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Question Presented

Arkansas uses free and reduced lunch eligibility under the National School
Lunch Act (NSLA) as a measurement for state poverty money. What criteria do
other states use for providing poverty funding?

Discussion

Arkansas joins the majority of states in using free and reduced lunch
eligibility as a measurement for state poverty money.

According to “State Poverty-Based Education Funding: A Survey of
Current Programs and Options for Improvement” (Center for Budget and Policy
Priorities, November 7, 2002) and a fact sheet prepared by the University of
Arkansas concerning “How Does Arkansas Distribute Poverty” (attached) , thirty-
eight (38) states distribute poverty-based education funds. Of that thirty-eight
(38), twenty (20) states, including Arkansas, provide some or all of poverty
funding based upon the number of students eligible for free or reduced meals.
Ten (10) states use the number of free lunch-eligible students only. Six (6)
states rely on U.S. Bureau of Census poverty data, three (3) states use the
number of children receiving TANF benefits, and one (1) state uses food stamp
program data. 15 states, including Arkansas, vary the amount of poverty funding
to districts based above a certain threshold, where the per pupil funding level
increases in districts with higher rates of poverty students. Note that the above
breakdown of states does not add up to thirty-eight (38) as some states have
multiple programs which use different distribution calculations.
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How Does Arkansas Distribute Poverty Funding?
Questions:

At the September 15, 2005, Interim House and Senate Education Committee
meeting, several questions were raised regarding the distribution of categorical
poverty funding for students.

1. On what basis is poverty funding distributed in Arkansas ?
2. What do other states do?
3. 1Is there a better method of distribution available?

Question 1: Arkansas Method

According to the National School Lunch Program (NSLP) students from families
with incomes at or below 130 percent of the poverty level are eligible for free
meals. Students from families with incomes between 130 percent and 185
percent of the poverty level are eligible for reduced-price meals, which means
students pay a maximum of 40 cents for meals. For the 2005-06 school year,
130 percent of the poverty level is $25,155 for a family of four and 185 percent
is $35,798.

The current basis for students living in poverty in Arkansas is the percent of
students who qualify for the NSLP. Presently, poverty funding is provided at
three levels:

¢ $480 per low-income student in districts where less than 70% of students
qualify for free and reduced price lunches;

¢ $960 per low-income student in districts where 70% to 90% of students
qualify for free and reduced price lunches; and

* $1,440 per low-income student in districts where more than 90% of students
qualify for free and reduced price lunches.

The question remains, however, is using percent of students on free and
reduced price lunch a “good” measure of poverty?

Advantages of FRL

Free and reduced price lunch is a good measure for distributing funds for
students living in poverty for two reasons - it is nationally based and
straightforward. First, this measure is based on a national program, so the
definitions for students living in poverty are uniform across each district in the

http://www.uark.edu/ua/oep/factsheets/distributepoverty.htm 08/14/2006
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state and each state in the country. Second, the percent of students who qualify
for free and reduced price lunch is one number, which provides a straightforward
measure of determining poverty.

Disadvantages of FRL

Using free and reduced price lunch, however, does have two key disadvantages
- indiscriminate distribution and single measure. Free and reduced price lunch is
ineffective at discriminating between levels of poverty. For example, a student
from a family of four with an income of $25,000 and a student from a family of
four with an income of $5,000 both receive the same amount of funding at
school, although these two students likely face very different educational
challenges. Additionally, free and reduced price lunch is a single measure of
poverty, which is based solely on family income, and no other relevant socio-
economic status measure (e.g. educational attainment of family, property value
of family home, etc.).

Question 2: Other States

Arkansas is similar to most other states in its method of determining and
providing poverty-based funding for students. Based on a 2002 report by the
Center on Budget and Policy Priorities , 38 states distribute education funds on
the basis of poverty. Thirteen of the states provide poverty funding by adjusting
the state aid formulas, 18 states provide categorical funds (e.g. Arkansas ) to
districts based on the number of poor students, and seven states use a mix of
these two approaches.

Very few states, however, have attempted to develop a definition of children in
poverty, rather most states have opted to use a federal program that already
distributes money to children in poverty. Notwithstanding the consensus of
states to use federal definitions, states do differ in the amount and method of
providing funds for students.

