AGENDA LEGISLATIVE TASK FORCE ON THE BEST PRACTICES FOR SPECIAL EDUCATION

Tuesday, April 05, 2016 10:00 AM Room B, MAC Little Rock, Arkansas

Legislative Members

Sen. Uvalde Lindsey, Chair Sen. Blake Johnson

Non-Legislative Members

Rep. Tim Lemons, Vice-Chair Rep. Sheilla E. Lampkin

Ms. Carla Brainard Dr. Anne Butcher Ms. Jessica Dewitt Ms. Lisa Haley Ms. Barbara Hunter Cox Ms. Renee Johnson Ms. Sarah Moore Dr. Greg Murry Ms. Bailey Perkins Ms. Debra Poulin Ms. Shirley Ann Renix Dr. Bruce Smith Ms. Lisa Tisdale-Parker Ms. Tina Vineyard Ms. Cindy Marie Weathers Ms. Angela Winfield Mr. Samuel Young

- A. Call to Order
- B. Consideration to Approve Minutes of March 2, 2016 [EXHIBIT B]
- C. Current Practice of identifying students for special education services, discipline practices, and supportive services (Working Matrix Items A, F, and I)
 - Dr. Bruce Smith, Arkansas Department of Higher Education [EXHIBIT C]
- D. Scope of Practice, Roles and Responsibility of Speech- Language Pathologist in the schools for special education (Working Matrix Items A, B, and H)
 - Kami Rowland, Speech Pathologist, Hall High School [EXHIBIT D]
- E. Supports, facilities, equipment, and materials available for special education services and programs (Working Matrix Items K, L, and M)
 - Vickie Kingston, Director of Special Education, Bryant School District
- F. Task Force Assignment Updates
 - Lisa Haley- Paperwork Reduction Core Group [EXHIBIT E]
- G. Other Business
- H. Adjournment*

*May reconvene at 1:00 p.m., if necessary.

Note: All exhibits for this meeting are available by electronic means and are accessible on the General Assembly's website at www.arkleg.state.ar.us

Notice: Silence your cell phones. Keep your personal conversations to a minimum. Observe restrictions designating areas as "Members and Staff Only"