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RULE NO.1
COSMETOLOGY SECTION

(1.1) Authority

The following Rules and-Regulations-for Cosmetology in Arkansas were duly promulgated by the Arkansas
State Board of Health pursuant to the authority expressly conferred by the - -Cosmetology Act -Ark. Code
Ann. 817-26-101 et seq. and other applicable laws of the -State of Arkansas.

(1.2) Purpose

These Rules and-Regulations-are prepared for the purpose of establishing standards to regulate the vocation
of cosmetology and its related occupations, specifically manicuring, aesthetics, and electrology, to provide
for the licensing of persons to carry on and to teach such vocation, to regulate the conduct and sanitation of -
cosmetology establishments, _mobile salons, schools of cosmetology and postsecondary schools of
cosmetology so as to prevent the spreading of communicable diseases and, to provide penalties for violation
thereof.

(1.3) Investigations, Hearings, or Inspections

(A) The Department of Health shall conduct investigations and inspections as promulgated by the rules.
Initial, routine and complaint inspections are conducted to ensure compliance with the licensing law and
rules. Any inspector shall have the authority to enter into and inspect any cosmetology establishment or
mobile salon at any time during business hours. Cosmetology establishments_and mobile salons are
inspected at least annually but not limited to, to ensure compliance with the licensing law and rules
promulgated by the Board unless complaints are received by the Department. The inspectors examine
licenses; inspect buildings and equipment; report violations of the law or rules; investigate complaints; -
and perform initial inspections of new -cosmetology establishments.

(B) After - the Department has taken final action in the event a licensee should wish to appeal final
Department action to the Cosmetology Technical Advisory Committee, this appeal must be made in
writing to the Department, and must be made within thirty (30) days of receipt of final Department action.

(1) Hearings conducted by the Cosmetology Technical Advisory Committee may be held
bimonthly for review of cases for which disciplinary action may be required.

(2) Except as provided in subdivision B.2.a. of this rule, a hearing attended by two (2) or more
members of the committee is a meeting.
(a) A final order shall not be imposed by fewer than three (3) members.
(b) A final order imposed by the committee may be appealed to the state Board of Health
within thirty (30) days of its receipt.

(1.4) Location

The office of the Cosmetology Section is located at 4815 West Markham, Little Rock, Arkansas 72205. All
matters related to cosmetology licensing should be directed to the Section of Cosmetology office by calling
501-682-2168 or by emailing the Section at Cosmo@arkansas.gov. Information may also be obtained by
accessing the Department’s Website at wawwawchealthyarkansas-.com-—Healthy.arkansas.gov
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(1.5) Fees

The Departmenfollowing fees t-shall coHectfees-apply in-accordance-with-the-folowingfee-schedule as authorized

through- under A.C.A. 17-26-209(a). All fees are non-refundable upon submission:
a. Enrollment into a school of cosmetology or postsecondary school of cosmetology
b. Examination for licensing
1) First-time candidate
i. Practical_(Payable to School) -— not to exceed $65.00
ii. Written - $60.00
2) Retest candidate
i. Practical_(Payable to School) -—not to exceed $65.00
ii. Written - $60.00
3) Reciprocity candidate that has taken a written. and practical exam
i. State Law - $60.00
4) Reciprocity candidate that has not taken a written. and practical exam
i. Transfer fee - $65.00 one-time fee
ii. Practical (Payable to School) -— not to exceed $65.00
iii Written - $60.00
c. Renewal of a cosmetology, manicure, aesthetics, electrology or instructor license
d. Reciprocity for a cosmetology, manicure, aesthetics, electrology or instructor license when
- the licensee is duly registered in another state
one-time fee
e. New establishment or mobile salon
time fee
f. Renewal of an establishment or mobile salon
annually
g. Relocation of establishment
time fee
h. New school of cosmetology or postsecondary school of cosmetology
time fee
i. Renewal of a school of cosmetology or postsecondary school of cosmetology
j. Change of name and/or ownership of a school or postsecondary school
time fee
k. Name and/or ownership change of an establishment or mobile salon
I. Duplicate license
license
m. Certification of Department records
license
n. Reinstatement fee for a practitioner license will apply for licenses not renewed within thirty
(30) days following the birthday of the licensee
0. Reinstatement fee for an establishment or mobile salon license will apply for licenses not
renewed within thirty (30) days following the expiration date.

p. Reinstatement fee for a school of cosmetology or postsecondary school of cosmetology license

will apply for licenses not renewed within thirty (30) days following the expiration date.
g. Lifetime license for a currently licensed practitioner that is 65 years or older and has been
actively engaged in the practice or teaching of cosmetology for thirty (30) years or more.

requests for second subsequent copy must pay duplicate license fee of $25-10.00 per licenser.

r. Hot check fee

$20.00

$50.00 biennially
$150-0050.00[KKs6]
$150.00- 100.000ne-
$100.0050.00
$150.00-50.000ne-
$1500-00-1000.000ne-

$250.00 annually
$500.00-100.000ne-

$75-00-25.00 each
$25-0010.00 per

$50.00-10.00 per

50% of renewal
50% of renewal
50% of renewal
$50.00 for first license;
$25 service charge,
plus, all applicable

bank fees, for ach
returned check



RULE NO. 2
DEFINITIONS

(2.1) Aesthetician

Any person who engages in the practice of beautifying the body by cleaning, waxing, externally manipulating, or
stimulating the body by means of the hands, devices, apparatus, or appliances with or without the use of cosmetic
preparations, antiseptics, tonics, lotions, and creams.

(2.2) Art of Cosmetology

The art of cosmetology includes any and all and any combination of the following practices:
(A) Arranging, dressing, curling, waving, machine-less permanent waving, permanent waving,
cleansing, cutting, singeing, bleaching, tinting, coloring, straightening, dyeing, brushing, beautifying, or
otherwise treating by any means the hair of any person or wigs or hairpieces;

(B)Externally manipulating, cleaning, waxing, or stimulating the body by means of the hands, devices,
apparatus, or appliances with or without the use of cosmetic preparations, antiseptics, tonics, lotions, or
creams;

(C) Beautifying the body by use of cosmetic preparations, antiseptics, tonics, lotions, or creams;

(D) Temporarily removing superfluous hair from the body of any person by the use of depilatories or by the
use of tweezers, chemicals or preparations or by the use of devices or appliances of any kind or description,
except by the use of light waves, commonly known as rays;

(E) Cutting, trimming, polishing, tinting, coloring, cleansing, or manicuring the nails of any person; and

(F) Massaging, cleansing, or beautifying the nails of any person.

(2.3) Board
The Arkansas State Board of Health.

(2.4) Certified hours-

Cosmetology, Manicure, Aesthetic, Electrology, or Instructor hours which have been earned and recorded with the
Department in which tuition has either been paid in full or the person has signed a promissory note that is acceptable
to the school.

{24)(2.5) Clean

Removal of visible debris through use of soap/detergent and water or a chemical cleaner.

{2-5)(2.6) Client

Any person who receives -cosmetology services for compensation in any form from a person who is engaged in the
Art of Cosmetology.

£2.18)(2.7)_Cosmetology Establishment

Any premises, building, part of a building, or mobile salon in which is practiced any branch or any combination of
branches of cosmetology or the occupations of a cosmetologist, except the branch of manicuring as practiced in

barbershops and nursing facilities as defined under A.C.A.. § 20-10-1401[KK7].

{2-:6)(2.8) — Cosmetology Services
Any work performed for compensation in any form by any person who is engaged in the Art of Cosmetology.



£2.25)(2.9)_Cosmetology Technical Advisory Committee

The Cosmetology Technical Advisory Committee is a seven member committee appointed by the State Board of
Health and will, among other duties, hold hearings on cases that may require disciplinary actions\[KKa].

{2-7(2.10) Cosmetic
Any product made for beautifying the - body.

+2:8} (2.11) Department
The Arkansas Department of Health.

£2:9)(2.12) Disinfect

Destruction of bacterial, viral and fungal pathogens (not spores) through the use of proper process and chemical
disinfectants intended for use in the salon setting.

{2:20)(2.13) Disinfectant

EPA registered disinfectant that is bactericidal, virucidal, and fungicidal.

(2.14) Domestic violence and sexual assault awareness !traininql[KKg]
(a) A one (1) hour training course in domestic violence and sexual assault awareness
(b) The training course materials are provided by the Department of Health and incorporated into
the curriculum for cosmetology and its branches.
(c) Certificates of training shall contain proof of domestic violence and sexual assault
training.

2-1+1)(2.15) Electrologist

Any person who permanently removes hair from or destroys hair on the human body for beautification by the use
of an electric needle or by the use of any other kinds of devices or appliances designed to permanently remove hair
from the human body.

(2.12)(2.16) EPA

The United States Environmental Protection Agency.

£2.19)(2.17) Establishment or Mobile Salon Owner

Any person, firm, or corporation conducting or operating a - cosmetology establishment or mobile salon as defined
by A.C.A. 17-26-102.

2-13)(2.18) Manager-Operator
A licensed cosmetologist who is authorized to engage in the practice of cosmetology, independent of personal

supervision in a duly licensed establishment_or mobile salon.

2-34)(2.19) Manicurist

Any person who engages in the occupation of manicuring the nails of any person by cutting, trimming, polishing,
coloring, tinting, cleansing, filing, buffing, pushing, extending, protecting, wrapping, covering, building, or
beautifying the nails or performing any other similar work upon the nails of any person by any means, including
the softening of the arms, hands, feet, or ankles of any person by use of hands, mechanical or electrical apparatus
or appliances, cosmetic or chemical preparations, antiseptics, lotions, or creams or by massaging, cleansing,
manipulating or stimulating the arms, hands, feet, or ankles of any person.

(2.20) Mobile Salon[kk1o]
A self-contained, self-supporting, enclosed unit that;
(a) Is at least twenty-four-feet (24°) in length;
(b) May be transported from one location to another;
(c) Has a base location at the home, salon or office of the owner of the mobile salon;
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(d) Is licensed as a cosmetology establishment for the practice of a branch or a combination of branches of
cosmetology or the occupation of a cosmetologist licensed by the Department; and
(e) Complies with rules established by the Department.

{245)(2.21) Porous

Items made or constructed of material that has pores or openings and cannot be properly cleaned so that all visible
residue is removed or is damaged or contaminated by cleaning and disinfecting.

{2-16)(2.22) Practitioner
Any person who is licensed by the Department as a Cosmetologist, Electrologist, Manicurist, Instructor, or
Aesthetician.

21H(2.23) Postsecondary School of Cosmetology
A school of cosmetology that offers a postsecondary curriculum approved by the Department of Health and whose
enrollment is made up of only students who have a high school diploma or its equivalent.

(2.24) Revocation

Official cancellation of practitioner, establishment, mobile salon, school of cosmetology, or postsecondary
school of cosmetology licensefkkial.

{2-20)(2.25) School of Cosmetology
Any person, firm, corporation, premises, building, or part of a building whereon or wherein is taught any branch

or any combination of the branches of cosmetology for a fee and that is licensed by the Department of Health

2:21)(2.26) School of Cosmetology or Postsecondary School of Cosmetology Owner
Any person, firm, or corporation conducting or operating a school of cosmetology or a postsecondary school of
cosmetology.

2-22)(2.27) Section

The Section of Cosmetology within the Arkansas Department of Health.

2-23)(2.28) Sterilize

Destruction of all microbial life through proper use of an autoclave

{2:24)(2.29) Student

Any person who is enrolled and engaged in learning or acquiring knowledge of the occupations of a cosmetologist,
manicurist, aesthetician or electrologist, in a licensed school of cosmetology or a postsecondary school of
cosmetology under a licensed instructor.

2-26)(2.30) Working area or Clinical area
Any area that is used to render cosmetology services to the public.

9



RULE NO. 3

REQUIREMENTS FOR COSMETOLOGY AND RELATED OCCUPATIONS

(3.1) Establishment or Mobile Salon

Any person, firm or corporation conducting or operating a — cosmetology establishment_or maobile salon shall be
required to obtain a current establishment license prior to operating said establishment. The proprietor shall be
responsible for compliance with the law and all rules promulgated by the Board.

(3.2) School of Cosmetology or Postsecondary School of Cosmetology
(A)Any person, firm or corporation conducting or operating a school of cosmetology or a post-secondary
school of cosmetology shall be required to obtain a current establishment license prior to operating said
establishment. The proprietor shall be responsible for compliance with the law and all rules promulgated by
the Board.

(B)An institution wishing to teach both secondary and post-secondary students shall obtain both a
license[kkas] for a School of Cosmetology and a license for a Postsecondary School of Cosmetology. The
institution shall also provide a procedure by which it will ensure that only students with a high school
diploma or the equivalent are enrolled in the post-secondary school and receive Title 1V funds.

(3.3) Practitioner

No person shall practice any phase of cosmetology and its related occupations with the intent of receiving
compensation when the person does not hold a current and valid license issued by the Board , nor can any licensed
cosmetologist practice any phase of cosmetology and its related occupations other than in a licensed cosmetology
establishment_or mobile salon except when services rendered involve a special event in which the cosmetology
service is to be performed for an on-site participant of the event.

RULE NO. 4

EXAMINATIONS

(4.1) Eligibility Written[kK16]
Fhe-Department-will-admit—examination-for-a-ticense-a-aAny person who has acquired training in cosmetology,

manicuring,-ef aesthetics, or instructor as stipulated in A.C.A.17-26- 304, any person who has acquired training in
Electrology as stipulated in A.C.A.17-26-306, or any person who has acquired training in Electrology Instructor as
stipulated in A.C.A 17-26-307_is required to take the examination. Any person who owes a financial obligation to
the Department will be deemed ineligible to examine until the debt is paid in full.

(A) If the training was provided in this state:;
(1) Completed training:then—the sThe School of cosmetology or postsecondary school of
cosmetology is responsible for submitting a Certificate of Training_Graduated form to the
Department confirming the completion of hours.
(2) Partial training currently enrolled — The School of cosmetology or postsecondary school of

- - ) I I I I

If the Department’s records agree that the person has met all eligibility requirements, and does not owe a
financial obligation to the Section, then the person will be deemed eligible to schedule for the written examination.

_(B) If the training, completed or partial, was obtained in another state, then the applicant must meet eligibility
requirements. The applicant is responsible for arranging to have sent to the Department his/her certification
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from the other state or school in which the hours were obtained. If the Department determines eligibility
requirements are met, the applicant will be required to take the Arkansas written and practical exams.

(4.2) |Practicalikki:

Schools of Cosmetology or Postsecondary Schools of Cosmetology shall administer the Arkansas practical
licensing examination that has been developed by the Department and which shall include use of the official
(grading, scoring, and rating) document.

{4-2)(4.3) General Policies and Procedures
(A) The Section and/or any designated testing provider will establish exam—deadtne—dates—cancellation
policies, interpreter policies, and_supply requirements-and-gress-codes for examinations. All such information
shall be made readily available to schools of cosmetology, postsecondary schools of cosmetology, students
and reciprocity applicants. Updated Candidate Information Bulletins (CIBs) for the written examination will
be posted on the Department’s website and, if appropriate, on the website of the designated testing provider
responsible for administering practical-examinations.

(B) Supply List and Allotted Time:

(1) A supply list shall be developed and provided by the School for each candidate which contains the
implements, supplies, and equipment necessary to perform each phase of the examination. Each
candidate will be required to bring a kit and/or carrying case, which contains all the necessary items
contained in the list.

(2) Schools will determine allotted time for the examination.

4-3)(4.4) Grades

A passing grade of seventy-five (75) is required in the practical part-examination and a grade of seventy (70) is
required in the written part-examination pertaining to the mandated curriculum, as well as the state law exam. In
addition, a grade of seventy (70) is required on the state law exam when taken independently.
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RULE NO. 5

RECIPROCITY AND MILITARY LICENSURE

A) Upon application to the Department in the form provided for the particular class of license applied for

accompanied by the required fee application shall expire after one year), a person licensed as a cosmetologist,
electrologist, manicurist, aesthetician or instructor under the laws of another state shall be granted a license to
practice the occupation or occupations in the state not of greater scope than the occupation or occupations for
which the applicant was previously licensed in the other state, upon the following conditions:
(1) That the applicant for license as a cosmetologist, manicurist, or aesthetician is not less than
eighteen (18) years of age and the applicant for a license as an instructor or electrologist is not less
than twenty-one (21) years of age;
(2) That the applicant holds a current valid license upon application for reciprocity, evidenced by
certified copy of the license and an affidavit from the other state or by such other evidence as the
Department may require;
(3) That the applicant has passed an examination comparable to the examination given in this state;
and
(4) That the applicant passes an Arkansas law examination under this chapter.

(B) A person who has completed 1500 hours under the laws of another state shall be eligible for examination

upon the followings conditions:
(1) That the applicant for license as a cosmetologist, manicurist, or aesthetician is not less than eighteen
(18) years of age and the applicant for a license as an instructor or electrologist is not less than twenty-one
(21) years of age;
(2) Completed hours evidenced by certified copy of training and an affidavit received directly from the
other state or by such other evidence as the Department may require;
(3) Passes a written and practical examination

(C) A person that has completed partial hours under the laws of another state shall be eligible for examination
under upon the followings conditions:
(1) That the applicant for license as a cosmetologist, manicurist, or aesthetician is not less than eighteen
(18) years of age and the applicant for a license as an instructor or electrologist is not less than twenty-one
(21) years of age;
(2) Partial hours evidenced by certified copy of training and an affidavit received directly from the other
state or by such other evidence as the Department may require;
(3) Completes the required 1500 hours required under the rules of the Department
(4) Passes a written and practical examination

(D) Temporary License:

(1) The Department shall issue a temporary license immediately upon receipt of the application, the
required fee, and the documentation required under (A) (1), (2), and (3).

(2) The temporary license shall be effective for 160 days or, unless the Department determines that,
the applicant does not meet the requirements in Reciprocity sections (A) (1), through (4), in which
case the temporary license shall be immediately revoked.
(3) An applicant may provide the rest of the documentation required above in order to receive a
license, or the applicant may only provide the information necessary for the issuance of a temporary
license.

(E)_Military Automatic Licensure:

12



As used in this subsection, “returning military veteran” means a former member of the United
States Armed Forces who was discharged from active duty under circumstances other than
dishonorable.

As used in the subsection, “automatic licensure” means the granting of occupational licensure
without an individual's having met occupational licensure requirements provided under this title
or by the rules of the occupational licensing entity.

Upon application active duty military personal stationed in the State of Arkansas, a returning
military veteran applying within one (1) year of his or her discharge from active duty or a spouse
of an active duty military personal or veteran shall be granted automatic licensure to practice
cosmetology and its branches under the following requirements:
(1) Payment of the initial licensure fee
(2) Evidence that the individual holds a substantially equivalent license in another state: and
(3)Evidence that the applicant is a qualified applicant, by submitting a certified copy of the
license and an affidavit from the other state stating the license is in good standing.

