
The Continuous
Enrollment Condition 
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Families First 
Coronavirus 

Response

• Passed in March 2020, this law required states to keep people who
were no longer eligible on the Medicaid rolls. Arkansas continued
processing renewals and determining people ineligible but did not
end coverage.

Omnibus Bill

• In December 2022, President Biden signed the Consolidated
Appropriations Act ending the continuous enrollment condition for
Medicaid and allowing states to return to normal operations as of
April 1, the end of the public health emergency (PHE).

Act 780 of 
2021

• State law requires DHS to complete redeterminations of eligibility for
everyone whose case had not been reviewed in the last 12 months
within six months of the end of the PHE (April 1, 2023).

EXHIBIT D
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The Impact on Enrollment 
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At its peak in March 2023, more than 420,000 enrollees remained covered by Medicaid even though they 
were ineligible or never provided information so DHS could determine their eligibility.  At that time, 
enrollment growth in the programs during the PHE was 25.16%. 



Preparation for Unwinding
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Ensuring 
beneficiaries 
knew about 

the unwinding 

Ensuring DHS could 
handle the 

additional work 

Ensuring 
providers & 
stakeholders 

were prepared 
to support the 

effort

 Address updates
 Renewals and reminder 

notices sent
 New federal strategies
 Paid advertising
 Digital campaigns
 Texts, emails, alerts
 Partnerships with 

community organizations
 Expanded outreach
 Enhanced program 

support

 Beneficiary lists
 Weekly calls
 Outreach toolkits
 Outreach grants
 State agency support

 Contracted surge support
 Streamlined processes 
 Cross-divisional work to support eligibility determinations

Providers Beneficiaries

DHS



Factors Impacting Outcomes
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In Arkansas, DHS is not surprised by the number of people not responding- called 
procedural terminations - because many know they no longer are eligible and just 
aren’t returning the forms.

• Arkansas is experiencing a record-low unemployment rate, significantly 
lower than when the pandemic began. In March 2020, the unemployment 
rate in Arkansas was 4.9 percent. In July 2023, it was 2.6 percent.  

• Arkansas increased the minimum wage twice during the pandemic, likely 
resulting in many beneficiaries earning over Medicaid income limits. 

CMS has required some states to pause disenrollments or to reinstate some 
beneficiaries because of issues surrounding redetermination processes, including 
those tied to procedural disenrollments. Arkansas is not one of these states.



Eligibility Outcomes to Date
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Month Number due for renewal in the 
month who retained their coverage 

Medicaid coverage ended in the 
month 

April 61,236 Extended
44,667

Regular
28,135

May 39,848 Extended
43,385

Regular
25,453

June 50,366 Extended
47,426

Regular
30,042

July 50,609 Extended
39,967

Regular
42,312

August 50,662 Extended
34,961

Regular
37,558

Total

252,721 210,406 163,500



Top Closure Reasons:
First Five Months of Unwinding
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Category Number of closures

Failed to return renewal form 189,023

Failed to return requested information 56,143

Household income is above limit for household size 39,343

Client requested closure 26,742

Did not meet requirement(s) for the program 16,562

No longer in the household 11,506

Unable to locate - returned mail 10,141

Failed to cooperate with child support 8,812

No longer met the age requirement 8,626

Not a resident of Arkansas 1,928



Top Closures by Category of Assistance: First 
Five Months of Unwinding
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Category Number of closures

ARHOME 146,413

ARKids A 105,748

PCR 66,713

Newborn 18,658

ARKids B 8,585

QMB 7,810

SMB 4,503

QI-1 2,577

ARSeniors 2,041

Nursing Facility 1,849



Closure Demographics: 
First Five Months of Unwinding
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Closure Demographics: 
First Five Months of Unwinding
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Closures by County: 
First Five Months of Unwinding 
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Lost Coverage Options
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Beneficiaries who lose coverage during the unwinding have options:

• If they failed to turn in requested information during a renewal, they can 
turn that in and get their coverage reinstated within 30 or 90 days 
depending on the category of assistance.

• If they believe they lost coverage in error, they can appeal the determination 
decision. 

• If they are over income, they can apply for coverage at healthcare.gov or 
seek out employer-sponsored coverage. 



Remaining Unwinding Eligibility Work 
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• DHS will continue to process extended renewals this month.

• The processing of regular renewals and appeals will continue as part of the 
return to normal operations.

• DHS is required to submit a report to the Arkansas Legislature at the end of the 
six-month unwinding period outlining the results of the renewal efforts.
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