EXHIBIT J

DEPARTMENT OF HUMAN SERVICES, DIVISION OF MEDICAL SERVICES

SUBJECT: SPA# 2020-0012-Personal Care Rate

DESCRIPTION:

Statement of Necessity

A revision to the Arkansas Medicaid State Plan is necessary to increase rates for personal
care services in the Medicaid program based upon a rate review recommendation and
Arkansas minimum wage increases.

Rule Summary
Effective January 1, 2020, the Medicaid State Plan is being amended as follows:

Rates in the Personal Care program will increase by 1.4% based upon rate review of the
service. The rate increase was recommended due to a regular rate review process. The
State Plan Amendment to support this change will be retroactive to January 1, 2020 upon
CMS approval.

PUBLIC COMMENT: No public hearing was held on this rule. The public comment
period expired on April 26, 2020. The agency indicated that it received multiple public
comments. The public comment summary is separately attached.

Lacey Johnson, an attorney with the Bureau of Legislative Research, asked the following
question and received the following response:

QUESTION: The rule summary mentions that CMS approval is required for retroactive
application. What is the status on that approval? RESPONSE: The SPA was submitted
to CMS on 3/26/20. On 4/16/20, CMS requested a copy of the published notice of
rulemaking. This was provided and CMS indicated that they can “process the SPA in the
next few days.” Jack informed me that “days” often mean weeks with CMS. CMS
officially has 90 days to approve a submission.

The proposed effective date is July 1, 2020.

FINANCIAL IMPACT: The agency indicated that this rule has a financial impact.

Per the agency, the additional cost to implement the rule is $967,883 for the current fiscal
year ($278,847 in general revenue and $689,036 in federal funds) and $1,935,766 for the
next fiscal year (550,338 in general revenue and $1,385,428 in federal funds). The
estimated cost by fiscal year to state, county, and municipal government to implement
this rule is $278,847 for the current fiscal year and $550,338 for the next fiscal year.



The agency indicated that there is a new or increased cost or obligation of at least
$100,000 per year to a private individual, private entity, private business, state
government, county government, municipal government, or to two or more of those
entities combined. Accordingly, the agency provided the following written findings:

(1) a statement of the rule’s basis and purpose;

As required by Executive Order 19-02, the rate review process was completed in July
2019. A revision to the Arkansas Medicaid State Plan is necessary to increase rates for
personal care services.

(2) the problem the agency secks to address with the proposed rule, including a statement
of whether a rule is required by statute;

As required by Executive Order 19-02, the rate review process was completed in July
2019. Rates in the Personal Care program will increase by 1.4% based upon rate review
of the service.

(3) a description of the factual evidence that:

(a) justifies the agency’s need for the proposed rule; and

(b) describes how the benefits of the rule meet the relevant statutory objectives and justify
the rule’s costs;

As required by Executive Order 19-02, the rate review process was completed in July
2019. Rates in the Personal Care program will increase by 1.4% based upon rate review
of the service. The rate increase helps ensure access to care.

(4) a list of less costly alternatives to the proposed rule and the reasons why the
alternatives do not adequately address the problem to be solved by the proposed rule;
There are no less costly alternatives.

(5) a list of alternatives to the proposed rule that were suggested as a result of public
comment and the reasons why the alternatives do not adequately address the problem to
be solved by the proposed rule;

None at this time.

(6) a statement of whether existing rules have created or contributed to the problem the
agency seeks to address with the proposed rule and, if existing rules have created or
contributed to the problem, an explanation of why amendment or repeal of the rule
creating or contributing to the problem is not a sufficient response; and

None.

(7) an agency plan for review of the rule no less than every ten years (o determine
whether. based upon the evidence, there remains a need for the rule including, without
limitation. whether:

(a) the rule is achieving the statutory objectives:

(b) the benefits of the rule continue to justifv its costs: and

(c) the rule can be amended or repealed to reduce costs while continuing to achieve the
statutory objectives



Executive Order 19-02 requires provider rates to be reviewed no less frequently than
every four years.

LEGAL AUTHORIZATION: The Department of Human Services has the authority to
administer assigned forms of public assistance and to make rules as necessary to carry out
its duties. Ark. Code Ann. § 20-76-201(1), (12). The Department is specifically tasked
with establishing and maintaining an indigent medical care program. Ark. Code Ann. §
20-77-107(a)(1). This includes promulgating rules to ensure compliance with federal law
in order to receive federal funding. Ark. Code Ann. § 25-10-129(b).




QUESTIONNAIRE FOR FILING PROPOSED RULES AND REGULATIONS
WITH THE ARKANSAS LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL

DEPARTMENT/AGENCY Department of Human Services

DIVISION Division of Medical Services

DIVISION DIRECTOR Janet Mann -
CONTACT PERSON Alexandra Rouse

ADDRESS P.O. Box 1437, Slot S295, Little Rock, AR 72203-1437

Alexandra.rouse(@dhs.
PHONE NO. 501-320-6383 FAX NO. 501-404-4619 E-MAIL Arkansas.gov

NAME OF PRESENTER AT COMMITTEE MEETING Janet Mann
PRESENTER E-MAIL  Janet.Mann(wdhs.arkansas.gov

INSTRUCTIONS

Please make copies of this form for future use.

Please answer each question completely using layman terms. You may use additional sheets, if
necessary.

If you have a method of indexing your rules, please give the proposed citation after “Short Title
of this Rule” below.

Submit two (2) copies of this questionnaire and financial impact statement attached to the front
of two (2) copies of the proposed rule and required documents. Mail or deliver to:

S 0 wp

Jessica C. Sutton

Administrative Rules Review Section
Arkansas Legislative Council
Bureau of Legislative Research

One Capitol Mall, 5™ Floor

Little Rock, AR 72201
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1. What is the short title of this rule? SPA# 2020-0012-Personal Care Rate

2. What is the subject of the proposed rule? See attached.

3. Is this rule required to comply with a federal statute, rule, or regulation? Yes [_] No [X]
If yes, please provide the federal rule, regulation, and/or statute citation.

4. Was this rule filed under the emergency provisions of the Administrative Procedure Act?

Yes [ ] No [

If yes, what is the effective date of the emergency rule?

When does the emergency rule expire?

Will this emergency rule be promulgated under the permanent provisions of the Administrative

Procedure Act?
Yes [ ] No [ ]
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10.

11.

12.

13.

14.

Is this a new rule? Yes[ ] No[X
If yes, please provide a brief summary explaining the regulation.

Does this repeal an existing rule? Yes [] No X

If yes, a copy of the repealed rule is to be included with your completed questionnaire. If it is being
replaced with a new rule, please provide a summary of the rule giving an explanation of what the rule
does.

Is this an amendment to an existing rule? Yes [X| No [ ]

If yes, please attach a mark-up showing the changes in the existing rule and a summary of the
substantive changes. Note: The summary should explain what the amendment does, and the
mark-up copy should be clearly labeled “mark-up.”

Cite the state law that grants the authority for this proposed rule? If codified, please give the Arkansas
Code citation. Arkansas Code §§ 20-76-201. 20-77-107. and 25-10-129

What is the purpose of this proposed rule? Why is it necessary? See attached.

Please provide the address where this rule is publicly accessible in electronic form via the Internet as
required by Arkansas Code § 25-19-108(b).
https://medicaid.mmis.arkansas.gov/general/comment/comment.aspx

Will a public hearing be held on this proposed rule?  Yes[ ] No [
If yes, please complete the following:

Date:

Time:

Place:

When does the public comment period expire for permanent promulgation? (Must provide a date.)
April 26, 2020

What is the proposed effective date of this proposed rule? (Must provide a date.)
7/1/2020

Please provide a copy of the notice required under Ark. Code Ann. § 25-15-204(a), and proof of
the publication of said notice. See attached.

Please provide proof of filing the rule with the Secretary of State as required pursuant to Ark.
Code Ann. § 25-15-204(¢). See attached.

Please give the names of persons, groups, or organizations that you expect to comment on these rules?
Please provide their position (for or against) if known. No comments are expected.
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FINANCIAL IMPACT STATEMENT
PLEASE ANSWER ALL QUESTIONS COMPLETELY
DEPARTMENT  Department of Human Services
DIVISION Division of Medical Services
PERSON COMPLETING THIS STATEMENT Lynn Burton
TELEPHONE 501-682-1857 FAX 501-682-8155 EMAIL: Lynn.Burton(@dhs.arkansas.gov

To comply with Ark. Code Ann. § 25-15-204(e), please complete the following Financial Impact
Statement and file two copies with the questionnaire and proposed rules.

SHORT TITLE OF THIS RULE Personal Care State Plan Amendment

1. Does this proposed, amended, or repealed rule have a financial impact? Yes No []
2. Isthe rule based on the best reasonably obtainable scientific, technical,

economic, or other evidence and information available concerning the

need for, consequences of, and alternatives to the rule? Yes [X No [ ]

3. In consideration of the alternatives to this rule, was this rule determined
by the agency to be the least costly rule considered? Yes X No[ ]

If an agency is proposing a more costly rule, please state the following:

(a) How the additional benefits of the more costly rule justify its additional cost;

(b) The reason for adoption of the more costly rule;

(c) Whether the more costly rule is based on the interests of public health, safety, or welfare, and
if so, please explain; and;

(d) Whether the reason is within the scope of the agency’s statutory authority; and if so, please
explain.

4. Ifthe purpose of this rule is to implement a federal rule or regulation, please state the following:

(a) What is the cost to implement the federal rule or regulation?

Current Fiscal Year Next Fiscal Year
General Revenue General Revenue
Federal Funds Federal Funds
Cash Funds Cash Funds
Special Revenue Special Revenue
Other (Identify) Other (Identify)
Total Total
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(b) What is the additional cost of the state rule?

Current Fiscal Year

General Revenue  $278,847

Next Fiscal Year

General Revenue  $550,338

Federal Funds  $689,036 Federal Funds $1,385,428
Cash Funds B Cash Funds

Special Revenue Special Revenue

Other (Identify) Other (Identify)

Total $967,883 Total $1,935,766

5. What is the total estimated cost by fiscal year to any private individual, entity and business subject to the
proposed, amended, or repealed rule? Identify the entity(ies) subject to the proposed rule and explain
how they are affected.

Current Fiscal Year Next Fiscal Year
$ N/A $ N/A

6. What is the total estimated cost by fiscal year to state, county, and municipal government to implement
this rule? Is this the cost of the program or grant? Please explain how the government is affected.

Next Fiscal Year
$ 550.338

Current Fiscal Year
$ 278,847

7. With respect to the agency’s answers to Questions #5 and #6 above, is there a new or increased cost
or obligation of at least one hundred thousand dollars ($100,000) per year to a private individual,
private entity, private business, state government, county government, municipal government, or to
two (2) or more of those entities combined?

Yes [X] No [ ]

If YES, the agency is required by Ark. Code Ann. § 25-15-204(e)(4) to file written findings at the
time of filing the financial impact statement. The written findings shall be filed simultaneously
with the financial impact statement and shall include, without limitation, the following;:

(1) a statement of the rule’s basis and purpose; As required by Executive Order 19-02. the rate
review process was completed in July 2019. A revision to the Arkansas Medicaid State Plan is
necessary to increase rates for personal care services.

(2) the problem the agency seeks to address with the proposed rule, including a statement of whether
a rule is required by statute; As required by Executive Order 19-02, the rate review process was
completed in July 2019. Rates in the Personal Care program will increase by 1.4% based upon rate
review of the service.

(3) a description of the factual evidence that:
(a) justifies the agency’s need for the proposed rule; and
(b) describes how the benefits of the rule meet the relevant statutory objectives and justify
the rule’s costs; As required by Executive Order 19-02. the rate review process was
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completed in July 2019. Rates in the Personal Care program will increase by 1.4% based
upon rate review of the service. The rate increase helps ensure access to care.

(4) a list of less costly alternatives to the proposed rule and the reasons why the alternatives do not
adequately address the problem to be solved by the proposed rule; There are no less costly
alternatives.

(5) alist of alternatives to the proposed rule that were suggested as a result of public comment and
the reasons why the alternatives do not adequately address the problem to be solved by the
proposed rule; None at this time.

(6) a statement of whether existing rules have created or contributed to the problem the agency seeks
to address with the proposed rule and, if existing rules have created or contributed to the
problem, an explanation of why amendment or repeal of the rule creating or contributing to the
problem is not a sufficient response; and None

(7) an agency plan for review of the rule no less than every ten (10) years to determine whether,
based upon the evidence, there remains a need for the rule including, without limitation,
whether:

(a) the rule is achieving the statutory objectives;

(b) the benefits of the rule continue to justify its costs; and

(c) the rule can be amended or repealed to reduce costs while continuing to achieve the
statutory objectives. Executive Order 19-02 requires provider rates to be reviewed no less
frequently than every four vyears.
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NOTICE OF RULE MAKING

The Director of the Division of Medical Services of the Department of Human Services announces for a
public comment period of thirty (30) calendar days a notice of rulemaking for the following proposed rule
under one or more of the following chapters, subchapters, or sections of the Arkansas Code: §§ 20-76-
201, 20-77-107, and 25-10-129.

Effective January 1, 2020:

The Arkansas Department of Human Services, Division of Medical Services (DHS/DMS), intends to
revise the Arkansas Medicaid State Plan to increase rates for personal care services in the Medicaid
program based upon a rate review recommendation and Arkansas minimum wage increases. As required
by Executive Order 19-02, the rate review process for Personal Care was completed in July 2019. Rates in
the Personal Care program will increase by 1.4% based upon rate review of the service. The rate increase
was recommended from a regular rate review process. The State Plan Amendment to support this change
will be retroactive to January 1, 2020, upon CMS approval. The financial impact will be $967,883 for
State Fiscal Year (SFY) 2020; and $1,935,766 for SFY 2021.

