Act 440 of the 1989 Regular Session.

Act 440 SB446

By: Senator Dowd

"AN ACT TO DESIGNATE DIVISIONS OF THE EIGHTH JUDICIAL CIRCUIT; AND FOR OTHER PURPOSES."

BE IT ENACTED BY THE GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF THE STATE OF ARKANSAS:

SECTION 1. (a) Effective January 1, 1991, the Eighth Judicial Circuit shall be divided into divisions. The judge of the circuit-chancery judgeship converted from a circuit judgeship under Act 54 of 1989 shall be judge of the First Division. The judge of the circuit-chancery judgeship converted from a chancery judgeship under Act 54 of 1989 shall be the judge of the Second Division. The judge of the circuit-chancery judgeship provided for under Arkansas Code 16-13-1603 (b) shall be the judge of the Third Division. If any additional circuit-chancery judgeship is created, an additional division shall be established and the judge shall serve as the judge of the additional division.

- (b) A judge shall be elected for each division of the circuit-chancery court of the Eighth Judicial Circuit, and candidates for the offices shall designate and qualify as candidates for the particular division of the court to which they seek election.
- SECTION 2. All provisions of this Act of a general and permanent nature are amendatory to the Arkansas Code of 1987 Annotated and the Arkansas Code Revision Commission shall incorporate the same in the Code.

SECTION 3. All laws and parts of laws in conflict with this Act are hereby repealed.

APPROVED: March 9, 1989