According to the report, the most commonly used measure to determine
eligibility for the poverty money is the federally funded free and reduced price
lunch program, which is used by 30 states. Twenty states base their distribution
of poverty funding on the number of free or reduced price poverty, while 10
states provide money only for those students who qualify for freé lunches. Six
other states use a poverty index calculated by the Bureau of Census, three
states use the number of students in families who qualify for the Temporary
Assistance for Needy Families (AFDC/TANF), and one state provides funds based
on the number of families receiving food stamps. Similar to Arkansas , 15 states
vary the amount of poverty funding to districts based above a certain threshold,
where the per pupil funding level increases in districts with higher rates of
poverty students.

Question 3: Alternative Distribution Methods

Using free and reduced price lunch, TANF, or food stamps do attempt to provide
increased dollars for students living in poverty. Similar to free and reduced price
lunch, however, TANF and food stamps are problematic measures. Regarding
TANF and food stamps, states differ in their authorization of these programs,
and these are programs for families for a limited time - that is, families may not
remain on these programs for the 12 or more years of education that children
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may be in school. Also, students on food stamps or TANF are at a different level
of poverty (100%) than students who qualify for free and reduced price iunch
programs (185%).

Another means of distributing money is to use more measures of low income
and develop a “poverty index”, which would account for how money is
distributed. For example, an index of the educational attainment level of the
family, the family personal income, and property value of the home for the
family could be computed. We know that these three variables indicate poverty
and are associated with student performance; therefore, using these three
measures in conjunction could prove more valuable than a single measure (e.g.
free and reduced price lunch, TANF, food stamps). Furthermore, using this index
could provide funding that directly relates to the needs of the students -~ that is,
this index could distinguish between a student from a family of four with an
income of $25,000 and a student from a family of four with an income of
$5,000.

Summary

In order to thoughtfully consider the “fairness” of the poverty indicator used in
Arkansas and many other states - free and reduced price lunch ~ we must first
ask why poverty money is allocated. States have determined that providing
additional funding for students in poverty is necessary in order to provide an
equal opportunity for all students. Recognizing why this money is allocated, we
must wonder how the money should be used—that is, how can the additional
money provide an equal opportunity and what does equal mean? This is where
states seem to vary; consequently, different services are provided to students in
each state. Generally, we conclude that poverty funding has been used to
improve instruction and curriculum, or to support social and health programs.
For example, The Wisconsin SAGE program provided $2,000 per student eligible
for the free and reduced-price lunch program to reduce student-teacher ratios to
15-to-one in grades K-3.

Notwithstanding the concerns over what services should be provided to give all
students an equal opportunity, the discussion about poverty funding is further
complicated by the fact that there is no consensus on the additional costs of
educating individual poor students, much less concentrations of poor students.
Thus, there is no fair metric by which we can assess the “correctness” of the
Arkansas distribution method.

At this point, we can conclude that Arkansas ' formula does attempt to channel
more resources toward poor students, particularly those in very poor districts,
and the distribution method is consistent with what most other states are doing.
Is this enough? There is no way to tell, but it will be important over the next few
years for the state to assess how these funds are used to learn about the most
effective ways to employ these resources to improve education for poor kids.

US Department of Agriculture Food and Nutrition Service
(http://www.fns.usda.gov/cnd/Lunch/AboutLunch/NSLPFactSheet.pdf)

Carey, K. (2002). State poverty-baseci education funding: A survey of current
programs and options for improvement. Center on Budget and Policy Priorities .
http://www.cbpp.org/11-7-02sfp.pdf
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To receive a copy of this Fact Sheet or other information, please visit
http://www.uark.edu/ua/oep or contact the University of Arkansas ' Office for
Education Policy at (479) 575-3773.

Xl

Office of Education Policy
University of Arkansas
15 West Avenue Annex
Fayetteville, Arkansas 72701
Telephone: (479) 575-3773
Fax: (479) 575-4930

Email: oep@cavern.uark.edu

http://www.uark.eduw/ua/oep/factsheets/distributepoverty.htm ©08/14/2006



Subchapter 24.
Teacher Compensation Program of 2003.

6-17-2401. Title.

This subchapter shall be known and may be cited as the "Teacher Compensation Program of
2003".

History. Acts 2003 (2nd Ex. Sess.), No. 59, § 2.

6-17-2402. Definitions.

As used in this subchapter:
(1) "Basic contract” means a teacher employment contract for one hundred ninety (190) days
that includes ten (10) days of professional development; and

(2) "Teacher" means:

(A) An individual who is required to hold a teaching license from the Department of
Education and who is engaged directly in instruction with students in a classroom setting for
more than seventy percent (70%) of the individual's contracted time;

(B) A guidance counselor; or

(C) A librarian.
History. Acts 2003 (2nd Ex. Sess.), No. 59, § 2; 2003 (2nd Ex. Sess.), No. 74, § 1.
6-17-2403. Minimum teacher compensation schedule.