The proposed rule is available for review at the Department of Human Services (DHS) Office of Rules
Promulgation, 2nd floor Donaghey Plaza South Building, 7th and Main Streets, P. O. Box 1437, Slot
S295, Little Rock, Arkansas 72203-1437. You may also access and download the proposed rule on the
Medicaid website at https://medicaid. mmis.arkansas.gov/General/Comment/Comment.aspx. Public
comments must be submitted in writing at the above address or at the following email address:

ORPia dhs.arkansas.gov. All public comments must be received by DHS no later than April 26, 2020.
Please note that public comments submitted in response to this notice are considered public documents.
A public comment, including the commenter’s name and any personal information contained within the
public comment, will be made publicly available and may be seen by various people.

If you need this material in a different format, such as large print, contact the Office of Rules
Promulgation at 501-320-6266.

The Arkansas Department of Human Services is in compliance with Titles VI and VII of the Civil Rights
Act and is operated, managed and delivers services without regard to religion, disability, political
affiliation, veteran status, age, race, color or national origin. 4501888131

put Waan

anet Mann, Director
vision of Medical Services




Statement of Necessity and Rule Summary
Personal Care SPA

Statement of Necessity:

A revision to the Arkansas Medicaid State Plan is necessary to increase rates for personal care
services in the Medicaid program based upon a rate review recommendation and Arkansas
minimum wage increases.

Summary: Effective January 1, 2020, the Medicaid State Plan is being amended as follows:

Rates in the Personal Care program will increase by 1.4% based upon rate review of the service.
The rate increase was recommended due to a regular rate review process. The State Plan
Amendment to support this change will be retroactive to January 1, 2020, upon CMS approval.



DHS Responses to Public Comments Regarding Personal Care Rate SPA

Haden Gilder, COO & Owner, Home Helpers Home Care

Comment: In 2019 we were saw a mandated 8.8% increase proposed, with annual reviews to
follow, however the bill was defeated but a promise of DHS review was given to legislators and
then an executive order was directed from Gov. Hutchison for this review due to the minimum
wage increases.

Response: Personal care was one of the first service categories to be reviewed by the Division
of Medical Services (DMS) under Executive Order 19-02 signed by Governor Hutchinson in
March 2019. DMS engaged the provider community to assist in the rate review. One of the
challenges in the rate review is that providers are not required to file standardized cost reports.
Thus, DMS had to use a less accurate survey of providers. 25 providers out of 388 participated
in the survey. The minimum wage increases from $9.25 per hour in January 2019 to $10 in
January 2020 was a significant factor in the review and has an impact on the Medicaid budget
on State Fiscal Year (SFY) 2020 and SFY 2021. The next minimum wage increases to $11 per
hour will span SFY 2021 and SFY 2022. It is important to the rate review to understand to which
workers the minimum wage increases apply.

Comment: DHS issued the 2 Milliman reports of their review which did not address the
minimum wage increase, but used data collected prior to the increase in wages.

Response: Personal care was one of the first service categories to be reviewed by the Division
of Medical Services (DMS) under Executive Order 19-02 signed by Governor Hutchinson in
March 2019. DMS engaged the provider community to assist in the rate review. One of the
challenges in the rate review is that providers are not required to file standardized cost reports.
Thus, DMS had to use a less accurate survey of providers. 25 providers out of 388 participated
in the survey. The minimum wage increases from $9.25 per hour in January 2019 to $10 in
January 2020 was a significant factor in the review and has an impact on the Medicaid budget
on State Fiscal Year (SFY) 2020 and SFY 2021. The next minimum wage increases to $11 per
hour will span SFY 2021 and SFY 2022. It is important to the rate review to understand to which
workers the minimum wage increases apply.

Comment: The proposed rate of $18.24 does not even get close to addressing the increase in
minimum wage, but would be more likely be adequate at a rate of $21.08.

Response: Personal care was one of the first service categories to be reviewed by the Division
of Medical Services (DMS) under Executive Order 19-02 signed by Governor Hutchinson in
March 2019. DMS engaged the provider community to assist in the rate review. One of the
challenges in the rate review is that providers are not required to file standardized cost reports.
Thus, DMS had to use a less accurate survey of providers. 25 providers out of 388 participated
in the survey. The minimum wage increases from $9.25 per hour in January 2019 to $10 in



January 2020 was a significant factor in the review and has an impact on the Medicaid budget
on State Fiscal Year (SFY) 2020 and SFY 2021. The next minimum wage increases to $11 per
hour will span SFY 2021 and SFY 2022. It is important to the rate review to understand to which
workers the minimum wage increases apply.

Comment: Our concern is if the rate does not increase to adequately take into consideration
the minimum wage increase in 2020 & again in 2021, then providers will be forced to stop
servicing the residents in Arkansas receiving these benefits because their would not be the
means to cover costs endured by the regulations placed from DHS.

Response: Personal care was one of the first service categories to be reviewed by the Division
of Medical Services (DMS) under Executive Order 19-02 signed by Governor Hutchinson in
March 2019. DMS engaged the provider community to assist in the rate review. One of the
challenges in the rate review is that providers are not required to file standardized cost reports.
Thus, DMS had to use a less accurate survey of providers. 25 providers out of 388 participated
in the survey. The minimum wage increases from $9.25 per hour in January 2019 to $10 in
January 2020 was a significant factor in the review and has an impact on the Medicaid budget
on State Fiscal Year (SFY) 2020 and SFY 2021. The next minimum wage increases to $11 per
hour will span SFY 2021 and SFY 2022. It is important to the rate review to understand to which
workers the minimum wage increases apply.

Barbara Flowers, Executive Director, Area Agency on Aging of West Central Arkansas, Inc.
Comment: Although | do agree that a rate increase is necessary, | do not believe the rate
proposed by DHS and arrived at through the Milliman study accurately reflects the information
provided to DHS by the providers in July 2019. According to the Milliman study, the proposed
rate will be $18.24. Based on the information the provider group sent to DHS and with the
independent study submitted by the provider community, the recommendation is to increase
the rate to $21.08. As you can see by the variance between the DHS proposed rate and the
actual recommended rate, there is a significant difference. As of January 1, 2021, there will
have been a 52% increase in minimum wage in comparison to the 1.4% proposed Personal Care
rate increase by DHS. Medicaid Home and Community based services are vital to our seniors
and disabled adults who choose to remain at home with services, rather than being admitted to
a nursing facility.

Response: Personal care was one of the first service categories to be reviewed by the Division
of Medical Services (DMS) under Executive Order 19-02 signed by Governor Hutchinson in
March 2019. DMS engaged the provider community to assist in the rate review. One of the
challenges in the rate review is that providers are not required to file standardized cost reports.
Thus, DMS had to use a less accurate survey of providers. 25 providers out of 388 participated
in the survey. The minimum wage increases from $9.25 per hour in January 2019 to S10in
January 2020 was a significant factor in the review and has an impact on the Medicaid budget
on State Fiscal Year (SFY) 2020 and SFY 2021. The next minimum wage increases to $11 per




hour will span SFY 2021 and SFY 2022. It is important to the rate review to understand to which
workers the minimum wage increases apply.

Dianna Fuchs, Director of Systems and Billing, Area Agency on Aging of Northwest Arkansas
Comment: We need to be able to take care of our Elderly and Disabled in their homes. Thank
goodness we have services that provide that for them, but it is becoming impossible for
Agencies to provide that service with the inadequate Medicaid unit rates we are given. An
increase is of course appreciated but let’s be realistic! How can Agencies that provide these
services be expected to pay an increase in minimum wage when Medicaid will not increase the
In-Home Care rates to support it?

Our Medicaid In-Home Care recipients deserve great care! We need a Medicaid rate that will
support that! Just think about our current situation with COVID-19; our In-Home Care Services
allow our most vulnerable population to be taken care of in their homes instead of in a Nursing
Home where so many are being exposed to the Virus. We need an In-Home Care rate of at
least $5.25 per unit.

Response: Personal care was one of the first service categories to be reviewed by the Division
of Medical Services (DMS) under Executive Order 19-02 signed by Governor Hutchinson in
March 2019. DMS engaged the provider community to assist in the rate review. One of the
challenges in the rate review is that providers are not required to file standardized cost reports.
Thus, DMS had to use a less accurate survey of providers. 25 providers out of 388 participated
in the survey. The minimum wage increases from $9.25 per hour in January 2019 to $10 in
January 2020 was a significant factor in the review and has an impact on the Medicaid budget
on State Fiscal Year (SFY) 2020 and SFY 2021. The next minimum wage increases to $11 per
hour will span SFY 2021 and SFY 2022. It is important to the rate review to understand to which
workers the minimum wage increases apply.

Kimberly Baker, RN Supervisor

Comment: | have worked in Personal Care Area for ten years. Our people depend on us to care
for them. Many do not have family or friends that can help them. Especially through this time
due to the COVID 19. We are here to provide much needed services to the elderly, disabled,
and veteran’s. We cannot provide services if we are not paid an appropriate amount to keep
up with the raising costs of minimum wage and pay for operation costs that continue to

rise. The 1.4% increase is not adequate if we want to sustain the Medicaid In-home

services. The rate doesn't keep up with raising costs. Other states have kept up with rising
costs and have increased rates. We need an increase much more significate. Right around the
corner wages again will increase to $11 dollars per hour. Rates have not been keeping up with
increasing costs and lag far behind and now we need an increase of at least 20%. It save lives
and money to adequately take care of the elderly, disabled, and veterans in their home where
they want to be.




Response: Personal care was one of the first service categories to be reviewed by the Division
of Medical Services {DMS) under Executive Order 19-02 signed by Governor Hutchinson in
March 2019. DMS engaged the provider community to assist in the rate review. One of the
challenges in the rate review is that providers are not required to file standardized cost reports.
Thus, DMS had to use a less accurate survey of providers. 25 providers out of 388 participated
in the survey. The minimum wage increases from $9.25 per hour in January 2019 to $10 in
January 2020 was a significant factor in the review and has an impact on the Medicaid budget
on State Fiscal Year (SFY) 2020 and SFY 2021. The next minimum wage increases to $11 per
hour will span SFY 2021 and SFY 2022. It is important to the rate review to understand to which
workers the minimum wage increases apply.

Kristie Lands, Human Resource Manager, East Arkansas Area Agency on Aging, Inc.
Comment: My name is Kristie Lands and | have personally been involved in initiating pay
increases as a result of the 2019, 2020 minimum wage increase and fast approaching 2021
increase. Therefore, | have seen firsthand how it has impacted AAA.

The 1.4% increase will not come close to offset the mandated increases. Just the minimum
wage alone will have increased by 29.4% over a 3 year period as of January 2021.

Our elders took care of us when we needed the care. Many of them choose to remain home.
They deserve to have Home and Community Based services. | don’t see how it can continue
with a 1.4% increase and the numbers prove it.

Thank you for your consideration.

Response: Personal care was one of the first service categories to be reviewed by the Division
of Medical Services (DMS) under Executive Order 19-02 signed by Governor Hutchinson in
March 2019. DMS engaged the provider community to assist in the rate review. One of the
challenges in the rate review is that providers are not required to file standardized cost reports.
Thus, DMS had to use a less accurate survey of providers. 25 providers out of 388 participated
in the survey. The minimum wage increases from $9.25 per hour in January 2019 to $10 in
January 2020 was a significant factor in the review and has an impact on the Medicaid budget
on State Fiscal Year (SFY) 2020 and SFY 2021. The next minimum wage increases to $11 per
hour will span SFY 2021 and SFY 2022. It is important to the rate review to understand to which
workers the minimum wage increases apply.

Kathy Frames, RN, Home Care Manager, East Arkansas Area Agency on Aging

Comment: | want to voice my opinion regarding the Personal Care Rate increase. | am thankful
that you have agreed to a rate increase but, for the record, that is not enough to even cover the
unreimbursed mandates we have been given in this year alone. Making a step in the right




direction is good, however, if it isn’t a large enough step, the point is moot. Being in the Home
Care business for 29 years, | have seen the myriad of changes that have come our way. The
changes over the past 3-4 years are more than the previous 25 vears | have been in the Home
Care business. We were already operating in the red the past couple of years due to the
decrease in the hours of Attendant Care and Personal Care since Optum began doing the
Independent Assessments. If my numbers are correct and | believe they are, we personally have
lost 48% of our case load over the past 2 years. We have a negative situation where it costs us
more than we make per unit billed for PC and Attendant Care Services for every single hour
billed.

Once you look at this, and then the minimum wage increase will hit again, we will have the
costs of implementing EVV, how are we expected to stay in business? The only reason we are
still in business is that we were wise and put money back when it was considered a profitable
business. How many years can we stay in business without an increase if the rate is comparable
to the amount of the increases that are forced upon us? We could probably hold out a little
longer than most providers, but why would we? Why would we drain our agency dry with no
hope to replenish what we have fost?

I, along with most, stay in this business because we make a difference in people’s lives. We
increase the quality of their lives. We make it possible for them to stay home long without fear
of going to a nursing home. | see such clients depend on us. | see their very lives depend on us.
If the larger providers can’t stay in business, how will the smaller providers? They won’t. They
will become a statistic just like us. If it were your parent and this was all they had was Medicaid
to keep them with the services to maintain them at home, how would you feel if you had to tell
them, you require too much care now and you will just have to go to the nursing home because
there aren’t providers left to give you Home Care? How would answer them?