(F)License for person from a state that does not license profession under Act 1011 of 2019.
(1)Required Qualifications. An applicant from a state that does not license cosmetologists,
electrologists, manicurists, aestheticians or instructors shall meet the following requirements:

a. The applicant shall be sufficiently competent in the applicable occupation and
b. Meet the same application and licensure requirements as any other applicant under these rules.

RULE NO. 56

REQUIREMENTS FOR SCHOOLS OF COSMETOLOGY, POSTSECONDARY SCHOOLS OF
COSMETOLOGY, AND-ESTABLISHMENTS AND MOBILE SALONS[Kk1s,

{54 (6.1) Health and Safety Rules
(A) Enforcement

(1) An establishment owner,_mobile salon owner, school owner or postsecondary school owner and the
person in charge of any such establishment, mobile salon, school of cosmetology or postsecondary school
of cosmetology, shall be liable for implementing and maintaining the Health and Safety Rules in the
establishment, mobile salon, school of cosmetology or postsecondary school of cosmetology. This shall be
done individually and jointly with all persons employed by or working in or on the premises of such
establishment,_mobile salon, school or postsecondary school. All practitioners, school, postsecondary
school, and-establishment_and mobile salon owners, and students shall be held individually liable for
implementation and maintenance of the Health and Safety Rules as applicable.

(2) (A) To assure compliance with the laws and rules governing the operations of school of cosmetology,
postsecondary school of cosmetology and establishment, the Department’s authorized representatives
shall have access to the premises of any school of cosmetology, postsecondary school of cosmetology
or establishment, at any time that the school, postsecondary school, or establishment is open for
business or at any time that the instruction or practice of cosmetology is being conducted.

(B) To assure compliance with the laws and rules governing the operations of mobile salons, the
Department’s authorized representatives shall have access to the premises of any mobile salon at any
time the mobile salon is open for business. The Department’s representative may contact the mobile
salon owner or representative to obtain a destination schedule for inspection purposes only.

(3) Refusal to permit or interference with, an inspection and/or audit constitutes a cause for disciplinary action.
13



(4) All persons performing acts of cosmetology and its related occupations except students in schools of
cosmetology or postsecondary schools of cosmetology shall present satisfactory proof of identification upon
request by an authorized representative of the Department. All persons working in an establishment, mobile
salon, school of cosmetology, or postsecondary school of cosmetology shall present a photographic driver’s
license or photographic identification card issued by any state, federal, or other recognized government entity.
Failure to present valid proof of identification shall be grounds for disciplinary action.

(5) Conducting or operating a school of cosmetology, a postsecondary school of cosmetology erestablishment
or mobile salon without a current, valid license shall be grounds for disciplinary action.

(6) Allowing a person to engage in or attempt to engage in the occupation of a cosmetologist, manicurist,
electrologist, aesthetician in or about an establishment_or mobile salon or allowing a person to engage in or
about a school of cosmetology or a postsecondary school of cosmetology, without a current valid Arkansas
license shall be grounds for disciplinary action.

(7) Performing acts of cosmetology or attempting to perform acts of cosmetology for compensation in any
form, without a current, valid Arkansas license shall be grounds for disciplinary action.

(B) Consumer Information.
(1) A copy of the most recent inspection sheet shall be pested-ir-a-conspicuously posted in a designated
place in reception area, at individual work stations or in clinic area.

(2) All establishments, mobile salons and schools of cosmetology, postsecondary schools of cosmetology
licenses, practitioners’ licenses, student permits and instructor licenses shall be conspicuously posted in a
designated place in reception areas, at the individual work stations, or in the clinic area.

(3) No license which has expired or become invalid for any reason whatsoever shall be displayed by any
person in connectlon with the practlce of cosmetology or any of its branches. Any-expired-erinvalidlicense

(4) A copy of the online complaint website and phone number for the Arkansas Department of Health

Cosmetology and Massage Therapy Section shall be posted in a designated place in reception area, at
individual work stations or in clinic area.

(C) Physical Facilities
(1) Water Supply and Sewage — A safe and adequate supply of continuous hot and cold running water
shall be provided from an approved source. All water-carried sewage shall be disposed of by means of an
approved sewage disposal system constructed and operated in conformance with the standards established
for such systems by the Arkansas Department of Health.




(32) Toilet Facilities, Fixtures and Plumbing — Where toilet facilities are made available or otherwise
required, said facilities, fixtures and other plumbing shall be installed in accordance with the Arkansas State
Plumbing Code and meet standards set by the Arkansas Department of Health. No toilet facility shall be used
for storage of implements or supplies for services performed on the public.

(43) Hand Washing Facilities — Each school of cosmetology, each postsecondary school of cosmetology, anéd
each establishment_and each mobile salon shall provide hand washing facilities installed in accordance with

the Arkansas State Plumbing Code. The facilities shall have a soap dispenser (with soap) and disposable
towels or an air dryer for hands. Common towels and bar soap are prohibited.

(64) Garbage and Refuse — Garbage and refuse shall be kept in durable, easily cleanable, containers that do
not leak and do not absorb liquids. No school of cosmetology, each postsecondary school of cosmetology, e¢
establishment or mobile salon shall permit an accumulation of garbage or refuse. Garbage and refuse shall be
disposed of often enough to prevent the development of odor and the attraction of insects and rodents.

(#5) Insect and Rodent Control — Each school of cosmetology, each postsecondary school of cosmetology,
and-each establishment_and each mobile salon shall be kept in such condition as to prevent the harborage or
feeding of insects or rodents.

(86) Cleanliness and Repair — Each school of cosmetology, each postsecondary school of cosmetology, and

each establlshment and each mobile salon shall keep the roors mats, wafus—weeelweeleeel-l-mgs—equmem—

and

(327) Lighting — Permanently fixed artificial light sources shall be installed to provide sufficient_light on the
working area or clinical area.

(228) Ventilation — Each school of cosmetology, each postsecondary school of cosmetology, and-each

establishment and each mobile salon shall have-sufficient-ventilationinstaled-and-operated-accordingto-State
and-lecal-requirementsto- shall be keep-them-free of excessive heat, steam, condensation, vapors, smoke and

harmful fumes.

(339) Minimum Equipment — Each school of cosmetology, postsecondary school of cosmetology ané
establishment and each maobile salon shall have and maintain the following minimum equipment:

(a) A liquid disinfecting receptacle to hold instruments and supplies with an EPA registered disinfecting
solution that is bactericidal, capable of destroying bacteria; virucidal, capable of destroying viruses;
and-fungicidal, capable of destroying fungi. Disinfectants must be used according to manufacture
labels to be safe and effective. Contact time listed on the manufacturers label must be adhered to at
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all times to effectively destroy pathogens. The receptacle must be large enough that the instruments
and supplies are completely submerged. The disinfectant solutions shall remain covered at all times
and shall be changed daily or whenever visibly cloudy or dirty;

(be) All soiled linens must be in a separate vented receptacle from clean ones;
(e)-All-cleaned-instruments-must-be-kept-in-a-separate-enclosed-area;

(2410) Animals in Schools of cosmetology, postsecondary schools of cosmetology, and-Establishments
and Mobile Salons— Animals are prohibited from being inside school of cosmetology, a postsecondary school
of cosmetology, er-establishments_or mobile salons. Exceptions include:

(a) Service animals that are accompanying a client with a disability. In the event that an authorized
Department representative observes an establishment owner’s, mobile salon owner’s.-6¥ school of
cosmetology owner’s, postsecondary school of cosmetology owner’s, or client’s animal within the
premises of the establishment,_mobile salon, school of cosmetology or postsecondary school of
cosmetology, then the establishment, mobile salon, school or cosmetology or postsecondary school
of cosmetology owner shall describe the impairment for which the animal is trained to provide
assistance in order to ensure that the animal is not simply a pet; and

(b) Fish in a decorative aquarium.

(4511) Infectious or Communicable Disease
(a) No person afflicted with an infectious or communicable disease, which may be transmitted during
the performance of the acts of cosmetology or any of its branches, or afflicted with an infestation of
animal parasites shall be permitted to work or train in a school of cosmetology, postsecondary school
of cosmetology, e+in an establishment_or in a mobile salon.

(b) No school of cosmetology, postsecondary school of cosmetology,-e+ establishment_or mobile
salon shall require or permit a student or a practitioner, to massage any surface of the skin or scalp
where such skin is inflamed, open , irritated or where a skin infection or eruption is present and/or
knowingly, to work upon a person suffering from any infectious, communicable disease or on a client
with an infestation of animal parasites which may be transmitted during the performance of the act
of cosmetology or any of its branches. The term “infectious or communicable disease” shall not
include human immunodeficiency virus (HIV) or any other disease that similarly does not pose a
significant risk to the health or safety of others during the performance of an act of cosmetology or
any of its branches.

(2612) Personal Cleanliness
(a) Person and Wearing Apparel — The person and the attire worn by an individual serving a client
shall at all times be clean.

(b) Washing Hands — Every person performing cosmetology services in a school of cosmetology,

postsecondary school of cosmetology, exan establishment or a mobile salon shall thoroughly wash
his or her hands with soap and water or any equally effective cleansing solution before serving each
client.

(3#13) Headrests;,-Shampoo Bowls, Treatment Tables, Pedicure Spas and Waxing Equipment and
Supplies

(a) Headrests — The headrest of chairs shall be eevered-with-a-clean-towel-orpapersheetfor——
——eachchent kept clean.
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(b) Shampoo Bowls — Shampoo trays and bowls must be cleansed with soap and water or
* other detergent before each service, kept in good repair and in a sanitary condition at all times.

(c) Treatment Tables — Treatment tables must be cleaned and disinfected before and a clean linen
or disposable paper placed between client and table before each service.

(d) Pedicure Spas — Cleaning and Disinfecting of Circulating and Non Circulating Tubs and Spa’s
for All Industry Modalities.

The recommended cleaning and disinfecting standard for all circulating and non-circulating tubs or
spas are: (the use of eye goggles and nitrile protective gloves are recommended and exposure of the
client’s feet or other skin areas of the body to disinfectants should be avoided).

After each client or service:

(1) Drain the tub.
(2) Clean the tub according to manufacturer’s instructions. Take special care to remove all film,
especially at the water line. Rinse the tub well.
(3) Fill the tub with water.
(a) Add appropriate disinfectant into the water according to the following:

(i) At Minimum, use an EPA registered, bactericidal, virucidal_and; fungicidal, and
pseudomonacidal{Fermulated-for Hospitals)-disinfectant that is mixed and used according
to the manufacturer’s directions, EXCEPT TUBS THAT HAVE COME IN CONTACT
WITH BLOOD OR BODY FLUIDS.

(ii) If a Tub has COME IN CONTACT WITH BLOOD OR BODY FLUIDS at
minimum, an EPA registered disinfectant that is effective against HIV —1 and human
Hepatitis B Virus erFubereulocidal-that is mixed and used according to the manufacturer’s
directions shall be used.

(b) Allow the disinfectant to stand for non-circulating tubs or to circulate for circulating tubs for
the time specified according to the manufacturer’s instructions.

(4) At the end of the day remove all removable parts (filters, screens drains, jets, etc.) clean and
disinfect the removable parts as follows:

(a) Scrub with a brush and soap or detergent until free from debris.

(b) Rinse.

(c) Completely immerse in an EPA registered, bactericidal, virucidal, and fungicidal;-ané
pseudomonacidal-{Fermulated-for Hospitals)-disinfectant that is mixed and used according
to the manufacturer’s directions.

(d) Rinse.

(e) Air dry.

(5) Replace the disinfected parts into the tubs. (Drains, jets, etc.) or, store them in a disinfected, dry,
covered container that is isolated from contaminants.

Salons are choosing to purchase extra drains and removable parts so the parts can immediately be
changed out with pre disinfected parts saving time between clients. If so, any part which has COME
IN CONTACT WITH BLOOD OR BODY FLUIDS must at minimum be disinfected with an EPA
registered disinfectant that is effective against HIV —1 and human Hepatitis B Virus erFuberculocidal
that is mixed and used according to the manufacturer’s directions, stored as in number 5 above.
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(e) Waxing Equipment and Supplies - Wax heater/pots shall be kept clean at all times_and
covered when not in use; each applicator may only be submerged in waxing product one time before
being disposed. No used applicator shall be left on or in heater/pot at any time. Waxing strips,
applicators and any supplies used before, during or after waxing service, shall be stored in clean
covered labeled container. Roll-on wax applicators are NOT PERMITTED.

(2814) Towels -After a towel has once been used, it shall be deposited in a receptacle, and shall not again be
used until properly cleaned-and-disinfected. Towels and linens shall be washed on the hot cycle and dried until
hot to the touch.

(2915) Bottles and Containers — All bottles and containers containing any chemical or liquids in use in a
school of cosmetology, postsecondary school of cosmetology,—e+ establishment_or mobile salon shall be
distinctly and correctly labeled to disclose their contents.

(2016) Neck Strips — A sanitary neck strip or towel shall be used to keep the protective covering from coming
in direct contact with a client’s neck- Exemption freshly laundered/clean cape used for each client.

(2£17) Instruments and Supplies - All used porous supplies or instruments which cannot be disinfected shall
be disposed of in a waste receptacle immediately after use.

(2218) Electrical Instruments and Equipment-

(a) Before use upon a client, all electrical instruments shall be cleaned and disinfected with an EPA
registered disinfecting solution(spray or wipe) containing bactericidal, capable of destroying bacteria;
virucidal, capable of destroying viruses; and fungicidal, capable of destroying fungi. Disinfectants must
be used according to manufacture labels to be safe and effective. All disinfectable instruments that have
been used on a client or soiled in any manner shall be placed in a properly labeled receptacle that contains
only dirty items awaiting disinfection. Disinfected instruments and equipment shall be placed on a hook
or on a clean towel and covered by a clean towel.

(b) Electrical equipment shall be functioning in accordance with the manufacturer’s specifications.
Equipment that is not operable or functioning in accordance with the manufacturer’s specifications shall
be repaired or discarded.

(2319) Non-Electrical Instruments and Equipment-
(a)Before use upon a client, all non-electrical instruments shall be cleaned and then disinfected with an
EPA registered disinfecting solution containing bactericidal, capable of destroying bacteria; virucidal,
capable of destroying viruses; and fungicidal, capable of destroying fungi. Disinfectants must be used
according to manufacture labels to be safe and effective. All disinfectable instruments that have been
used on a client or soiled in any manner shall be placed in a properly labeled receptacle that contains only
dirty items awaiting disinfection. Disinfected items should be stored in a clean covered container.

(b)Non-Electrical equipment shall be functioning in accordance with the manufacturer’s specifications.
Equipment that is not operable or functioning in accordance with the manufacturer’s specifications shall
be repaired or discarded.

(2420) Sterilizing Instruments-All needles and lancets must be single use and disposable. For proper
disposal of needles and lancets refer to Ark. Code Ann. 8 20-7-109 and Ark. Code Ann. 88§ 20-32-101 —
112. Instruments that cannot be sterilized with an autoclave must be sterilized with an EPA registered
disinfecting solution containing bactericidal, capable of destroying bacteria; virucidal, capable of destroying
viruses; and fungicidal, capable of destroying fungi Disinfectants must be used according to manufacture
labels to be safe and effective. Dry sterilizer or UV lights are not acceptable sterilization techniques.
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(2521) Liquids, Creams, Powders and Other Cosmetic Preparations
(a) Storage — All liquids, creams and other cosmetic preparations shall
be kept in properly labeled clean and covered containers. Powders may be kept in a clean shaker.

(b) Removal from Container — When only a portion of a cosmetic preparation is to be used on a client,
it shall be removed from the container in such a way as not to contaminate the remaining portion.

(c) Pencil Cosmetics_and Sharpeners — Pencil cosmetics shall be disinfected-and-sharpened before
each use. Sharpener must be cleaned after each use.

RULE NO. 67

COSMETOLOGY ESTABLISHMENTS AND MOBILE SALONS
CERTIFICATE OF REGISTRATION AND LICENSURE

6-1)(7.1) Enforcement

Any person, firm, or corporation conducting or operating a Cosmetology establishment_or mobile salon shall be
responsible for compliance with the licensing code and rules of the Board governing cosmetology establishments
and mobile salons. Failure to comply with the licensing code and rules shall be grounds for disciplinary action.

~+6-2)(7.2) Authorization

(A)Application: Any person, firm, or corporation desiring to open a cosmetology establishment_or mobile
salon shall submit an application to the Department for approval.

(B) Any person, firm or corporation who has applied for a license to operate a cosmetology establishment or
mobile salon will recelve a letter—ef—au!ehenzanen— license allowmg the owner to operate the establlshment or
mobile salon, =

Board-The leeteellcense shaII be consplcuously posted in the establishment_or moblle salon

{6-3)(7.3) Changes and Notification Requirements
(A) Name Change — When the name of an established establishment_or mobile salon is changed from the
name which appears on the original application, the owner of record shall file an application with the
Department for approval and shall submit the required fee. Failure to comply with this section within thirty
(30) days of changing the name of the establishment or mobile salon will be grounds for disciplinary action.

(B) Ownership Change — When the ownership of an establishment _or mobile salon is changed from the
ownership that appears on the original application, the owner on file with the Department and the new owner
shall complete the change of ownership form and submit it to the Cosmetology Section within thirty (30) days
of said sale or transfer. At the same time, the new owner, lessee or other legally responsible party shall submit
the required fee. The new owner shall submit a copy of his or her driver’s license, and a copy of the legal
change of ownership document. Failure to comply with this section shall be grounds for disciplinary action.

(C) Relocation — When the location of an establishment is changed, it shall be classified as a new
establishment and said owner shall comply with the licensing code and rules relating to the original issuance
of an establishment license.

{6-4)(7.4) General Licensure Requirements
(A) Permits/Licensure — Selling products, in an establishment or mobile salon, that require the seller to hold
a special permit or license by Federal or State authorities shall be classified as another type of business. Other
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types of businesses shall be separated from an establishment_or mobile salon in accordance with the
requirements specified below in Subdivision B.

(B) Separation of Establishment_ or Mobile Salon from other businesses
(1) Unsanitary conditions — An establishment, mobile salon and any other type of business that may
create an unsanitary condition (for example, restaurant, grocery store, pet store, etc.) shall be physically
separated by solid walls. Further, the owner shall submit a document issued by the Arkansas Department
of Health certifying that the ventilation system(s) of said businesses meets the minimum requirements of
the Arkansas Department of Health.

(2) Barber Establishment License — Any establishment or mobile salon that permits a licensed barber
to practice the vocation of barbering in the establishment_or mobile salon, shall also hold a barber
establishment license issued by the Arkansas State Board of Barber Examiners.

(C) Requirements for testing laboratory products
(1) When laboratory-prepared products are used in a licensed cosmetology establishment or mobile salon,
for field testing, full disclosure shall be provided to the model or client so the model or client may make
an informed decision as to whether the product should be applied.

(2) The establishment owner, mobile salon owner or his/her designee will be required to provide the client
or model with a data sheet which states: the name and address of the manufacturer which produces the
product, the name and address of the practitioner applying the product and the date and results of the test.