(a) The board of directors in each school district in the state shall pay classroom
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teachers upon a minimum salary schedule that provides:
(1) Annual increments for education and experience;

(2) A base salary; and

(3) A minimum salary for a teacher with a master's degree and at least fifteen (15) years'
experience.

(b)(1) In school year 2004-2005, each school district in the state shall have in place a salary
schedule with at least the following minimum levels of compensation for a basic contract:

Years of Experience BA Degree Salary MA Degree
Salary
0 $27,500 $31,625
1 27,950 32,125
2 28,400 : 32,625
3 28,850 33,125
4 29,300 33,625
5 29,750 34,125
6 30,200 34,625
7 30,650 35,125
8 31,100 35,625
9 31,550 36,125
10 32,000 . 36,625
11 32,450 37,125
12 32,900 37,625
13 33,350 38,125
14 33,800 38,625
15 34,250 39,125

(2) In school year 2005-2006, each school district in the state shall have in place a salary
schedule with at least the following minimum levels of compensation for a basic contract:

Years of Experience BA Degree Salary MA Degree
Salary

0 $27,940 $32,131
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1 28,390 32,631

2 28,840 33,131
3 29,290 33,631
4 29,740 34,131
5 30,190 34,631
6 30, 640 35,131
7 31,090 35,631
8 31,540 36,131
9 31,990 36,631
10 32,440 37,131
11 32,890 37,631
12 33,340 38,131
13 33,790 38,631
14 34,240 . 39,131
15 34,690 39,631

(¢) In school year 2006-2007 and each school year thereafter, each school district in the state
shall have in place a salary schedule with at least the following minimum levels of compensation
for a basic contract:

Years of Experience BA Degree Salary MA Degree
Salary
0 $28,611 $32,902
1 29,061 33,402
2 29,511 33,902
3 29,961 34,402
4 30,411 34,902
5 30,861 35,402
6 31,311 35,902
7 31,761 36,402
8 32,211 36,902
9 32,661 37,402
10 33,111 ' . 37,902
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11 33,561 38,402

12 34,011 38,902
13 ‘ 34,461 39,402
14 34,911 39,902
15 35,361 40,402

(d)(1) For purposes of the salary schedules described in this section, the teacher's experience
is- his ‘or her total years' experience as a teacher with a valid Arkansas teaching license and
teaching at any:

(A) Public school accredited by the Department of Education or a nationally recognized
accrediting association;

(B) Private school within the State of Arkansas accredited by a nationally recognized
accrediting association; or

(C) Institution of higher education within the State of Arkansas accredited by a nationally
recognized higher education institution accrediting association.

(2) A teacher's years of experience shall be based upon:

(A) The years in the school district in which the teacher is employed when the salary
schedule in this section is considered; and

(B) The teacher's years of experience with a valid Arkansas teaching license at an institution
in subdivision (d)(1) of this section.

(3) For purposes of this section, "years of service" means:

(A) Performing the full-time duties of a teacher for a full school year with a valid Arkansas
teaching license; or

(B) Years of employment with an Arkansas public school in a full-time position that requires
that the teacher have an Arkansas teaching license.

(e)(1) A teacher is entitled to additional pay if the number of days in the teacher's contract
for the 2005-2006 school year exceeds the number of days in the teacher's contract for the
2004-2005 school year.

(2) The additional pay is at least equal to the number of additional contract days under
subdivision (e)(1) of this section multiplied by the daily rate calculated using the teacher's
2004-2005 salary.

(3) A teacher is entitled to additional pay if the number of days in the teacher's contract for
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the 2006-2007 school year exceeds the number of days in the teacher's contract for the 2005-2006
school year.

(4) The additional pay is at least equal to the number of contract days for the 2006-2007
school year exceeding the number of days in the teacher's contract for the 2005-2006 school year
multiplied by the daily rate calculated using the teacher's 2005-2006 salary.

(f) For purposes of this section, "daily rate" means the teacher contract salary divided by the
number of days in the teacher contract.

History. Acts 2003 (2nd Ex. Sess.), No. 59, § 2; 2003 (2nd Ex. Sess.), No. 74, § 2; 2005, No.
2130, § 1; 2005, No. 2307, § 1; 2006 (1st Ex. Sess.), No. 19, § 2.

