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DEPARTMENT OF HUMAN SERVICES, DIVISION OF MEDICAL SERVICES 

SUBJECT:  Non-Emergency Ambulance Transport Payments 

DESCRIPTION: 

Statement of Necessity 

The Department of Human Services, Division of Medical Services is required by Act 444 

of 2021 to amend the state plan page 4.19-B page 8aa to remove the exception language 

(nonemergency ambulance services).  The language (nonemergency ambulance services) 

must also be removed from the Manual Section 241.200.  DMS will include the 

nonemergency payment codes on the Ambulance UPL model.  By adding these codes 

there will be a fiscal impact.  

Rule Summary 

State Plan page 4.19-B page 8aa: Remove the exception language (nonemergency 

ambulance services) 

Transportation Medicaid Provider Manual Section 241.200: Remove the exception 

language (nonemergency ambulance services) 

The state share of the fiscal impact will be paid by the ambulance providers through the 

assessment fee. 

PUBLIC COMMENT:  A public hearing was held on this rule on March 30, 2022.  The 

public comment period expired on April 10, 2022.  The agency indicated that it received 

no public comments. 

The proposed effective date is June 1, 2022. 

FINANCIAL IMPACT:  The agency indicated that this rule has a financial impact. 

Per the agency, the estimated cost to implement this rule is $207,985 for the current fiscal 

year ($0 in general revenue, $189,129 in federal funds, and $18,856 in assessment fees) 

and $793,660 for the next fiscal year ($0 in general revenue, $567,388 in federal funds, 

and $226,272 in assessment fees).  The total estimated cost by fiscal year to any private 

individual, entity, and business subject to the proposed rule is $18,856 for the current 

fiscal year and $226,272 for the next fiscal year.  Per the agency, private ambulance 

providers are assessed the ambulance assessment fee to cover the non-federal share and 

this rule will result in no cost to state, county, or municipal government. 

The agency indicated that there is a new or increased cost or obligation of at least 

$100,000 per year to a private individual, private entity, private business, state 
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government, county government, municipal government, or to two or more of those 

entities combined.  Accordingly, the agency provided the following written findings: 

 

(1) a statement of the rule’s basis and purpose; 

 

The rule establishes the Non-Emergency Medical Transportation Access Payment. 

 

(2) the problem the agency seeks to address with the proposed rule, including a statement 

of whether a rule is required by statute; 

 

Act 444 of the 2021 regular session required the agency to implement this rule.  The rule 

seeks to improve the quality and timeliness of medical transports in Arkansas.  

 

(3) a description of the factual evidence that: 

(a) justifies the agency’s need for the proposed rule; and  

(b) describes how the benefits of the rule meet the relevant statutory objectives and justify 

the rule’s costs; 

 

Act 444 of the 2021 regular session required the agency to implement this rule.  The rule 

seeks to improve the quality and timeliness of medical transports in Arkansas 

 

(4) a list of less costly alternatives to the proposed rule and the reasons why the 

alternatives do not adequately address the problem to be solved by the proposed rule; 

 

No less costly alternatives were identified. 

 

(5) a list of alternatives to the proposed rule that were suggested as a result of public 

comment and the reasons why the alternatives do not adequately address the problem to 

be solved by the proposed rule; 

 

No alternatives are proposed at this time. 

 

(6) a statement of whether existing rules have created or contributed to the problem the 

agency seeks to address with the proposed rule and, if existing rules have created or 

contributed to the problem, an explanation of why amendment or repeal of the rule 

creating or contributing to the problem is not a sufficient response; and 

 

N/A 

 

(7) an agency plan for review of the rule no less than every ten (10) years to determine 

whether, based upon the evidence, there remains a need for the rule including, without 

limitation, whether:  

(a) the rule is achieving the statutory objectives; 

(b) the benefits of the rule continue to justify its costs; and 

(c) the rule can be amended or repealed to reduce costs while continuing to achieve the 

statutory objectives. 
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The Agency monitors state and federal rules and regulations for opportunities to reduce 

and control costs. 

 

LEGAL AUTHORIZATION:  The Department of Human Services has the 

responsibility to administer assigned forms of public assistance and is specifically 

authorized to maintain an indigent medical care program (Arkansas Medicaid).  See Ark. 

Code Ann. §§ 20-76-201(1), 20-77-107(a)(1).  The Department has the authority to make 

rules that are necessary or desirable to carry out its public assistance duties.  Ark. Code 

Ann. § 20-76-201(12).  The Department and its divisions also have the authority to 

promulgate rules as necessary to conform their programs to federal law and receive 

federal funding.  Ark. Code Ann. § 25-10-129(b). 

 

This rule implements Act 444 of 2021.  Act 444, sponsored by Senator Larry Teague, 

amended the assessment fee and program on medical transportation providers within the 

Arkansas Medicaid program. 
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