(3) The client or model will be required to sign the document which also certifies that the model or client
is aware that the product is being applied for testing purposes. A copy of the document is to be kept by
the establishment owner_or mobile salon owner and a copy must be given to the client or model for the
records.

RULE NO. 78

SCHOOL OF COSMETOLOGY AND POSTSECONDARY SCHOOL OF COSMETOLOGY
REQUIREMENTS

358.1 Application for New Private School of Cosmetology
(A) Any person, firm or corporation seeking to open a new school of cosmetology shall submit an application
to the Cosmetology Section office and receive pre-approval from the Department. The application shall be
accompanied by the following information:
(1) Completed application provided by the Department and available on the Department’s website at
wwwhealthyarkansas.com- healthy.arkansas.gov

(2) Detailed floor plan of the proposed school showing adequate floor space.
(3) One certified financial statement.
(4) List of proposed equipment of the school.

(5) Instructor/Supervisor Form for Instructors shall be completed listing detailed information such as
Instructor’s education, previous work experience, etc.

(6) Correspondence from the Planning and Zoning Board certifying that the area which the proposed school
is to be located is properly zoned for this type of business.
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(7) A statement certifying that the owner(s) of the proposed school shall provide not less than fifteen-
hundred (1500) hours of continuous training for all cosmetology students enrolled.

(8) The owner shall file a statement designating the name and address of the person who is authorized to
accept service of notice from the Department and to transact all business negotiations on behalf of the
proposed school, including answers to citations and/or hearings, and compliance with rulings issued by the
Department and/or Cosmetology Technical Advisory Committee.

(9). Samples of all forms to be used in the school such as attendance record, sign-in sheets, state inspector
time sheets, contracts, releases, progress records, progress cards.

(10) The required registration fee.

(11) Proof that the school adopts and discloses to the students the complaint process outlined in Rule 11.

(B) When the above information is received in full, the Department will conduct the initial inspection described
in Rule-~98.9. When the school application and initial inspection meets all requirements, the Department
will notify the applicant to proceed with school preparations pending the final inspection described in Rule
7-108.10, submission of 25 student enrollment forms, required fees and documents, and licensing.

| #2)(8.2) Application for New Private Postsecondary School of Cosmetology

(A) Any person, firm or corporation seeking to open a new postsecondary school of cosmetology shall submit
an application to the Cosmetology Section office and receive pre-approval from the Department. The
application shall be accompanied by the following information:

(1) Completed application provided by the Department and available on the Department’s website at
wwwwhealthyarkansas.com- healthy.arkansas.gov

(2) Detailed floor plan of the proposed school showing adequate floor space.
(3) One certified financial statement.
(4) List of proposed equipment of the school.

(5) Instructor/Supervisor Form for Instructors shall be completed listing detailed information such as
Instructor’s education, previous work experience, etc.

(6) Correspondence from the Planning and Zoning Board certifying that the area which the proposed school
is to be located is properly zoned for this type of business.

(7) A statement certifying that the owner(s) of the proposed school shall provide not less than fifteen-
hundred (1500) hours of continuous training for all cosmetology students enrolled.

(8) The owner shall file a statement designating the name and address of the person who is authorized to
accept service of notice from the Department and to transact all business negotiations on behalf of the
proposed school, including answers to citations and/or hearings, and compliance with rulings issued by the
Department and/or Cosmetology Technical Advisory Committee.

(9) Samples of all forms to be used in the school such as attendance record, sign-in sheets, state inspector
time sheets, contracts, releases, progress records, progress cards.

(10) The required registration fee.

(11) Proof that each student enrolled has a high school diploma or its equivalent.
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(12) Proof that the school adopts and discloses to the students the complaint process outlined in Rule 11.

(B) When the above information is provided in full, the Department will conduct the initial inspection
described in Rule 798.9.When the school application and initial inspection meets all requirements, the
Department will notify the applicant to proceed with school preparations pending the final inspection described
in Rule #408.10, submission of 25 student enrollment forms, required fees and documents, and licensing.

#3}(8.3) Changes and Notification Requirements
(A) Name Change- When the name of a school of cosmetology or postsecondary school of cosmetology is
changed from the name that appears on the original application, the owner of record shall notify the Department
in writing at least thirty (30) days prior to the change and shall submit the required fee. Failure to comply with
this section will be grounds for disciplinary action.

(B) Ownership Change- When the ownership of a school of cosmetology or postsecondary school of
cosmetology is changed from the ownership that appears on the original application, the owner of record shall
notify the Department in writing at least thirty (30) days prior to the change. In addition, the new owner must
provide the documentation outlined in Rule +128.12, at least thirty (30) days prior to the purchase. Failure to
comply with this section will be grounds for disciplinary action.

+4)(8.4) Application for a New Cosmetology Program in a Public or State-Operated School
(A) Any public or state-operated school seeking to offer education in cosmetology or its related branches shall
submit notice to the Cosmetology Section office and receive pre-approval from the Department, as well as to
the Arkansas Department of Higher Education or other governing body. The notice shall include the following
information:
(1) A completed application provided by the Department and available on the Department’s website at
win-healthyarkansas-com- healthy.arkansas.gov

(2) Documentation that the school’s administration or board has given its approval for the cosmetology
program to be offered at the school, as well as the school’s commitment that there are sufficient financial
resources to support the program.

(3) Name and contact information for the designee at the school who will be responsible to the Department
for ensuring the school complies with applicable statutes and rules.

(4) A statement certifying the school will comply with all laws including applicable rules and-regulations
regarding qualified instructors and a school supervisor.

(5) A statement certifying the required number of instructional hours of instruction will be provided to
students for the appropriate program, as outlined in A.C.A. 17-26-304, 17-26-306, 17-26-307 and 17-26-
410.

(6) A detailed floor plan reflecting adequate floor space.

(7) A list of equipment to be used for the program.

(8) Instructor/Supervisor Form for Instructors shall be completed listing detailed information; such as the
Instructor’s education, previous work experience, etc.

(9) Sample of all forms to be used in the school, such as attendance record, sign-in sheets, releases, progress
records and progress cards.

(10) The required registration fee.
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(11) Proof that the school adopts and discloses to the students the complaint process outlined in Rule 11.

(B) When the above information is provided in full, the Department will conduct the initial inspection
described in Rule 7988.9.When the school application and initial inspection meets all requirements, the
Department will notify the applicant to proceed with school preparations pending the final inspection described
in Rule #408.10, submission of 25 student enrollment forms, required fees and documents, and licensing.

#5)(8.5) Application for a New Postsecondary Cosmetology Program in a Public or State-Operated School
(A) Any public or state-operated postsecondary school seeking to offer education in cosmetology or its related
branches shall submit notice to the Cosmetology Section office and receive pre-approval from the Department,
as well as to the Arkansas Department of Higher Education or other governing body. The notice shall include
the following information:

(1) A completed application provided by the Department and available on the Department’s website at
www-healthyarkansas-com-healthy.arkansas.gov

(2) Documentation that the postsecondary school’s administration or board has given its approval for the
cosmetology program to be offered at the school, as well as the school’s commitment that there are
sufficient financial resources to support the program.

(3) Name and contact information for the designee at the school who will be responsible to the
Department for ensuring the school complies with applicable statutes and rules.

(4) A statement certifying the school will comply with all laws including applicable rules and-regulations
regarding qualified instructors and a school supervisor.

(5) A statement certifying the required number of instructional hours of instruction will be provided to
students for the appropriate program, as outlined in A.C.A. 17-26-304, 17-26-306, 17-26-307 and 17-26-
410.

(6) A detailed floor plan reflecting adequate floor space.

(7) A list of equipment to be used for the program.

(8) Instructor/Supervisor Form for Instructors shall be completed listing detailed information; such as the
Instructor’s education, previous work experience, etc.

(9) Sample of all forms to be used in the school, such as attendance record, sign-in sheets, releases, progress
records and progress cards.

(10) The required registration fee.
(12) Proof that each student enrolled has a high school diploma or its equivalent.
(12) Proof that the school adopts and discloses to the students the complaint process outlined in Rule 11.
(B) When the above information is provided in full, the Department will conduct the initial inspection
described in Rule 78.9.  When the school application and initial inspection meets all requirements, the

Department will notify the applicant to proceed with school preparations pending the final inspection described
in Rule #8.10, submission of 25 student enrollment forms and required documents, and licensing.
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{#6)(8.6) Application for a Relocated School of Cosmetology or Postsecondary School of Cosmetology

(A) When the location of a school of cosmetology or postsecondary school of cosmetology licensed to offer
cosmetology or related programs changes from the location which appears on the original application, the
owner of record shall file an application with the Cosmetology Section office and receive pre-approval from
the Section. An application must include the following items of documentation before any relocation can
occur:

(1) A detailed floor plan reflecting adequate floor space.
(2) A list of equipment to be used for the program.

(3) Instructor/Supervisor Form for Instructors shall be completed listing detailed information; such as the
Instructor’s education, previous work experience, etc.

(4) Sample of all forms to be used in the school of cosmetology or postsecondary school of cosmetology,
such as attendance record, sign-in sheets, releases, progress records and progress cards.

(5) All relocated schools of cosmetology or postsecondary schools of cosmetology shall meet physical
requirements as for new schools.

(6) The required registration Fee.

(B) When the above information is provided in full, the Department will conduct the initial inspection
described in Rule #8.9. When the school of cosmetology or postsecondary school of cosmetology application
and initial inspection meets all requirements, the Department will notify the applicant to proceed with school
of cosmetology or postsecondary school of cosmetology preparations pending the final inspection described
in Rule 78.10 and licensing.

~#A(8.7) Building Requirements
All cosmetology schools of cosmetology or postsecondary school of cosmetology shall be equipped to do and
actually perform all services designated under § 17-26-101.

(A) The school of cosmetology or postsecondary school of cosmetology shall be of fireproof construction. All
schools shall have a front and back entrance. No partitions will be permitted except for the specified spaces
listed below.

(B) All schools of cosmetology or postsecondary schools of cosmetology must be separated from any other
business with solid walls. Cosmetology establishments that are located in the same building shall be separated
by a solid physical barrier and shall have separate entrances.

(C) All schools of cosmetology or postsecondary schools of cosmetology shall have sufficient light fixtures
and wiring which shall be approved by a licensed Electrician or City Inspector. Said Electrician or Inspector
shall certify that wiring and fixtures are adequate for the building size and purpose for which it is to be used.

(D) The school of cosmetology or postsecondary school of cosmetology building shall be completely air
conditioned and centrally heated.

(E) There shall be sufficient hot water supply and pressure and be approved as sufficient by a licensed plumber.

(F) The school of cosmetology or postsecondary school of cosmetology shall be approved by the Department
as to space, light, ventilation, hygienic environment and equipment.

(G) Interior floor space shall be not less than twenty-five-hundred (2500) square feet of area, for a maximum
of twenty-five (25) students.
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(H) Student practical training area or clinic area shall contain not less than twelve-hundred (1200) square
feet, open space, with no walls to obstruct the view of the Instructor. The clinic square footage requirements
are for a maximum enrollment of twenty-five (25) students. Enrollment capacity in excess of twenty-five (25)
students will be established by the square footage contained in the reception area and excess footage over the
required twelve-hundred (1200) square footage in the clinic. Every fifty (50) square feet of space in the
aforementioned area will increase the enrollment capacity by one. A classroom is required and shall be not
less than two-hundred-seventy-five (275) square feet. The classroom must be equipped with items conducive
to promote a teaching and learning environment that accommodates both the instructor and students. Vending
machines shall not be in the classroom.

(1) The clinical area shall contain: stations and chairs, shampoo bowls and chairs, dryers with chairs,
manicuring tables with chairs, facial chairs. Other equipment not used for the instruction of the practical work
will not be permitted.

(J) Restrooms are required. Restrooms shall contain a commode and lavatory. Floors must be a washable
surface. Pipes or any other projection that might create an unsanitary condition shall not be exposed.

(K) A reception area shall be required. The reception area shall contain a desk or counter and chairs for clients.
This area shall not contain any equipment used by the students in the practical work.

(L) A supply room will be required to keep all cleaning equipment, such as mops, brooms, scrub pails, etc.

(M) A dispensary room is required to store supplies used by students. All extra supplies, not being used, must
be stored.

(N) Storage space shall be provided for students to store individual personal items.

(O) Office space shall be provided for student and school of cosmetology or postsecondary school of
cosmetology business records that contain equipment and furniture necessary to reasonably accommodate an
administrative office.

(P) Break room or lounge room will be provided. Eating will not be permitted in the clinical area of the school
of cosmetology or postsecondary school of cosmetology.

{#8)(8.8) Equipment
(A) All equipment for new, existing and re-located schools of cosmetology or postsecondary schools of
cosmetology shall be in good workable condition. The equipment shall be appropriately maintained in order
to promote the health and safety of school of cosmetology or postsecondary school of cosmetology employees,
students and clients.

(B) An adequate supply of furnishings shall be maintained in the classroom to sufficiently accommodate the
enrolled students.

(C) An adequate supply of working equipment for all cosmetology courses shall be maintained in the school
to reasonably accommodate the clientele received in the school of cosmetology or postsecondary school of
cosmetology.

(D) Each school of cosmetology or postsecondary school of cosmetology shall maintain a time clock to register
student hours for reporting to the Department.
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£9)(8.9) Initial Inspection of a New or Re-located School of Cosmetology or Postsecondary School of
Cosmetology
After all required documentation and fees have been submitted and approved; the Department will conduct an initial
inspection on all new or re-located schools for the purpose of determining suitability based on submitted
documentation with application:

(A) Of proposed rooms, including adequacy of floor space; plumbing; ventilation; lighting, etc.

(B) Of proposed layout.
(C) Of proposed items of equipment and material.
(D) Satisfactory evidence of proper provisions for duly licensed instructors.

The findings of the initial inspection and the application with supporting documentation shall be submitted to the
Department for its approval.

#106)(8.10) Final Inspection of New or Re-located School of Cosmetology or Postsecondary School of
Cosmetology

A final inspection shall be conducted by an inspector in order to determine that all information previously submitted
to the Department on the “Instructor/Supervisor Form,” the “Application” and the “Initial Inspection Report,” such
as the floor space, list of equipment on hand, and all other pertinent information, has been strictly adhered to by the
owners or administrators of the proposed school.

No license will be issued to any new school until an inspection report of compliance is received, at least 25 student
enrollment forms, supporting documents and enrollment fees have been submitted and at least 25 student permits
have been issued.

11(8.11) Routine Inspection of School of Cosmetology or Postsecondary School of Cosmetology
Schools of Cosmetology and Postsecondary Schools of Cosmetology shall be inspected:

(a) atAt least twice a year, to ensure compliance with the licensing law and rules promulgated by the Board
unless complaints are received by the Department.

(b) To determine compliance with applicable licensing code and rules governing cosmetology schools and

programs administered in a state or public-operated school. During an inspection, the inspector may review

the records maintained by the school of Cosmetology or Postsecondary School of Cosmetology; review the

course outline and lesson plans and generally evaluate the operation of the school of Cosmetology or

Postsecondary School of Cosmetology. Failure to comply with the licensing requirements will be grounds for

disciplinary action and license denial-revocation.

—{H) Penalty

¢) Any school of cosmetology or post-secondary school of cosmetology that fails to abide by the terms
and conditions set out in the school of cosmetology or post-secondary school of cosmetology catalog or
contract or fails to comply with the procedures for adopting rules and-regulations-or who is capricious in
enforcing school of cosmetology or post-secondary school of cosmetology regulatiens—rules may be
subject to a disciplinary hearing before the Cosmetology Technical Advisory Committee pursuant to Rule
No. 1.3 and10. In the case of a Nationally Accredited School of cosmetology or post-secondary school

of cosmetology the Department will notify the proper officials of the disposition of the comglaint\[KKzl]i

+12)(8.12) Purchase of an Existing School of Cosmetology or Post-Secondary School of Cosmetology
(A) Any person, firm or corporation seeking to purchase an existing school of cosmetology or Post-Secondary
School of Cosmetology shall submit the following information at least thirty (30) days prior to the purchase:
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(1) An application shall be filed to reflect the change of ownership.

(2) The new owner shall file a statement designating the name and address of the person who is authorized
to accept service of notice from the Department and to transact all business negotiations on behalf of the
school of cosmetology or postsecondary school of cosmetology, including answers to citations for hearings,
and compliance with rulings issued by the Department.

(3) Instructor Form shall be completed listing detailed information; such as the Instructor’s education,
previous work experience, etc.

(4) One certified financial statement.
(5) Copy of the legal change of ownership document.
(6) Copy of the new owner’s government issued photo identification.
(7) Samples of all forms to be used in the school of cosmetology or postsecondary school of cosmetology;
such as attendance record, sign-in sheets, state inspector time sheets, contracts, releases, progress records,
progress cards.
(8) The required registration fee.
#-13)-(8.13)Registration Requirements
(A) All students of Cosmetology, Manicuring, Electrology, Aesthetics, and Teacher Training shall be
registered with the Department before accredited hours can be obtained. Registration prerequisites are as

follows:

(1) Registration form (forms provided by the Department). The completed registration form must be
received by the Department before accredited hours can be obtained.

(2) One (1) copy of the student/school of cosmetology or postsecondary school of cosmetology
contract (if applicable).

(3) A copy of the student’s driver’s license or other form of identification verifying the student’s age.

(4) Proof of education:
(a) For Post-Secondary Schools of Cosmetology--proof of a high school diploma or its equivalent.

(b) For Schools of Cosmetology—Cosmetology, Aesthetics and Manicuring — completed a
minimum of two (2) years of high school or its equivalent.

(c) Electrology and Instructor — completed four (4) years of high school or its equivalent.
(d) Results from a test that is approved by the U.S. Department of Education to measure a student’s
ability to benefit (an “Ability-To-Benefit (ATB) test”) may be used to determine a student’s
equivalency to the above.

(5) Required registration fee.

(B) Failure to comply with the above mentioned prerequisites will affect the matriculation date.

(C) All registration forms must state the student’s full legal name.
(2) If the student is married include the married name after their maiden name.
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(2) If a student is married or divorced during the course of training a copy of the marriage certificate or
divorce decree shall be submitted to the Department before records will be changed.

(D) A student who has completed the registration process and whose information is on file with the department
shall complete a student enrollment form without submitting additional documents other than the student
permit fee and a method of identification containing a photograph of the student.

(E) In the event a student has training from another state, then the student must provide the following to the
Arkansas Department of Health Cosmetology Section and the School of Cosmetology or Post-Secondary
School of Cosmetology in which the student wishes to enroll:

(1) A certified copy of the training hours accumulated and certified with the state; or

(2) If the state does not certify hours, an official transcript from the School of Cosmetology or Post-
Secondary School of Cosmetology where the student obtained the hours.

| (#14)(8.14)Cosmetology Curriculum for Schools of Cosmetology or Postsecondary Schools of Cosmetology

(A) A total of fifteen-hundred (1500) hours shall be required in the cosmetology program and shall consist of
the following curricula:
(1) Hygiene and Sanitation — 80 Hours — Instructions in sanitation, sterilization, hygiene, lighting and
ventilation, etc... General sanitation duties performed by students shall not exceed more than fifteen (15)
minutes per day. Students are required to maintain their stations as warranted and are responsible for their
actions or mishaps.