6-17-2404. [Repealed.]

Publisher's Notes. This section, concerning knowledge-baséd and skills-based pay, was repealed by
Acts 2005, No. 2121, § 5. The section was derived from Acts 2003 (2nd Ex. Sess.), No. 59, § 2.

6-17-2405. Future adjustments of the compensation system.

Each biennium, the House Interim Committee on Education and the Senate Interim
Committee on Education shall analyze the compensation levels provided in this subchapter,
review relevant data, and make recommendations to the General Assembly for any adjustments
to the compensation levels as needed to further the objective provided in § 6-17-2402.

History. Acts 2003 (2nd Ex. Sess.), No. 59, § 2.

6-17-2406. Applicability of teacher salary schedule.

(a) As used in this section, "teacher”" means any full-time employee of the C-Step Program or
the Arkansas National Guard Youth Challenge Program, or both:
(1) Who is compelled by law to secure a license from the State Board of Education as a
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condition precedent to employment in a position in or related to grades prekindergarten through
twelve (preK-12); and

(2) Whois:

(A) Engaged directly in instruction with students in a classroom setting for more than
seventy percent (70%) of the individual's contracted time;

(B) A guidance counselor; or

(C) A librarian or media specialist.

(b) To the extent that funds are specifically appropriated by the General Assembly, any
teacher employed by the C-Step Program or the Arkansas National Guard Youth Challenge
Program, or both, shall be paid no less than the amounts set forth under the Teacher
Compensation Program of 2003, § 6-17-2401 et seq.

(c) Nothing in this section shall be construed to require a school district to pay the salary of
any teacher who is not an employee of the school district or to require that teachers be paid from
any state funds other than as appropriated by the General Assembly.

History. Acts 2005, No. 1777, § 1.

6-17-2407. Reduction in force procedure.

(a) It is the public policy of the State of Arkansas that each school district shall have a
written policy on reduction in force based upon objective criteria for a layoff and recall of
employees. '

(b) A "layoff" is an unavoidable reduction in the workforce beyond normal attrition.

History. Acts 2005, No. 2149, § 1.
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Implementing Ark. Code Ann. 6-17-201(b)(1), 6-17-201(b)
(2), 6-17-201(c), 6-20-319-(4)(b)

1.00 Regulatory authority

1.01 These regulations shall be known as the Arkansas Department of Education regulations
implementing Ark. Code Ann. 6-17-201(b)(1), 6-17-201(b}(2), 6-17-201(c), and 6-20-319(4)(b).

1.02 The regulations are enacted pursuant to the State Board of Education's authority under Ark.
Code Ann. 6-11-105 and 6-20-303.

2,00 Purpose

2.01 The purpose of these regulations is to describe how the Department of Education will
implement Ark. Code Ann. 6-17-201(b)(1), 6-17-201(b)(2), 6-17-201(c), and 6-20-319(4)(b).

3.00 Definitions

3.01 A certified employee is defined as any employee of a local public school district who is
compelled by law or regulation to secure a license from the State Board of Education.

3.02 A salary schedule is defined as an inventory document of salaries which recognizes: (1)
level of training, (2) level of experience, (3) extended contract, (4) salary supplements for
additional duties, additional responsibilities, and (5) fringe benefits'(exclusive of social security
matching and worker's compensation insurance). In addition, the salary schedule is defined to
reflect the actual pay practice of the district.

3.03 A base teacher salary schedule is defined as a teacher salary schedule of pay for no less
than the number of days classroom teachers are required to be contracted for in order to comply
with the minimum standards for accreditation.

3.04 An extended contract is defined as additional days added to a certified employee's contract
for which the employee's pay is increased proportionally so that the employee will receive pay for
each day they are contracted to work in addition to what is required to be paid according to the
base teacher salary schedule.

3.05 A salary index is defined as a method of determining Additional salary by establishing a
numerical relationship between the base teacher salary schedule and additional days, duties, and
responsibilities.

3.06 A salary supplement is defined as the additional salary paid for each unique additional
service provided by certified employees.

3.07 A fringe benefit In defined an any service or commodity exclusive of social security matching
and worker's compensation insurance provided to certified employees which rhay or may not be
in lieu of salary.