There are other cuts that could have happened prior to Home Care being in the shape it is in.
Optum, along with its many problems, should have never been implemented to begin with and
then at the contract rate it has. Sometimes, DHS gets things right sometimes in the changes
made but this blunder is the worst | have seen. We waited 6 years on the last increase in the
rate and by the time we got it, we were already in the hole again. The rate is going to have to at
least break even with costs to run the program and the rate is going to have to be looked at on
a yearly basis....not every 5 or 6 years.

There is no way to sustain Medicaid Home Care Services with a 1.4% increase in the rate with a
near 30% increase in Minimum Wage. | implore you to reconsider this. A passage of only 1.4% is
a nail in the coffins of those in the Home Care Industry. Again, please reconsider this. Our frail
and disabled deserve better. Let the State of Arkansas be known for taking care of their own,
not forcing them live their final days any place but their own homes.

Response: Personal care was one of the first service categories to be reviewed by the Division
of Medical Services (DMS) under Executive Order 19-02 signed by Governor Hutchinson in
March 2019. DMS engaged the provider community to assist in the rate review. One of the
challenges in the rate review is that providers are not required to file standardized cost reports.
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Thus, DMS had to use a less accurate survey of providers. 25 providers out of 388 participated
in the survey. The minimum wage increases from $9.25 per hour in January 2019 to $10in
January 2020 was a significant factor in the review and has an impact on the Medicaid budget
on State Fiscal Year (SFY) 2020 and SFY 2021. The next minimum wage increases to $11 per
hour will span SFY 2021 and SFY 2022. It is important to the rate review to understand to which
workers the minimum wage increases apply.

Jacque McDaniel, Executive Director, East Arkansas Area Agency on Aging
Comment: Regarding PC rate proposal--

For over forty years, our Home and Community-Based Services (HCBS) have served as a vital
part in the continuum of care beneficiaries and families desire. When faced with the
opportunity to remain in their homes, most of them prefer this option, but not all beneficiaries
can make this choice. Some beneficiaries must go to nursing homes.

Families have made it clear though they chose Home and Community-Based Services and these
services cost much less than nursing home care. While the 1.4% increase is a step in the right
direction, it falls short of the increase needed to assure a robust system of Home and
Community Based services are available to the frail and elderly. A 15% to 20% increase in the
rate is required to ensure stability of services for Medicaid Personal Care and ARChoices
Attendant Care and Respite Services. After January 1, 2021, the Arkansas’ minimum wage will
have increased by 29.4% over a three-year period. This is not taking into account the increase
in mandated fringe benefits related to these labor costs.

Not only is the minimum wage the largest cost component, it is exasperated by a continuous
struggle to recruit and retain CNAs. The unskilled Home Health industry must compete with
factory jobs, fast food restaurants and other non-skilled jobs to fill these positions. With a 50%
turn-over or ‘churn’ in the first year of employment, being able to offer a higher wage is critical
to maintaining a viable program.

Sometimes it is hard to find an apples to apples comparison, but, in states bordering Arkansas,
only Missouri has a rapidly changing minimum wage similar to Arkansas’ rate ($10.20 per hour
in Missouri vs $11.00 per hour in Arkansas on January 1, 2021). Their Department of Human
Services and Legislature recognized the impact on in-home services and increased the PC rate
to offset minimum wage increases. Their PC rate is 10% higher than the Arkansas proposed
new rate ($5.02 vs $4.56 per unit) even though their minimum wage will be 7% less than
Arkansas’ rate.

All the while, providers are being ask to do more, like complete the DMS618, help Optum get
client’s to return calls for visits, etc., without any consideration of the additional cost to the
provider.



Last, but not least, the CURES Act requires electronic visit verification or EVV for in-home visits
as of January 1, 2021. This will require most agencies to incur another substantial cost to meet
the specifications of the federal law. Have these costs been included in the 1.4% increase?

All of these comments do not begin to address the serious changes that have taken place in the
HCBS arena in the last three to four years that have impacted the cost of the program. The
assessment process has be contracted to a third party. It appears the impact of this change has
been a reduction in the number of clients deemed eligible or a reduction of hours for existing
clients. To handle the referral process and communication between the provider and the
assessor, another vendor was selected to manage this aspect of the cycle. All the while the
market has been flooded with a large number of providers that strains the network from the
beneficiary to the provider to the state.

Finally, Arkansas needs a strong Home and Community Based service network in this time of
growing senior population. Arkansas needs to invest in the care of our seniors by increasing the
Medicaid PC rate to at least $5.25 per unit. Times are most assuredly difficult in the middle of
this coronavirus. Home and Community-based Services play a critical part in meeting the needs
of Arkansans.

Response: Personal care was one of the first service categories to be reviewed by the Division
of Medical Services (DMS) under Executive Order 19-02 signed by Governor Hutchinson in
March 2019. DMS engaged the provider community to assist in the rate review. One of the
challenges in the rate review is that providers are not required to file standardized cost reports.
Thus, DMS had to use a less accurate survey of providers. 25 providers out of 388 participated
in the survey. The minimum wage increases from $9.25 per hour in January 2019 to $10 in
January 2020 was a significant factor in the review and has an impact on the Medicaid budget
on State Fiscal Year (SFY) 2020 and SFY 2021. The next minimum wage increases to $11 per
hour will span SFY 2021 and SFY 2022. It is important to the rate review to understand to which
workers the minimum wage increases apply.

Lisa McClelland, Regional Manager — Care Coordination/West, Area Agency on Aging of
Northwest Arkansas
Comment: To Whom It May Concern:

It is my opinion that the proposed 1.4% personal care rate increase will not be adequate to
cover the minimum wage increase over 3 years of 29.4%. Our Agency is a hon-profit non-skilled
home health provider and | believe that a potential rate increase of 15-20% would allow us to
serve our Clients in their homes and promote their overall wellbeing and ability to remain in
their homes and reduce their risk of additional hospital admissions or costly institutional care
caused by a lack of support in their homes.

Thank you for your consideration,



Response: Personal care was one of the first service categories to be reviewed by the Division
of Medical Services (DMS) under Executive Order 19-02 signed by Governor Hutchinson in
March 2019. DMS engaged the provider community to assist in the rate review. One of the
challenges in the rate review is that providers are not required to file standardized cost reports.
Thus, DMS had to use a less accurate survey of providers. 25 providers out of 388 participated
in the survey. The minimum wage increases from $9.25 per hour in January 2019 to $10 in
January 2020 was a significant factor in the review and has an impact on the Medicaid budget
on State Fiscal Year (SFY) 2020 and SFY 2021. The next minimum wage increases to $11 per
hour will span SFY 2021 and SFY 2022. It is important to the rate review to understand to which
workers the minimum wage increases apply.

Donna Plumlee, Executive Assistant, Area Agency on Aging of Northwest Arkansas, Inc.
Comment: | would like to make comment on the proposed Personal Care Rate increase. | have
worked in the health care industry for over 30 years and do not understand the lack of
consideration for agencies who serve the most vuinerable and greatest generation. Increases in
years past have always been around 20% to help agencies keep up with the cost of living and
minimum wage increases. Without a reasonable increase in the personal care rate, our
agencies cannot afford to be competitive in a very competitive market. These cuts take away
from the services needed by the disabled and elderly to help them age in place. Back in the
day, in-home service programs were established and promoted to help keep this people in their
homes as long as possible, because keeping them in their homes saved the state a lot more
money that paying for them to be in a nursing home. There is a push for programs that help
keep people from returning to the hospital after an iliness or surgery, because that is more cost
effective for Medicaid, Medicare, or other insurance agencies. It is also better for the

patient. With enough in-home workers who are paid a reasonable wage, some of these needs
are also met. The in-home care industry can only afford to do this if the reimbursement rate
keeps up with the cost of living and minimum wage requirements. The other side of that is the
individual is happier and has a better quality of life. It seems the human equation has been
overlooked. Let’s think about the people who need the services and the people who provide
the services.

Response: Personal care was one of the first service categories to be reviewed by the Division
of Medical Services (DMS) under Executive Order 19-02 signed by Governor Hutchinson in
March 2019. DMS engaged the provider community to assist in the rate review. One of the
challenges in the rate review is that providers are not required to file standardized cost reports.
Thus, DMS had to use a less accurate survey of providers. 25 providers out of 388 participated
in the survey. The minimum wage increases from $9.25 per hour in January 2019 to $10 in
January 2020 was a significant factor in the review and has an impact on the Medicaid budget
on State Fiscal Year (SFY) 2020 and SFY 2021. The next minimum wage increases to $11 per
hour will span SFY 2021 and SFY 2022, It is important to the rate review to understand to which
workers the minimum wage increases apply.




Ted Hall, Executive Director, White River Area Agency on Aging

Comment: In regards to the Personal Care Rate Increase, the provision of Home and
Community Based Services is vital to maintaining the health and well being of seniors/disabled
who want to remain in their home as long as safely possible. WRAAA strives to give the highest
quality of care to this frail, at risk population.

The proposed 1.4% increase is inadequate to offset the incremental minimum wage increases.
Providing care at this rate will in the long term, be unsustainable!

Response: Personal care was one of the first service categories to be reviewed by the Division
of Medical Services (DMS) under Executive Order 19-02 signed by Governor Hutchinson in
March 2019. DMS engaged the provider community to assist in the rate review. One of the
challenges in the rate review is that providers are not required to file standardized cost reports.
Thus, DMS had to use a less accurate survey of providers. 25 providers out of 388 participated
in the survey. The minimum wage increases from $9.25 per hour in January 2019 to $10 in
January 2020 was a significant factor in the review and has an impact on the Medicaid budget
on State Fiscal Year (SFY) 2020 and SFY 2021. The next minimum wage increases to $11 per
hour will span SFY 2021 and SFY 2022. It is important to the rate review to understand to which
workers the minimum wage increases apply.

Comment: Arkansas should consider at least $5.25 per unit ($21. Per hour) to ensure stability of
services for Medicaid Personal Care and ArChoices Attendant Care and Respite Services.

When looking bordering state, Missouri with Minimum Wage increases similar to Arkansas,
their PC rate is 10% higher than Arkansas' proposed new rate even though their minimum wage
will be 6% less.

In the country's Current situation with the Covid-19, we see the value of services brought into
the home, rather than in a facility type environment where the spread of such viruses is much
more likely.

On behalf of Arkansas Seniors, we ask that serious consideration be given to a PC rate that will
allow service providers to stay in business.

Response: Personal care was one of the first service categories to be reviewed by the Division
of Medical Services (DMS) under Executive Order 19-02 signed by Governor Hutchinson in
March 2019. DMS engaged the provider community to assist in the rate review. One of the
challenges in the rate review is that providers are not required to file standardized cost reports.
Thus, DMS had to use a less accurate survey of providers. 25 providers out of 388 participated
in the survey. The minimum wage increases from $9.25 per hour in January 2019 to $10 in
January 2020 was a significant factor in the review and has an impact on the Medicaid budget
on State Fiscal Year (SFY) 2020 and SFY 2021. The next minimum wage increases to $11 per



hour will span SFY 2021 and SFY 2022. It is important to the rate review to understand to which
workers the minimum wage increases apply.

Vickie Watts

Comment: The proposed rate increase for in home care does not cover the expenses of the
companies providing the service. The 1.4% rate increase does not cover the minimum wage
increase that was effective January 1, 2020 ($10.00) nor does it include the next minimum wage
increase on January 1, 2021 of $11.00. It is much less expensive to care for individuals in their
homes, than in nursing homes. This alone should be incentive enough to raise the personal
care rate at least each time the minimum wage is increased since it is a direct expense to the
companies that provide the PCA’s. |1 would like to see an analysis of in home care expense
verses nursing home expense. Even setting aside the large increased cost to put these clients in
nursing homes, our elderly had much rather stay at home than be institutionalized, their wishes
should be considered. It may be easy to overlook who these clients are, but they are our
parents, grandparents and neighbors.

Additionally, during this COVID19 emergency, the home providers are in much better position
to care for our elderly at home without the risk of infection that we are experiencing in nursing
homes.

Please consider a rate increase for personal care providers that is sufficient to cover the
minimum wage increases through 2021.

Response: Personal care was one of the first service categories to be reviewed by the Division
of Medical Services (DMS) under Executive Order 19-02 signed by Governor Hutchinson in
March 2019. DMS engaged the provider community to assist in the rate review. One of the
challenges in the rate review is that providers are not required to file standardized cost reports.
Thus, DMS had to use a less accurate survey of providers. 25 providers out of 388 participated
in the survey. The minimum wage increases from $9.25 per hour in January 2019 to $10 in
January 2020 was a significant factor in the review and has an impact on the Medicaid budget
on State Fiscal Year (SFY) 2020 and SFY 2021. The next minimum wage increases to $11 per
hour will span SFY 2021 and SFY 2022. it is important to the rate review to understand to which
workers the minimum wage increases apply.

Peggy Pearce, | & A Specialist with White River Area Agency on Aging
Comment: As an employee of WRAAA for 27 years, | have seen the number of seniors that are

assisted in their homes with services that help them remain in the environment where they are
most comfortable and happy. This is a valuable service for them and their families.

The proposed 1.4% increase on the Personal Care Rate will not offset the minimum wage
increase for the home care assistants and will not sustain the Agencies who employee these
workers who provide quality In Home Care each day to a most vulnerable segment of our
community.
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We ask that the State of Arkansas look at the impact of the Minimum Wage Increase and re
evaluate the amount of the Personal Care Rate. This decision is imperative to Arkansas seniors
who benefit so greatly from the care.