(2) Related Science — 120 hours — Physiotherapy or cosmetricity (pertaining to electricity used in
cosmetology), Physiology and Histology Anatomy, Neurology, Myology and Osteology, etc.

(3) Hairdressing — 1000 hours — A course in cleaning hair, shampooing, haircutting, clipping, singeing,
dying, tinting, bleaching, scalp massage, brushing and combing, curling, permanent waving, and
reconditioning hair, wiggery, thermal pressing, iron curling, chemical relaxing, etc.

(4) Manicuring — 100 hours — A course in the construction, filing and shaping of the nails, loosening and
removing the dead cuticle and the art of hand, arm, foot and ankles massage, etc.

(5) Aesthetics — 100 hours — A course in the skin, various kinds of facial massage, cosmetics, application
of treatment products, the art of makeup, eyebrow shaping, eyebrow and eyelash dying, hair removal, etc.

(6) Salesmanship and Shop Management — 50 hours — Instruction in how to keep records, knowledge of
business law, cosmetology law, rules-and-regutations, booking appointments, retailing.; ete-

(7) Professional Ethics58-49 hours— Courtesy, neatness and professional attitude in meeting the public, etc.

\_[ (8) One (1) hour domestic violence and sexual assault training as set forth in A.C.A § 17-26-205(a),
etc[kk22].

(B) All schools for Schools of Cosmetology or Postsecondary Schools of Cosmetology shall provide a
minimum of five (5) hours each week in theoretical instruction of each student enrolled. This requirement
may be modified by pro-rating the hours when necessary depending upon the school of cosmetology or
postsecondary schools of cosmetology schedule provided the student is receiving quality theoretical instruction
to prepare him/her for examination.
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(C) The time of the classroom instruction class shall be registered with the Department.
(D) Students shall not be permitted to leave the classroom during theoretical instructions to work on clients.

(E) To qualify for the cosmetology examination, students must acquire a minimum of ene-hundred-eighty
{£806)one-hundred-fifty (150) hours in theoretical instruction.

(F) A student for a license as a cosmetologist, after one hundred fifty (150) hours of instruction, may engage,
in the school as a student, in work connected with any branch or any combination of the branches of
cosmetology taught in the school upon a client who is paying for services or materials.

(G)AII schools of cosmetology or post-secondary schools of cosmetology shall provide a minimum of ten (10)

services on a client or a mannequin per week, for each student enrolled who has acquired one-hundred-fifty
(150) hours of instruction. Students shall be assigned to clients on the basis of respective learning needs.

{+45)(8.15) Manicure Curriculum for Schools of Cosmetology or Postsecondary Schools of Cosmetology

(A) A total of six-hundred (600) hours in Manicure training shall consist of the following subjects and hours:
(1) Health, Sanitation and Infection Control (75 hours);

(2) Health Related Science (75 hours);
(3) Manicuring and Pedicuring (200 hours);
(4) Advance Nail Technology (200 hours);
(5) Career Development_ (56- 49 hours).

L (6) One (1) hour domestic violence and sexual assault training as set forth in A.C.A § 17-26-205(a),
etc[kK23].

(B) All schools of cosmetology or post-secondary schools of cosmetology shall provide a minimum of five (5)
hours each week in theoretical instruction of each student enrolled. This requirement may be modified by pro-
rating the hours when necessary depending upon the school schedule provided the student is receiving quality
theoretical instruction to prepare him/her for examination.

(C) The time of the classroom instruction class shall be registered with the Department.
(D) Students shall not be permitted to leave the classroom during theoretical instructions to work on clients.
(E) A student for a license as a manicurist, after sixty (60) hours of instruction, may engage, in the school as
a student, in work connected with manicuring taught in the school upon a client who is paying for service or

materials.

(F) To qualify for the manicure examination, students must acquire a minimum of 60 hours in theoretical
instruction.

(G) All schools of cosmetology or post-secondary schools of cosmetology shall provide a minimum of 10

services per week, for each student enrolled who has acquired 60 hours. Students shall be assigned to clients
on the basis of respective learning needs.

| {£26)(8.16) Aesthetic Curriculum for Schools of Cosmetology or Postsecondary Schools of Cosmetology

29



(A) A total of six-hundred (600) hours in the Aesthetician course shall consist of the following subjects and

nours: (1) Chemistry (40 hours);

(2) Physiology (35 hours);

(3) Bacteriology & Sanitation (35 hours);

(4) Introduction of Skin Care (45 hours);

(5) Skin Care (150 hours);

(6) Makeup and Corrective Makeup (50 hours);

(7) Eyebrow and Lashes (40 hours);

(8) Hair Removal (40 hours);

(9) Safety Precautions (20 hours);

(10) Professional & Personality Development (20 hours);

(11) Management (20 hours);

(12) Salesmanship (15 hours);

(13) State Laws and Rules and-Regutations-(10 hours);

(14) Testing Evaluation (15 hours);

(15) Instructor’s Discretion (65-64hours).

(16) One (1) hour domestic violence and sexual assault training as set forth in A.C.A § 17-26-

205(a), etc.

(B) All schools of cosmetology or post-secondary schools of cosmetology shall provide a minimum of five (5)
hours each week in theoretical instruction of each student enrolled. This requirement may be modified by pro-
rating the hours when necessary depending upon the school schedule provided the student is receiving quality
theoretical instruction to prepare him/her for examination.

(C) The time of the classroom instruction class shall be registered with the Department.
(D) Students shall not be permitted to leave the classroom during theoretical instructions to work on clients.

(E) A student for a license as an aesthetician, after sixty (60) hours of instruction, may engage, in the school
as a student, in work connected with aesthetics taught in the school upon a client who paying for service or
materials.

(F) To qualify for the cosmetology examination, students must acquire a minimum of 60 hours of theoretical
instruction.

(G) All schools of cosmetology or post-secondary schools of cosmetology shall provide a minimum of ten
(10) services per week, for each student enrolled who has acquired sixty (60) hours. Students shall be assigned
to clients on the basis of respective learning needs.

30



17)(8.17) Electrology for Schools of Cosmetology or Postsecondary Schools of Cosmetology

(A) Requirements: Any cosmetology school of cosmetology or post-secondary school of cosmetology in the
State of Arkansas qualified and approved to teach cosmetology by the Department may teach Electrolysis in
epilation, provided they:

(1) Show proof of a qualified electrolysis instructor who shall be licensed by the Board.
(2) Meet the minimum requirements in equipment necessary to teach Electrolysis in epilation.

(B) Training Course: A course of three-hundred-fifty (350) hours as a student in conjunction with a regular
course in cosmetology and its related occupations or for licensed beauty operator, or a course of six-hundred
(600) hours as a student when not in conjunction with a regular course in cosmetology and its related
occupations or a licensed beauty operator, shall be required as a prerequisite to qualify for examination in
electrology. The training shall include practical training and technical instruction. The school of cosmetology
or post-secondary school of cosmetology shall establish grades and hold examinations before issuing diplomas
in Electrology Training.

(C) Electrology Curriculum for Schools of Cosmetology or Postsecondary Schools of Cosmetology:

Subject Cosmetologist Unlicensed
AR Law pertaining to Electrology 10 hours 20 hours
Sterilization, Sanitation, Bacteriology 25 hours 50 hours
Study of Hair 20 hours 40 hours
Study of Skin 25 hours 50 hours
Disorders of Skin and Hair 20 hours 40 hours
Electricity 25 hours 50 hours
Electrology 150 hours 200 hours
Neurology and Angiology 20 hours 40 hours
Development of Practice 15 hours 30 hours
Instructor’s Discretion- 40-39hours 80-79hours
Domestic violence and sexual assault training

as set forth in A.C.A 8 17-26-205(a) , etc.- 1 hour 1 hour

(D) All schools of cosmetology or post-secondary schools of cosmetology shall provide a minimum of five (5)
hours each week in theoretical instruction of each student enrolled. This requirement may be modified by pro-
rating the hours when necessary depending upon the school schedule provided the student is receiving quality
theoretical instruction to prepare him/her for examination.

(E) The time of the classroom instruction class shall be registered with the Department.

(F) Students shall not be permitted to leave the classroom during theoretical instructions to work on clients.

(G) A student for a license as an electrologist, after sixty (60) hours of instruction, may engage, in the school
as a student, in work connected with electrology taught in the school upon a client who is paying for service

or materials.

(H) To qualify for the cosmetology examination, students must acquire a minimum of sixty (60) hours in
theoretical instruction.
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(1) all schools of cosmetology or post-secondary schools of cosmetology shall provide a minimum of ten (10)
services per week, for each student enrolled who has acquired sixty (60) hours. Students shall be assigned to
clients on the basis of respective learning needs.

{48} (8.18)-Facility Use for Non-Accredited Courses

Schools of cosmetology and postsecondary schools of cosmetology will be permitted to utilize the school facilities
for non-accredited courses, after regular school hours, provided said school owner disseminates literature that the
said course(s) is not approved by the Department. All literature (i.e., forms of media advertisements, pamphlets,
etc.), must have prior approval by the Department before communication.

19)-(8.19)Discretionary Off-Campus Student Hours for Schools of Cosmetology or Postsecondary Schools
of Cosmetology

Students may receive credit towards their chosen course of study through discretionary off-campus hours. These
hours may be obtained by attending educational events relevant to the student’s course of study. Credit can only
be given for actual time in attendance. Credit shall not be granted for travel time. Students must at all times be
accompanied by a licensed instructor and the instructor/student ratio must at all times meet the standards outlined
below in section Instructors who accompany students during these activities must keep written record of students’
attendance through a sign-in/sign-out sheet.
Schools of cosmetology and postsecondary schools of cosmetology shall maintain a record of all off-campus events
that students participate in for review upon request by a representative by the Department. The record shall include
the following information for each event:

(A) Name and location of the educational event;

(B) Date of the educational event;

(C) List of each instructor in attendance;

(D) Sign-in/sign-out sheet;

(E) List of each student in attendance;

(F) Number of hours earned by each student.

#-20)-(8.20) Instructor/Enrolled Student Ratio

(A) Instructors shall not be permitted to perform cosmetology services for students; however, the Instructor
will be permitted to assist the student when needed in the clinical area.

(B) Every person employed in a school of cosmetology or postsecondary school of cosmetology to instruct
students therein shall be currently licensed by the Board. Instructor/enrolled student ratio shall be as follows:

STUDENT INSTRUCTOR
1-25 1
26-50 2
51-75 3

(C) Alll schools of cosmetology and postsecondary schools of cosmetology shall have an additional Instructor
subject to call at all times in the event the regular Instructor is ill or absent from the school.

(D) Instructors shall be permitted to tutor students after school hours providing services are not performed on
the public during tutoring sessions and students are not given credit for hours spent in the tutoring capacity.
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#214)-(8.21)Responsibility of School of Cosmetology or Post-Secondary School of Cosmetology
(A) Training Requirements

(1) Actual experience time is defined as classroom instruction or clinical work or experience under
superV|S|on of a Ilcensed instructor. %@nded—b#eakﬂme—shmﬂd—be—ena—seheda#ed—ba&s—weh%ne#
ime: The only creditable

time permltted When the clinic faC|I|ty is closed will be classroom instruction.

(2) All schools of cosmetology or post-secondary schools of cosmetology shall provide each student
enrolled the opportunity to acquire the entire course of training uninterrupted by unscheduled vacations
or for any reason that may cause a delay in the completion of such course. The school shall certify the
training in accordance with the required curriculum for examination and license. This provision does not
prohibit a school from suspending a student for disciplinary reasons. Grounds for suspension shall be
determined by the owner. Only students who have been placed on probation, as a result of a previous
infraction of the school rules and-regulatiens-or policies, may be suspended from school. Duration of a
suspension shall be set forth in the school catalog.

(3) (a)Certification of hours must be filed with the Department within thirty-(30)- forty-five (45) calendar
]days\[KK24] immediately following termination of student_(last day of attendance). Hours of instruction
having been acquired by the student may not be deducted or increased for any reason. Increase or
decrease of creditable hours is prohibited. If a Certificate of training is not received within the forty-five
(45) days, the student will be dropped by the Department and all hours will be certified.

b) No school of cosmetology or post-secondary school of cosmetology owner or instructor shall ever
refuse to submit a Certificate of Training form for a student, as well as a Balance Due on Tuition form,
if applicable, pursuant to Rule 78.21 |AJKK25].

(4) Certification of hour’s forms should be completed by the designated school official, along with the
student training permit and paid-in-full contract. Only the hours that have been accrued during the current
enrollment shall be certified. In the event a student has not paid for all of the accumulated hours a notation
shall be made at the bottom of the certification form stating the number of uncertified hours. Uncertified
hours will not be released until a new certification form is submitted. Certification of Hours Forms may
be obtained from the Department upon request and are available for downloading on the Department’s

website at wwahealthyarkansas-com- healthy.arkansas.gov

(5) Required textbooks: The Department must approve textbooks. Textbooks must adequately cover the
prescribed curricula and prepare students for State testing. Textbook material must be completed before
fifteen-hundred (1500) hours are completed. Other textbooks and reference material may be used to
enhance the cosmetology course.

(B) Monthly Reports for Schools of Cosmetology or Postsecondary Schools of Cosmetology

(1) All schools of cosmetology or post-secondary schools of cosmetology are required to_report monthly
hours to the Cosmetology Section database, by the last day of each month_for; all students currently
enrolled in the school during the prior month. The monthly report shall reflect the number ~ of  hours
acquired in the school during the prior month and the accumulated hours during the current enroliment.

(2) The Cosmetology Section will notify the school of cosmetology or post-secondary school of
cosmetology when an error has been made on the monthly report. Upon receipt of this notification the
school owner or instructor is required to check their records and appraise the Cosmetology Section office
of the corrections made within the week.
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(3) All schools of cosmetology or post-secondary schools of cosmetology have thirty (30) calendar days
from the submission date of the monthly report to report any errors in the hours submitted on the monthly
report. Copies of the time cards and/or supporting documentation related to the error shall support
corrections.

(4) No changes to student hours will be made after the thirty (30) day timeframe without good cause.

(C) Daily Records and-laspeetion-for Schools of Cosmetology or Postsecondary Schools of Cosmetology

(1) Every school of cosmetology or post-secondary school of cosmetology shall keep a daily record
of attendance on each student enrolled. A time clock shall be used for the purpose of recording
hours.

(2) Every school of cosmetology or post-secondary school of cosmetology shall keep a daily record
of the student’s activity. The time the student has acquired in the various phases of cosmetology
or its related branches shall be recorded on this record.

(3) The school of cosmetology or post-secondary school of cosmetology shall establish a grading
system and hold examinations before issuing diplomas.

(4) All necessary basic subjects, in accordance with the Department’s curriculum shall be
taught in the proper sequence and depth to prepare each student both for the licensing examination
and for successful entry level work in the profession.

(5) A course outline and daily lesson plans shall be used by the school of Cosmetology or
Postsecondary School of Cosmetology. A course outline shall be provided to students so they will
be apprised of the upcoming activities.

(D) Tuition and Fees for Schools of Cosmetology or Postsecondary Schools of Cosmetology

(1) Every school of cosmetology or post-secondary school of cosmetology shall fix its tuition at
such an amount as will enable it to furnish without further charge to the student all supplies used
on the public or on mannequins. Each student shall have access to a complete kit of tools, textbook
and copies of the instructional materials used prior to the beginning of the course in which those
materials are needed.

(2) The student shall not be permitted to remove the kit from the school of cosmetology or post-
secondary school of cosmetology until such time the student has completed his/her training or
withdraws from school of cosmetology or post-secondary school of cosmetology provided the
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student has purchased the kit from the school of cosmetology or post-secondary school of
cosmetology.

(E) School Catalog for Schools of Cosmetology or Postsecondary Schools of Cosmetology

(1) Every school of cosmetology or post-secondary school of cosmetology shall set forth basic
information about itself in a catalog which is kept up to date and made available to prospective
students and the Department.

(2) The catalog must include the following items as a minimum: name and address of school of
cosmetology or post-secondary school of cosmetology; date of publication; when the school of
cosmetology or post-secondary school of cosmetology was established; admission requirements;
educational objectives of each program; length of course and course description; grading system;
graduation requirements; type of document received upon graduation; refund policy; name(s) of
owners and scholarship and fee waiver policies.

(3) Either the catalog or a dated supplement to the catalog must include: total tuition for the
course; books and supplies; registration fee or enrollment fee; charges for extra instruction; all
other costs assessed to students; details, conditions, and methods of payment of monies owed to
the school of cosmetology or post-secondary school of cosmetology; school of cosmetology or
post-secondary school of cosmetology policies, rules-and-regutations; disciplinary action for
failure to abide by policies or rules-and-regutations; and name of administrative staff and faculty of
the school of cosmetology or post-secondary school of cosmetology.

(4) Practical Examination fee for licensure shall be set by the School and shall not exceed $65.00.

(F) School of Cosmetology or Post-Secondary School of Cosmetology Rules and-Regulations
/Catalog

(1) Prior to adoption, amendment, or repeal of any rule er+egulatien-or catalog, the school of
cosmetology or post-secondary school of cosmetology shall give notice of its intended action to the
students enrolled in school of cosmetology or post-secondary school of cosmetology. The notice
shall include the following:

(a) The effective date;

(b) Whether the regulationrule(s) is new, repeals, or changes an existing rule;

(c) What the regulationrule(s) is.

(2) After the students are given notice in the proper form all students enrolled in said school of
cosmetology or post-secondary school of cosmetology will be required to sign a document stating
that they have been apprised of the intended action.

(3) After the regulationrule(s) has been adopted by the school of cosmetology or post-secondary
school of cosmetology a supplement which contains the revisions shall be attached to all catalogs that
the school of cosmetology or post-secondary school of cosmetology has on hand.

(G) School of Cosmetology or Post-Secondary School of Cosmetology Contracts

School of cosmetology or post-secondary school of cosmetology owners who require contracts as a prerequisite for
enrollment will be required to file one (1) copy of the contract with the Department and provide a copy to the
student. The contract must clearly outline the obligation of both the school of cosmetology or post-secondary school
of cosmetology and the student in accordance with the terms and conditions stipulated in the school catalog. All
contracts must contain the following:
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(1) The name and address of the school of cosmetology or post-secondary school of cosmetology.

(2) The name and address of the applicant.

(3) Course of Training — Total hours of instruction.

(4) School Term- Stipulate full or part-time. Must state the number of hours each day and days per week.

(5) Schedule of Payments — State tuition and whether the tuition includes the cost of the kit and book.
If the kit and book are not included in the tuition said items must be itemized. The down payment,
balance of the contract and the monthly payments must be stated.

(6) The school of cosmetology or post-secondary school of cosmetology refund policy must be stated.

(7) Acknowledgement that the student received a copy of the school of cosmetology or post-secondary
school of cosmetology rules and-regulations-and catalog.