3.08 A purchased service is defined as insurance or utility provided to or on behalf of certified
employees.

3.09 A commodity is defined as a supply, good, material, equipment, machinery, facility, or
property provided to or on behalf of certified employees. '



3.10 Personnel policies are defined as written policies for certified personnel adopted by the
school board in accordance with Ark. Code Ann. 6-17-201 et. seq.

4.00 Implementation of Ark. Code Ann. 6-17-201(b)(1), 6-17-201(b)(2), 6-17-201(c), and 6-20-
319(4)(b)

4.01 On the second working day of August, the Department of Education will notify each school
district which has not, by the last working day in July, filed with the Department its current
personnel policies including a salary schedule for certified employees which meets the
requirements of the law and these regulations.

4.02 The Department of Education will withhold all funds from the Public School Fund due any
school district until such time as the district has filed with the Department of Education its current
personnel policies.

4.03 In order to continue to qualify for state aid, each school district must file with the Department
of Education, within 60 days, its current personnel policies throughout the year as changes are
made in personnel policies including changes made in the certified employee salary schedule.



Rules and Regulations
Governing Waivers of Minimum Salaries for -
Certified Personnel

1.00 Regulatory Authority

1.01 These regulations shall be known as the Department of Education Regulations governing
the waiving of minimum salaries to be paid certified personnel.

1.02 These regulations are enacted pursuant to the State Board of Education's specific authority
under Arkansas Codes Annotated 6-17-1001 and 6-11-105 (Repl. 1993).

2.00 Purpose

2.01 Itis the purpose of these regulations to set general guidelines for granting waivers to schoal
districts which cannot meet the provisions of Arkansas Code Annotated 6-17-1001.

3.00 Filing a Request

3.01 School district requests for waivers shall be on forms provided by the Arkansas Department
of Education. :

4.00 District Eligibility Criteria

4.01 School districts shall meet the minimum expenditure requirements of Ark. Code Ann. 6-20-
310 (Supp. 1995) for the school year for which the request is made.

4.02 School districts shall have a base millage of no less than 25 mills available for maintenance
and operation.

4.03 A school district must show that its combined teacher salary, operating and debt service
fund balances will be depleted within three years if relief is not granted.

4.04 Prior to receiving a waiver, a school district shall seek assistance from the Department of
Education in developing and filing a plan with the Department for the purpose of eliminating the
need for a waiver as soon as possible.

4.05 Prior to receiving a waiver, the school board shall review in a regularly scheduled public
meeting the need for a waiver, the plan to eliminate the future needs for a waiver which is to be
filed with the Department, and implications for all educational programs should the waiver be
granted.

5.00 Review and Approval of Requests

5.01 A committee appointed by the Director of the Department of Education shall review waiver
applications and make recommendations. The Director shall have final authority in the disposition
of requests.

5.02-One year approved waivers shall be tentative subject to findings which refiect compliance
with all eligibility criteria.



5.03 Relief shall not be granted beyond an amount necessary to prevent the district fromi
depleting its balances within three years.

5.04 Final approval by the Director shall identify that district as meeting the requirements of a
Phase | fiscal distress district.



6-17-811. Incentives for teacher recruitment and retention in high-priority districts.

(a)(1) For purposes of this section:

(A) "High-priority district" means a district of one thousand (1,000) or fewer students in
which eighty percent (80%) or more of public school students are eligible for the free or
reduced-price lunch program under the National School Lunch Act and have a three-quarter
average daily membership of one thousand (1,000) or fewer for the 2003-2004 school year;

(B) "Previous year" means the school year immediately preceding the present school year;
and

(C)() "Teacher" or "teachers" means those certified personnel who spend seventy percent
(70%) of their time working directly with students in a classroom setting teaching all grade-level
or subject-matter appropriate classes.

(ii) "Teacher" or "teachers" includes guidance counselors and librarians.

(2) The State Board of Education shall promulgate rules to determine high-priority districts
of the state.

(b) Beginning in the 2004-2005 school year, a teacher licensed by the state board who
teaches in a school in a high-priority district shall receive in addition to all other salary and
benefits:

(1)(A) For new teachers, a one-time signing bonus to work in any high-priority district to be
‘paid as follows: :

(1) Four thousand dollars ($4,000) at the time a teacher not currently employed by the district
signs a new contract to teach in a high-priority district; and

(i) Three thousand dollars ($3,000) at the beginning of each of the next two (2) subsequent
years if the teacher continues teaching in the same high-priority district.

(B)({@) If a teacher has received bonus pay under subdivision (b)(1)(A) of this section and
leaves the high-priority district before the end of the three-year bonus pay period, the teacher
shall pay back the amount of the bonus received in the previous year.

