Stricken language would be deleted from and underlined language would be added to the law as it existed prior to this session of the General Assembly.

Act 880 of the Regular Session

1	State of Arkansas	As Engrossed: H3/15/11 H3/22/11		
2	88th General Assembly	A Bill		
3	Regular Session, 2011		HOUSE BILL 1738	
4				
5	By: Representative Ingram			
6				
7	For An Act To Be Entitled			
8	AN ACT TO PROHIBIT THE DISTRIBUTION OF INSURANCE			
9	PREMIUM TAX MONEYS TO INACTIVE FIRE DEPARTMENTS; AND			
10	FOR OTHER PURPOSES.			
11				
12				
13	Subtitle			
14	TO P	ROHIBIT THE DISTRIBUTION OF INSURA	NCE	
15	PREMIUM TAX MONEYS TO INACTIVE FIRE			
16	DEPARTMENTS.			
17				
18				
19	BE IT ENACTED BY THE	GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF THE STATE OF AF	RKANSAS:	
20				
21	SECTION 1. Arka	ansas Code § 14-284-403 is amended	to read as follows:	
22	14-284-403. Apportionment of funds.			
23	(a)(1) These premium tax moneys are assessed for disbursement from the			
24	Fire Protection Premi	um Tax Fund, § 19-6-468, by the Dep	partment of Finance	
25	and Administration to	the counties in the following percentage	centages:	
26	Arkansas County -0.78	8%, Ashley County — 1.39%, Baxter (County -1.78% , Benton	
27	County - 3.86%, Boone	County $-$ 1.46%, Bradley County $-$ 0).52%, Calhoun County	
28	- 0.51%, Carroll County $-$ 0.97%, Chicot County $-$ 0.51%, Clark County $-$ 1.13%,			
29	Clay County -1.10% , Cleburne County -1.11% , Cleveland County -0.66% ,			
30	Columbia County -1.24% , Conway County -1.04% , Craighead County -2.91% ,			
31	Crawford County $-$ 1.98%, Crittenden County $-$ 1.32%, Cross County $-$ 0.84%,			
32	Dallas County $-$ 0.45%, Desha County $-$ 0.71%, Drew County $-$ 0.80%, Faulkner			
33	County -2.30% , Franklin County -0.97% , Fulton County -0.84% , Garland			
34	County $-$ 3.12%, Grant County $-$ 1.13%, Greene County $-$ 1.39%, Hempstead County			
35	- 1.89%, Hot Spring Co	ounty -1.46% , Howard County -0.75	5%, Independence	
36	County - 1.90%, Izard	County - 0.91%, Jackson County - 0).95%. Jefferson	

- 1 County 2.32%, Johnson County 1.05%, Lafayette County 0.71%, Lawrence
- 2 County -0.96%, Lee County -0.73%, Lincoln County -1.12%, Little River
- 3 County -0.77%, Logan County -1.06%, Lonoke County -1.70%, Madison County -
- 4 0.95%, Marion County 1.00%, Miller County 1.44%, Mississippi County -
- 5 1.77%, Monroe County 0.53%, Montgomery County 0.66%, Nevada County -
- 6 0.58%, Newton County 0.67%, Ouachita County 1.37%, Perry County 0.62%,
- 7 Phillips County 1.12%, Pike County 0.87%, Poinsett County 1.14%, Polk
- 8 County 1.01%, Pope County 1.73%, Prairie County 0.83%, Pulaski County -
- 9 5.99%, Randolph County 0.96%, St. Francis County 1.45%, Saline County -
- 10 3.00%, Scott County -0.59%, Searcy County -0.73%, Sebastian County -2.06%,
- 11 Sevier County -0.82%, Sharp County -1.30%, Stone County -0.77%, Union
- 12 County -2.01%, Van Buren County -1.18%, Washington County -3.46%, White
- 13 County -2.71%, Woodruff County -0.47%, Yell County -1.11%.
- 14 (2)(A) The moneys shall be apportioned by each quorum court to
- 15 the districts and municipalities within the county based upon population
- 16 unless the Gounty Intergovernmental Gooperation Council county
- 17 <u>intergovernmental cooperation council</u> notifies the quorum court of the fire
- 18 protection needs of the districts and municipalities, in which case the
- 19 moneys shall be apportioned by the quorum court based on those needs.
- 20 (B) The funds shall be distributed to municipalities and
- 21 those certified departments in districts $\frac{\text{which}}{\text{that}}$ are in compliance with
- 22 this subchapter, § 20-22-801 et seq., and § 6-21-106.
- 23 (C) Fire departments which that are not certified by the
- Office of Fire Protection Services pursuant to under § 20-22-801 et seq.
- 25 shall also be eligible to receive moneys disbursed under this section so long
- 26 as all moneys received are spent directly on equipment, training, capital
- 27 improvements, or other expenditures necessary for upgrading the service
- 28 provided by the department.
- 29 <u>(D)(i) An inactive fire department, as determined by the</u>
- 30 county judge, is not eligible to receive moneys disbursed under this section.
- 31 <u>(ii) Any moneys allocated by the county</u>
- 32 <u>intergovernmental cooperation council and any moneys that would have been</u>
- 33 apportioned to an inactive fire department based upon population shall be
- 34 disbursed by the quorum court to the active departments based upon fire
- 35 protection needs.
- 36 <u>(iii) If a quorum court has passed a resolution that</u>

1	reallocates the moneys remaining after the disbursement of moneys under this		
2	section, then the moneys shall be reallocated based upon the quorum court		
3	resolution.		
4	(b) Disbursements shall be made on forms prescribed by the Department		
5	of Finance and Administration.		
6	(c) A county treasurer shall not collect the treasurer's commission		
7	provided in § $21\text{-}6\text{-}302$ on any of the premium tax moneys disbursed from the		
8	Fire Protection Premium Tax Fund.		
9			
10	/s/Ingram		
11			
12			
13	APPROVED: 03/31/2011		
14			
15			
16			
17			
18			
19			
20			
21			
22			
23			
24			
25			
26			
27			
28			
29			
30			
31			
32			
33			
34			
35			
36			