(8) Contracts of under aged student shall be signed by a parent or guardian. Parent or guardian signature
is required for students under eighteen (18) years of age.

(9) All school of cosmetology or postsecondary school of cosmetology contracts must be fully
executed.

RULE NO. 89

INSTRUCTOR TRAINING FOR SCHOOLS OF COSMETOLOGY OR POSTSECONDARY SCHOOLS
OF COSMETOLOGY AND RENEWAL REQUIREMENTS

8-5-(9.1) Requirements for Schools of Cosmetology or Postsecondary Schools of Cosmetology

{B}(A) The instructor training curriculum is designed as a course to extend over a period of not less than four
(4) months and not less than six-hundred (600) hours of training.

{S-(B)An instructor-trainee shall:
(1) Be licensed as a cosmetologist, manicurist, aesthetician or electrologist in the State of Arkansas,

(2) Be registered as an instructor-trainee with the Department,

(3) Be under the supervision of a licensed instructor at all times,

36



(4) Not be authorized to verify student daily slips,
(5) Be given a written examination after completion of each subject by the licensed Instructor.

£8-2) (9.2) Instructor Curriculum for Schools of Cosmetology or Postsecondary Schools of Cosmetology

SUBJECTS MINIMUM HOURS
(A) Required preparatory training 50
Teaching of theory and practical operation.

Selecting subject matter for class lecture.
Preparing class lectures.

Conducting a review of all subjects taught.
Preparing and grading examinations.
Demonstrating practical operations.
Teaching practical operations.

(B) Class attendance 100
Classes are to be conducted by a licensed instructor to prepare instructor-trainee
to properly lecture and demonstrate on all subjects of cosmetology.

(C) Conducting Theory Classes in Cosmetology, Aesthetics, Manicuring or Electrology 50
Theory classes will be conducted under the supervision of a licensed instructor.

(D) Conducting Practical Classes in Cosmetology, Aesthetics, Manicuring or Electrology 300

(E) Method of Keeping Student Records 10

(F) Instructor’s Discretion- —9089
Training in subjects in which the individual instructor-trainee may be deficient,

or to the practice of Cosmetology

(G) Domestic violence and sexual assault training as set forth in A.C.A § 17-26-205(a), etc. 1
600

A licensed instructor will be present in and supervise all classes conducted by an instructor-trainee.

£8-3)-(9.3) Instructor/Instructor-Trainee Ratio for Schools of Cosmetology or Postsecondary Schools of
Cosmetology

School of cosmetology or postsecondary school of cosmetology owners may enroll a maximum of three (3)
instructor-trainees for each authorized instructor teaching in the school of cosmetology or postsecondary
school of cosmetology on a full-time basis. Instructor/instructor-trainee ratio is as follows:

(A) 1 Instructor/1Trainee — who has acquired between 100 and 200 hours;

(B) 1 Instructor/2 Trainees — provided 1 trainee has acquired between 100 and 200 hours and 1 trainee
has between 200 and 400 hours;

(C) 1 Instructor/3 Trainees — provided 1 trainee has acquired between 100 and 200 hours, 1 trainee has
acquired between 200 and 400 hours and 1 trainee has between 400 and 600 hours.

The instructor-trainee(s) shall be under the supervision of a full-time licensed instructor at all times.
Instructor-trainee(s) may attend on a part-time basis provided the curriculum is observed.
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(9.4) Renewal |Requirements[kk29]

(A) For biannual renewal Instructors shall not be required to renew the specialty license in which they were
originally licensed however shall only be allowed to instruct in the specialty area of original licensure.
Should an instructor wish to retain their specialty license they may renew it also.

(B) Continuing Education Requirements

(1) Any person holding an Arkansas Instructor License shall complete eight (8) hours of continuing
education in an Instructor Training Seminar or Continuing Education Course. Compliance with the
requirement of continuing education is a prerequisite for license renewal.

(2) Reinstatement of a license that has expired as a result of failure to timely renew may be accomplished
upon meeting the following conditions:
a. Payment of all past due renewal fees;
b. Payment of the late renewal fee; and
-c. Compliance with continuing education requirements for each license renewal period.

(3) Out-of-State Program: Hours earned at an out-of-state continuing education program will be accepted
provided said program is certified by the Cosmetology Board in that State or by a nationally recognized
provider and is designated as an “Instructor Training Seminar”. To receive credit for hours earned out
of state, the Instructor must submit a signed certificate of completion from the out-of-state provider.

(4) Those persons newly licensed shall not be required to complete continuing education as a prerequisite
for license renewal the first renewal period following the date of licensure.

(5) Program Sponsor:

(a) Any program, seminar, or workshop must be sponsored by a bona fide association/organization
that is committed to the advancement of the Cosmetology Profession. “Bona fide” as used herein
means state and/or national association/organization chartered with bylaws.

(b) Community College or University.

(6) Program requirements: All advanced-teaching education must be generic in nature.

(A) 1) Eight (8) hours, or a minimum of four (4) of the required eight (8) hours, shall be related to
advanced teaching methods or technigues. Examples include: curriculum development, lesson
plan preparation, human resource management, etc.

2) Credit accrues at one (1) contact hour for each hour of actual contact.

(B) Courses offered at the Community College or University Level, which contribute directly to the
professional competency of the licensee. Examples include semester hours in Psychology,
Sociology, Methods of Teaching, Business Law, etc.

(C) Program Educators: Approved programs must be conducted by individuals who have special education,
training and experience or by other persons who by reason of special education, training and experience said
individuals would be considered experts concerning the subject matter of the program.

(D) Violations: Any licensee found falsifying continuing education attendance will be subject to disciplinary
action by the Committee.
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| RULE NO. 910

LICENSE REVOCATION

A person whose license has been revoked may, after the expiration of one (1) year from the date of such revocation or
the final disposition of any appeal, apply for new license in the manner provided for in the original application, and the
Board may, in its discretion, exempt the applicant from examination and grant a new license upon payment of proper
fee.

| RULE NO. 1011
COMPLAINT POLICY

| (A) Complaints against a person, establishment,__mobile salon, school of cosmetology or
postsecondary school of cosmetology.

(1) Any person may file a complaint against any of the following: a person, establishment, mobile
salon, school of cosmetology or postsecondary school of cosmetology licensed by the Board on any
of the grounds for disciplinary action provided in § 17-26-105 of the Cosmetology Act.

(2) Official complaints must be made in writing within ninety (90) days from the date of infraction.
In the event of a complaint from a student concerning the hours accrued or issues relevant to the
completion of the course the student may submit a complaint against the school of cosmetology or
postsecondary school of cosmetology within ninety (90) days after the Certificate of Training form
is submitted to the Department by the school.

(3) Complaints against a Board licensee will be provided a hearing by the Cosmetology Technical
Advisory Committee. The Cosmetology Technical Advisory Committee will hold hearings
bimonthly. Appeals of Committee findings may be heard by the State Board of Health.

(4) Any disciplinary action taken under § 17-26-105 (10) of the Cosmetology Act may be waived
as authorized by Ark. Code Ann. § 17-3-102 in certain circumstances.

(5) (2) Pursuant to Act 990 of 2019, an individual may petition for a pre-licensure determination of
whether the individual’s criminal record will disqualify the individual from licensure and whether a
waiver may be obtained.

(b) The individual must obtain the pre-licensure criminal background check petition form from the
Department.

(c)The Department will respond with a decision in writing to a completed petition within a reasonable
time.

(d) The Department’s response will state the reason(s) for the decision.

(e)All decisions of the Department in response to the petition will be determined by the information
provided by the individual.

(f) Any decision made by the Department in response to a pre-licensure criminal background check
petition is not subject to appeal.

(q) The Department will retain a copy of the petition and response and it will be reviewed during the
formal application process.

| RULE NO. 112
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EQUIPMENT AND CHEMICAL USE IN COSMETOLOGY AND ITS RELATED BRANCHES

(A) Equipment
(1) With the exception of piercing as set forth in sub part three (3) below, Cosmetologists and
aestheticians may not use any device, tool, machine, or combination of the same, which results in the
removal; or destruction, incisien;-er-piereing-of a client’s skin beyond the epidermis.

(2) Devices used by cosmetologists and aestheticians must:

(a) Follow all FDA, OSHA, and state safety requirements and manufactures instructions;

(eb) Must not be classified by the FDA as a Class 3, 3a, or 3b device, or a laser class 3 or 4.

(3) Piercing activity of cosmetologists and aestheticians shall be limited to piercing the lobe of the ear using
an ear piercing gun.

(B) Chemical
(1) A licensed cosmetologist and aesthetician may use the following chemical exfoliation substances:

(2) No more than 50% alpha hydroxyl acid (AHAs which includes, but is not limited to,
glycolic, tartaric, malic or lactic acids. Such AHAs shall not be lower than a pH of 2);

(b) No more than 20% beta hydroxyl acid (BHAs which include salicylic acid);
(c) No more than 20%Trichloroacetic Acid (TCA)
(d) Jessner’s solutions;
(e) Proteolytic enzymes (such as papain and bromelain) when used with an accelerator; and
(f) Non-medical grade Retinoid.
(2) No person performing any type of cosmetology services is permitted to use the following:
(a) Medical grade or prescription Retinoid;
(b) Carbolic acid (phenol);
(c) Products listed above that exceed the stated maximum levels or combinations thereof;
(d) All adulterated chemical exfoliating/peeling substances.
(C) Equipment and chemical exfoliation substance services shall only be administered in an establishment,
mobile salon or school of cosmetology or postsecondary school of cosmetology licensed by the Board and
shall only be performed by a licensed practitioner that follows the appropriate health and safety guidelines and
the manufacturer’s instructions.
(D) Client Consultation:
(1) Cosmetologists and aestheticians shall take a client history and perform a skin analysis prior to

providing any treatment or service to ensure there are no contraindications.
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(2) All cosmetology establishments or mobile salons that collect private medical information as

part of the client history shall have procedures in place to protect the confidentiality of the client’s
private medical information.

(E) Cosmetologist and manicurist shall not use Liquid Methyl Methacrylate (MMA) Monomer.

(F) Performing services prohibited under this section shall be grounds for disciplinary action by the
Cosmetology Technical Advisory Committee.

CERTIFICATION

This will certify that the Rules and-Regulations-for Cosmetology in Arkansas were adopted by the State Board of
Health of Arkansas at a regular session of said Board held in Little Rock, Arkansas onthe _ day of -
2019.

Nathaniel Smith, MD, MPH
Secretary of Board of Health
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Stricken language would be deleted from and underlined language would be added to present law.
Act 488 of the Regular Session

State of Arkansas

91st General Assembly A Blll

Regular Session, 2017 HOUSE BILL 1720

By: Representative C. Fite

For An Act To Be Entitled
AN ACT TO REQUIRE COSMETOLOGY STUDENTS TO HAVE
TRAINING IN DOMESTIC VIOLENCE AND SEXUAL ASSAULT
AWARENESS; AND FOR OTHER PURPOSES.

Subtitle
TO REQUIRE COSMETOLOGY STUDENTS TO HAVE
TRAINING IN DOMESTIC VIOLENCE AND SEXUAL
ASSAULT AWARENESS.

BE IT ENACTED BY THE GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF THE STATE OF ARKANSAS:

SECTION 1. Arkansas Code § 17-26-205(a), concerning powers and duties
of the Cosmetology Technical Advisory Committee of the Department of Health,
is amended to add an additional subdivision to read as follows:

(6) Develop rules to establish and implement the domestic

violence and sexual assault awareness training required under § 17-26-419.

SECTION 2. Arkansas Code Title 17, Chapter 26, Subchapter 4, is
amended to add an additional section to read as follows:

17-26-419. Domestic violence and sexual assault awareness training.

(a) A cosmetological school or establishment under this subchapter

shall establish a domestic violence and sexual assault awareness training

course.

(b) (1) A student enrolled in a cosmetological school or establishment

shall complete a one-hour course in domestic violence and sexual assault

awareness training as a part of his or her required training hours under §

17-26-304 in order to be eligible for an examination.
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HB1720

(2) A student under this chapter who is trained in domestic

violence and sexual assault awareness shall not be civilly or criminally

liable for acting in good faith or failing to act on information obtained

during the course of employment concerning potential domestic violence or

sexual assault.

(c)(1) The training course under this section shall be approved by the

Department of Health and provided by an instructor, school, institution, or

other organization approved by the department.

(2) The department shall establish by rule a means for the

verification of completion of the training course by the student.

APPROVED: 03/15/2017

2 02-28-2017 08:17:39 SRC159
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Stricken language would be deleted from and underlined language would be added to present law.
Act 972 of the Regular Session

State of Arkansas

91st General Assembly A Blll

Regular Session, 2017 SENATE BILL 351

By: Senator B. Sample

For An Act To Be Entitled
AN ACT TO AMEND THE LAWS REGARDING COSMETOLOGY
INSTRUCTOR TRAINING; AND FOR OTHER PURPOSES.

Subtitle
TO AMEND THE LAWS REGARDING COSMETOLOGY
INSTRUCTOR TRAINING.

BE IT ENACTED BY THE GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF THE STATE OF ARKANSAS:

SECTION 1. Arkansas Code § 17-26-304, concerning the prerequisites to
examination for a cosmetologist, manicurist, or aesthetician, is amended to
read as follows:

17-26-304. Prerequisites to examination for & cosmetologist,

manicurist, ex aesthetician, or instructor.

The Department of Health shall admit to examination for a license as a

cosmetologist, manicurist, e¥ aesthetician, or instructor a person who has

made application to the department in proper form, has paid the fee required,
and who:
(1) Is not less than sixteen (16) years of age;
(2) Has completed two (2) years of high school in the public
schools of this state or its equivalent; and
(3) Has completed one (1) of the following:
(A) For a cosmetologist, training of at least one thousand
two hundred (1,200) hours;
(B) For a manicurist, training of at least four hundred
eighty (480) hours;

(C) For an aesthetician, training of at least four hundred

HINFEAER T
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eighty (480) hours; er

(D) For an instructor, training of at least four hundred

eighty (480) hours; or

(E) The prescribed course of study in cosmetology under
the laws of another state whose licensing requirements are equal to or

stricter than those in Arkansas.

SECTION 2. Arkansas Code § 17-26-410 is amended to read as follows:

17-26-410. Instructor qualifications.

(a) Eaeh A person employed in a school to instruct students in the
school shall be a licensed cosmetologist, aesthetician, manicurist, or
electrologist who:

(1) 1Is twenty-one (21) years of age or older and has had six
hundred (600) hours of teacher training in a school of cosmetology over a
period of not less than four (4) months; and

(2) Has passed an instructor’s examination given by the
Department of Health and has received an instructor’s license; and

(3) Has received not less than eight (8) hours of additional

training in an instructor’s training seminar or continuing education course

certified by the department.

(b) A licensed instructor shall not teach outside the profession in
which the license to practice allows.
(c) A cosmetology school shall offer an education in cosmetology

regardless of whether the curriculum includes a specialty course.

APPROVED: 04/07/2017

2 02-14-2017 10:08:34 JMB280
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Stricken language would be deleted from and underlined language would be added to present law.
Act 973 of the Regular Session

State of Arkansas As Engrossed: S3/9/17
91st General Assembly B 111
Regular Session, 2017 SENATE BILL 606

By: Senator B. Sample

For An Act To Be Entitled
AN ACT TO AMEND THE LAW CONCERNING THE PROFESSION OF
COSMETOLOGY; TO AMEND THE LAW CONCERNING SCHOOLS OF
COSMETOLOGY; TO AMEND THE LAW CONCERNING THE
REQUIREMENTS FOR COSMETOLOGY LICENSING; AND FOR OTHER
PURPOSES.

Subtitle
TO AMEND THE LAW CONCERNING THE
PROFESSION OF COSMETOLOGY; TO AMEND THE
LAW CONCERNING SCHOOLS OF COSMETOLOGY;
AND TO AMEND THE LAW CONCERNING THE
REQUIREMENTS FOR COSMETOLOGY LICENSING.

BE IT ENACTED BY THE GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF THE STATE OF ARKANSAS:

SECTION 1. Arkansas Code § 17-26-206 is amended to read as follows:

17-26-206. Meetings — Examinations.

A school of cosmetology shall administer the practical licensing

examination approved by the Department of Health for eligible candidates.

SECTION 2. Arkansas Code § 17-26-302 is amended to read as follows:

DL
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As Engrossed: S3/9/17 SB606

17-26-302. Application for examination and license.

(a) FEach application for admission toexamination and each application

written examination shall be accompanied by the required fee, and shall

contain proof of the qualifications of the applicant for registration and

licensing.

e)(b) The application shall be verified by the oath of the applicant.

SECTION 3. Arkansas Code § 17-26-410(a), concerning instructor
qualifications, is amended to read as follows:
(a)(1)(A) FEach person employed in a school to instruct students in the

school shall be a licensed eesmetoleogistyaesthetieian, manicuristy or
eleetrologist—who as _an instructor in the field in which he or she

specializesz.

(B) A licensed instructor in good standing is not required

to renew his or her specialty license.

(2) A licensed instructor shall:

> (4A) Is Be twenty-one (21) years of age or older and has had

six hundred (600) hours of teacher training in a school of cosmetology ever—a
period-eof not—Jlessthan four (4)months; and
2)(B) Haspassed Pass an instructor’s written examination given

by the Department of Health, a practical examination administered by the

school, and kas have received an Instructor’s license.

SECTION 4. Arkansas Code § 17-26-414(a), concerning special programs,
is amended to read as follows:
(a) Instruction shall not exceed eight—(8) ten (10) hours per day and

six (6) days per week during the program.

/s/B. Sample

APPROVED: 04/07/2017

2 03-03-2017 13:49:18 SRC327
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Stricken language would be deleted from and underlined language would be added to present law.
Act 1081 of the Regular Session

State of Arkansas As Engrossed: H3/16/17
91st General Assembly Bl
Regular Session, 2017 HOUSE BILL 1714

By: Representative Petty

For An Act To Be Entitled
AN ACT TO PERMIT THE OPERATION OF MOBILE SALONS; TO
CREATE A LICENSING PROCEDURE CONCERNING MOBILE
SALONS; AND FOR OTHER PURPOSES.

Subtitle
ACT TO PERMIT THE OPERATION OF MOBILE
SALONS; AND TO CREATE A LICENSING
PROCEDURE CONCERNING MOBILE SALONS.