(i) If the teacher leaves the district during the school year, the teacher shall pay back the
previous year's bonus and the current year's bonus; and

(2)(A) For all teachers not newly signed to work in the district, a retention bonus of two
thousand dollars ($2,000) shall be paid:
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(i) For the 2004-2005 school year; and

(ii) At the beginning of each of the next two (2) subsequent years if the teacher continues to
work in a high-priority district.

(B)(Q) If a teacher has received bonus pay under subdivision (b)(2)(A) of this section and
voluntarily leaves the high-priority district before the end of the three-year bonus pay period, the
teacher shall pay back on a pro-rata basis the amount of the bonus received in the previous years.

(i) If the teacher voluntarily leaves the district during the school year, the teacher shall pay
back the previous year's bonus and the current year's bonus.

(ii)(a) If a full-time-equivalent teacher is reassigned involuntarily to a position that is not
eligible for bonus pay under this section or is dismissed involuntarily by a school district, the
teacher shall not be required to repay the applicable bonus pay.

(b) The school district shall provide documentation to the Department of Education of the
involuntary assignment or dismissal.

(iv) If a teacher qualified to receive bonus pay under this section leaves the district due to a
serious medical emergency, the teacher shall not be obligated to repay the bonus if the teacher
provides a written statement from a licensed physician stating that the teacher is unable to work
and must terminate his or her employment.

(c) Any bonus pay awarded under this section to eligible full-time-equivalent teachers who
do not work the entire school year shall be pro rated based on the portion of the school year that
the eligible teacher was employed by the high-priority school district.

(d) The department shall:
(1) Monitor the implementation of the incentive program established by this section; and

(2) Collect data to be used to evaluate the incentive program's effectiveness.

History. Acts 2003 (2nd Ex. Sess.), No. 101, § 1; 2005, No. 1962, § 12; 2005, No. 2151, § 31.
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2.00

3.00

Agency # 005

Arkansas Department of Education
Rules Governing Incentives for Teacher Recruitment
And Retention in High Priority Districts with
An Average Daily Membership of 1,000 or Fewer
July 2005

Regulatory Authority

1.01  These rules shall be known as the Arkansas Department of
Education Rules Governing Incentives for Teacher Recruitment and
Retention in High Priority Districts with an Average Daily
Membership of 1,000 or Fewer.

1.02 These rules are enacted pursuant to the Arkansas State Board of
Education's authority under A.C.A. §§ 6-11-105 and 6-17-811.

Purpose

The purpose of these rules is to establish the procedures to provide
incentives for teacher recruitment and retention in high priority districts.

Definitions
Unless otherwise specifically stated herein, the term:

3.01  Bonus Pay Period - Means the three-year period in which an
eligible employee receives a signing or a retention bonus.

3.02 Department - Means the Arkansas Department of Education.

3.03 High Priority District - Means a district of one thousand (1000) or
fewer students in which eighty percent (80%) or more of public
school students are eligible for the free or reduced-price lunch
program under the National Schoo! Lunch Act and have a three-
quarter average daily membership of one thousand (1,000) or fewer
for the 2003-2004 school year.

3.04 Previous year - Means the school year immediately preceding the
current school year.

3.05 Retention Bonus - Means beginning in the 2004-2005 school year a
one time $2,000 bonus paid per year for three consecutive years to
certified teachers employed by a high priority district during the
school year, and who were employed at the high priority district
during the previous school year and who have not received or are
currently receiving a signing bonus, pursuant to these rules, from
the school district.

ADE 211-1



4.00

3.06

3.07

Agency # 005

Signing Bonus - Means beginning in the 2004-2005 school year, a
one time $4,000 bonus awarded to a teacher not employed by a
high priority district for the previous school year, who signs a new
contract to teach in a high priority district for the current school year
and who has not received a prior signing or retention bonus,
pursuant to these rules, from the school district.

Teacher - Means those certified personnel who spend seventy
percent (70%) of their time working directly with students in a
classroom setting teaching all grade-level or subject matter
appropriate classes, including guidance counselors and librarians.

Incentives

4.01

4.02

Beginning in the 2004-2005 school year, a certified teacher
licensed by the State Board of Education and teaching in a high-
priority district shall receive incentive pay.

Beginning in the 2004-2005 school year teachers who sign their
initial contract with a high priority district shall receive a one-time
signing bonus of $4,000 at the beginning of the school year.

