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Provision for Skipping Kindergarten

Alabama "An underage child who transfers from the 1st grade of a school in another

state may be admitted to school upon approval of the board of education in
authority, and an underage child who has moved into this state having
completed or graduated from a mandated kindergarten pregram in another
state shall be entitled to admission to the public elementary schools regardless
of age." (Ala. Code § 16-28-24)

Alaska Not specified in statute

Arizona If, in consultation with the parent/guardian, the child, the teacher and the

school principal, it is determined to be in the best interast of the child, a child
may be admitted to the 1st grade early. Such child must reach the required
age of 6 by January 1 of the current school year. (Ariz. Rev. Stat. § 15-821)

Arkansas Not specified in statute

California A kindergarten child who Is judged by the administration of the school district

to be ready for ist grade work may be admitted to the 1st grade at the
discretion of the school administration and with the consent of the child's
parent or guardian if the child is at least 5 years old and meets the following
criteria:

1) The child has attended a public school kindergarten for a long enough time
to enable school personnel to evaluate his ability;

2} The child is in the upper 5% of his age group in terms of general mental
ability; and

3} The physical development and social maturity of the child are consistent
with advanced mental ability.

(Cal. Educ. Code § 48011; Cal. Code Regs. 5 § 200)

Colorado A child who will be 5 by October 1 of the current school year and is identified

as a "highly advanced gifted child" may enter 1st grade at age 5. {Colo. Rev.
Stat. § 22-20-104.5)

Cannecticut Not specified in statute
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Delaware Not specified in statute

District of Columbla Not specified in statute

Florida Mot specified in statute

Georgla A child who was a legal resident "of one or more other states for a period of

two years immediately prior to moving" to Georgia, and was legally enrolled in
kindergarten, shall be eligible for enroliment in 1st grade if the child will attain
the age of 6 by December 31 and "is otherwise qualified."

Hawaii Not specified in statute

Idaho "Any child of the age of 5 years who has completed a private or public

out-of-state kindergarten. . .but has not reached the school age requirement in
Idaho shall be allowed to enter the 1st grade.” (Idaho Code § 33-201)

1llinois Mot specified in statute

Indiana Not specified in statute

Towa "A child under 6 years of age who has been admitted to school work for the

year immediately preceding the 1st grade under conditions approved by the
department of education or who has demonstrated the possession of sufficient
ability to profit by 1st grade wark on the basis of tests or other means of
evaluation recommended or approved by the department of education, may be
admitted to 1st grade at any time before December 31." (Iowa Code § 282.3)

Kansas "Any child who has completed a kindergarten course entered and attended in

this state or who was a resident in another state and who, while residing in
such other state, had entered and was in attendance in 1st grade in such state
or who had completed in such state a kindergarten course maintained by a
public school district or by an accredited private, denominational or parochial
school shall be eligible to attend 1st grade in this state, regardless of age.”
(Kan. Stat. Ann. § 72-1107(b))

Kentucky "A school district may advance a student through the primary program when it

is determined that it is in the best educational interest of the student. A
student who is at least five (5) years of age, but less than six (6) years of age,
and is advanced in the primary program may be classified as other than a
kindergarten student for purposes of funding under KRS 157.310 to 157.440 if
the student is determined to have acquired the academic and social skills
taught in kindergarten as determined by local board policy in accordance with
the process established by Kentucky Board of Education administrative
regulation." (Ky. Rev. Stat. Ann. § 158.031)
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Louisiana Children must attend kindergarten before attending 1st grade unless they have
satisfactorily passed an academic screening administered by the city or parish
school system. Each parish or schoo! system may establish academic readiness
levels for its 1st grade based on criterla established by the system. (La, Rev,
Stat. Ann. § 17:151.3)

Maine Not specified in statute

Maryland "The local board of education may adopt a regulation permitting a 5-year-old
child, upon request of the parent or guardian, to be admitted to the 1st grade if
the local superintendent of schools or the superintendent's designee
determines that the child has demonstrated capabilities warranting early
admission.” (Md. Regs. Code tit. 13A., § 08.01.02)

Massachusetts Not specified in statute

Michigan If a district does not offer kindergarten, "a child who is at least 5 years of age
on the first day of enrollment of the school year, shall have a right to attend
school in the district." (Mich. Comp. Laws § 380.1147)

Minnesota Any school board may establish a policy for admission of selected pupils at an
earlier age. (Minn. Stat. § 120A.20)

Mississippi Not specified in statute

Missouri Not specified in statute

Montana Not specified in statute

Nebraska Not specified in statute

Nevada

"If a child is not 6 years of age on or before September 30 of a school year, the
child must not be admitted to the Ist grade until the beginning of the school
year following his 6th birthday." (Nev. Rev. Stat. § 392.040)

New Hampshire

Not specified in statute

New Jersey Not specified in statute
New Mexico Not specified in statute
New York

Not specified in statute
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North Carolina

If a principal finds, subsequent to initial kindergarten entry, that a child, by
reason of maturity, can be more appropriately served in the 1st grade, the
child may be placed in Ist grade, regardless of age (N.C. Gen. Stat.§
115C-364(c))

North Dakota

A child must be 6 by September 1 before he enters 1st grade unless he: a) can
demonstrate special talents or abilities; or b) has completed an approved
kindergarten program, (N.D. Cent. Code § 15.1-06-01)

Ohio Not specified in statute

Oklahoma "No child shall be enrolled in kindergarten unless he or she will have reached
the age of five (5) years or before September 1 of the school year." (Okla.
Stat. Ann. £it..70 8§ 1 -114)

Oregon

A district school board may admit a child "whose needs for cognitive, social and
physical development would best be met in the school program, as defined by
policies of the district school board, to school even though the child has not
attained the minimum age requirement." (Or. Rev. Stat, § 339.115)

Pennsylvania

Each district may choose to provide early entrance to students "in accordance
with standards prescribed by the state board of education” (Pa. Cons. Stat.
Ann. 24 P.S. § 13-1304)

Puerto Rico

Not specified in statute

Rhode Island

"Every child shall be eligible to attend 1st grade only upon completion of a
state recognized or accredited kindergarten program.” (R.I. Gen. Laws §
16-2-28)

South Carolina

Districts may choose to admit children to kindergarten or 1st grade before the
state entrance age, however the district is not entitled to receive any state aid
for students admitted early, (S.C. Code Ann, § 59-63-20)

South Dakota

Any child who transfers from another state may proceed in a continuous
educational program without interruption. (5.D. Codified Laws § 13-28-2)

Tennessee "No child shall be eligible to enter 1st grade...without having attended an
approved kindergarten program."” (Tenn. Code Ann. § 49-6-201)

Texas A child who has completed kindergarten in another state may attend 1st grade
before he has turned 6, {Tex., Educ. Code Ann. § 42.003}

Utah

Not specified in statute
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Vermont Kindergarten attendance is not mandatory in this state.

Virgin Islands Not specified in statute

Virginia None

Washington Local education agencies may set the entrance age for 1st grade and may
make exceptions for individual students based on ability, need or both. (Wash
Admin. Code § 28A.225.160)

West Virginia "A county board may provide for advanced entrance or placement under
policies adopted by said beoard for any child who has demonstrated sufficient
mental and physical competency for such entrance or placement." (W. Va,
Code Ann. § 18-8-1a)

Wisconsin Each district must prescribe "procedures, conditions and standards for early
admission to...1st grade” (Wis. Stat. Ann. § 120.12)

Wyoming Not specified in statute
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