Response: Personal care was one of the first service categories to be reviewed by the Division
of Medical Services (DMS) under Executive Order 19-02 signed by Governor Hutchinson in
March 2019. DMS engaged the provider community to assist in the rate review. One of the
challenges in the rate review is that providers are not required to file standardized cost reports.
Thus, DMS had to use a less accurate survey of providers. 25 providers out of 388 participated
in the survey. The minimum wage increases from $9.25 per hour in January 2019 to $10 in
January 2020 was a significant factor in the review and has an impact on the Medicaid budget
on State Fiscal Year (SFY) 2020 and SFY 2021. The next minimum wage increases to $11 per
hour will span SFY 2021 and SFY 2022. It is important to the rate review to understand to which
workers the minimum wage increases apply.

Jenny Holt Teeter, Gill Ragon Owen, P.A.

Comment: Please accept this correspondence in reference to the proposed rate increase of
1.4% forthe Personal Care Program pursuant to the Executive Order 19-02. Our firm represents
White River Area Agency on Aging, inc. (“White River”), a nonprofit agency providing hands-on
care by

certified home care assistants to assist individuals with daily living needs in the comfort of their
own homes. These home care assistants are oftentimes the only individuals interacting with
these vulnerable populations. Despite this vulnerability, these individuals are entitled to a
robust system of home and community based services to assist them in leading full lives.

The COVID-19 pandemic has highlighted the need to have these vital services brought into
individual homes rather than delivered in facility environments where the viruses threaten the
confined residents. White River has engaged in these efforts to provide critical services to
individuals in their homes for over 40 years. However, the sustainability of home and
community based home care is being threatened by the payment models which are not keeping
up with the significant increase in payroll and other regulatory expenses.

White River appreciates the Division’s thorough regular rate review process and the

Division’s recognition of the necessity for an increased rate for personal care services. White
River agrees that an increase is necessary due to the Arkansas minimum wage increases as well
as other programmatic and regulatory factors. However, White River respectfully disagrees
with the determination that the proposed rate increase of 1.4% is sufficient to address those
factors. There are significant concerns that the proposed reimbursement rates could lead to
providers exiting the Medicaid market leaving vulnerable populations with less access to
necessary services.
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Arkansas’s minimum wage increases have far surpassed and outpaced not only any increased
rate payments available within Arkansas but also the increases in minimum wage in
neighboring states. On January 1, 2021, the minimum wage will be $11.00 per hour which is a
29.4% increase over the minimum wage in place 3 years ago. Missouri has also had a rapidly
increasing minimum wage similar to Arkansas, but it will remain lower than Arkansas when the
minimum wage reaches $11.00 per hour in January of 2021. The Missouri legislature and
Department of Human Services recognized the impact of the minimum wage increases on in-
home services and increased its personal care rates to offset minimum wage increases. The rate
for personal care services in Missouri is ten percent higher than the new proposed rate in
Arkansas ($5.02 versus $4.56 per unit) despite its minimum wage being lower. White River
believes that rates closer to those proposed in Missouri would be appropriate for Arkansas as
well. Specifically, rates of $5.25 per unit would be more appropriate to offset minimum wage
increases.

Based upon a review of the increased costs associated with the significant increases in the
minimum wage and a review of other similarly situated states, White River believes that a rate
increase of fifteen to twenty percent is necessary to ensure stability of services for Medicaid
Personal Care and ARChoices Attendance Care and Respite Services. While White River
appreciates the Division’s rigorous rate review efforts, it feels that more weight should be given
to the extensive increases in the state’s minimum wage and the correlated impact on the ability
to provide personal care services. White River hereby requests a reconsideration of the rate
increase from 1.4% to at least 15%. The new unit rate of at least §5.25 per unit would allow for
sustainability of home and community based services. We appreciate your consideration of this
request and are available to provide any additional insights or information to assist the Division
in its analysis. We further appreciate the opportunity to submit comments on this proposed
rate increase.

Response: Personal care was one of the first service categories to be reviewed by the Division
of Medical Services (DMS) under Executive Order 19-02 signed by Governor Hutchinson in
March 2019. DMS engaged the provider community to assist in the rate review. One of the
challenges in the rate review is that providers are not required to file standardized cost reports.
Thus, DMS had to use a less accurate survey of providers. 25 providers out of 388 participated
in the survey. The minimum wage increases from $9.25 per hour in January 2019 to $10 in
January 2020 was a significant factor in the review and has an impact on the Medicaid budget
on State Fiscal Year (SFY) 2020 and SFY 2021. The next minimum wage increases to $11 per
hour will span SFY 2021 and SFY 2022. It is important to the rate review to understand to which
workers the minimum wage increases apply.

Luke Mattingly, CEO/President, Care Link

Comment: Any increase is a step in the right direction, however:

The 1.4% increase is totally inadequate to offset rapid increases in the minimum
wage and additional regulatory burdens.
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Response: Personal care was one of the first service categories to be reviewed by the Division
of Medical Services (DMS) under Executive Order 19-02 signed by Governor Hutchinson in
March 2019. DMS engaged the provider community to assist in the rate review. One of the
challenges in the rate review is that providers are not required to file standardized cost reports.
Thus, DMS had to use a less accurate survey of providers. 25 providers out of 388 participated
in the survey. The minimum wage increases from $9.25 per hour in January 2019 to $10 in
January 2020 was a significant factor in the review and has an impact on the Medicaid budget
on State Fiscal Year (SFY) 2020 and SFY 2021. The next minimum wage increases to $11 per
hour will span SFY 2021 and SFY 2022. It is important to the rate review to understand to which
workers the minimum wage increases apply.

Comment: The unskilled Home Health industry relies upon low wage workers {due to low
reimbursement rates).

Response: Personal care was one of the first service categories to be reviewed by the Division
of Medical Services (DMS) under Executive Order 19-02 sighed by Governor Hutchinson in
March 2019. DMS engaged the provider community to assist in the rate review. One of the
challenges in the rate review is that providers are not required to file standardized cost reports.
Thus, DMS had to use a less accurate survey of providers. 25 providers out of 388 participated
in the survey. The minimum wage increases from $9.25 per hour in January 2019 to $10 in
January 2020 was a significant factor in the review and has an impact on the Medicaid budget
on State Fiscal Year {SFY) 2020 and SFY 2021. The next minimum wage increases to $11 per
hour will span SFY 2021 and SFY 2022. It is important to the rate review to understand to which
workers the minimum wage increases apply.

Comment: Jan 1, 2021 the Minimum wage will have increased by 29.4% over a 3-year

Period.

Response: Personal care was one of the first service categories to be reviewed by the Division
of Medical Services (DMS) under Executive Order 19-02 signed by Governor Hutchinson in
March 2019. DMS engaged the provider community to assist in the rate review. One of the
challenges in the rate review is that providers are not required to file standardized cost reports.
Thus, DMS had to use a less accurate survey of providers. 25 providers out of 388 participated
in the survey. The minimum wage increases from $9.25 per hour in January 2019 to $10 in
January 2020 was a significant factor in the review and has an impact on the Medicaid budget
on State Fiscal Year (SFY) 2020 and SFY 2021. The next minimum wage increases to $11 per
hour will span SFY 2021 and SFY 2022. It is important to the rate review to understand to which
workers the minimum wage increases apply.

Comment: The sustainability of Home and Community Based Home Care is threatened by

13



the lack of appropriate rate setting by DHS.

Response: Personal care was one of the first service categories to be reviewed by the Division
of Medical Services (DMS) under Executive Order 19-02 signed by Governor Hutchinson in
March 2019. DMS engaged the provider community to assist in the rate review. One of the
challenges in the rate review is that providers are not required to file standardized cost reports.
Thus, DMS had to use a less accurate survey of providers. 25 providers out of 388 participated
in the survey. The minimum wage increases from $9.25 per hour in January 2019 to 510 in
January 2020 was a significant factor in the review and has an impact on the Medicaid budget
on State Fiscal Year (SFY) 2020 and SFY 2021. The next minimum wage increases to $11 per
hour will span SFY 2021 and SFY 2022. It is important to the rate review to understand to which
workers the minimum wage increases apply.

Comment: The COVID-19 pandemic has highlighted the need to have services brought into

a person’s home and not delivered in a facility environment where the such

viruses threaten the captivated residents.

Response: Personal care was one of the first service categories to be reviewed by the Division
of Medical Services (DMS) under Executive Order 19-02 signed by Governor Hutchinson in
March 2019. DMS engaged the provider community to assist in the rate review. One of the
challenges in the rate review is that providers are not required to file standardized cost reports.
Thus, DMS had to use a less accurate survey of providers. 25 providers out of 388 participated
in the survey. The minimum wage increases from $9.25 per hour in January 2019 to $10in
January 2020 was a significant factor in the review and has an impact on the Medicaid budget
on State Fiscal Year (SFY) 2020 and SFY 2021. The next minimum wage increases to 511 per
hour will span SFY 2021 and SFY 2022. It is important to the rate review to understand to which
workers the minimum wage increases apply.

Comment: The frail and elderly deserve to have a robust system of Home and Community
Based services available to them.

Response: Personal care was one of the first service categories to be reviewed by the Division
of Medical Services (DMS) under Executive Order 19-02 signed by Governor Hutchinson in
March 2019. DMS engaged the provider community to assist in the rate review. One of the
challenges in the rate review is that providers are not required to file standardized cost reports.
Thus, DMS had to use a less accurate survey of providers. 25 providers out of 388 participated
in the survey. The minimum wage increases from $9.25 per hour in January 2019 to 510 in
January 2020 was a significant factor in the review and has an impact on the Medicaid budget
on State Fiscal Year (SFY) 2020 and SFY 2021. The next minimum wage increases to $11 per
hour will span SFY 2021 and SFY 2022. It is important to the rate review to understand to which
workers the minimum wage increases apply
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Comment: A 15% to 20% increase in the rate is required to ensure stability of services for
Medicaid Personal Care and ARChoices Attendant Care and Respite Services.

Response: Personal care was one of the first service categories to be reviewed by the Division
of Medical Services (DMS) under Executive Order 19-02 signed by Governor Hutchinson in
March 2019. DMS engaged the provider community to assist in the rate review. One of the
challenges in the rate review is that providers are not required to file standardized cost reports.
Thus, DMS had to use a less accurate survey of providers. 25 providers out of 388 participated
in the survey. The minimum wage increases from $9.25 per hour in January 2019 to $10 in
January 2020 was a significant factor in the review and has an impact on the Medicaid budget
on State Fiscal Year (SFY) 2020 and SFY 2021. The next minimum wage increases to $11 per
hour will span SFY 2021 and SFY 2022. It is important to the rate review to understand to which
workers the minimum wage increases apply.

Comment: In states bordering Arkansas, only Missouri has a rapidly changing minimum

wage similar to Arkansas (510.30 per hour in Missouri vs $11.00 per hour in

Arkansas on Jan 1, 2021). Their Department of Human Services and Legislature

recognized the impact on In-home services and increased the PC rate to offset

minimum wage increases. Their PC rate is 10% higher than the Arkansas

proposed new rate ($5.02 vs $ 4.56 per unit) even though their minimum wage

will be 6% less.

Response: Personal care was one of the first service categories to be reviewed by the Division
of Medical Services (DMS) under Executive Order 19-02 signed by Governor Hutchinson in
March 2019. DMS engaged the provider community to assist in the rate review. One of the
challenges in the rate review is that providers are not required to file standardized cost reports.
Thus, DMS had to use a less accurate survey of providers. 25 providers out of 388 participated
in the survey. The minimum wage increases from $9.25 per hour in January 2019 to $10 in
January 2020 was a significant factor in the review and has an impact on the Medicaid budget
on State Fiscal Year (SFY) 2020 and SFY 2021. The next minimum wage increases to $11 per
hour will span SFY 2021 and SFY 2022. It is important to the rate review to understand to which
workers the minimum wage increases apply.

Comment: DHS’s own internal rate review, Q2 2019 Medicaid Provider Rate Review Report
Personal Care Services, took into consideration the minimum wage increases,

economic factors, and similar states comparisons. When evaluating this report, it

is clear that the rate needs to be set at $ 5.00 per unit or higher — but DHS

completely disregarded this work when setting the rate for January 1, 2020.

Response: Personal care was one of the first service categories to be reviewed by the Division
of Medical Services (DMS) under Executive Order 19-02 signed by Governor Hutchinson in

15



March 2019. DMS engaged the provider community to assist in the rate review. One of the
challenges in the rate review is that providers are not required to file standardized cost reports.
Thus, DMS had to use a less accurate survey of providers. 25 providers out of 388 participated
in the survey. The minimum wage increases from $9.25 per hour in January 2019 to $10 in
January 2020 was a significant factor in the review and has an impact on the Medicaid budget
on State Fiscal Year (SFY) 2020 and SFY 2021. The next minimum wage increases to $11 per
hour will span SFY 2021 and SFY 2022. It is important to the rate review to understand to which
workers the minimum wage increases apply.

Comment: The flawed Milliman study used in this rate setting ignores the rapidly increasing
minimum wage, uses old wage data that is not properly adjusted for the rapid

inflation of labor costs, does not set a indirect rate that accounts for new

regulatory burdens such as increased background checks, new administrative

burdens created by OPTUM and EQHealth and the pending Electronic Visit

Verification costs. It also utilizes a starting wage in the formula that is below the

BLS averages for Northwest and Central Arkansas which serve about half of the

Arkansas population and produces an ending wage that is below the minimum

wage of $11.00 per hour on January 1, 2021.