4.02.1 For each of the next two years, that teacher referred to in
Section 4.02 shall receive a $3,000 bonus at the beginning
of the school year while still employed at the same high
priority district.

4.02.2 If the teacher has received bonus pay under Section 4.02 of
this rule and voluntarily leaves the high priority district before
the end of the three-year bonus pay period, the teacher shall
pay back the amount of the bonus received in the previous
year.

4.02.3 If the teacher voluntarily leaves the high priority district
during the school year, the teacher shall pay back the
previous year's bonus and the current year's bonus.

402.4 If a teacher has received a signing bonus, and the teacher is
reassigned involuntarily to a position that is not eligible for
signing bonus pay or that teacher is dismissed involuntarily
by a high priority district, the teacher shall not be required to
repay the applicable signing bonus.

402.5 If a teacher qualified to receive a signing bonus leaves the
high priority district due to a serious medical emergency, the
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4.03

4.04

4.05

Aggncy # 005

teacher shall not be required to repay the signing bonus
provided documentation from a licensed physician validating
the need to terminate employment due to medical reasons is
filed with the district.

Beginning in 2004-2005, all currently employed certified teachers
who have been employed by the high priority district in the previous
school year and who are not receiving a signing bonus, shall
receive a $2,000 retention bonus at the beginning of each of the
next two subsequent school years as long as the teacher continues
to be employed by the high priority district.

4.03.1 If a currently employed teacher receives a retention bonus
under Section 4.03 of this rule and then voluntarily leaves
the high priority district before the end of the bonus pay
period, the teacher shall pay back the amount of the
retention bonus received in the previous year.

4.03.2If a currently employed teacher voluntarily leaves the high
priority district during the school year, that teacher shall pay
back the previous year's bonus and the current year's bonus.

4.03.3 If a teacher has received a retention bonus and that teacher
is reassigned involuntarily to a position that is not eligible for
retention bonus pay or a teacher is dismissed involuntarily
by a high priority district, the teacher shall not be required to
repay the applicable retention bonus pay.

4.03.4 If a teacher qualified to receive retention bonus pay leaves
the high priority district due to a serious medical emergency,
the teacher shall not be required to repay the retention
bonus provided documentation from a licensed physician
validating the need to terminate employment due to medical
reasons is filed with the district.

No teacher may receive both a signing bonus and a retention
bonus in the same year.

Any bonus pay awarded to an eligible, full time equivalent teacher
who does not work the entire school year shall be pro-rated based
on the portion of the school year that the eligible teacher was
employed by the high priority district.
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5.00 Documentation

5.01

5.02

5.03

5.04

5.05

5.06

Beginning in 2004-2005, the Department shall issue by September
1 of each year a list of the high priority districts in which eighty (80)
percent (80%) or more of the public school students are eligible for
free and reduced price meals.

Beginning in 2004-2005, the Free and Reduced Price Meal
calculation shall be based on the list of eligible students in a district
as verified by the Child Nutrition Unit of the Department based on
the October 1 list of eligibles for grades K-12 for the previous
school year.

The determination of eligibility for high priority district designation in
annexed or consolidated districts is made based on the combining
of the enroliment, average daily membership, and free and reduced
price meal calculations for the two or more districts that were
annexed or consolidated.

Beginning in 2004-2005, high priority districts shall notify the
Department on forms provided by the Department, and identify all
eligible teachers employed at the high priority district for the current
school year. The district shall list teachers who are not employed
by the high priority district during the previous school year and
teachers employed the previous school year who continue to be
employed for the current school year. :

Upon receipt of the form from each high priority district, the
Department shall distribute the funds to the districts who will
distribute the appropriate bonuses to the teachers employed by the
high priority districts.

Districts will be responsible for the payment of all matching benefit
payments.

6.00 Sanctions

6.01

6.02

It shall be the responsibility of the high priority district to monitor the
incentive bonus distribution in their district.

If a teacher receiving either a signing or a retention*bonus
voluntarily leaves the high priority district before the end of the
three-year bonus pay period or if the teacher voluntarily leaves the
high priority district during the school year, the district shall require
the teacher to pay back the appropriate bonus amount.
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6.03 Upon receipt of the bonus payback from the teacher, the district

shall forward the payment(s) to the Finance Section at the
Department.
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6-17-1117. Health insurance.

(a) Beginning on October 1, 2004, local school districts shall pay the health insurance
contribution rate of one hundred thirty-one dollars ($131) per month for each eligible employee
electing to participate in the public school employee health insurance program.

