1	State of Arkansas	A D'11	
2	93rd General Assembly	A Bill	
3	Regular Session, 2021		HOUSE BILL 1968
4			
5	By: Representative D. Whitake	er	
6			
7		For An Act To Be Entitled	
8	AN ACT TO A	AMEND THE FOUR (4) CONGRESSIONAL D	ISTRICTS
9	OF ARKANSA	S BASED ON THE MOST RECENT FEDERAL	
10	DECENNIAL	CENSUS DATA; TO DECLARE AN EMERGENO	CY; AND
11	FOR OTHER	PURPOSES.	
12			
13			
14		Subtitle	
15	TO AM	END THE FOUR (4) CONGRESSIONAL	
16	DISTR	ICTS OF ARKANSAS BASED ON THE MOST	
17	RECEN	T FEDERAL DECENNIAL CENSUS DATA; A	ND
18	TO DE	CLARE AN EMERGENCY.	
19			
20			
21	BE IT ENACTED BY THE G	ENERAL ASSEMBLY OF THE STATE OF ARE	KANSAS:
22			
23	SECTION 1. Arka	nsas Code § 7-2-102 is amended to a	read as follows:
24	7-2-102. First	Congressional District.	
25	(a) The First C	ongressional District shall be comp	posed of :
26	(1) The <u>t</u> l	<u>he</u> counties of Arkansas, Baxter, <u>Ba</u>	<u>oone, Carroll,</u>
27	Chicot, Clay, Cleburne	, Craighead, Crittenden, Cross, Des	sha, Fulton, Greene,
28	Independence, Izard, J	ackson, Lawrence, Lee, Lincoln, Lon	noke, <u>Marion,</u>
29	Mississippi, Monroe, P	hillips, Prairie, Poinsett, <u>Prairie</u>	<u>e,</u> Randolph, St.
30	Francis, Sharp, Stone,	and Woodruff ;	
31	(2) The f	ollowing voting districts of Jeffer	rson County as they
32	existed on January 1,	2011:	
33	(A)	19 (Dunnington) voting district;	
34	(B)	P15 (Dudley Lake) voting district	"
35	(C)	25 (Old River) voting district;	
36	(D)	57 (Villemont) voting district;	



.

1 (E) P91 (Roberts) voting district; 2 (F) P851 (Humphrey) voting district; and 3 (C) P862 (Humphrey) voting district; and 4 (3) The voting districts and voting precincts of Searcy County as they existed on January 1, 2011, that are not listed under § 7-2-5 6 104(a)(4). 7 (b) The qualified electors residing in the counties and portion of 8 Jefferson County and Searcy County listed under subsection (a) of this 9 section shall elect one (1) member of the United States House of 10 Representatives. 11 12 SECTION 2. Arkansas Code § 7-2-103 is amended to read as follows: 13 7-2-103. Second Congressional District. 14 The Second Congressional District shall be composed of the (a) 15 counties of Gonway, Faulkner, Perry, Pulaski, Saline, Van Buren, and White. 16 (b) The qualified electors residing in the counties listed under 17 subsection (a) of this section shall elect one (1) member of the United 18 States House of Representatives. 19 20 SECTION 3. Arkansas Code § 7-2-104 is amended to read as follows: 21 7-2-104. Third Congressional District. 22 The Third Congressional District shall be composed of + (a) 23 (1) The the counties of Benton, Boone, Carroll, Marion, Pope, 24 Crawford, Franklin, Madison, Sebastian, and Washington; 25 (2) The voting districts and voting precincts of Crawford County 26 as they existed on January 1, 2011, that are not listed under § 7-2-27 105(a)(2); 28 (3) The following voting districts of Newton County as they 29 existed on January 1, 2011: 30 (A) Big Creek voting district; 31 (B) Dogpatch voting district; 32 (C) Grove voting district; 33 (D) Hasty voting district; 34 (E) Polk voting district; (F) Richland voting district; and 35 36 (G) White voting district;

