
Waste Tire Disposal Laws in the 
Southern States 

Presentation before the Public Health, Welfare and Labor Committee 
Arkansas State Capitol 

December 7, 2015 
Anne Roberts Brody 

Policy Analyst 
The Council of State Governments’ Southern Office 

The Southern Legislative Conference (SLC) 



Introduction to CSG 



Outline 

• What are the key criteria contained in the SLC 
states’ waste tire disposal laws and rules? 

• What mechanisms have states implemented 
to enhance compliance? 

• What are some “best practices” undertaken 
by states? 



Key Criteria 

• Fee Assessment 

• Tracking and Compliance 

• Collection and Storage 

• End Use 

 



Fee Assessment 

• Average between $1.00 - $2.00 

• Lowest fees are in Missouri and Virginia at 
$0.5 per tire 

• Highest in Louisiana at up to $10 per tire for 
off-road tires 

• No fee in Texas 



Alternative Funding Mehcanisms 

• North Carolina’s privilege tax 

• Tiered fee structures in Louisiana, Mississippi, 
Oklahoma  

• Fixed fee on new automobile registrations in 
West Virginia. 

 



State Fee 

Alabama $1per tire 

Arkansas $2 per car tire, $3 per truck tire 

Florida $1per tire 

Georgia $1 per tire 

Kentucky $1 per tire 

Louisiana $2 per passenger tire, $5 per medium truck tire, $10 per 

off-road tire 

Mississippi $1 per tire with a rim diameter <24 inches, $2 per tire 

with a rim diameter >24 inches 

Missouri $.50 per tire 

North Carolina 2 % privilege tax on each tire with a bead diameter <20 

inches, 1% privilege tax on each tire with a bead 

diameter ≥ 20 inches 

Oklahoma $2.50per tire with a rim diameter ≤ 19.5 inches, $3.50 

per tire with a rim diameter > 19.5 inches, $1 per 

motorcycle tire 

South Carolina $2 per tire 

Tennessee $1.35 per tire 

Texas No fee 

Virginia $.50 per tire 

West Virginia $5 fee on all new automobile registrations 



Tracking and Compliance 

• Manifests 

• Reporting 

 



3 Part Manifest 

Point of generation 
Collection by approved 

transporter 

Delivery to approved 
end 

user/processor/disposal 
facility 



Reporting 

• Georgia 
– Quarterly reports, paired with a permitting process helps ensure 

compliance. 

• Kentucky 
– KRS 224.50-872 “The cabinet shall report to the General Assembly no 

later than January 15 each year on the effectiveness of the waste tire 
program in developing markets for waste tires, the amount of revenue 
generated and the effectiveness of the fee established in KRS 224.50-
868 in funding the cabinet's implementation of the waste tire 
program, to include any waste tire amnesty program established by 
the cabinet as provided for in KRS 224.50-880(1)(b), whether the fee 
should be extended, comparative data on the number of waste tires 
generated each year, the number disposed of, the number of orphan 
tire piles, and the cost of tire disposal by counties in the 
Commonwealth.” 



Storage 

• Specifications on storage 

– Indoor vs. Outdoor storage 

• Emergency response plans 

• Drainage systems 

• Vector control 



End Use 







Best Practices 

• Manifest systems 

• Regular reporting 

• Mobile processing  

• Amnesty 

• Fee caps 

• Closing cost estimates and financial assurance 

 



Other Opportunities 

• Innovation grants 

• Online marketplace 

• Measures to protect fund diversions 



Fee Revenue vs. Appropriations in 
Georgia 

Source: Georgia Department of Audits and Accounts, 
Performance Audit Division 



Questions? 