BE IT ENACTED BY THE GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF THE STATE OF ARKANSAS:

SECTION 1. Arkansas Code § 17-26-102(a)(2), concerning definitions, is
amended to read as follows:
(2) “Cosmetological establishment” means any premises a premise,

building, e part of a building, or mobile salon in which is practiced amy a

branch or any a combination of branches of cosmetology or the occupation of a
cosmetologist except:

(A) The branch of manicuring as practiced in barbershops
licensed by the Cosmetology Technical Advisory Committee and complying with
the provisions of this chapter; and

(B) Nursing facilities as defined under § 20-10-1401;

SECTION 2. Arkansas Code § 17-26-102(a), concerning definitions, is
amended to add a new subdivision to read as follows:

(10) "Mobile salon" means a self-contained, self-supporting,

enclosed unit that:

(A) TIs at least twenty-four-feet (24’) in length;

AN
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As Engrossed: H3/16/17 HB1714

(B) May be transported from one location to another;

(C) Has a base location at the home, salon, or office of

the owner of the mobile salonj

(D) 1Is licensed as a cosmetological establishment for the

practice of a branch or a combination of branches of cosmetology or the

occupation of a cosmetologist licensed by the department; and

(E) Complies with rules established by the department;

SECTION 3. Arkansas Code § 17-26-316(a)(l), concerning display of
license, is amended to read as follows:
(1) Display the his or her license in a conspicuous place in his
or her principal office, place of business, or place of employment, or mobile

salon; or

SECTION 4. Arkansas Code § 17-26-317 is amended to read as follows:
17-26-317. Notice of address change.

(a)(l) Every registered cosmetologist manager-operator, cosmetologist,

electrologist, manicurist, or aesthetician, unless operating a mobile salon

as defined under § 17-26-102, within thirty (30) days after changing the

address of his or her place of business as designated on the books of the

Department of Health, shall notify the department of his or her new place of

business. Upon—receiptof the notifiecation, the department shall make the

(2) Upon receipt of the notification, the department shall make

the necessary changes on its books

(b) A person licensed by the department to operate a mobile salon

shall notify the department of the address where the mobile salon usually

remains.

SECTION 5. Arkansas Code Title 17, Chapter 26, Subchapter 4, is
amended to add an additional section to read as follows:

17-26-419. Mobile salons.

(a)(1l) Beginning September 1, 2017, the Department of Health may issue

a license for the operation of a mobile salon to an applicant who submits an

application on a form approved by the Cosmetology Technical Advisory

Committee, pays required fees as determined by the department with the advice

2 02-07-2017 16:22:11 SRCO04
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As Engrossed: H3/16/17 HB1714

of the committee, and is in compliance with the this chapter.

(2) Requirements that apply to a cosmetological establishment

under this chapter shall apply to mobile salons, except to the extent that

the requirements conflict with rules adopted by the department under

subdivision (b) (1) of this section.

(b)(1) By September 1, 2017, the department shall adopt rules to

implement this section.

(2) The rules as described in subdivision (b)(1l) of this section

shall include the establishment of minimum specifications for the facilities,

technical equipment, environment, supplies, personnel, operation, ownership,

and procedures for mobile salons.

/s/Petty

APPROVED: 04/07/2017

3 02-07-2017 16:22:11 SRCO04
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Stricken language would be deleted from and underlined language would be added to present law.
Act 426 of the Regular Session

State of Arkansas As Engrossed: H2/13/19
92nd General Assembly B 1
Regular Session, 2019 HOUSE BILL 1301

By: Representative Cozart

For An Act To Be Entitled
AN ACT TO CREATE THE RED TAPE REDUCTION EXPEDITED
TEMPORARY AND PROVISIONAL LICENSURE ACT; TO AUTHORIZE
OCCUPATIONAL LICENSING ENTITIES TO GRANT EXPEDITED
TEMPORARY AND PROVISIONAL LICENSING FOR CERTAIN
INDIVIDUALS; AND FOR OTHER PURPOSES.

Subtitle
TO CREATE THE RED TAPE REDUCTION
EXPEDITED TEMPORARY AND PROVISIONAL
LICENSURE ACT; TO AUTHORIZE OCCUPATIONAL
LICENSING ENTITIES TO GRANT EXPEDITED
TEMPORARY AND PROVISIONAL LICENSING FOR
CERTAIN INDIVIDUALS.

BE IT ENACTED BY THE GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF THE STATE OF ARKANSAS:

SECTION 1. DO NOT CODIFY. Title.

This act shall be known and may be cited as the "Red Tape Reduction

Expedited Temporary and Provisional Licensure Act."

SECTION 2. DO NOT CODIFY. Legislative findings and intent.

(a) The General Assembly finds that:

(1) Arkansas is taking a leading role in the nationwide pursuit

of reforms to the system of occupational licensing;

(2) Arkansas became one (1) of eleven (ll) states chosen to

participate in the Occupational Licensing Policy Learning Consortium, an

initiative funded by a grant from the United States Department of Labor and

NINEERUA -
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As Engrossed: H2/13/19 HB1301

supported in partnership with the National Conference of State Legislatures,

the Council of State Governments, and the National Governors Association;

(3) Governor Asa Hutchinson appointed seventeen (17) individuals

to the Red Tape Reduction Working Group to review and address occupational

licensing regulations that create unnecessary barriers to labor market entry;

and

(4) The Red Tape Reduction Working Group issued a final report

to the Governor in the fall of 2018 with five (5) recommendations for

substantive legislative reform, which are to:

(A) Establish an expedited procedure for occupational

licensing entities to collectively submit administrative rules that are

responsive to new legislation;

(B) Extend Acts 2017, No. 781, to allow repeal of

subsections of rules;

(C) Establish provisions to allow certain agencies to

consider occupational relevance with regard to criminal background issues;

(D) Authorize occupational licensing entities to identify

types of individuals or entities that may be issued temporary or provisional

licenses; and

(E) Establish a systematic process for review of:

(i) New occupational licensure and occupational

licensing entities; and

(ii) Existing occupational licensure and

occupational licensing entities.

(b) It is the intent of the General Assembly to authorize occupational

licensing entities to identify types of individuals or entities that may be

issued temporary or provisional licenses.

SECTION 3. Arkansas Code Title 17, Chapter 1, Subchapter 1, is amended
to add an additional section to read as follows:

17-1-108. Expedited temporary and provisional licensure.

(a) As used in this section:

(1) "Individual" means a natural person, firm, association,

partnership, corporation, or other entity that may hold an occupational

licensure;

(2) "Occupational licensing entity" means an office, board,

2 02-13-2019 09:17:59 JMB083
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As Engrossed: H2/13/19 HB1301

commission, department, council, bureau, or other agency of state government

having authority to license, certify, register, permit, or otherwise

authorize an individual to engage in a particular occupation or profession;

and

(3) "Occupational licensure" means a license, certificate,

registration, permit, or other form of authorization required by law or rule

that is required for an individual to engage in a particular occupation or

profession.
(b) An occupational licensing entity shall by rule adopt the least

restrictive requirements for occupational licensure for an individual who:

(1) Demonstrates that he or she:

(A) Holds an occupational licensure that is substantially

similar to practice in the field of his or her occupation or profession in

another state, territory, or district of the United States;

(B) Holds his or her occupational licensure in good

standing;
(C) Has not had his or her occupational licensure revoked

for:

(i) An act of bad faithj; or

(ii) A violation of law, rule, or ethics;

(D) Is not holding a suspended or probationary

occupational licensure in any state, territory, or district of the United

States; and

(E) 1Is sufficiently competent in his or her field; and

(2) Pays any occupational licensure fee required by law or rule.

(c)(1)(A) An occupational licensing entity shall comply with the

requirements under subsection (b) of this section by adopting the least

restrictive rule that allows for reciprocity or licensure by endorsement.

(B) The rule adopted under subdivision (c) (1) (A) of this

section shall provide the procedure by which an occupational licensing entity

shall grant a temporary and provisional occupational licensure for ninety

(90) days or longer to an individual under subsection (b) of this section if

presented with evidence of a current and active occupational licensure that

is substantially similar to practice in the field of his or her occupation or

profession in another state, territory, or district of the United States.

(2) If a state, territory, or district of the United States does

3 02-13-2019 09:17:59 JMB083
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As Engrossed: H2/13/19 HB1301

not require occupational licensure for a profession that requires

occupational licensure in this state, an occupational licensing entity shall

adopt a rule that is least restrictive to permit an individual who is

sufficiently competent in his or her field to obtain occupational licensure

for that occupation or profession in this state.

(3) The occupational licensing entity may require additional

state-specific education for an individual with an occupational licensure in

another state, territory, or district of the United States that does not

offer reciprocity similar to reciprocity under this section to individuals

with occupational licensure in this state.

(d) (1) Except as provided under subdivision (d)(2) of this section, an

occupational licensing entity shall not require an individual who meets the

requirements of subsection (b) of this section to participate in the

apprenticeship, education, or training required as a prerequisite to

occupational licensure of a new professional in the field.

(2) The occupational licensing entity may require the individual

to participate in continuing education or training if the continuing

education or training is required for all professionals in the field to

maintain the occupational licensure.

(e) If a criminal background check is required of an applicant for an

initial occupational licensure or of a person currently holding an

occupational licensure, then the occupational licensing entity may require a

person seeking his or her occupational licensure under this section to meet

the same criminal background check requirements as the applicant for an

initial occupational licensure or as the person currently holding an

occupational licensure.

(f) The occupational licensing entity may require the individual

applying for occupational licensure under this section to meet any bonding,

financial statement, or insurance requirements that are applicable to all

applicants.
(¢) This section shall not apply to:

(1) Reciprocity or license by endorsement provisions under §§
17-12-308, 17-26-315, 17-27-308, 17-28-306, 17-31-308, 17-36-304, 17-42-305,
17-43-307, 17-83-305, 17-88-305, 17-89-305, 17-90-302, 17-92-114, 17-92-308,
17-93-414, 17-97-306, 17-99-304, 17-100-304, and 17-103-302; or

(2) The occupational licensing entities that administer the
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As Engrossed: H2/13/19 HB1301

reciprocity provisions under subdivision (g)(l) of this section.

(h) An occupational licensing entity may enter into written agreements

with similar occupational licensing entities of another state, territory, or

district of the United States as necessary to assure for licensees in this

state have comparable nonresident licensure opportunities as those

opportunities available to nonresidents by occupational licensing entities in

this state.

/s/Cozart

APPROVED: 3/12/19
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Stricken language would be deleted from and underlined language would be added to present law.
Act 820 of the Regular Session

State of Arkansas As Engrossed:  $3/28/19
92nd General Assembly B 1
Regular Session, 2019 SENATE BILL 564

By: Senators Irvin, 7. Garner, J. Hendren, D. Wallace
By: Representative Bentley

For An Act To Be Entitled
AN ACT TO AMEND THE LAW CONCERNING THE OCCUPATIONAL
LICENSURE OF ACTIVE DUTY SERVICE MEMBERS, RETURNING
MILITARY VETERANS, AND THEIR SPOUSES; TO PROVIDE
AUTOMATIC LICENSURE; TO REQUIRE REVIEW AND APPROVAL
OF RULES SUBMITTED BY OCCUPATIONAL LICENSING
ENTITIES; AND FOR OTHER PURPOSES.

Subtitle
TO AMEND THE LAW CONCERNING THE
OCCUPATIONAL LICENSURE OF ACTIVE DUTY
SERVICE MEMBERS, RETURNING MILITARY
VETERANS, AND THEIR SPOUSES; TO PROVIDE
AUTOMATIC LICENSURE; TO REQUIRE REVIEW
AND APPROVAL OF RULES SUBMITTED.

BE IT ENACTED BY THE GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF THE STATE OF ARKANSAS:

SECTION 1. DO NOT CODIFY. Legislative Intent.

The General Assembly finds that:

(1) The current law regarding the issuance of licenses,

certificates, and permits required to enable the holder to lawfully engage in

a profession, trade, or employment in this state continues to constitute a

hardship on active duty service members, returning military veterans, and

their spouses;

(2) Acts 2017, No. 248, amended the law to require that all

state boards and commissions promulgate rules to expedite the process and

S
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As Engrossed: S3/28/19 SB564

procedures for full licensure, certification, or permitting for active duty

service members, returning military veterans, and their spouses;

(3) State boards and commissions required to promulgate rules by

Acts 2017, No. 248, have failed to do so in accordance with the law; and

(4) Automatic licensure is necessary to remedy these hardships

and allow active duty service members, returning military veterans, and their

spouses to engage in their chosen professions.

Section 2. Arkansas Code § 17-1-106 is amended to read as follows:

17-1-106. Lieensureycertificationy, or permitting of Automatic

licensure for active duty service members, returning military veterans, and

spouses — Definitien Definitions.

(a) As used in this sectiony:

(1) "Automatic licensure" means the granting of occupational

licensure without an individual’s having met occupational licensure

requirements provided under this title or by the rules of the occupational

licensing entity;

(2) "Occupational licensing entity" means an office, board,

commission, department, council, bureau, or other agency of state government

having authority to license, certify, register, permit, or otherwise

authorize an individual to engage in a particular occupation or profession;

(3) "Occupational licensure" means a license, certificate,

registration, permit, or other form of authorization required by law or rule

that is required for an individual to engage in a particular occupation or

profession; and

(4) “returning Returning military veteran” means a former member
of the United States Armed Forces who was discharged from active duty under

circumstances other than dishonorable.

(b)(1l) A-state board or commission that issues licensesy certifiecatesy

trade; or employment—in this state An occupational licensing entity shall

aﬂewgrant A€ o OWERE RaIviaud O ecure—emp+Loymen = A—3a empo
14 L g1 . Ll letd 1 14 . .
full liecensure or certifiecation or permitting automatic licensure to engage

in an occupation or profession if the to an individual who is the holder in

good standing of a substantially equivalent liecensey; ecertificate; or permit
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occupational license issued by another state, territory, or district of the

United States and is:

5 (A) An active duty military service member stationed in the
State of Arkansas;

42)(B) A returning military veteran applying for licensure

within one (1) year of his or her discharge from active duty; or
43)(C) The spouse of a person under subdivisions {b)}{1)
(b) (1) (A) and 2) (b)(1)(B) of this section.

(2) However, an occupational licensing entity shall be required

to provide automatic licensure if the proposed rules are not approved as

required under subsection (d)(2) of this section.

(c) A-state boardor commissionshall expedite the process—and
. e full 14 L£3 . sy . he follows
i ndividualss
(1) A . . 13 . 1 . 14 !
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As Engrossed: S3/28/19 SB564

An occupational licensing entity may submit proposed rules recommending

an expedited process and procedure for occupational licensure instead of

automatic licensure as provided under subsection (b) of this section to the

Administrative Rules and Regulations Subcommittee of the Legislative Council.

(d) The Administrative Rules and Regulations Subcommittee of the

Legislative Council shall:

(1) Review the proposed rules of an occupational licensing

entity as submitted for public comment and at least thirty (30) days before

the public comment period ends under the Arkansas Administrative Procedure

Act, § 25-15-201 et seq.; and

(2) Approve the proposed rules submitted under subsection (c)

based on:

(A) A determination of whether the expedited process and

procedure provide the least restrictive means of accomplishing occupational

4 03-28-2019 14:12:35 DTP038
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As Engrossed: S3/28/19 SB564

licensure; and

(B) Any other criteria the Administrative Rules and

Regulations Subcommittee of the Legislative Council determines necessary to

achieve the objectives of this section.

(e) The Administrative Rules and Regulations Subcommittee of the

Legislative Council may:

(1) Establish a subcommittee to assist in the duties assigned

under this section;

(2) Assign information filed with the Administrative Rules and

Regulations Subcommittee of the Legislative Council under this section to one

(1) or more subcommittee of the Legislative Council, including without

limitation a subcommittee created under subdivision (e)(l) of this section;

or

(3) Delegate its duties under this section to one (1) or more

subcommittees of the Legislative Council, subject to final review and

approval of the Administrative Rules and Regulations Subcommittee of the

Legislative Council.

(f) An occupational licensing entity shall:

(1) Submit proposed rules authorized under subsection (c) of

this section to the Administrative Rules and Regulations Subcommittee of the

Legislative Council for review and approval before the proposed rules are

promulgated under the Arkansas Administrative Procedure Act, § 25-15-201 et

seq.; and

(2) Provide to the House Committee on Aging, Children and Youth,

Legislative and Military Affairs an annual report stating the number of

automatic licenses and expedited occupational licenses granted under this

section to:

(A) Active duty military service members stationed in the

State of Arkansas;

(B) Returning military veterans applying within one (1)

year of his or her discharge from active duty; or

(C) The spouse of a person under subdivisions (f) (2) (A)

and (f)(2)(B) of this section.

SECTION 3. TEMPORARY LANGUAGE. DO NOT CODIFY. An occupational

licensing entity proposing rules recommending an expedited process and

5 03-28-2019 14:12:35 DTP038
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As Engrossed: S3/28/19 SB564

procedure for occupational licensure instead of automatic licensure as

provided under § 17-1-106(b) to the Administrative Rules and Regulations

Subcommittee of the Legislative Council shall complete the review and

approval process of the proposed rules required by § 17-1-106 within one (1)

year of the effective date of this act.

/s/Irvin

APPROVED: 4/9/19

6 03-28-2019 14:12:35 DTP038
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Stricken language would be deleted from and underlined language would be added to present law.
Act 990 of the Regular Session

State of Arkansas As Engrossed: S3/18/19 H4/3/19
92nd General Assembly B 1
Regular Session, 2019 SENATE BILL 451

By: Senator J. Cooper
By: Representative Dalby

For An Act To Be Entitled
AN ACT TO AMEND THE LAWS REGARDING CRIMINAL
BACKGROUND CHECKS FOR PROFESSIONS AND OCCUPATIONS TO
OBTAIN CONSISTENCY REGARDING CRIMINAL BACKGROUND
CHECKS AND DISQUALIFYING OFFENSES FOR LICENSURE; AND
FOR OTHER PURPOSES.

Subtitle
TO AMEND THE LAWS REGARDING CRIMINAL
BACKGROUND CHECKS FOR PROFESSIONS AND
OCCUPATIONS TO OBTAIN CONSISTENCY
REGARDING CRIMINAL BACKGROUND CHECKS AND
DISQUALIFYING OFFENSES FOR LICENSURE.

BE IT ENACTED BY THE GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF THE STATE OF ARKANSAS:

SECTION 1. DO NOT CODIFY. Legislative findings and intent.

(a) The General Assembly finds that:

(1) Arkansas is taking a leading role in the nationwide pursuit

of reforms to the system of occupational licensing;

(2) Arkansas became one (1) of eleven (ll) states chosen to

participate in the Occupational Licensing Policy Learning Consortium, an

initiative funded by a grant from the United States Department of Labor and

supported in partnership with the National Conference of State Legislatures,

the Council of State Governments, and the National Governors Association;

(3) Governor Asa Hutchinson appointed seventeen (17) individuals

to the Red Tape Reduction Working Group to review and address occupational

NIRRT ST
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As Engrossed: S3/18/19 H4/3/19 SB451

licensing regulations that create unnecessary barriers to labor market entry;

and

(4) The Red Tape Reduction Working Group issued a final report

to the Governor in the fall of 2018 with five (5) recommendations for

substantive legislative reform, which are to:

(A) Establish an expedited procedure for occupational

licensing entities to collectively submit administrative rules that are

responsive to new legislation;

(B) Extend Acts 2017, No. 781, to allow repeal of

subsections of rules;

(C) Establish provisions to allow certain agencies to

consider occupational relevance with regard to criminal background issues;

(D) Authorize occupational licensing entities to identify

types of individuals or entities that may be issued temporary or provisional

licenses; and

(E) Establish a systematic process for review of:

(i) New occupational licenses and occupational

licensing entities; and

(ii) Existing occupational licenses and occupational

licensing entities.

