1 State of Arkansas As Engrossed: H3/1/01 A Bill 2 Act 754 of 2001 83rd General Assembly HOUSE BILL 2025 3 Regular Session, 2001 4 5 By: Representatives Stovall, Scroggin 6 7 For An Act To Be Entitled 8 AN ACT TO AMEND ARKANSAS CODE 14-166-202 TO PROVIDE 9 FOR THE DESIGNATION OF A PLANNING AND DEVELOPMENT 10 11 DISTRICT FOR A MUNICIPALITY IF THE CITY IS LOCATED IN TWO (2) OR MORE COUNTIES; AND FOR OTHER PURPOSES. 12 13 **Subtitle** 14 TO PROVIDE FOR THE DESIGNATION OF A 15 16 PLANNING AND DEVELOPMENT DISTRICT FOR A MUNICIPALITY LOCATED IN TWO (2) OR MORE 17 18 COUNTI ES. 19 20 21 BE IT ENACTED BY THE GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF THE STATE OF ARKANSAS: 22 SECTION 1. Arkansas Code 14-166-202 is amended to read as follows: 23 24 14-166-202. Designation of districts. 25 (a) The General Assembly recognizes as planning and development 26 districts the boundaries of the following eight (8) economic development 27 districts: (1) Northwest Arkansas Economic Development District, Inc., 28 29 consisting of Benton, Washington, Madison, Carroll, Boone, Newton, Marion, Searcy, and Baxter counties; 30 31 (2) North Central Arkansas Economic Development District, Inc., consisting of Fulton, Izard, Sharp, Stone, Independence, Jackson, Van Buren, 32 Cleburne, White, and Woodruff counties; 33 (3) Northeast Arkansas Economic Development District, Inc., 34 35 consisting of Randolph, Clay, Lawrence, Greene, Craighead, Mississippi, 36 Poinsett, Cross, Crittenden, St. Francis, Lee, and Phillips counties;

VJF480

As Engrossed: H3/1/01 HB2025

1	(4) Southeast Arkansas Economic Development District, Inc.,
2	consisting of Grant, Jefferson, Arkansas, Cleveland, Lincoln, Desha, Bradley,
3	Drew, Chicot, and Ashley counties;
4	(5) Southwest Economic Development District of Arkansas, Inc.,
5	consisting of Sevier, Howard, Little River, Hempstead, Nevada, Ouachita,
6	Dallas, Calhoun, Miller, Lafayette, Columbia, and Union counties;
7	(6) Western Arkansas Economic Development District, Inc.,
8	consisting of Crawford, Franklin, Sebastian, Logan, Scott, and Polk counties;
9	(7) West Central Arkansas Economic Development District, Inc.,
10	consisting of Johnson, Pope, Conway, Yell, Perry, Montgomery, Garland, Pike,
11	Clark, and Hot Spring counties; <u>and</u>
12	(8) Central Arkansas Economic Development District, Inc.,
13	consisting of Faulkner, Saline, Pulaski, Lonoke, Prairie, and Monroe counties.
14	(b)(1) If a municipality is located in two (2) or more counties which
15	are situated in different planning and development districts, then the entire
16	area of the municipality may, if the governing body of the municipality so
17	determines by ordinance, be deemed attached to the planning and development
18	district which has the county with the highest proportion of the population of
19	the municipality.
20	(2) The population of the municipality shall be based upon the
21	most recent federal decennial or special census data available for the
22	muni ci pal i ty.
23	$\frac{(b)(1)}{(c)(1)}$ Nothing in this subchapter is intended to change or
24	conflict with the status of regional and metropolitan planning commissions or
25	councils of governments established under §§ 14-17-301 - 14-17-309 and 14-56-
26	501 - 14-56-509.
27	(2) This subchapter does not change the designation of urban and
28	metropolitan planning organizations presently recognized by the Department of
29	Finance and Administration for programs of the Department of Housing and Urbar
30	Development or any other department of the federal government.
31	/s/ Stoval I
32	
33	
34	APPROVED: 3/13/2001
35	
36	