Act 510 SB520

"AN ACT TO ESTABLISH IN EACH COUNTY OF THIS STATE A COUNTY INTERGOVERNMENTAL COOPERATION COUNCIL TO REVIEW THE DELIVERY OF SERVICES IN EACH COUNTY TO DETERMINE IF DUPLICATION OF SERVICES CAN BE ELIMINATED OR IF GOODS OR SERVICES CAN BE PURCHASED JOINTLY OR COOPERATIVELY TO REDUCE COSTS TO ALL LOCAL GOVERNMENTS WITHIN EACH COUNTY; AND FOR OTHER PURPOSES."

## BE IT ENACTED BY THE GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF THE STATE OF ARKANSAS:

SECTION 1. Purpose. It is the purpose of this Act to require the executives of all political subdivisions of each county to meet on a regular basis for the purpose of encouraging cooperation by the various local government jurisdictions within each county in the most efficient use of their mutual resources and in the providing of services to their local communities in the most efficient and mutually advantageous manner possible. It is expected that regular dialogue between the executives of the various local government subdivisions within each county will encourage these governmental units to: (1) share facilities, equipment, employees, and services so as to provide each with a mutual benefit to the advantage of all governments within the county; (2) explore the use of joint purchasing and buying agreements to purchase goods and services in an effort to achieve economies of scale that would not be possible without mutual cooperation; and (3) identify the areas of duplication of services so they may be eliminated to the maximum extent possible.

SECTION 2. There is hereby established within each county of this State a County Intergovernmental Cooperation Council to facilitate cooperation among all the local government subdivisions of each county, to encourage the efficient use of local government resources, and to eliminate the duplication of services by local governments. The membership of each Cooperation Council shall consist of the county judge, the county clerk, and the mayor of each city and incorporated town within each county. The county judge of each county shall serve as Chairman of the Cooperation Council. The county clerk of each county shall serve as the Secretary of the Cooperation Council, shall preside over Cooperation Council meetings in the absence of the Council Chairman, and shall be responsible for writing and submitting all reports of the Cooperation Council. Each member of the Council shall have one vote for the local government jurisdiction they represent on the Cooperation Council, except the Chairman who shall vote only in the case of a tie vote. The members of the Cooperation Council shall serve without compensation for their services. A quorum shall consist of a majority of the Council's membership and shall be necessary to conduct its business.

SECTION 3. Each County Intergovernmental Cooperation Council shall meet a minimum of four times annually, at least once during each calendar year quarter, in the county seat or seats to discuss ways of eliminating the duplication of services at the local government level. All meetings of the Cooperation Council shall be open to the public and shall be held in a public meeting room. All meetings of the Cooperation Council shall be at the call of the Chairman unless a majority of the Council's membership shall petition for a meeting to be held. The Secretary of each cooperation Council shall notify the public and the press of Council meetings no later than ten (10) days prior to the date of such meetings.

SECTION 4. (a) The County Intergovernmental Cooperation Council shall review, at least once annually, the delivery of services by the various local governments subdivisions within the county in the following areas:

- (1) law enforcement services;
- (2) fire protection services;
- (3) jail facilities and correctional services;
- (4) ambulance and emergency medical services;
- (5) library services;
- (6) motor vehicle liability insurance;
- (7) worker's compensation coverage;
- (8) solid waste management services;
- (9) street, road, and highway repair and construction;
- (10) parks and recreation facilities and services;
- (11) planning and zoning services;
- (12) health and sanitation services;
- (13) public transit and transportation services; and
- (14) any other service area of local government.
- (b) The annual review of various services can occur at any or all meetings of the Council during the year. Each service area shall be examined to determine whether or not the employees, equipment, or facilities of service areas could be shared to reduce cost or eliminated to avoid the duplication of services and whether or not the goods and services purchased individually in each of these areas could be purchased jointly or cooperatively to reduce the unit cost to all local governments within the county. If it is determined by the Cooperation Council that duplicative services exist and can be eliminated or that joint purchases could be made at reduced costs, this determination shall be reported to the governing body of the local government jurisdictions involved along with any recommendations for consolidation of services or purchases.

SECTION 5. The Secretary of the Cooperation Council in each county shall, by January 31st of the year following the close of each calendar year's deliberations by the Council, prepare a report of the determinations and recommendations, if any, of the Council in each of the required service areas of review. Each county's report shall be compiled by the Secretary and forwarded to the Joint Interim Committee on City, County and Local Affairs of the Arkansas General Assembly for its consideration. This annual report must be received by the Committee no later than April 1st each year.

SECTION 6. All laws or parts of laws in conflict with this  $\mbox{Act}$  are hereby repealed.

APPROVED: 4/1/87