2

1	(4) The Prairie voting district of Searcy County as it existed	
2	on January 1, 2011; and	
3	(5) The voting districts and voting precincts of Sebastian	
4	County as they existed on January 1, 2011, that are not listed under § 7-2-	
5	105(a)(5) .	
6	(b) The qualified electors residing in the counties and portions of	
7	Crawford County, Newton County, Searcy County, and Sebastian County listed	
8	under subsection (a) of this section shall elect one (1) member of the United	
9	States House of Representatives.	
10		
11	SECTION 4. Arkansas Code § 7-2-105 is amended to read as follows:	
12	7-2-105. Fourth Congressional District.	
13	(a) The Fourth Congressional District shall be composed of:	
14	(1) The <u>the</u> counties of <u>Arkansas,</u> Ashley, Bradley, Calhoun,	
15	Clark, Cleveland, Columbia, <u>Conway,</u> Dallas, Drew, Franklin, Garland, Grant,	
16	Hempstead, Hot Spring, Howard, <u>Jefferson</u> , Johnson, Lafayette, <u>Lincoln</u> , Little	
17	River, Logan, Madison, Miller, Montgomery, Nevada, <u>Newton,</u> Ouachita, Pike,	
18	Polk, <u>Pope,</u> Scott, <u>Searcy,</u> Sevier, Union, and Yell ;	
19	(2) The following voting districts of Crawford County as they	
20	existed on January 1, 2011:	
21	<pre>(A) Alma # 1 voting district;</pre>	
22	<pre>(B) Alma # 4 voting district;</pre>	
23	(C) Bidville voting district;	
24	(D) Chester voting district;	
25	(E) Dean Springs voting district;	
26	(F) Dyer voting district;	
27	(C) Eagle Crest voting district;	
28	(H) Kibler voting district;	
29	(I) Locke voting district;	
30	(J) Mountain voting district;	
31	<pre>(K) Mulberry # 1 voting district;</pre>	
32	(L) Mulberry # 2 voting district;	
33	(M) Mulberry # 3 voting district;	
34		
	(N) Porter voting district;	
35	<pre>(N) Porter voting district; (0) Vine Prairie voting district;</pre>	

3

1	(Q) Winfrey voting district;		
2	(3) The voting districts and voting precincts of Jefferson		
3	County as they existed on January 1, 2011, that are not listed under § 7-2-		
4	102(a)(2);		
5	(4) The voting districts and voting precincts of Newton County		
6	as they existed on January 1, 2011, that are not listed under § 7-2-		
7	104(a)(3); and		
8	(5) The following voting districts of Sebastian County as they		
9	existed on January 1, 2011:		
10	(A) 9-1-A voting district;		
11	(B) 9-1-B voting district;		
12	(C) 9-1-C voting district;		
13	(D) 9-1-D voting district;		
14	(E) 9-1-E voting district;		
15	(F) 9-1-Q voting district;		
16	(C) 9-2-E voting district;		
17	(H) 9-3-E voting district;		
18	(I) 9-3-F voting district;		
19	(J) 9-3-G voting district;		
20	(K) 9-3-H voting district;		
21	(L) 9-3-I voting district;		
22	(M) 9-3-J voting district;		
23	(N) 9-3-K voting district;		
24	(0) 9-3-L voting district; and		
25	(P) 9-3-M voting district.		
26	(b) The qualified electors residing in the counties and portions of		
27	Crawford County, Jefferson County, Newton County, and Sebastian County listed		
28	under subsection (a) of this section shall elect one (1) member of the United		
29	States House of Representatives.		
30			
31	SECTION 5. EMERGENCY CLAUSE. It is found and determined by the		
32	General Assembly of the State of Arkansas that the General Assembly is		
33	responsible for establishing the four (4) United States Congressional		
34	Districts in the state; that the United States Congressional Districts are		
35	based on the information provided by the federal decennial census by the		
36	United States Bureau of the Census; that the federal decennial census data		

4

09/28/2021 04:44:17 PM MLD397

1	delivery was delayed; that the establishment of the four (4) United States			
2	Congressional Districts is necessary to provide equal representation of the			
3	citizens of Arkansas in the United States Congress; and that this act is			
4	immediately necessary because the establishment of the four (4) United States			
5	Congressional Districts must occur in adequate time for the candidates to			
6	file for office and for the citizens of Arkansas to have a fair election.			
7	Therefore, an emergency is declared to exist, and this act being immediately			
8	necessary for the preservation of the public peace, health, and safety shall			
9	become effective on:			
10	(1) The date of its approval by the Governor;			
11	(2) If the bill is neither approved nor vetoed by the Governor,			
12	the expiration of the period of time during which the Governor may veto the			
13	<u>bill; or</u>			
14	(3) If the bill is vetoed by the Governor and the veto is			
15	overridden, the date the last house overrides the veto.			
16				
17				
18				
19				
20				
21				
22				
23				
24				
25				
26				
27				
28				
29				
30				
31				
32				
33				
34				
35				
36				

5