(b) It is the intent of the General Assembly to establish provisions

to allow certain agencies to consider occupational relevance with regard to

criminal background issues.

SECTION 2. Arkansas Code Title 17 is amended to add an additional
chapter to read as follows:
CHAPTER 2
OCCUPATIONAL CRIMINAL BACKGROUND CHECKS

17-2-101. Definitions.

As used in this subchapter:

(1) "Criminal record" means any type of felony or misdemeanor

convictions

(2) "Licensing entity" means an office, board, commission,

department, council, bureau, or other agency of state government having

authority to license, certify, register, permit, or otherwise authorize an

2 04-03-2019 15:40:16 JMB236
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individual to engage in a particular occupation or profession; and

(3) "License" means a license, certificate, registration,

permit, or other form of authorization required by law or rule that is

required for an individual to engage in a particular occupation or

profession.

17-2-102. Licensing restrictions based on criminal records.

(a) An individual is not eligible to receive or hold a license issued

by a licensing entity if that individual has pleaded guilty or nolo

contendere to or been found guilty of any of the following offenses by any

court in the State of Arkansas or of any similar offense by a court in

another state or of any similar offense by a federal court, unless the

conviction was lawfully sealed under the Comprehensive Criminal Record

Sealing Act of 2013, § 16-90-1401 et seq., or otherwise previously sealed,

pardoned or expunged under prior law:

(1) Capital murder as prohibited in § 5-10-101;

(2) Murder in the first degree and second degree as prohibited
in §§ 5-10-102 and 5-10-103;
(3) Manslaughter as prohibited in § 5-10-104;

(4) Negligent homicide as prohibited in § 5-10-105;

(5) Kidnapping as prohibited in § 5-11-102;

(6) False imprisonment in the first degree as prohibited in § 5-

(7) Permanent detention or restraint as prohibited in § 5-11-

(8) Robbery as prohibited in § 5-12-102;

(9) Aggravated robbery as prohibited in § 5-12-103;

(10) Battery in the first degree as prohibited in § 5-13-201;

(11) Ageravated assault as prohibited in § 5-13-204;

(12) Introduction of a controlled substance into the body of

another person as prohibited in § 5-13-210;

(13) Aggoravated assault upon a law enforcement officer or an

employee of a correctional facility as prohibited in § 5-13-211, if a Class Y

felony;

(14) Terroristic threatening in the first degree as prohibited

in § 5-13-3013

3 04-03-2019 15:40:16 JMB236
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1 (15) Rape as prohibited in § 5-14-103;

2 (16) Sexual indecency with a child as prohibited in § 5-14-110;
3 (17) Sexual extortion as prohibited in § 5-14-113;

4 (18) Sexual assault in the first degree, second degree, third

5 degree, and fourth degree as prohibited in §§ 5-14-124 — 5-14-127;

6 (19) 1Incest as prohibited in § 5-26-202;

7 (20) Offenses against the family as prohibited in §§ 5-26-303 —
8 5-26-306;

9 (21) Endangering the welfare of an incompetent person in the

10 first degree, as prohibited in § 5-27-201;

11 (22) Endangering the welfare of a minor in the first degree as
12 prohibited in § 5-27-205;

13 (23) Permitting the abuse of a minor as prohibited in § 5-27-
14 2213

15 (24) Engaging children in sexually explicit conduct for use in
16 visual or print media, transportation of minors for prohibited sexual

17 conduct, pandering or possessing visual or print medium depicting sexually
18 explicit conduct involving a child, or use of a child or consent to use of a
19 child in a sexual performance by producing, directing, or promoting a sexual
20 performance by a child, as prohibited in §§ 5-27-303 — 5-27-305, 5-27-402,
21 and 5-27-403;
22 (25) Computer child pornography as prohibited in § 5-27-603;
23 (26) Computer exploitation of a child in the first degree as
24 prohibited in § 5-27-605;
25 (27) Felony adult abuse as prohibited in § 5-28-103;
26 (28) Theft of property as prohibited in § 5-36-103;
27 (29) Theft by receiving as prohibited in § 5-36-106;
28 (30) Arson as prohibited in § 5-38-301;
29 (31) Burglary as prohibited in § 5-39-201;
30 (32) Felony violation of the Uniform Controlled Substances Act,

31 §§ 5-64-101 — 5-64-510, as prohibited in the former § 5-64-401, and §§ 5-64-
32 419 — 5-64-442;

33 (33) Promotion of prostitution in the first degree as prohibited
34 in § 5-70-104;

35 (34) Stalking as prohibited in § 5-71-229;

36 (35) Criminal attempt, criminal complicity, criminal

4 04-03-2019 15:40:16 JMB236
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solicitation, or criminal conspiracy, as prohibited in §§ 5-3-201, 5-3-202,

5-3-301, and 5-3-401, to commit any of the offenses listed in this

subsection; and

(36) All other crimes referenced in this title.

(b)(1) If an individual has been convicted of a crime listed in

subsection (a) of this section, a licensing entity may waive disqualification

or revocation of a license based on the conviction if a request for a waiver

is made by:

(A) An affected applicant for a license; or

(B) The individual holding a license subject to
revocation.

(2) A basis upon which a waiver may be granted includes without

limitation:

(A) The age at which the offense was committed;

(B) The circumstances surrounding the offense;

(C) The length of time since the offense was committed;

(D) Subsequent work history since the offense was
committed;

(E) Employment references since the offense was committed;

(F) Character references since the offense was committed;

(G) Relevance of the offense to the occupational license;
and

(H) Other evidence demonstrating that licensure of the

applicant does not pose a threat to the health or safety of the public.

(c) If an individual has a valid criminal conviction for an offense

that could disqualify the individual from receiving a license, the

disqualification shall not be considered for more than five (5) years from

the date of conviction or incarceration or on which probation ends, whichever

date is the latest, if the individual:

(A) Was not convicted for committing a violent or sexual

offense; and

(B) Has not been convicted of any other offense during the five-

yvear disqualification period.

(d) A licensing entity shall not, as a basis upon which a license may

be granted or denied:

(1) Use vague or generic terms, including without limitation the

5 04-03-2019 15:40:16 JMB236
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As Engrossed: S3/18/19 H4/3/19 SB451

phrase "moral turpitude" and "good character"; or

(2) Consider arrests without a subsequent conviction.

(e) Due to the serious nature of the offenses, the following shall

result in permanent disqualification for licensure:

(1) Capital murder as prohibited in § 5-10-101;

(2) Murder in the first degree as prohibited in § 5-10-102 and

murder in the second degree as prohibited in § 5-10-103;

(3) Kidnapping as prohibited in § 5-11-102;

(4) Aggravated assault upon a law enforcement officer or an

employee of a correctional facility as prohibited in § 5-13-211, if a Class ¥

felony;
(5) Rape as prohibited in § 5-14-103;

(6) Sexual extortion as prohibited in § 5-14-113;

(7) Sexual assault in the first degree as prohibited in § 5-14-

124 and sexual assault in the second degree as prohibited in § 5-14-125;

(8) 1Incest as prohibited in § 5-26-202;

(9) Endangering the welfare of an incompetent person in the

first degree as prohibited in § 5-27-201;

(10) Endangering the welfare of a minor in the first degree as

prohibited in § 5-27-205;

(11) Adult abuse that constitutes a felony as prohibited in § 5-

28-103; and

(12) Arson as prohibited in § 5-38-301.

(f) This chapter does not preclude a licensing entity from taking

emergency action against a licensee as authorized under § 25-15-211 for the

sake of public health, safety, or welfare.

(g) The permanent disqualification for an offense listed in subsection

(e) of this section does not apply to an individual who holds a valid license

on the effective date of this chapter.

(h) This section does not apply to licensure or certification:

(1) Of professions not governed by this title;

(2) Of polygraph examiners and voice stress analysis examiners

under § 17-39-101 et seq.; or

(3) Of private investigators and private security agencies under

the Private Security Agency, Private Investigator, and School Security

Licensing and Credentialing Act, § 17-40-101 et seq.

6 04-03-2019 15:40:16 JMB236
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17-2-103. Prelicensure criminal background checks.

(a)(1) An individual with a criminal record may petition a licensing

entity at any time for a determination of whether the criminal record of the

individual will disqualify the individual from licensure and whether or not

he or she could obtain a waiver under § 17-2-102(b).

(2) The petition shall include details on the criminal record of

the individual.

(b)(1) A licensing entity may require that the applicant undergo a

state and federal criminal background check as required by the licensing

entity for all applicants for a license.

(2) The petitioner under subsection (a) of this section shall be

responsible for payment for the state and federal criminal background check.

17-2-104. Rules.

(a) A licensing entity shall adopt or amend rules necessary for the

implementation of this chapter.

(b) (1) When adopting or amending rules to implement this chapter, the

final rule shall be filed with the Secretary of State for adoption under §
25-15-204(f):

(A) On or before January 1, 2020; or

(B) If approval under § 10-3-309 has not occurred by

January 1, 2020, as soon as practicable after approval under § 10-3-309.

(2) A licensing entity shall file the proposed rule with the

Legislative Council under § 10-3-309(c) sufficiently in advance of January 1,

2020, so that the Legislative Council may consider the rule for approval

before January 1, 2020.

SECTION 3. Arkansas Code § 17-11-302(b), concerning application and
certificate of registration to become a registered abstracter, is amended to
read as follows:

(b) The application shall be in a form prepared by the board and

shall contain such information as may be necessary to assist the board in

registration andteodetermine if the applicantis of good moral charaeter.

SECTION 4. Arkansas Code § 17-11-304(a), concerning issuance or

7 04-03-2019 15:40:16 JMB236
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reapplication for a certificate of registration by the Arkansas Abstracters’
Board, is amended to read as follows:

(a) If the applicant satisfactorily passes the examinations and—is—ef
good-moral charaeter, the applicant shall be certified as a registered
abstracter, and the certificate provided for shall be issued to him or her.
The privileges granted by the certificate shall continue unless revoked, as
provided in this chapter, or unless the certificate is otherwise surrendered

to the Arkansas Abstracters’ Board.

SECTION 5. Arkansas Code § 17-11-340(a), concerning the revocation of
certificates authorized by the Arkansas Abstracters’ Board, is amended to
read as follows:

(a) The Arkansas Abstracters’ Board is authorized, after a hearing as
provided in § 17-11-341, to cancel and revoke any certificate of registration
issued to any person under the provisions of this chapter:

(1) For a violation of any of the provisions of this chapter;

(2) Upon a conviction of the holder of such a certificate of a
crime invelwing meral turpitude under § 17-1-102; or

(3) If the board finds the holder to be guilty of habitual

carelessness or of fraudulent practices in the conduct of the business of

abstracting.

SECTION 6. Arkansas Code § 17-11-341(a)(l), concerning the procedure
of appeal for revocation of certificates authorized by the Arkansas
Abstracters’ Board, is amended to read as follows:

(a)(l) Upon a verified complaint being filed with the Arkansas
Abstracters’ Board or upon the board’s own motion filing a complaint charging
the holder of a certificate of registration with a violation of any of the
provisions of this chapter, or conviction of a crime involving meral

turpitude;or—with under § 17-2-102 or habitual carelessness or fraudulent

practices in the conduct of the business of abstracting, or charging the
holder of a certificate of authority with failure to furnish the bond or
bonds, or other securities, required by § 17-11-324, or with failing to have
employed a registered abstracter as provided in § 17-11-301, or with a
violation of any of the provisions of this chapter, the board shall

immediately notify in writing by registered mail, with return receipt, the
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holder of the certificate of the filing of the complaint and furnish the

holder with a copy of the complaint.

SECTION 7. Arkansas Code § 17-12-301 is amended to read as follows:

17-12-301. Requirements generally — Definition.

(a) A certificate as a certified public accountant shall be granted by
the Arkansas State Board of Public Accountancy to any person of geoed -meral
character:

(1) Who has met the education and experience requirements set
forth in this chapter and by the board; and
(2) Who has passed an examination in accounting and auditing and

such related subjects as the board shall determine to be appropriate.

(13 2

a—histeryeof+

() Noti £ 41 14 , Lol e 1.
ey (b)(l) Any person who has received from the board a certificate

as a certified public accountant which is currently in full force and effect
shall be styled and known as a “certified public accountant” and may also use
the abbreviation “CPA”.

(2) The board shall maintain a list of certified public
accountants.

(c) Any certified public accountant may also be known as a public

9 04-03-2019 15:40:16 JMB236
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SECTION 8. Arkansas Code § 17-12-303(d), concerning the criminal
background check for initial licensure of accountants, is amended to read as
follows:

(d) Upon completion of the criminal background checks, the
Identification Bureau of the Department of Arkansas State Police shall
forward to the board all releasable information obtained concerning the

commission-bythe applicant of any offense listed in subsection (e)of this

seetion.

SECTION 9. Arkansas Code § 17-12-303(e), concerning the criminal

background check for initial licensure of accountants, is repealed.

SECTION 10. Arkansas Code § 17-12-601(a)(5) and (6), concerning the
grounds for revocation or suspension of licensure of accountants, are amended
to read as follows:

(5) Conviction of a felony under the law of any state or of the
United States § 17-2-102;
(6) Conviction of any crime an element of which is dishonestysy

or fraudyer meral turpitude under the law of any state or of the United
States;

SECTION 11. Arkansas Code § 17-12-601, concerning the grounds for
revocation or suspension of licensure of an accountant, is amended to add an
additional subsection to read as follows:

(c) In addition to the offenses listed in § 17-2-102, the Arkansas

State Board of Public Accountancy may refuse to issue a license to or

reinstate a license of a person who has been convicted of a felony involving

theft or fraud, regardless of the amount of time that has elapsed since the

conviction.

10 04-03-2019 15:40:16 JMB236



O 00 N o U1 &~ LW N =

W W W LW LW LW LD DD DN DN DN DD DNDMNDNDNDNNMNDDNDN = = = 2 = = = = = =
AN L1~ LW NN R O W 0 N O I M W NN HF O O 0N OV M W N = O

As Engrossed: S3/18/19 H4/3/19 SB451

SECTION 12. Arkansas Code § 17-14-203(12)(C) (i), concerning the powers
and duties regarding criminal background checks of the Arkansas Appraiser
Licensing and Certification Board, is amended to read as follows:

(i) During the five (5) years immediately preceding
the date of the application was convicted of, or pled guilty or nolo
contendere to, a crime that would call into question the applicant’s fitness
for registration, licensure, or certification, including without limitation a
crime involving:

{a)—Moral turpitudes
b)rH(a)(l) An act substantially related to
the qualifications, functions, or duties of an appraiser.

(2) A crime or act may be deemed
substantially related to the qualifications, functions, or duties of an
appraiser if, to a substantial degree, the crime or act evidences present or
potential unfitness of a person applying for or holding a real property
appraiser credential to perform the functions authorized by the credentialj;

4e)(b) Taking, appropriating, or retaining the
funds or property of another;

44> (c) Forging, counterfeiting, or altering an
instrument affecting the rights or obligations of another;

4e)(d) Evasion of a lawful debt or obligation,
including without limitation a tax obligation;

+£)(e) Trafficking in narcotics or controlled
substances;

42)(f) Violation of a relation of trust or
confidence;

) (g) Theft of personal property or funds;

43i)(h) An act of violence or threatened
violence against persons or property; or

(i) A sexually related crime or act under §
5-14-101 et seq.;

SECTION 13. Arkansas Code § 17-14-206(a)(3), concerning complaints and
disciplinary procedures of the Arkansas Appraiser Licensing and Certification

Board for licensees, is repealed.

(3} (A} Convietion i urisdietd : i sd
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. L 1 feud e fol
{B)—A plea—of nolo contendereor nocontest-shall be
id . s s e 1 £ rhi .

SECTION 14. Arkansas Code § 17-14-405(b)(3), concerning requirements
for registration under the Appraisal Management Company Registration Act, is
amended to read as follows:

(3)(A) The name, address, and contact information of any person
that owns ten percent (10%) or more of the appraisal management company.
(B) Any person owning more than ten percent (10%) of an

appraisal management company in this state shalls

{i)>—Be of sood moral character, as determined by the
boards—and

{ii)—Submit submit to a state criminal background
check and a national fingerprint-based criminal background check performed by
the Federal Bureau of Investigation in compliance with federal law and

regulations;

SECTION 15. Arkansas Code § 17-14-410(a)(3), concerning the
disciplinary authority, enforcement, and hearings under the Appraisal
Management Company Registration Act, is amended to read as follows:

(3) The person has pleaded guilty or nolo contendere to or been
found guilty of:
(A) A felony listed under § 17-2-102; or

(B) Within the past ten (10) years:
(i) A misdemeanor involving mortgage lending or real
estate appraising; or
(ii) An offense involving breach of trustymeral
turpitudey or fraudulent or dishonest dealing;

SECTION 16. Arkansas Code § 17-15-102(3), concerning the definition of

"good moral character" related to architects, is repealed.

(13 ”

1isel he £idued bt : i b ] 14
i . blie £ ] . £ healtl e | elfare.
(B} Evid £ inabili 1 el b duei
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308+

SECTION 17. Arkansas Code § 17-15-304(b)(l), concerning examinations
to be a registered and licensed architect, is amended to read as follows:
(b)(l) To be qualified for admission to an examination to practice

architecture in the State of Arkansas, an applicant must shall be at least

twenty-one (21) years of age andof good moral charaeter.

SECTION 18. Arkansas Code § 17-15-308(5), concerning grounds for
revocation of a license for an architect, is amended to read as follows:
(5) The holder of the license or certificate of registration has

been guilty of a felony listed under § 17-2-102;

SECTION 19. Arkansas Code § 17-16-105(a) (8), concerning the
registration requirements for an athlete agent under the Uniform Athlete
Agents Act, is amended to read as follows:

(8) whether the applicant or any person named pursuant to
paragraph (7) has been convicted of a crime that, if committed in this State,
would be a crime involving meral turpitudeor a felony listed under § 17-2-

102, and identify the crime;

SECTION 20. Arkansas Code § 17-17-308(6), concerning the suspension or
revocation of a license of an auctioneer, is amended to read as follows:
(6) Being convicted of a criminal offense involving meral

turpitude—or a felony listed under § 17-2-102 in a court of competent

jurisdiction of this or any other jurisdiction;

SECTION 2I1. Arkansas Code § 17-19-203(3), concerning character
references for a professional bail bondsman license, is amended to read as
follows:

(3) Suehother Provide other proof as the board may require that

he or she is competent, trustworthy, financially responsible, and of good

personal and business reputation and has not been convicted of a felony er

any—offenseinvelving moral turpitude listed under § 17-2-102.
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SECTION 22. Arkansas Code § 17-19-210(b)(l), concerning the suspension
and penalties for a professional bail bondsman licensee, is amended to read
as follows:

(1) Violated any provision of or any obligation imposed by this
chapter or any lawful rule, regulatieny or order of the board or has been

convicted of a felony er—any eoffense—invelving moral turpitude listed under §
17-2-102;

SECTION 23. Arkansas Code § 17-20-302 is amended to read as follows:
17-20-302. Qualifications of applicants.
Any person shall be qualified to receive a certificate of registration
to practice as a registered barber who:
(1) 1Is qualified under this chapter;
{2)y—ILs—of good moral character and temperate habits;

(2) Has passed a satisfactory examination conducted by the

¢

State Board of Barber Examiners to determine his or her fitness to practice
barbering;

>(3) 1Is at least sixteen and one-half (16 %) years of age; and

¢

4) Has received training approved by the appropriate

licensing authorities.

