	Stricken language would be deleted from and underlined language would be added to the law as it existed prior to this session of the General Assembly.	1
_	Act 708 of the Regular Session	
1	State of Arkansas 86th General Assembly A Bill	
2		
3	Regular Session, 2007SENATE BILL4	02
4		
5	By: Senator G. Jeffress	
6		
7 8	For An Act To Be Entitled	
9	AN ACT TO MODIFY THE MEMBERSHIP OF THE STATE FIRE	
10	PREVENTION COMMISSION; AND FOR OTHER PURPOSES.	
11		
12	Subtitle	
13	TO MODIFY THE MEMBERSHIP OF THE STATE	
14	FIRE PREVENTION COMMISSION.	
15		
16		
17	BE IT ENACTED BY THE GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF THE STATE OF ARKANSAS:	
18		
19	SECTION 1. Arkansas Code § 20-22-202 is amended to read as follows:	
20	20-22-202. Creation - Members.	
21	(a)(1) The State Fire Prevention Commission shall be composed of	
22	eleven (11) residents of the State of Arkansas.	
23	(2) Membership of the commission shall consist of the following	5
24	nonvoting members by virtue of their office:	
25	(A) The State Fire Marshal or his or her designee;	
26	(B) The Director of the Arkansas Fire Training Academy <u>or</u>	-
27	his or her designee; and	
28	(C) The Director <u>Chair</u> of the Arkansas Forestry Departmen	ŧŧ
29	<u>Commission</u> or his or her designee.	
30	(3) The following voting members of the committee shall be	
31	appointed by the Governor:	
32	(A) One (1) volunteer firefighter below the rank of chief	;
33	(B) One (1) volunteer fire chief or chief officer of a	
34	voluntary municipal fire department;	
35	(C) One (1) full-time fire chief or chief officer of a	



municipality having a population of more than sixty thousand (60,000) residents; (D) One (1) full-time firefighter or fire department officer of a municipality having a population of less than sixty thousand (60,000) residents; (E) Two (2) members at large active in fire protection or safety; and (F) Two (2) persons representing the general public. (b) Appointed members shall be appointed to three-year terms. All appointed members shall serve until their respective successors are appointed and qualify. (c) Vacancies shall be filled by appointment by the Governor for the unexpired terms. The members of the commission shall serve without compensation but (d) may receive expense reimbursement in accordance with § 25-16-901 et seq. APPROVED: 3/30/2007

SB402