	Stricken language would be deleted from and underlined language would be added to the law as it existed prior to this session of the General Assembly. Act 1470 of the Regular Session
1	State of Arkansas As Engrossed: \$3/30/09
2	87th General Assembly A Bill
3	Regular Session, 2009SENATE BILL840
4	
5	By: Senator Salmon
6	
7	
8	For An Act To Be Entitled
9	AN ACT TO AMEND THE MEMBERSHIP REQUIREMENTS OF
10	THE ARKANSAS COMMISSION FOR COORDINATION OF
11	EDUCATIONAL EFFORTS; AND FOR OTHER PURPOSES.
12	
13	
14	Subtitle
15	TO AMEND THE MEMBERSHIP REQUIREMENTS OF
16	THE ARKANSAS COMMISSION FOR COORDINATION
17	OF EDUCATIONAL EFFORTS.
18	
19	
20	BE IT ENACTED BY THE GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF THE STATE OF ARKANSAS:
21	
22	SECTION 1. Arkansas Code § 6-1-301(b), concerning the membership of
23	the Arkansas Commission for Coordination of Educational Efforts, is amended
24	to read as follows:
25	(b) The Arkansas Commission for Coordination of Educational Efforts is
26	composed of the following members:
27	(1) The Director of the Department of Higher Education;
28	(2) The Commissioner of Education;
29	(3) The Director of the Department of Workforce Education;
30	(4) The Director of the Division of Child Care and Early
31	Childhood Education of the Department of Human Services or his or her
32	designee;
33	(5) The Director of the Arkansas Economic Development
34	Commission;
35	(6) The Vice President for Agriculture of the University of



SB840

1	Arkansas System;
2	(7) The President of the Arkansas Science and Technology
3	Authority;
4	(8) The Director of the Department of Information Systems or his
5	or her designee;
6	(9) The Governor or the Governor's designee;
7	(10) One (1) public school administrator appointed by the
8	Governor;
9	(11) One (1) public school teacher appointed by the Governor;
10	(12) One (1) president or chancellor of a four-year university
11	appointed by the Presidents Council;
12	(13) One (1) president or chancellor of a two-year college or
13	two-year branch of a four-year university appointed by the council;
14	(14) One (1) member of the board of trustees of a four-year
15	university or system of colleges and universities appointed by the council;
16	(15) One (1) member of the board of trustees of a two-year
17	college or branch appointed by the council;
18	(16) One (1) member appointed by the President Pro Tempore of
19	the Senate from a list of three (3) nominees submitted by the Executive
20	Director of the Arkansas Education Association;
21	(17) One (1) member appointed by the Speaker of the House of
22	Representatives from a list of three (3) nominees submitted by the Executive
23	Director of the Arkansas Association of Educational Administrators;
24	(18) One (1) member appointed jointly by the Speaker of the
25	House of Representatives and the President Pro Tempore of the Senate from a
26	list of three (3) nominees submitted by the Executive Director of the
27	Arkansas School Boards Association; and
28	(19) One (1) representative of a predominantly black college or
29	university in Arkansas appointed by the Speaker of the House of
30	Representatives .
31	(20) One (1) member appointed by the Speaker of the House of
32	Representatives who is from the private sector and has an interest in
33	science, technology, engineering, or math; and
34	(21) One (1) member appointed by the President Pro Tempore of
35	the Senate who is from the private sector and has an interest in science,
36	technology, engineering, or math.

36 *technology, engineering, or math.*

2

/s/ **Salm**

APPROVED: 4/10/2009n