(b)(1) The Department of Education shall pay the Employee Benefits Division of the
Department of Finance and Administration sixty-one dollars ($61.00) per month for each eligible
employee of a public school district electing to participate in the public school employees' health
insurance program administered by the State and Public School Life and Health Insurance Board.

(2) The funds provided to the division under this subsection shall be administered by the
board for the benefit of the employee participants of the public school employees' health
insurance program.

(3)(A)()) In the event that appropriation or funding is not provided, the department shall not
be responsible for the increased payments for the pubhc school employee health insurance
program as established by this section.

(ii) If funding and appropriation are provided but are inadequate for the total number of
employees electing to participate in the public school employees' health insurance program, the
department shall pay a proportional share on behalf of each participant.

(B) Notwithstanding the special language provision in the department's appropriation act
granting transfer authority or any other law to the contrary, appropriation and funding provided
for the purposes of this section shall not be transferred by the department for any other purpose.

(c)(1) A school district shall:

(A) Provide the same employer-provided health insurance benefits for all full-time school
district employees; and

(B) Pay the same employer contribution rate for each eligible employee electing to
participate in the public school employees' health insurance program.

(2) If a school district entered into a contract with a superintendent, teacher, or other
personnel prior to April 11, 2006, and the contract provides for a higher employer contribution
rate than is paid for a majority of the certified personnel in the district, then the district may
continue to pay the higher contribution rate as provided under the existing contract but not under
extensions, addendums, or new contracts created after April 11, 2006, without increasing all
other employees to the same rate.
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History. Acts 1995, No. 1194, § 14; 2001, No. 1745, § 1; 2005, No. 1842, § 1; 2006 (1st Ex.
Sess.), No. 24, § 1; 2006 (1st Ex. Sess.), No. 25, § 1.
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19-5-1227. Educational Adequacy Fund.

(a) There is created on the books of the Treasurer of State, the Auditor of State, and the
Chief Fiscal Officer of the State a fund to be known as the "Educational Adequacy Fund".
(b) After the Treasurer of State has made deductions from the revenues under §
19-5-203(b)(2)(A), the Educational Adequacy Fund shall consist of:

(1) All net revenues collected due to enactments of the Eighty—Foufth General Assembly
meeting in Second Extraordinary Session, unless a different distribution of those additional net
revenues is otherwise provided in the act creating those additional net revenues;

(2) The revenues credited to the Educational Adequacy Fund under § 26-54-113(b)(2);

(3) The revenues generated by §§ 26-52-302(d), 26-53-107(d), 26-52-316, and
26-57-1002(d)(1)(A)(1); and

(4) Other revenues as provided by law.

(c)(1) The Chief Fiscal Officer of the State will determine, from time to time, the amount of
funds required from the Educational Adequacy Fund which, when added to other resources
available to the Department of Education Public School Fund Account of the Public School Fund
and the Department of Education Fund Account of the Education Fund, is needed to fulfill the
financial obligation of the state to provide an adequate educational system as authorized by law
and shall certify the amounts to the Treasurer of State.

(2) At the end of each month, the Treasurer of State shall transfer all moneys available from
the Educational Adequacy Fund to the Department of Education Public School Fund Account of
the Public School Fund and to the Department of Education Fund Account of the Education Fund
until the sum of all transfers from the Educational Adequacy Fund equal the amounts determined
in subdivision (c)(1) of this section, there to be used as determined by law.

(d) In the event the Chief Fiscal Officer of the State determines that the transfers from the
Educational Adequacy Fund, when added to the other resources available to the Department of
Education Public School Fund Account of the Public School Fund, are not sufficient to meet the
state's financial obligation to provide an adequate educational system as authorized by law, the
additional amount required shall be transferred from the other funds and fund accounts, except
the Educational Facilities Partnership Fund Account, within §§ 19-5-402(a) and 19-5-404(a)
based upon the proportion that each of the remaining fund and fund accounts, excluding the
Educational Facilities Partnership Fund Account, bears to the total of the remaining funds and
fund accounts in §§ 19-5-402(a) and 19-5-404(a).
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History. Acts 2003 (2nd Ex. Sess.), No. 94, § 5; 2003 (2nd Ex. Sess.), No. 107, § 11; 2003 (2nd
Ex. Sess.), No. 108, § 1; 2005, No. 2131, § 35; 2006 (1st Ex. Sess.), No. 20, § 10.
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