Response: Personal care was one of the first service categories to be reviewed by the Division
of Medical Services (DMS) under Executive Order 19-02 signed by Governor Hutchinson in
March 2019. DMS engaged the provider community to assist in the rate review. One of the
challenges in the rate review is that providers are not required to file standardized cost reports.
Thus, DMS had to use a less accurate survey of providers. 25 providers out of 388 participated
in the survey. The minimum wage increases from $9.25 per hour in January 2019 to $10in
January 2020 was a significant factor in the review and has an impact on the Medicaid budget
on State Fiscal Year (SFY) 2020 and SFY 2021. The next minimum wage increases to $11 per
hour will span SFY 2021 and SFY 2022. It is important to the rate review to understand to which
workers the minimum wage increases apply.

Comment: When evaluating the rate, it has to be set appropriately with reasonable

projected CPl adjustments to recognize the fact that it will not be reviewed or

changed again for four more years in accordance with the Executive Order of

Governor Asa Hutchinson. The rate utilized from the flawed Milliman study did not

project beyond 12/31/2019.

Response: Personal care was one of the first service categories to be reviewed by the Division
of Medical Services (DMS) under Executive Order 19-02 signed by Governor Hutchinson in
March 2019. DMS engaged the provider community to assist in the rate review. One of the
challenges in the rate review is that providers are not required to file standardized cost reports.
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Thus, DMS had to use a less accurate survey of providers. 25 providers out of 388 participated
in the survey. The minimum wage increases from $9.25 per hour in January 2019 to $10 in
January 2020 was a significant factor in the review and has an impact on the Medicaid budget
on State Fiscal Year (SFY) 2020 and SFY 2021. The next minimum wage increases to $11 per
hour will span SFY 2021 and SFY 2022. It is important to the rate review to understand to which
workers the minimum wage increases apply.

Comment: Arkansas needs to make a serious commitment to sustaining Home and
Community based services by increasing the Medicaid PC rate to at least $ 5.25

per unit.

Response: Personal care was one of the first service categories to be reviewed by the Division
of Medical Services (DMS) under Executive Order 19-02 signed by Governor Hutchinson in
March 2019. DMS engaged the provider community to assist in the rate review. One of the
challenges in the rate review is that providers are not required to file standardized cost reports.
Thus, DMS had to use a less accurate survey of providers. 25 providers out of 388 participated
in the survey. The minimum wage increases from $9.25 per hour in January 2019 to $10 in
January 2020 was a significant factor in the review and has an impact on the Medicaid budget
on State Fiscal Year (SFY) 2020 and SFY 2021. The next minimum wage increases to $11 per
hour will span SFY 2021 and SFY 2022. It is important to the rate review to understand to which
workers the minimum wage increases apply

Jennifer Hallum, CEO/President AAAWA

Comment: First, please let me begin by stating that in light of all that has happened in the five
weeks (none of which any of us could have predicted), I am less confident than | was five weeks
ago that an increase is viable. Given the economic challenges facing the State, the question |
ask is whether this is a service the State wants to provide. | would ask that you not force those
of us who are not only licensed-but who are also committed to this program- to perform this
program at a loss. My organization has other programs that | hope and believe will survive in
the months ahead. Like any business leader, | must determine the programs that can allow my
organization to continue by either allowing us to break even or make some profit. Currently, it
appears that this program is not sustainable for a successful business model.

Response: Personal care was one of the first service categories to be reviewed by the Division
of Medical Services (DMS) under Executive Order 19-02 signed by Governor Hutchinson in
March 2019. DMS engaged the provider community to assist in the rate review. One of the
challenges in the rate review is that providers are not required to file standardized cost reports.
Thus, DMS had to use a less accurate survey of providers. 25 providers out of 388 participated
in the survey. The minimum wage increases from $9.25 per hour in January 2019 to $10 in
January 2020 was a significant factor in the review and has an impact on the Medicaid budget
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on State Fiscal Year (SFY) 2020 and SFY 2021. The next minimum wage increases to $11 per
hour will span SFY 2021 and SFY 2022. It is important to the rate review to understand to which
workers the minimum wage increases apply.

Comment: The 1.4% increase is not what | would consider "reasonable"” to offset the rapid
increases in minimum wage and additional regulatory burdens. Although | am grateful for the
increase, the amount is simply not enough as compared to what my organization needs to
survive.

Response: Personal care was one of the first service categories to be reviewed by the Division
of Medical Services (DMS) under Executive Order 19-02 signed by Governor Hutchinson in
March 2019. DMS engaged the provider community to assist in the rate review. One of the
challenges in the rate review is that providers are not required to file standardized cost reports.
Thus, DMS had to use a less accurate survey of providers. 25 providers out of 388 participated
in the survey. The minimum wage increases from $9.25 per hour in January 2019 to $10 in
January 2020 was a significant factor in the review and has an impact on the Medicaid budget
on State Fiscal Year (SFY) 2020 and SFY 2021. The next minimum wage increases to $11 per
hour will span SFY 2021 and SFY 2022. it is important to the rate review to understand to which
workers the minimum wage increases apply.

Comment: Our aides are not considered "contract employees”; they are employees that | pay
taxes on and who are taxed themselves. My organization complies with the rules and one of
those rules dictates that we pay our staff for time spent in between visits. This payment isnot a
reimbursed expense. For example, an employee who earns $12.50/hour (after benefits) visits a
home. Her next client is 15 minutes away (this amount of drive time is common in our rural
areas and even sometimes in our more populated areas). With drive time, my organization is
already at $28.65 before we even bill for the two hours of care where | will be reimbursed
around $36.00.

Response: Personal care was one of the first service categories to be reviewed by the Division
of Medical Services (DMS) under Executive Order 19-02 signed by Governor Hutchinson in
March 2019. DMS engaged the provider community to assist in the rate review. One of the
challenges in the rate review is that providers are not required to file standardized cost reports.
Thus, DMS had to use a less accurate survey of providers. 25 providers out of 388 participated
in the survey. The minimum wage increases from $9.25 per hour in January 2019 to $10 in
January 2020 was a significant factor in the review and has an impact on the Medicaid budget
on State Fiscal Year (SFY) 2020 and SFY 2021. The next minimum wage increases to $11 per
hour will span SFY 2021 and SFY 2022, It is important to the rate review to understand to which
workers the minimum wage increases apply.
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Comment: The non-skilled Home Health industry relies upon low-wage workers due to low
reimbursement rates. With the upcoming January 1, 2021 increase, minimum wage will have
increased by 29.4% in a three-year period.

Response: Personal care was one of the first service categories to be reviewed by the Division
of Medical Services (DMS) under Executive Order 19-02 signed by Governor Hutchinson in
March 2019. DMS engaged the provider community to assist in the rate review. One of the
challenges in the rate review is that providers are not required to file standardized cost reports.
Thus, DMS had to use a less accurate survey of providers. 25 providers out of 388 participated
in the survey. The minimum wage increases from $9.25 per hour in January 2019 to $10 in
January 2020 was a significant factor in the review and has an impact on the Medicaid budget
on State Fiscal Year (SFY) 2020 and SFY 2021. The next minimum wage increases to $11 per
hour will span SFY 2021 and SFY 2022. It is important to the rate review to understand to which
workers the minimum wage increases apply.

Comment: The sustainability of Home and Community Based Home Care is in Jeopardy. The
lack of appropriate rate setting by OHS in light of the minimum wage increases is setting all
providers to question whether they can provide clients the services they need.

Response: Personal care was one of the first service categories to be reviewed by the Division
of Medical Services (DMS) under Executive Order 19-02 signed by Governor Hutchinson in
March 2019. DMS engaged the provider community to assist in the rate review. One of the
challenges in the rate review is that providers are not required to file standardized cost reports.
Thus, DMS had to use a less accurate survey of providers. 25 providers out of 388 participated
in the survey. The minimum wage increases from $9.25 per hour in January 2019 to $10 in
January 2020 was a significant factor in the review and has an impact on the Medicaid budget
on State Fiscal Year (SFY) 2020 and SFY 2021. The next minimum wage increases to $11 per
hour will span SFY 2021 and SFY 2022. It is important to the rate review to understand to which
workers the minimum wage increases apply.

Comment: The COVIO-19 pandemic has highlighted the need to have services brought into a
person's home versus. a person going into a facility or institutional setting- but even this is not
without risks. The safest place for the client to receive care is in their own home, and it appears
that this approach is safer for my staff as well. Although we do not know for certain how this
pandemic will end, | think it is imperative to know that this could happen again.

Response: Personal care was one of the first service categories to be reviewed by the Division
of Medical Services (DMS) under Executive Order 19-02 signed by Governor Hutchinson in
March 2019. DMS engaged the provider community to assist in the rate review. One of the
challenges in the rate review is that providers are not required to file standardized cost reports.
Thus, DMS had to use a less accurate survey of providers. 25 providers out of 388 participated
in the survey. The minimum wage increases from $9.25 per hour in January 2019 to $10 in
January 2020 was a significant factor in the review and has an impact on the Medicaid budget
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on State Fiscal Year (SFY) 2020 and SFY 2021. The next minimum wage increases to 511 per
hour will span SFY 2021 and SFY 2022. It is important to the rate review to understand to which
workers the minimum wage increases apply.

Comment: The frail and elderly deserve to have a robust system of Home and Community-
Based services available to them. These services should be performed affordably by the best
staff. However, this rate of reimbursement feels like we are being asked to march up a
mountain with no shoes, no provisions, all while carrying the weight of the 500 clients we serve
on our backs.

Response: Personal care was one of the first service categories to be reviewed by the Division
of Medical Services (DMS) under Executive Order 19-02 signed by Governor Hutchinson in
March 2019. DMS engaged the provider community to assist in the rate review. One of the
challenges in the rate review is that providers are not required to file standardized cost reports.
Thus, DMS had to use a less accurate survey of providers. 25 providers out of 388 participated
in the survey. The minimum wage increases from $9.25 per hour in January 2019 to $10in
January 2020 was a significant factor in the review and has an impact on the Medicaid budget
on State Fiscal Year (SFY) 2020 and SFY 2021. The next minimum wage increases to $11 per
hour will span SFY 2021 and SFY 2022. It is important to the rate review to understand to which
workers the minimum wage increases apply.

Comment: A 15% minimum increase in the rate is necessary to ensure stability of services for
Medicaid Personal Care and ARChoices Attendant Care and Respite Services.

Response: Personal care was one of the first service categories to be reviewed by the Division
of Medical Services (DMS) under Executive Order 19-02 signed by Governor Hutchinson in
March 2019. DMS engaged the provider community to assist in the rate review. One of the
challenges in the rate review is that providers are not required to file standardized cost reports.
Thus, DMS had to use a less accurate survey of providers. 25 providers out of 388 participated
in the survey. The minimum wage increases from $9.25 per hour in January 2019 to $10 in
January 2020 was a significant factor in the review and has an impact on the Medicaid budget
on State Fiscal Year (SFY) 2020 and SFY 2021. The next minimum wage increases to $11 per
hour will span SFY 2021 and SFY 2022. It is important to the rate review to understand to which
workers the minimum wage increases apply.

Comment: OHS performed their own internal rate review. The 02 2019 Medicaid Provider Rate
Review Report Persona! Care Services took into consideration the minimum wage increases,
economic factors, and similar state comparisons. When evaluating this report, it is clear that
the rate needs to be set at $5.00 per unit or higher. However, OHS appears to have disregarded
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this information found when setting the rate for January 1, 2020. Could | ask why the State
didn't just skip the study and use that number?

Response: Personal care was one of the first service categories to be reviewed by the Division
of Medical Services (DMS) under Executive Order 19-02 signed by Governor Hutchinson in
March 2019. DMS engaged the provider community to assist in the rate review. One of the
challenges in the rate review is that providers are not required to file standardized cost reports.
Thus, DMS had to use a less accurate survey of providers. 25 providers out of 388 participated
in the survey. The minimum wage increases from $9.25 per hour in January 2019 to $10 in
January 2020 was a significant factor in the review and has an impact on the Medicaid budget
on State Fiscal Year (SFY) 2020 and SFY 2021. The next minimum wage increases to $11 per
hour will span SFY 2021 and SFY 2022. it is important to the rate review to understand to which
workers the minimum wage increases apply.

Comment: The Milliman study used a rate which ignored the increases in minimum wage. The
study also used old wage data that was not properly adjusted for the inflation of labor costs.
This study does not set an indirect rate that accounts for new regulatory burdens such as
increased background checks, new administrative burdens created by OPTUM, EQHealth and
the pending Electronic Visit Verification costs. This study also utilizes a starting wage in the
formula that is below the BLS averages for both Northwest and Central Arkansas which serve
about half of the Arkansas population, and produces an ending wage that is below the required
minimum wage of $11.00/hour that begins January 1, 2021.

Response: Personal care was one of the first service categories to be reviewed by the Division
of Medical Services (DMS) under Executive Order 19-02 signed by Governor Hutchinson in
March 2019. DMS engaged the provider community to assist in the rate review. One of the
challenges in the rate review is that providers are not required to file standardized cost reports.
Thus, DMS had to use a less accurate survey of providers. 25 providers out of 388 participated
in the survey. The minimum wage increases from $9.25 per hour in January 2019 to $10 in
January 2020 was a significant factor in the review and has an impact on the Medicaid budget
on State Fiscal Year (SFY) 2020 and SFY 2021. The next minimum wage increases to $11 per
hour will span SFY 2021 and SFY 2022. It is important to the rate review to understand to which
workers the minimum wage increases apply.

Comment: When evaluating the rate, it has to be set appropriately with reasonable projected
CPl adjustments to recognize the fact that it will not be reviewed or changed again for four
more years in accordance with the Executive Order of Governor Asa Hutchinson. The rate
utilized from the flawed Milliman study did not project beyond 12/31/2019.

