Act 1039 of the 1987 Regular Session

Act 1039

"AN ACT TO ESTABLISH THE WHITE RIVER VALLEY COMMISSION; AND FOR OTHER PURPOSES."

BE IT ENACTED BY THE GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF THE STATE OF ARKANSAS:

SECTION 1. There is hereby created and established the White River Valley Commission.

SECTION 2. The Commission shall be composed of thirteen (13) members, appointed by the Governor as follows: one (1) who is a resident and elector of Phillips County, one (1) who is a resident and elector of Arkansas County, one (1) who is a resident and elector of Prairie County, one (1) who is a resident and elector of Woodruff County, one (1) who is a resident and elector of White County, one (1) who is a resident and elector of Jackson County, one (1) who is a resident and elector of Independence County, one (1) who is a resident and elector of Izard County, and one (1) who is a resident and elector of Baxter County,

Four shall be appointed at large by the Governor from any of the aforementioned counties. The Governor's appointment shall be by and with the advice and consent of the Senate.

SECTION 3. Terms of office of the original members of the Commission shall commence upon qualification after appointment, and shall be arranged by the Governor in such manner that the terms shall be staggered. Thereafter, each Commissioner shall be appointed for a seven (7) year term.

The first appointments shall expire as follows.

2	to	expire	January	1,	1988
2	to	expire	January	1,	1989
2	to	expire	January	1,	1990
2	to	expire	January	1,	1991
2	to	expire	January	1,	1992
2	to	expire	January	1,	1993
2	to	expire	January	1,	1994

Upon the naming of the Commission, the Governor shall designate a Chairman who shall have the responsibility of calling the initial meeting of the Commission. The person designated by the Governor as Chairman shall only serve in such capacity at the Commission's initial meeting unless he is reelected by the other Commission members. The Commission shall name such other officers as needed.

The Commission shall meet quarterly and at such other times as it deems proper.

The Chairman shall cause a notice of all meetings to be sent to each newspaper in the eleven county region.

The oath of each Commissioner shall be filed with the Secretary State.

SECTION 4. Members of the Commission shall receive no state pay for their services. Nothing in this Act shall preclude individual cities, counties, or individuals within the White River Valley from making financial contributions to support the work or studies of the Commission.

Nothing in this Act shall preclude any educational institution or state agency from assisting the White River Valley Commission.

SB387

SECTION 5. Notwithstanding other provisions of this Act to the contrary, the White River Valley Commission created by this Act shall have no authority over that portion of the White River located in Stone County.

SECTION 6. All laws and parts of laws in conflict with this Act are hereby repealed.

APPROVED: April 14, 1987