1 2	State of Arkansas 93rd General Assembly	As Engrossed: H3/2/21 $\stackrel{\hbox{\scriptsize AS Engrossed}}{ABill}$	
3	Regular Session, 2021		HOUSE BILL 1283
4	,		
5	By: Representative Warren		
6	By: Senator B. Sample		
7			
8		For An Act To Be Entitled	
9	AN ACT TO AMEND THE LAW CONCERNING THE MEMBERSHIP OF		
10	THE BOARI	D OF TRUSTEES OF THE ARKANSAS PUBLIC	
11	EMPLOYEES	S' RETIREMENT SYSTEM; AND FOR OTHER PURP	OSES.
12			
13			
14		Subtitle	
15	ТО	AMEND THE LAW CONCERNING THE	
16	MEM	BERSHIP OF THE BOARD OF TRUSTEES OF	
17	THE	ARKANSAS PUBLIC EMPLOYEES' RETIREMENT	
18	SYS	TEM.	
19			
20			
21 22	BE IT ENACTED BY THE	GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF THE STATE OF ARKANS	AS:
23	SECTION 1. Arl	kansas Code § 24-4-104(b), concerning th	e creation and
24		of Trustees of the Arkansas Public Empl	
25	System, is amended to		.,
26	•	shall consist of nine (9) trustees, as	<del>follows</del> the
27	following members:	, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,	<u></u>
28		Auditor of State, the Treasurer of Stat	e, and the
29		artment of Finance and Administration sh	
30	members; and		
31	(2)(A)	Three (3) members who are state employee	s and three (3)
32	members who are nons	tate employees to be appointed by the Go	vernor.
33	(B)	) Each nonstate employee trustee and ea	ch state employee
34	trustee shall have a	t least five (5) continuous years of ser	vice with a
35	public employer or en	mployers and shall be a member of the sy	stem.
36	(C)	) No more than one (1) of the three (3)	members who are

03-02-2021 10:37:32 JNL023

As Engrossed: H3/2/21 HB1283

1	nonstate employee trustees and no more than one (1) of the three (3) members		
2	who are state employee trustees may be a retired member of the system.		
3	(D) The three (3) nonstate employee trustees shall consist		
4	of at least one (1) currently elected county judge and at least one (1)		
5	mayor; and		
6	(3)(A) Four (4) members who retired from employment covered by		
7	the system and meet the termination criteria described in § 24-4-520(e).		
8	(B) The four (4) members described in subdivision		
9	(b)(3)(A) of this section shall be appointed as follows:		
10	(i) One (1) retired former state employee shall be		
11	appointed by the Executive Director of the Arkansas State Employees'		
12	Association, Inc. and approved by the Arkansas State Employees' Association		
13	Board of Directors;		
14	(ii) One (1) retired former county employee shall be		
15	appointed by the Executive Director of the Association of Arkansas Counties		
16	and approved by the Association of Arkansas Counties Board of Directors;		
17	(iii) One (1) retired former municipal employee		
18	shall be appointed by the Executive Director of the Arkansas Municipal League		
19	and approved by the Executive Committee of the Arkansas Municipal League; and		
20	(iv)(a) One (1) retired certified law enforcement		
21	officer who retired from a nonmanagerial position.		
22	(b) The retired member described in		
23	subdivision $(b)(3)(B)(iv)(a)$ of this section shall be appointed by the		
24	President Pro Tempore of the Senate and the Speaker of the House of		
25	Representatives.		
26			
27	/s/Warren		
28			
29			
30			
31			
32			
33			
34			
35			
36			