Response: Personal care was one of the first service categories to be reviewed by the Division
of Medical Services (DMS) under Executive Order 19-02 signed by Governor Hutchinson in
March 2019. DMS engaged the provider community to assist in the rate review. One of the
challenges in the rate review is that providers are not required to file standardized cost reports.
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Thus, DMS had to use a less accurate survey of providers. 25 providers out of 388 participated
in the survey. The minimum wage increases from $9.25 per hour in January 2019 to $10in
January 2020 was a significant factor in the review and has an impact on the Medicaid budget
on State Fiscal Year (SFY) 2020 and SFY 2021. The next minimum wage increases to $11 per
hour will span SFY 2021 and SFY 2022. It is important to the rate review to understand to which
workers the minimum wage increases apply.

Comment: The decision is yours to make. Either make a commitment to sustain Home and
Community-Based services by increasing the Medicaid PC rate to at least $5.25 per unit or
make the decision to stop these services to beneficiaries. Let it be at this level that the decision
is made rather than on the long- time providers to this program. In my opinion, a decision to
forgo raising the rate is putting the burden on the providers to stop the program. I ask you not
go that route.

| appreciate your attention to my comments. | know there is much going on in the state at this
unprecedented time. | am a woman of prayer. | pray this memo finds you and your family and
co-workers safe.

Response: Personal care was one of the first service categories to be reviewed by the Division
of Medical Services (DMS) under Executive Order 19-02 signed by Governor Hutchinson in
March 2019. DMS engaged the provider community to assist in the rate review. One of the
challenges in the rate review is that providers are not required to file standardized cost reports.
Thus, DMS had to use a less accurate survey of providers. 25 providers out of 388 participated
in the survey. The minimum wage increases from $9.25 per hour in January 2019 to $10 in
January 2020 was a significant factor in the review and has an impact on the Medicaid budget
on State Fiscal Year (SFY) 2020 and SFY 2021. The next minimum wage increases to $11 per
hour will span SFY 2021 and SFY 2022. It is important to the rate review to understand to which
workers the minimum wage increases apply.

Mona Richardson, Care Coordinator, Area Agency on Aging of NW Arkansas

Comment: | am responding to the minimal increase in personal care rate. We need a bigger
increase to keep all agencies open to assist elderly and disabled people. | worked as a caregiver
for many years and nearly 10 years as a Care

Coordinator. | have met and served a lot of people. | think the greatest thing people reply to me
over and over is that with the in home services they can stay at home. The saddest is to watch
families have to put them in a

NH because they cannot get services.

Caregivers are a must to provide services. They very much deserved the rate increase in pay.
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Now companies need the rate increase to cover expenses of keeping services going for the
elderly and caregivers in the home.

Please give a BIG increase in Personal Care Rate, the people deserve the services and
companies need the increase to keep services in place.

Response: Personal care was one of the first service categories to be reviewed by the Division
of Medical Services (DMS) under Executive Order 19-02 signed by Governor Hutchinson in
March 2019. DMS engaged the provider community to assist in the rate review. One of the
challenges in the rate review is that providers are not required to file standardized cost reports.
Thus, DMS had to use a less accurate survey of providers. 25 providers out of 388 participated
in the survey. The minimum wage increases from $9.25 per hour in January 2019 to $10 in
January 2020 was a significant factor in the review and has an impact on the Medicaid budget
on State Fiscal Year (SFY) 2020 and SFY 2021. The next minimum wage increases to $11 per
hour will span SFY 2021 and SFY 2022. It is important to the rate review to understand to which
workers the minimum wage increases apply.

Kay Newton, RN, AAASEA, Home Care Administrator, Area 2
Comment: To Whom It May Concern,

I have worked in the Home Health industry for 30 years and during this time, | have watched
the Aides work hard to maintain the elderly population in their home setting. Allowing the
elderly to remain in their homes is one of the most important factors in promoting well being
and longevity of life. In order to allow clients to age gracefully in the home setting, we must
provide them with the services they desperately need including Medicaid Personal Care.

It has been very difficult to hire and/or retain aides to work in the home setting because we are
competing with many entities who are able to offer higher rates of pay. Although, the proposed
rate increase of 1.4% is a step in the right direction, it will barely cover the increase in the
minimum wage, therefore we will not be able to offer more than minimum wage and the
problem with hiring and retaining quality staff will continue to be a problem. The elderly
population deserves much better.

The COVID-19 pandemic is only one example of why the elderly population benefit from
receiving services in their homes. Their home is a much safer environment than a facility setting
and they deserve the many Home and Community Based services that are available and allow
them to remain in the safety and comfort of their homes.

Bordering states have recognized the need for rate increases to offset the minimum wage
increases and Arkansas needs to make a serious commitment to sustaining Home and
Community Based services by increasing the Medicaid PC rate to at least $5.25 per unit.
Response: Personal care was one of the first service categories to be reviewed by the Division
of Medical Services (DMS) under Executive Order 19-02 signed by Governor Hutchinson in
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March 2019. DMS engaged the provider community to assist in the rate review. One of the
challenges in the rate review is that providers are not required to file standardized cost reports.
Thus, DMS had to use a less accurate survey of providers. 25 providers out of 388 participated
in the survey. The minimum wage increases from $9.25 per hour in January 2019 to $10in
January 2020 was a significant factor in the review and has an impact on the Medicaid budget
on State Fiscal Year (SFY) 2020 and SFY 2021. The next minimum wage increases to $11 per
hour will span SFY 2021 and SFY 2022. It is important to the rate review to understand to which
workers the minimum wage increases apply.

John Knowling, President of Advisory Council and member of the Board of Directors, White
River Area Agency on Aging

Comment: My career experience prior to retirement included 25 years working with healthcare
providers from 1000 bed Acute Hospitals to small town Home Health Agencies.

An important cost containment effort has for many years, been the principle of patients
receiving care in the least costly manner that meets their needs. This has meant being treated
as out-patients rather than in-patients, seen in a Physician office rather than the ER or receiving
service in their home rather than in a Long Term Care facility.

Recent circumstances related to our Country's struggle with Covid-19, highlight the need for
ongoing, dependable services provided in the homes of our Senior population.

Given the increase in the Arkansas minimum wage, the proposed 1.4% rate increase, while
appreciated, will inevitably translate to reduced or unavailable home care services for at risk
seniors. An unsustainable rate in addition to putting senior services at risk, also creates the
possibility of many jobs being eliminated.

in order to sustain this important service to seniors while avoiding the increased cost of similar
services provided at a more expensive level, Arkansas should consider a rate increase which will
at least offset the minimum wage increase.

Response: Personal care was one of the first service categories to be reviewed by the Division
of Medical Services (DMS) under Executive Order 19-02 signed by Governor Hutchinson in
March 2019. DMS engaged the provider community to assist in the rate review. One of the
challenges in the rate review is that providers are not required to file standardized cost reports.
Thus, DMS had to use a less accurate survey of providers. 25 providers out of 388 participated
in the survey. The minimum wage increases from $9.25 per hour in January 2019 to $10 in
January 2020 was a significant factor in the review and has an impact on the Medicaid budget
on State Fiscal Year {SFY) 2020 and SFY 2021. The next minimum wage increases to $11 per
hour will span SFY 2021 and SFY 2022. It is important to the rate review to understand to which
workers the minimum wage increases apply.
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Mary Helzer, Care Coordinator, Area Agency on Aging of Northwest Arkansas
Comment: To whom it may concern:

[ am writing in response to the 1.4% increase in the personal care rate (Change # SPA2020-
2012). While I am glad to see our state moving in the right direction, the rate increase that is
proposed is inadequate and does not reflect a commitment to ensure strong Home and
Community Based Services.

As a care coordinator for Area Agency on Aging of Northwest Arkansas, | see first-hand the vital
role the people who provide in-home care services play in the lives of the elderly and disabled
in our communities. Our clients are grateful for this care and recognize that without it they
could not remain in their homes, where they have a sense of safety and autonomy. With our
country fighting against the devastation of Covid-19, the relevance of our in-home care
programs is magnified.

The Medicaid Personal Care and the AR Choices Attendant and Respite Care rate needs to be
increased by 15%-20% in order to sustain a vibrant and dependable Home Health Program for
our state.

Thank you for the opportunity to comment.

Response: Personal care was one of the first service categories to be reviewed by the Division
of Medical Services (DMS) under Executive Order 19-02 signed by Governor Hutchinson in
March 2019. DMS engaged the provider community to assist in the rate review. One of the
challenges in the rate review is that providers are not required to file standardized cost reports.
Thus, DMS had to use a less accurate survey of providers. 25 providers out of 388 participated
in the survey. The minimum wage increases from $9.25 per hour in January 2019 to $10 in
January 2020 was a significant factor in the review and has an impact on the Medicaid budget
on State Fiscal Year (SFY) 2020 and SFY 2021. The next minimum wage increases to $11 per
hour will span SFY 2021 and SFY 2022. It is important to the rate review to understand to which
workers the minimum wage increases apply.

Brad Bailey, Executive Director, Area Agency on Aging of Northwest Arkansas

Comment: Recruiting Personal Care Aides is tough in an environment with a reimbursement
rate that only allows for an hourly pay rate the minimum wage. The minimum wage increase
that went into effect 1/1/2020 has put the Area Agency on Aging of Northwest Arkansas in a
position that we are no longer going to even be able to break even on the Medicaid personal
care program. | would think the events of the {ast two months have demonstrated that there is
risk to the staff that work face to face with the public. | am thankful that a rate increase is being
considered for this program but want to make the following comments:
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On January 1, 2021 the minimum wage is Arkansas will have increased 29.4% over a three year
period.

A 1.4% increase is woefully inadequate to offset the recent and future minimum wage increases
as well as additional regulatory burdens.

The personal care and unskilled home health industry must rely on employees that are at the
minimum wage due to rates not being increased systematically over time. To send employees
into homes were they may be exposed to COVID 19 and a host of other ilinesses and pay them
the same rate or lower than a grocery store carry out just does not make sense.

A 15% to 20% increase in the rate is required to ensure stability of services for Medicaid
Personal Care and ARChoices Attendant Care and Respite Services.

in Home Services has proven that it saves the State of Arkansas money versus nursing home
placement for individuals that could stay in their homes with these Medicaid services. The
sustainability of Home and Community Based Services is in jeopardy due to the lack of
adequate rate setting by DHS.

The COVID 19 pandemic has brought to light that the home is the safer place to deliver services
versus an institutional setting with multiple frail and elderly clients that can potentially be
exposed quickly to COVID 19 or other illnesses.

The people of Arkansas deserve a home and community-based service delivery system that can
provide needed services in their homes. Were most would readily admit they would prefer to
be. | recognize that there is a point that it is not feasible to remain at home and institutional
care is required.

The flawed Milliman study used in this proposed rate setting ignores the rapidly increasing
minimum wage, uses old wage data that is not properly adjusted for the rapid inflation of labor
costs, does not set a indirect rate that accounts for new regulatory burdens such as increased
background checks, new administrative burdens created by OPTUM and EQHealth and the
pending Electronic Visit Verification costs. It also utilizes a starting wage in the formula that is
below the BLS averages for Northwest and Central Arkansas which serve about half of the
Arkansas population and produces an ending wage that is below the minimum wage of $11.00
per hour on January 1, 2021.

DHS’s own internal rate review, Q2 2019 Medicaid Provider Rate Review Report Personal Care
Services, took into consideration the minimum wage increases, economic factors, and similar
states comparisons. When evaluating this report, it is clear that the rate needs to be set at S
5.00 per unit or higher — but DHS completely disregarded this work when setting the rate for
January 1, 2020.
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This proposed rate, which is inadequate now, is to be for 4 years. Which goes back to the
sustainability of this truly needed program.

It is my hope the State of Arkansas will learn from-the current pandemic that in-home services
are an important service. That to sustain the program an adequate rate of at least $5.25 is
needed in order to sustain the program. And that to recruit quality employees a higher rate is
necessary in so that wages can be competitive and attractive to applicants.

Response: Personal care was one of the first service categories to be reviewed by the Division
of Medical Services (DMS) under Executive Order 19-02 signed by Governor Hutchinson in
March 2019. DMS engaged the provider community to assist in the rate review. One of the
challenges in the rate review is that providers are not required to file standardized cost reports.
Thus, DMS had to use a less accurate survey of providers. 25 providers out of 388 participated
in the survey. The minimum wage increases from $9.25 per hour in January 2019 to $10 in
January 2020 was a significant factor in the review and has an impact on the Medicaid budget
on State Fiscal Year (SFY) 2020 and SFY 2021. The next minimum wage increases to $11 per
hour will span SFY 2021 and SFY 2022. It is important to the rate review to understand to which
workers the minimum wage increases apply.

Kim Steed, Director, Division of Medical Services

Comment: My name is Kim Steed and | work for Kindred at Home, one of the largest personal
care providers in the state. We are writing to express significant concerns with the personal
care rate that the Arkansas Department of Human Services is proposing.

To remind the department, the minimum wage increase voted on by the voters in 2018 has
rocked our industry. When fully implemented in 2021, the state will have increased minimum
wage by $2.50 per hour in direct wage expense, which does not factor in the employer payroll
expenses that adds an additional 20 cents in employer cost per hour. During this same period
of time the state has only increased the hourly rate to the providers by 24 cents, leaving the
provider with a $2.46 per hour in an unfunded mandate. The proposed rate is grossly
inadequate to offset the rapid increases in minimum wage that have been thrust on the
industry.

