number of public defenders, the 
legislature allocating more money for public defenders and 
support staff, and the state shifting the costs the counties are 
currently paying to the state.  

Over 20 years ago the state of Arkansas admitted in writ-
ing through enacted legislation that the system of funding 
the state judicial system had created inequity in the level 
of judicial services available to the citizens of Arkansas and 
committed to phasing in the responsibility of funding the 
state court system from county government to the state. And 
almost as quickly as it started it stopped. The 1997 legislation 
shifted “partial” costs of the public defender system to the 
state, and the 1999 legislation shifted “partial” costs of the 
deputy prosecuting attorney system to the state. And then 
it stopped. The plan of transitioning to a state funded “state 
court system” has been on hold for the past 20 years.

It is well documented by a Special Report compiled by 
Arkansas Legislative Audit in 2015 that the state’s court system 
costs more than it raises in court derived revenues. The report 
also concluded that the $36 million deficit is primarily ab-
sorbed at the county level through the counties’ general funds. 
No doubt, that deficit is even larger today. The transition to a 
state-funded state court system should be taken off hold.

Footnotes

Judicial District #01 – A.C.A. 16-21-601
Judicial District #02 – A.C.A. 16-21-701 through 16-21-703
Judicial District #03 – A.C.A. 16-21-801
Judicial District #04 – A.C.A. 16-21-901
Judicial District #05 – A.C.A. 16-21-1001
Judicial District #06 – A.C.A. 16-21-1101 through 16-21-1109
Judicial District #07 – A.C.A. 16-21-1201 through 16-21-1204
Judicial District #08 – A.C.A. 16-21-1301
Judicial District #09 – A.C.A. 16-21-1401 through 16-21-1402
Judicial District #10 – A.C.A. 16-21-1501 through 16-21-1503
Judicial District #11 – A.C.A. 16-21-1601 through 16-21-1603
Judicial District #12 – A.C.A. 16-21-1701 through 16-21-1704
Judicial District #13 – A.C.A. 16-21-1801
Judicial District #14 – A.C.A. 16-21-1901 through 16-21-1905
Judicial District #15 – A.C.A. 16-21-2001 through 16-21-2007
Judicial District #16 – A.C.A. 16-21-2101
Judicial District #17 – A.C.A. 16-21-2201 through 16-21-2203
Judicial District #18 – A.C.A. 16-21-2301
Judicial District #19 – A.C.A. 16-21-2401 through 16-21-2403
Judicial District #20 – A.C.A. 16-21-2501
Judicial District #21 – None
Judicial District #22 – A.C.A. 16-21-2701
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Benton					     $938,631 (2020) — Personal Services (salaries and benefits)
Boone					     $10,080 (2020) — Salaries of public defenders and/or staff
					     $7,200 (2020) — Contract Labor
Carroll					     $27,598 (2019) — Salaries of public defender/’s
					     $28, 847 (2020 estimated) — Salaries of public defender’s
Clay					     $5,200 (2020) — Personal Services
Cleburne					    $11,000 (2020) — Public Defender/Indigent Services, Contract Labor
Cleveland				    $3,700 (2020) — Public Defender Reimbursement
Craighead				    $40,256.33 (2020) — Secretary Salary in Public Defender’s Office
Crawford					    $29,981.00 (2020) —- Secretary Salary in Public Defender’s Office
					     $16,218.76 (2020) — Benefit Costs
					     $28,000 (2020) — “Extra Help”
					     $74,199.00 (2020) — Personal Services
Crittenden				    $105,845.00 (2020) — Full Time Salaries in Public Defender’s Office
					     $48,357 (2020) — Benefit Costs
Dallas					     $12,478.80 (2020) — Personal Services
Grant					     $13,800.00 (2020) — Part Time Salaries in Public Defender’s Office
Greene					     $14,461.20 (Requested 2020) — Part Time Salaries in Public Defender’s Office
Hot Spring				    $1,000.00 (2020) — For “Court Appointed Lawyers” in the Public Defender’s Office
Independence				    $11,000.00 (2020) — Personal Services
Izard					     $7,000.00 (2018 - 2020) —- “Extra Help”
					     $1,200.00 (2018 - 2020) — “Special Legal Services”
Lincoln					     $34,500.00 (2020) — Personal Services
Miller					     $21, 307.00 (2020) — Salaries in Indigent Defense Fund
Mississippi				    $67,626.00 (2020) —Part Time Support Staff in Public Defender’s Office
Montgomery				    $7,253.00 (2020) — Indigent Defense Attorney
Phillips					     $7,399.00 (2020) — Personal Services
Pulaski					     $409,844 (2020) — Salaries and Fringe Benefits
Sebastian					    $109,106.00 (2020) — Salaries and Fringe Benefits
Stone					     $16,500 (2020) — Public Defender
Union					     $26,255.73 (2020) — Full Time Salaries in Public Defender’s Office (Secretary)
					     $12,528.00 (2020) — “Extra Help”
					     $7,392.89 (2020) — Fringe Benefits
Van Buren				    $46,643.89 (2020) — Personal Services (includes Secretary’s salary of $31,190.40)
Washington				    $643,609.00 (2020) — Personal Services (includes salaries and benefits)
Yell					     $9,750.00 (2020) — Public Defender

County Extra Spending on Public Defender’s Office/Indigent Services

County Total Cost and Spending
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