The future of home and community-based care is jeopardized by the lack of an appropriate
payment rate. The industry cannot sustain a 29.4 percent increase in mandatory wage
expense, only to have the state increase its rate by 1.4 percent. The result will be companies
who decline to take Medicaid patients or exit the state from lack of appropriate payment.

In Missouri, a state that has also seen a minimum wage increase (but whose minimum wage is
still 70 cents per hour less than Arkansas), they have approved a wage of $20.08 per hour vs.
the $18.24 per hour that Arkansas is proposing. In addition, Missouri’s regulatory requirements
are less than Arkansas’s requirements and Missouri allows for separate billing for services
involving a registered nurse. In Arkansas, any nurse involvement is included in the rate.
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The personal care industry hired an independent economist to perform an analysis of what the
state should be paying per hour, using updated survey data from the providers and using the
same methodology as the state’s actuary used to propose a rate. The economist determined
that the rate should be at least $21.08 per hour.

We understand the challenging economic times that we are currently facing as a state and a
nation. However, as the Covid-19 crisis has demonstrated, the personal care industry is vital to
helping patients remain in their homes. It is vital to keep patients in their desired place of care,
but it is also vital to keep patients out of the emergency room and hospitals as we’ve been able
to do during this current pandemic.

We respectfully ask the department to modify their personal care rate to the level that was
calculated by the independent healthcare economist of $21.08 per hour.

Response: Personal care was one of the first service categories to be reviewed by the Division
of Medical Services (DMS) under Executive Order 19-02 signed by Governor Hutchinson in
March 2019. DMS engaged the provider community to assist in the rate review. One of the
challenges in the rate review is that providers are not required to file standardized cost reports.
Thus, DMS had to use a less accurate survey of providers: 25 providers out of 388 participated
in the survey. The minimum wage increases from $9.25 per hour in January 2019 to $10 in
January 2020 was a sighificant factor in the review and has an impact on the Medicaid budget
on State Fiscal Year (SFY) 2020 and SFY 2021. The next minimum wage increases to $11 per
hour will span SFY 2021 and SFY 2022. It is important to the rate review to understand to which
workers the minimum wage increases apply.

Luke Mattingly, president, on behalf of Arkansas Association of Area Agencies on Aging
Comment: As an advocate for services for older Arkansans it is alarming that over the past
three years the state of Arkansas has taken many steps to restrict the availability of Home and
Community Based Services (HCBS) to seniors and adults with physical disabilities. For
Medicaid Personal Care and ARChoices services there has been the implementation of

more restrictive medical eligibility criteria, monetary cap restrictions and third-party

gate keepers. This has resulted in reduced service eligibility, reduced hours of service
provided as well as longer wait times to access services.

Now, in addition to the dilution of service delivery, the state is starving out providers of
HCBS services by failing to set an adequate rate in response to the rapid rise in the
minimum wage approved by the voters of Arkansas. The sustainability of these vital
Medicaid services is at serious risk because DHS refuses to acknowledge the damaging
impact of the minimum wage increase on the Home Care industry and adjust rates
accordingly.
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In a March 9, 2020 Arkansas Democrat Gazette article Melissa Stone, director of the
DHS Division of Developmental Disabilities Services lamented the fact of how the
minimum wage increase was impacting similar positions in state run human
development facility settings and recommended double digit pay increases for direct
care staff. She cited turnover, consistency of staff, competition with fast food
establishments paying the same rate; a plethora of the same problems plaguing HCBS
services. The state clearly understands the impact of the minimum wage on services
that it provides directly yet refuses to acknowledge the same for Medicaid providers in
a Home and Community Based environment.

The 1.4% increase to the Medicaid PC rate is totally inadequate to offset the rapid
increase in minimum wage. Due to low reimbursement rates, the Home Care industry
relies upon low wage workers. By January 1, 2021, the minimum wage will have
increased by $ 2.50 per hour, plus statutory benefits such as FICA, but the state is only
increasing the reimbursement rate by 24 cents per hour,

A recent New York Times article referred to Nursing Homes during the recent COVID-19
pandemic as “petri dishes”. Home and Community Based Services provide a safe
alternative to these institutional settings for some older people and adults with physical
disabilities. These services keep older people in their homes, where they want to be,
and out of more costly facility-based programs. These vital Home and Community
Based services cannot be sustained at the proposed rate. The state must act in haste to
establish an appropriate rate that ensures providers can continue to offer Medicaid
Personal Care and ARChoices Attendant and Respite care. At a minimum, the rate
should be established at $5.25 per unit of service.

Response: Personal care was one of the first service categories to be reviewed by the Division
of Medical Services (DMS) under Executive Order 19-02 signed by Governor Hutchinson in
March 2019. DMS engaged the provider community to assist in the rate review. One of the
challenges in the rate review is that providers are not required to file standardized cost reports.
Thus, DMS had to use a less accurate survey of providers. 25 providers out of 388 participated
in the survey. The minimum wage increases from $9.25 per hour in January 2019 to $10 in
January 2020 was a significant factor in the review and has an impact on the Medicaid budget
on State Fiscal Year (SFY) 2020 and SFY 2021. The next minimum wage increases to $11 per
hour will span SFY 2021 and SFY 2022. It is important to the rate review to understand to which
workers the minimum wage increases apply.

Brad Cummings, CPA, Chief Financial Officer

Comment: We are an in-home services organization, who provides care in the homes of some
1,200 clients per month, using approximately 625 certified personal care assistants, in a 10-
county area of north-central Arkansas. Our goal is to provide quality home care to each of those
senior and disabled Arkansans. However, we are finding it increasingly difficult to meet all of
the regulations and mandates, hire quality staff, and continue to deliver at our own high
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standard due to an inadequate rate of reimbursement for the service from DHS. Our ability to
provide Medicaid services is at stake.

In comparison to what has been tentatively proposed per service hour ($18.24), the Veterans’
Administration pays $24.84 per service hour in the state of Arkansas. In the state of Missouri,
the rate went from $18.12 in 2019, when the minimum wage was $8.60. In 2020, the minimum
wage increased to $9.45 in Missouri, and their per service hour rate also increased to $20.08.
Additionally, the state of Missouri pays a separate RN visit rate for mandatory RN assessments
and supervisory visits at a 2020 rate of $44.35. Arkansas has no such RN visit rate, and the
mandatory RN services are paid from the general rate of $18.24.

Response: Personal care was one of the first service categories to be reviewed by the Division
of Medical Services (DMS) under Executive Order 19-02 signed by Governor Hutchinson in
March 2019. DMS engaged the provider community to assist in the rate review. One of the
challenges in the rate review is that providers are not required to file standardized cost reports.
Thus, DMS had to use a less accurate survey of providers. 25 providers out of 388 participated
in the survey. The minimum wage increases from $9.25 per hour in January 2019 to $10 in
January 2020 was a significant factor in the review and has an impact on the Medicaid budget
on State Fiscal Year (SFY) 2020 and SFY 2021. The next minimum wage increases to $11 per
hour will span SFY 2021 and SFY 2022. It is important to the rate review to understand to which
workers the minimum wage increases apply.

Kathy Tynes, Executive Director, Area Agency on Aging of Southeast Arkansas
Comment: Home and Community Based Services are a much needed for the services of older
Arkansans.

Why are these services needed: | believe it goes without saying adults age 65 and older would
prefer to stay in their homes for as long as possible. A survey by AARP confirms this statement
with a figure of 90% of adults age 65 and older stating that fact. But to do so, this population
will need some level of service and support to live safely in their home. The benefits of HCBS
are lowered costs as compared to going into a nursing home and improvements of overall
health of older adults. Area Agencies on Aging are playing an active role and have the
resources to make this possible. It is an important reminder now, too, as the U.S. health care
system and policymakers try to carve a path forward amid the COVID-19 pandemic, it is better
to remain in the home.

Why the proposed increase is inadequate: Although the increase proposed is a start, itis not
sufficient to cover costs related to HCBS; minimum wage increase to $11.00 in January 2021,
the third in three years, the payroll expense of FICA increase with minimum wage increases,
cost of required electronic visit verification by 2021 and additional requirement by providers to
do more administrative work. The 3-year minimum wage increase is the largest cost increase,
adding close to 30% increase for total of the 3 years. Considering the 1.4% increase, one can
see the proposed increase is not adequate. The sustainability of HCBS is threatened by the lack
of enough funding set by DHS.
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Rate increase request: For consideration, and to keep the HCBS available to older Arkansans,
the proposed rate should be a minimum of 5.25 per unit, $21 per hour.

Response: Personal care was one of the first service categories to be reviewed by the Division
of Medical Services (DMS) under Executive Order 19-02 signed by Governor Hutchinson in
March 2019. DMS engaged the provider community to assist in the rate review. One of the
challenges in the rate review is that providers are not required to file standardized cost reports.
Thus, DMS had to use a less accurate survey of providers. 25 providers out of 388 participated
in the survey. The minimum wage increases from $9.25 per hour in January 2019 to $10 in
January 2020 was a significant factor in the review and has an impact on the Medicaid budget
on State Fiscal Year (SFY) 2020 and SFY 2021. The next minimum wage increases to $11 per
hour will span SFY 2021 and SFY 2022. It is important to the rate review to understand to which
workers the minimum wage increases apply.

Bill Dearmore, Director of Client Services, Area Agency on Aging of Northwest Arkansas, Inc.
Comment: In FY 19-20 the Area Agency on Aging of Northwest Arkansas will provide well over
250,000 hours of Personal Care, AR-choice Attendant Care and Respite Services to frail and
elderly citizens of Northwest Arkansas. These citizens deserve to have a robust system of Home
and Community Based Services available to them. A 15% to 20% increase in the reimbursement
rate is required to sustain and ensure stability of these services. Please consider an increase in
the Medicaid rate to at least $5.25 per unit or $21.00 per hour. Thank you for your
consideration.

Response: Personal care was one of the first service categories to be reviewed by the Division
of Medical Services (DMS) under Executive Order 19-02 signed by Governor Hutchinson in
March 2019. DMS engaged the provider community to assist in the rate review. One of the
challenges in the rate review is that providers are not required to file standardized cost reports.
Thus, DMS had to use a less accurate survey of providers. 25 providers out of 388 participated
in the survey. The minimum wage increases from $9.25 per hour in January 2019 to $10 in
January 2020 was a significant factor in the review and has an impact on the Medicaid budget
on State Fiscal Year (SFY) 2020 and SFY 2021. The next minimum wage increases to $11 per
hour will span SFY 2021 and SFY 2022. It is important to the rate review to understand to which
workers the minimum wage increases apply.

David T. Zakrzewski
Comment: It is my request that someone take a hard look at what is happening in the Home
Health Care rate reimbursement world and the affect it is having on todays senior citizens.

It is stunning to see that the aid to our senior population is not keeping up with minimum wage
increase mandates. How does one (our government) mandate an increase in minimum wage
and not increasing funding to offset minimum wage increases to organizations that support
seniors who may have the ability to live at home with some assistance.
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Arkansas seniors have paid their dues and those who could remain in their homes with some
assistance deserve that opportunity. Without proper funding that stay at home opportunity
coulsod disappear for many.

Covid-19 has changed the world and changed the game. The elderly citizens of Arkansas
should have a Home Care system that allows them to live out their remaining years
comfortabley and in the environment that they have earned. | have spent a number of years
involved with the Home Health industry and have seen the costs it takes to make home health
work. It is my understanding that a Medicaid PC rate of at am minimum of 5.25is need to
sustain stay at home services.

Please take a look at the numbers and the facts, you will then see what needs to happen and
what increases need to be made.

Response: Personal care was one of the first service categories to be reviewed by the Division
of Medical Services (DMS) under Executive Order 19-02 signed by Governor Hutchinson in
March 2019. DMS engaged the provider community to assist in the rate review. One of the
challenges in the rate review is that providers are not required to file standardized cost reports.
Thus, DMS had to use a less accurate survey of providers. 25 providers out of 388 participated
in the survey. The minimum wage increases from $9.25 per hour in January 2019 to $10 in
January 2020 was a significant factor in the review and has an impact on the Medicaid budget
on State Fiscal Year (SFY) 2020 and SFY 2021. The next minimum wage increases to $11 per
hour will span SFY 2021 and SFY 2022. It is important to the rate review to understand to which
workers the minimum wage increases apply.

Jeanette Dotson, Care Coordinators Supervisor, East AR Area Agency on Aging
Comment: | would like to comment on the Personal Care Rate Increase:

| am an Advocate for the Elderly and the Disabled. My Job Title is Care Coordinator Supervisor
for the East AR Area Agency on Aging. | am a 37 year Advocate for seniors to get excellent care
and services!

My Comments are:

A PC Rate increase is much needed because it is more economical to receive services in the
home than to pay for nursing home care 2. Providers should not be pressured or forced to have
a reduction of staff or service areas due to lack of adequate reimbursement rate.

A PC rate is the right and ethical move to make because our Seniors and the elderly are
counting on you all to act righteously and fairly for them and future generations.

Thank you in advance for doing the right thing for Arkansans who TRUST You and all Providers
to take good care of them.

May God Bless our Seniors & Disabled Clients!
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Response: Personal care was one of the first service categories to be reviewed by the Division
of Medical Services (DMS) under Executive Order 19-02 signed by Governor Hutchinson in
March 2019. DMS engaged the provider community to assist in the rate review. One of the
challenges in the rate review is that providers are not required to file standardized cost reports.
Thus, DMS had to use a less accurate survey of providers. 25 providers out of 388 participated
in the survey. The minimum wage increases from $9.25 per hour in January 2019 to $10 in
January 2020 was a significant factor in the review and has an impact on the Medicaid budget
on State Fiscal Year (SFY) 2020 and SFY 2021. The next minimum wage increases to $11 per
hour will span SFY 2021 and SFY 2022. It is important to the rate review to understand to which
workers the minimum wage increases apply.

Cheryl Clayborn, BSN RN, Area Agency on Aging of Northwest Arkansas

Comment: A Medicaid Personal Care rate increase is critical for Area Agency on Agency to
continue to provide in-home quality care services to clients in order to maintain their
independence and safety in their own homes. The current proposed rate of $18.24 per hour is
only a 1.4% increase. This proposed increase is nowhere near what is needed to offset the
minimum wage increases that have taken effect already and are planned for 2021. The rate
needs to be at least $21.00 to come anywhere near meeting the need. Non-profit in-home care
agencies can’t compete with other businesses that have the ability to absorb the minimum
wage increases in Arkansas and therefore it is almost impossible to compete with these
businesses when trying to hire personal care aids. Please reconsider your decision and take the
time to review public comment before making a final determination on the proposed rate. Asa
registered nurse working with Medicaid clients

it is my goal to provide in-home care for eligible clients to maintain independence and safety in
their own homes. | have great concern that we are moving toward placement of our most
precious population in long-term care. Personally, my 97-year old mother in law has thrived
due to the fact that she has been allowed to remain in her own home with the assistance of the
AR Choice Program. Please reconsider your decision in this matter.

Response: Personal care was one of the first service categories to be reviewed by the Division
of Medical Services (DMS) under Executive Order 19-02 signed by Governor Hutchinson in
March 2019. DMS engaged the provider community to assist in the rate review. One of the
chalienges in the rate review is that providers are not required to file standardized cost reports.
Thus, DMS had to use a less accurate survey of providers. 25 providers out of 388 participated
in the survey. The minimum wage increases from $9.25 per hour in January 2019 to $10 in
January 2020 was a significant factor in the review and has an impact on the Medicaid budget
on State Fiscal Year (SFY) 2020 and SFY 2021. The next minimum wage increases to $11 per
hour will span SFY 2021 and SFY 2022. It is important to the rate review to understand to which
workers the minimum wage increases apply.

Misti Chansley and Avona Kasseiman for AmCare Senior Life Partners, Inc.
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Comment: With all due respect, | would like to express my concern about the 1.4% increase to
the Medicaid Personal Care rate. In reference to change number SPA#2020-0012 Personal Care
Rate.

The unskilled Home Health industry relies upon low wage workers {due to low
reimbursements rates). The proposed 1.4% increase is totally inadequate to offset the rapid
increase of the mandatory minimum wage increase and other regulatory burdens. We will have
a 29.4% wage increase by January 2021 {(over a 3-year period) with only a 1.4% Medicaid In
Home service increase.

First and foremost, the frail and elderly deserve to have a robust system of Home and
Community based services available to them. The elderly receiving care in their home have
one-on-one care with immediate attention to their needs. Some do not even meet total care
requirements provided by facilities.

We urge you to make a much-needed serious commitment to sustain Home and Community
based services by increasing the Medicaid Personal Care rate to at least $5.25 per unit. A 15%
to 20% increase in the rate for Medicaid Personal Care and ARChoices Attendant Care and
Respite services would be a step in the right direction.

Thank you for your attention and support concerning the Home and Community based agencies
need for an increase to ensure stability of services for Medicaid Personal Care and ARChoices
Care and Respite Services.

Response: Personal care was one of the first service categories to be reviewed by the Division
of Medical Services (DMS) under Executive Order 19-02 signed by Governor Hutchinson in
March 2019. DMS engaged the provider community to assist in the rate review. One of the
challenges in the rate review is that providers are not required to file standardized cost reports.
Thus, DMS had to use a less accurate survey of providers. 25 providers out of 388 participated
in the survey. The minimum wage increases from $9.25 per hour in January 2019 to $10 in
January 2020 was a significant factor in the review and has an impact on the Medicaid budget
on State Fiscal Year (SFY) 2020 and SFY 2021. The next minimum wage increases to $11 per
hour will span SFY 2021 and SFY 2022. It is important to the rate review to understand to which
workers the minimum wage increases apply.

Gary Johnson, Above & Beyond Home Care, Inc.
Comment: To all interested parties,

It has taken me a long time to write something cynical about the proposed changes. The
suggested change is just simply insufficient for the following reasons:

Just the minimum wage increase, January 1st it is mandated the state will have Arkansans
paying a minimum wage of $11 per hour. A 29.4% increase over a three year period of time.
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Businesses like home care will be forced to close and tax revenue will be gone for the state. This
will be costly to medicaid. Business and therefore seniors and the disabled will have to be
housed, fed, and cared for at nursing homes and other facilities.

Home Care has also endured other costly mandates; new this year are, Adult Services Check
$10, Child Protection Services $10. Then we add the normal costs to the lot, Background checks
$22.50, Drug screening $35, and Drive time, Minimum wage. Drive time by the way that

most companies don't pay but it is a Department of Labor mandate.

Passe program - this is the program where individuals know what to say to the interviewers.
They don't want personal care; they want a maid to clean their house or use as a taxi. We lose
clients every week because we tell them they have to have some type of personal care.
Someone needs to monitor that program. Save Medicaid tons of money.

Optum - Another huge waste of money. Optum goes out and assesses (always late, and NEVER
makes insures the client has someone to represent them). Have you ever talked to someone
with dementia? They can do anything. Then a DHS nurse determines how much a

client deserves.

Finally, how do you possibly hire aides where everyone makes minimum wage.

You see the plight of Home Care? We are desperate! Pull out your calculators, do a little math
and think about it.

Response: Personal care was one of the first service categories to be reviewed by the Division
of Medical Services {DMS) under Executive Order 19-02 signed by Governor Hutchinson in
March 2019. DMS engaged the provider community to assist in the rate review. One of the
challenges in the rate review is that providers are not required to file standardized cost reports.
Thus, DMS had to use a less accurate survey of providers. 25 providers out of 388 participated
in the survey. The minimum wage increases from $9.25 per hour in January 2019 to $10 in
January 2020 was a significant factor in the review and has an impact on the Medicaid budget
on State Fiscal Year (SFY) 2020 and SFY 2021. The next minimum wage increases to $11 per
hour will span SFY 2021 and SFY 2022. it is important to the rate review to understand to which
workers the minimum wage increases apply.

Monty Kasselman, Co-Founder & CFO, AmCare Senior Life Partners, Inc.

Comment: To Whom It May Concern:

With all due respect, | would like to express my concern about the 1.4% increase to the
Medicaid Personal Care rate. In reference to change number SPA#2020-0012 Personal Care
Rate.

The unskilled Home Health industry relies upon low wage workers (due to low reimbursement
rates). The proposed 1.4% increase is totally inadequate to offset the rapid increase of the
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mandatory minimum wage increase and other regulatory burdens. We will have a 29.4% wage
increase by January 2021 (over a 3-year period) with only a 1.4% increase in Medicaid In Home
service rates.

First and foremost, the frail and elderly deserve to have a robust system of Home and
Community based services available to them. The elderly receiving care in their home have one-
on-one care with immediate attention to their needs. Some do not even meet total care
requirements provided by facilities.

We urge you to make a much-needed serious commitment to sustain Home and Community
based services by increasing the Medicaid Personal Care rate to at least $5.25 per unit. A 15%
to 20% increase in the rate for Medicaid Personal Care and AR Choices Attendant Care and
Respite services would be a step in the right direction.

Thank you for your attention and support concerning the Home and Community based agencies
need for an increase to ensure stability of services for Medicaid Personal Care and AR Choices
Care and Respite Services.

Response: Personal care was one of the first service categories to be reviewed by the Division
of Medical Services (DMS) under Executive Order 19-02 signed by Governor Hutchinson in
March 2019. DMS engaged the provider community to assist in the rate review. One of the
challenges in the rate review is that providers are not required to file standardized cost reports.
Thus, DMS had to use a less accurate survey of providers. 25 providers out of 388 participated
in the survey. The minimum wage increases from $9.25 per hour in January 2019 to $10in
January 2020 was a significant factor in the review and has an impact on the Medicaid budget
on State Fiscal Year (SFY) 2020 and SFY 2021. The next minimum wage increases to $11 per
hour will span SFY 2021 and SFY 2022. It is important to the rate review to understand to which
workers the minimum wage increases apply.

Matt McClure, Ed.D., Franchise Owner, Home Instead Senior Care

Comment: The current rate for ARchoices and Personal Care for medicaid clients under the
waiver is inadequate with the increases in minimum wage mandated by the State of
Arkansas. For us to continue to be a provider under this waiver the reimbursement rate must
be addressed in a substantial way. January 1, 2021 will result in many providers being unable
to continue to provide services to the neediest elderly population. The byproduct of not
addressing this will result in only unscrupulous agencies providing these services and a sharp
increase in Medicaid fraud and abuse. This will be to the determinate of the population most
needing these services. | implore you to address this issue in a timely manner. Your
consideration in this matter is very much needed and appreciated.

Response: Personal care was one of the first service categories to be reviewed by the Division
of Medical Services (DMS) under Executive Order 19-02 signed by Governor Hutchinson in
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March 2019. DMS engaged the provider community to assist in the rate review. One of the
challenges in the rate review is that providers are not required to file standardized cost reports.
Thus, DMS had to use a less accurate survey of providers. 25 providers out of 388 participated
in the survey. The minimum wage increases from $9.25 per hour in January 2019 to $10 in
January 2020 was a significant factor in the review and has an impact on the Medicaid budget
on State Fiscal Year (SFY) 2020 and SFY 2021. The next minimum wage increases to $11 per
hour will span SFY 2021 and SFY 2022. It is important to the rate review to understand to which
workers the minimum wage increases apply.

Noel Morris, Franchise Owner, Home Instead Senior Care
Comment: To Whom It May Concern:

| respectfully ask the appropriate state agencies consider an increase to the reimbursement
rates for AR Choices and personal care programs. Even at the current rates, our non-Medicaid
clients subsidize services to Medicaid clients. Given the additional increase in minimum wage to
$11.00 on January 1, 2020, we will be forced to drastically reduce or eliminate services to
Medicaid clients due to the financial burden caused by the current rates. Thank you for your
consideration.

Response: Personal care was one of the first service categories to be reviewed by the Division of
Medical Services (DMS) under Executive Order 19-02 signed by Governor Hutchinson in March
2019. DMS engaged the provider community to assist in the rate review. One of the challenges
in the rate review is that providers are not required to file standardized cost reports. Thus, DMS
had to use a less accurate survey of providers. 25 providers out of 388 participated in the
survey. The minimum wage increases from $9.25 per hour in January 2019 to $10 in January
2020 was a significant factor in the review and has an impact on the Medicaid budget on State
Fiscal Year (SFY) 2020 and SFY 2021. The next minimum wage increases to $11 per hour will
span SFY 2021 and SFY 2022. It is important to the rate review to understand to which workers
the minimum wage increases apply.

Shea Matthews:

Comment: Division of Medical Services,

Having the conversation about the Personal Care Rate is important and the conversation has
been healthy and action is occurring in the correct direction to benefit our seniors and aging
population. Any increase is in the right direction but the 1.4% increase is totally inadequate to
offset the rapid increases in the minimum wage and additional regulatory burdens. {am
familiar with the Home Health industry through my involvement in Carelink and | can
confidently state that a larger increase is needed if Arkansas cares about serving the aging

population.
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The unskilled Home Health industry relies upon low wage workers (due to low reimbursement
rates) and now with the Jan 1, 2021 minimum wage increase of over 29.4% over a 3 year period
organizations that serve the underserved will hurt and will have to modify or terminate
programs. This is simple math, if cost of labor goes up but reimbursement rates stay flat then
there are no sufficient resources to continue the service.

The sustainability of Home and Community Based Home Care is threatened by the lack of
appropriate rate setting by DHS and this Covid-19 pandemic has highlighted the need to have
services brought into a persons home and not delivered in a facility environment where viruses
threaten the captivated residents. The frail and elderly deserve to have a robust system of
Home and Community based services available to them and this is a time to maintain or expand
their home health options not insufficient fund them and cause them to be terminated.

A 20% increase is the rate required to ensure stability of services for Medicaid Personal Care
and ARChoices Attendant Care and Respite Services. This rate increase is proven accurate by
our bordering state Missouri. Missouri has a rapidly changing minimum wage similar to
Arkansas ($10.30 per hour in Missouri vs $11.00 per hour in Arkansas on Jan 1, 2021). Their
Department of Human Services and Legislature recognized the impact on In-Home services and
increased the PC rate to offset minimum wage increases. Their PC rate is 10% higher than the
Arkansas proposed new rate ($5.02 vs $4.56 per unit) even though their minimum wage will be
6% less. Arkansas needs to make a serious commitment to sustaining Home and Community
based services by increasing the Medicaid PC rate to at least $5.25 per unit.

Please give this your serious and realistic consideration,
Shea Mathews

Response: Personal care was one of the first service categories to be reviewed by the Division of
Medical Services (DMS) under Executive Order 19-02 signed by Governor Hutchinson in March
2019. DMS engaged the provider community to assist in the rate review. One of the challenges
in the rate review is that providers are not required to file standardized cost reports. Thus, DMS
had to use a less accurate survey of providers. 25 providers out of 388 participated in the
survey. The minimum wage increases from $9.25 per hour in January 2019 to $10 in January
2020 was a significant factor in the review and has an impact on the Medicaid budget on State
Fiscal Year (SFY) 2020 and SFY 2021. The next minimum wage increases to $11 per hour will
span SFY 2021 and SFY 2022. It is important to the rate review to understand to which workers
the minimum wage increases apply.
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