SECTION 24. Arkansas Code § 17-20-308(1l)(A), concerning grounds for
disciplinary action of barbers, is amended to read as follows:

(1) (A) Conviction of a felony listed under § 17-2-102 shown by a

certified copy of the record of the court of conviction.

SECTION 25. Arkansas Code § 17-24-307(3), concerning the grounds for
revocation, suspension, or refusal of license issued by the State Board of

Collection Agencies, is repealed.

(3} Convietd e Lme invelid ] rudes

SECTION 26. Arkansas Code § 17-25-305(a), concerning the
qualifications for a contractors license, is amended to read as follows:

(a) The Contractors Licensing Board, in determining the qualifications
of any applicant for an original license or any renewal license, shall, among

other things, consider the following:

14 04-03-2019 15:40:16 JMB236
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(1) Experience;

(2) Ability;

|

(3) The manner of performance of previous contracts;

3
4) Financial condition;

(
(5) Equipment;
(

28

3

5
6) Any other fact tending to show ability and willingness to
conserve the public health and safety; and

£8)(7) Default in complying with the provisions of this chapter

or any—ether another law of the state.

SECTION 27. Arkansas Code § 17-25-305, concerning the qualifications
for a contractors license, is amended to add an additional subsection to read
as follows:

(c) In addition to the offenses listed in § 17-2-102, the board may

consider the following offenses when determining fitness for licensure or

registration of a contractor under this chapter:

(1) Conviction of a crime with an element of dishonesty or fraud

under the laws of this state, another state, or the United States;

(2) Conviction of voyeurism as prohibited in § 5-16-101 and § 5-

16-102;

(3) Conviction under the Arkansas Hot Check Law, § 5-37-301 et

seq.; and

(4)(A) A crime or act that is substantially related to the

qualifications, functions, or duties of a contractor.

(B) A crime or act may be deemed substantially related to

the qualifications, functions, or duties of a contractor if, to a substantial

degree, the crime or act evidences present or potential unfitness of a person

applying for or holding a contractors license or registration to perform the

functions authorized by the license or registration.

SECTION 28. Arkansas Code § 17-25-507, concerning the qualifications
for a contractors license through the Residential Contractors Committee, 1is
amended to add an additional subsection to read as follows:

(c) In addition to the offenses listed in § 17-2-102, the committee

may consider the following offenses when determining fitness for licensure or
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registration of a contractor under this subchapter:

(1) Conviction of a crime with an element of dishonesty or fraud

under the laws of this state, another state, or the United States;

(2) Conviction of voyeurism as prohibited in § 5-16-101 and § 5-

16-102;

(3) Conviction under the Arkansas Hot Check Law, § 5-37-301 et

seq.; and

(4)(A) A crime or act that is substantially related to the

qualifications, functions, or duties of a contractor.

(B) A crime or act may be deemed substantially related to

the qualifications, functions, or duties of a contractor if, to a substantial

degree, the crime or act evidences present or potential unfitness of a person

applying for or holding a contractors license or registration to perform the

functions authorized by the license or registration.

SECTION 29. Arkansas Code § 17-26-105(10), concerning grounds for
disciplinary action for cosmetology and other related occupations, is amended
to read as follows:

(10) Conviction under the laws of the United States or any state
or territory of the United States of a crime that is:

(A) I¥s—a A felony er misdemeanor listed under § 17-2-102,

as evidenced by a certified copy of a court record or by license application;
and

(B) Invelwves A misdemeanor involving dishonesty or is in

any way related to the practice or teaching of the cosmetology industry,
unless the applicant or licensee can demonstrate to the board’s satisfaction
that the applicant or licensee has been sufficiently rehabilitated to warrant

the public trust;

SECTION 30. Arkansas Code § 17-26-201(c), concerning the membership of
the Cosmetology Technical Advisory Committee, is amended to read as follows:
(c) The committee shall be composed of the following representatives
from within the cosmetology industry who are ef good meral charaecter and whe
are at least twenty-five (25) years of age:
(1) One (l) member shall be a licensed cosmetologist actively

engaged in practicing the art of cosmetology for at least five (5) years at
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the time of appointment;

(2) One (1) member shall be a licensed nail technician;

(3) One (1) member shall be an owner of a licensed school of
cosmetology or shall be a director of cosmetology at a state-supported
school;

(4) One (1) member shall be a licensed aesthetician; and

(5) Three (3) members shall represent the cosmetology industry

at large or a related field.

SECTION 3I. Arkansas Code § 17-27-301(2), concerning qualifications
for a licensed professional counselor, is amended to read as follows:

(2) The applicant is highly regarded in personalecharaeter and

professional ethics;

SECTION 32. Arkansas Code § 17-27-303(2), concerning qualifications
for a licensed marriage and family therapist before January 1, 1998, is
amended to read as follows:

(2) The applicant is highly regarded in personalecharaeter and

professional ethics;

SECTION 33. Arkansas Code § 17-27-313 is amended to read as follows:

17-27-313. Criminal background checks.

(a) The Arkansas Board of Examiners in Counseling may require each
applicant for license renewal and each first-time applicant for a license
issued by the board to apply to the Identification Bureau of the Department
of Arkansas State Police for a state and national criminal background check,
to be conducted by the Identification Bureau of the Department of Arkansas
State Police and the Federal Bureau of Investigatiom.

(b) The check shall conform to the applicable federal standards and
shall include the taking of fingerprints.

(c) The applicant shall sign a release of information to the board and
shall be responsible for the payment of any fee associated with the criminal
background check.

(d) Upon completion of the criminal background check, the
Identification Bureau of the Department of Arkansas State Police shall

forward to the board all releasable information obtained concerning the
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licitacd i minal . hibited in §§ 5-3-201, 5-3-202,5
3301 1 5 3_40] . e e listed in thi ] fon.

5> (e) The board may issue a six-month nonrenewable letter of
provisional eligibility for licensure to a first-time applicant pending the

results of the criminal background check.
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be-—waived by—the board uponthe request—of+
(AY— cg . 13 for 14 .

(C) Ot} ‘4 . . 1 1 14 1
not—pose—athreat to the health or safety of children.

(f) For the purposes of this section, the board shall follow the

licensing restrictions based on criminal records under § 17-2-102.
hH(g) (1) Any information received by the board from the
Identification Bureau of the Department of Arkansas State Police pursuwant—teo

under this section shall not be available for examination except by:
(A) The affected applicant for licensure, or his or her
authorized representative; or
(B) The person whose license is subject to revocation, or
his or her authorized representative.
(2) No record, file, or document shall be removed from the
custody of the Department of Arkansas State Police.

43i)(h) Any information made available to the affected applicant for
licensure or the person whose license is subject to revocation shall be
information pertaining to that person only.

(i) Rights of privilege and confidentiality established under this
section shall not extend to any document created for purposes other than this
background check.

4> (j) The board shall adopt the necessary rules and regulatiens to

fully implement the provisions of this section.

SECTION 34. Arkansas Code § 17-29-311(a)(l), concerning the sanctions
and prohibited conduct of embalmers and funeral directors, is amended to read

as follows:
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(1) Conviction of a felony listed under § 17-2-102;

SECTION 35. Arkansas Code § 17-30-305(a)(2)(A), concerning the
administrative violations and penalties for an engineer, is amended to read
as follows:

(A) A felony listed under § 17-2-102;

SECTION 36. Arkansas Code § 17-31-303(c), concerning application for
registration with the Arkansas State Board of Registration for Foresters, is

repealed.

(o)A hall be olipible £ . . e ]
. e 1 el i fon.

SECTION 37. Arkansas Code § 17-31-309(b), concerning revocation of a
certificate for a registered forester, is amended to read as follows:
(b)(l) The board may revoke the certificate of any registered forester

who has been convicted of a felony listed under § 17-2-102 or who is found

guilty by the board of any fraud, deceit, gross negligence,
misrepresentation, willful violation of contract, misconduct, or gross
incompetence.

(2) The board shall investigate such charges.

SECTION 38. Arkansas Code § 17-32-304(a)(l), concerning the

qualifications for a geologist-in-training certificate, is repealed.

(l) Be 9£ geed ethjea eharaete%'

SECTION 39. Arkansas Code § 17-32-311(a)(3), concerning the denial,
suspension, or revocation of a registration certificate of a geologist, is
amended to read as follows:

(3) Any felony listed under § 17-2-102;

SECTION 40. Arkansas Code § 17-35-301(c)(2), concerning the
registration of interior designers, is amended to read as follows:

(2) Has not been convicted of an offense listed under § 17-2-102

that bears directly on the fitness of the applicant to be registered;
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SECTION 4I. Arkansas Code § 17-35-305(5), concerning grounds of
revocation for a license of an interior designer, is amended to read as
follows:

(5) The holder of the registration has been guilty of a felony
listed under § 17-2-102;

SECTION 42. Arkansas Code § 17-36-303(a), concerning examination for
licensure as a landscape architect, is amended to read as follows:
(a) An applicant for licensure shall:
(1) Be at least twenty-one (21) years of age; and
2)—Be—of good moral character;y—and
43)(2) Pass an examination covering the matters confronting
landscape architects that is prepared by:
(A) The Arkansas State Board of Architects, Landscape
Architects, and Interior Designers; or

(B) Another entity as selected by the Arkansas State Board

of Architects, Landscape Architects, and Interior Designers.

SECTION 43. Arkansas Code § 17-36-306(5), concerning the grounds of
revocation for a landscape architect, is amended to read as follows:
(5) The holder of the license or certificate has been guilty of

a felony listed under § 17-2-102;

SECTION 44. Arkansas Code § 17-42-311(a), concerning violations of the
real estate license law, is amended to read as follows:

(a) The following acts, conduct, or practices are prohibited, and any
licensee found guilty shall be subject to disciplinary action as provided in
§ 17-42-312:

(1) Obtaining a license by means of fraud, misrepresentation, or
concealment;

(2) Violating any of the provisions of this chapter or any rules
or—regulations adopted pursuant—teo under this chapter or any order issued
under this chapter;

(3) Being convicted of or pleading guilty or nolo contendere to

a felony listed under § 17-2-102 or crime involving meral turpitude violence,

fraud, dishonesty, untruthfulness, or untrustworthiness regardless of whether
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the imposition of sentence has been deferred or suspended;

(4) Making any substantial misrepresentation;

(5) Making, printing, publishing, distributing, or causing,
authorizing, or knowingly permitting the making, printing, publication, or
distribution of false statements, descriptions, or promises of such character
as to reasonably induce, persuade, or influence any person to act thereon;

(6) Failing within a reasonable time to account for or to remit
any moneys coming into his or her possession which belong to others;

(7) Committing any act involving meral turpitude violence,
fraud, dishonesty, untruthfulness, or untrustworthiness;

(8) Acting for more than one (1) party in a transaction without
the knowledge of all parties for whom he or she acts or accepting a
commission or valuable consideration for the performance of any of the acts
specified in this chapter from any person except the licensed principal
broker under whom he or she is licensed;

(9) Acting as a broker or salesperson while not licensed with a
principal broker, representing or attempting to represent a broker other than
the principal broker with whom he or she is affiliated without the express
knowledge and consent of the principal broker, or representing himself or
herself as a salesperson or having a contractual relationship similar to that
of a salesperson with anyone other than a licensed principal broker;

(10) Advertising in a false, misleading, or deceptive manner;

(11) Being unworthy or incompetent to act as a real estate
broker or salesperson in such a manner as to safeguard the interests of the
public;

(12) Paying a commission or valuable consideration to any person
for acts or services performed in violation of this chapter, including paying
a commission or other valuable consideration to an unlicensed person for
participation in a real estate auction; and

(13) Any other conduct, whether of the same or a different
character from that specified in this section, which constitutes improper,

fraudulent, or dishonest dealing.

SECTION 45. Arkansas Code § 17-42-315(f), concerning the criminal
background check for real estate licensees, is amended to read as follows:

(f) Except as provided in subsection (g) of this section, a person
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shall not receive or hold a license issued by the commission if the person
has been convicted of or pleaded guilty or nolo contendere to a felony listed
under § 17-2-102 or a crime involving meral turpitude violence, fraud,

dishonesty, untruthfulness, or untrustworthiness.

SECTION 46. Arkansas Code § 17-42-509(c)(3), concerning the issuance
or denial of a license for an instructor of real estate education license, is
amended to read as follows:

(3) The person or entity has pleaded guilty or nolo contendere

to or been found guilty of a felony listed under § 17-2-102 or a misdemeanor

involving violence, fraud, misrepresentation, or dishonest or dishonorable

dealing in a court of competent jurisdiction; or

SECTION 47. Arkansas Code § 17-42-515(3), concerning the violations
that disqualify for a real estate educator license or licensee, is amended to
read as follows:

(3) Committing an act, a felony listed under § 17-2-102, or a
crime involving meral turpitude violence, fraud, dishonesty, untruthfulness,

or untrustworthiness regardless of whether the imposition of the sentence has

been deferred or suspended;

SECTION 48. Arkansas Code § 17-43-303(a), concerning the application
for examination for a sanitarian certificate of registration, is amended to
read as follows:

(a) The Arkansas State Board of Sanitarians shall admit to examination
any person who makes application to the Secretary of the Arkansas State Board
of Sanitarians on forms prescribed and furnished by the boardy and pays an

application fee of twenty dollars ($20.00) to defray the expense of

examination,and-submits—evidence satisfactory tothe board that he or she is

SECTION 49. Arkansas Code § 17-43-307 is amended to read as follows:

17-43-307. Reciprocity.

The Arkansas State Board of Sanitarians shall issue a certificate of
registration without examination to any person who makes application on forms

prescribed and furnished by the board, pays a registration fee of ten dollars

24 04-03-2019 15:40:16 JMB236



O 00 N o U1 &~ LW N =

W W W LW LW LW LD DD DN DN DN DD DNDMNDNDNDNNMNDDNDN = = = 2 = = = = = =
AN L1~ LW NN R O W 0 N O I M W NN HF O O 0N OV M W N = O

As Engrossed: S3/18/19 H4/3/19 SB451

($10.00), and submits satisfactory proof that he or she:

{1)—TIs—of good moral characters

42)(1) Has had at least two (2) years’ experience in the field
of environmental sanitation; and

£3)(2) 1Is registered as a sanitarian in a state in which the
qualifications for registration are not lower than the qualifications for

registration in this state at the time he or she applies for registration.

SECTION 50. Arkansas Code § 17-43-309(a), concerning the grounds for
suspension, revocation, or refusal to renew a sanitarian certificate of
registration, is amended to read as follows:

(a) The Arkansas State Board of Sanitarians may suspend, revoke, or
refuse to renew a certificate of registration upon proof that the applicant+

{1)—Is notof good charactersyor
{2)>—*¥s is guilty of fraud, deceit, gross negligence,

incompetency, or misconduct in relation to his or her duties as a sanitarian.

SECTION 51. Arkansas Code § 17-47-302(a), concerning the eligibility
and application for registration as a professional soil classifier or soil
classifier-in-training, is amended to read as follows:

(a) To be eligible for registration as a professional soil classifier
or certification as a soil classifier-in-training, an applicant musts

1)—Beof good character and reputations—and
{2)—Submit shall submit a written application to the Arkansas

State Board of Registration for Professional Soil Classifiers containing sueh
information as the board may require, together with five (5) references,
three (3) of which shall be professional soil classifiers having personal
knowledge of his or her soil classifying experience or, in the case of an
application for certification as a soil classifier-in-training, three (3)

character references.

SECTION 52. Arkansas Code § 17-47-311 is amended to read as follows:

17-47-311. Disciplinary actions — Grounds.

The Arkansas State Board of Registration for Professional Soil
Classifiers shall have the power to suspend, refuse to renew, or revoke the

certificate of registration of, or reprimand, any registrant who is guilty
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of:

(1) Fraud or deceit in obtaining a certificate of registration;

(2) Gross negligence, incompetence, or misconduct in the
practice of soil classifying;

(3) A felony listed under § 17-2-102 er—erime invelwing meral
turpitude; or

(4) A violation of the code of ethics adopted and promulgated by

the board.

SECTION 53. Arkansas Code § 17-48-203(a), concerning the
qualifications for certification as a surveyor, is amended to read as
follows:

(a) A person who shows to the satisfaction of the State Board of
Licensure for Professional Engineers and Professional Surveyors that he or
she is a person eof geood character and reputationand over twenty-one (21)
years of age shall be is eligible for licensure as a professional surveyor if
he or she qualifies under one (1) of the following provisions:

(1) A person holding a certificate of licensure to engage in the
practice of land surveying issued to him or her on the basis of a written
examination by proper authority of a state, territory, possession of the
United States, the District of Columbia, or any foreign country, based on
requirements and qualifications as shown on his or her application that in
the opinion of the board are equal to or higher than the requirements of this
chapter may be licensed at the discretion of the board;

(2) (A) A graduate from an approved engineering curriculum with
sufficient surveying courses or a surveying technology curriculum of two (2)
years or more approved by the board, followed by at least two (2) years of
land surveying that must be surveying experience of a character satisfactory
to the board, who has passed a written examination designed to show that he
or she is qualified to practice land surveying in this state, may be licensed
if he or she is otherwise qualified.

(B) Each year of teaching land surveying in an approved
engineering or surveying curriculum may be considered as equivalent to one
(1) year of land surveying experience; or

(3)(A) An applicant who cannot qualify under subdivision (a)(2)

of this section and who has six (6) years or more of active experience in

26 04-03-2019 15:40:16 JMB236



O 00 N o U1 &~ LW N =

W W W LW LW LW LD DD DN DN DN DD DNDMNDNDNDNNMNDDNDN = = = 2 = = = = = =
AN L1~ LW NN R O W 0 N O I M W NN HF O O 0N OV M W N = O

As Engrossed: S3/18/19 H4/3/19 SB451

land surveying of a character satisfactory to the board and who has passed a
written examination designed to show that he or she is qualified to practice
land surveying may be granted a certificate of licensure to practice land
surveying in this state if he or she is otherwise qualified.

(B) Each year of satisfactory work in an approved
engineering or engineering technology curriculum majoring in surveying may be
considered as one (l) year of experience in land surveying, but not exceeding

two (2) years.

SECTION 54. Arkansas Code § 17-48-203(c), concerning the
qualifications for licensure as a surveyor intern, is amended to read as
follows:

(c) A person who—shews—to—the satisfaection of the board that he or she
is—a person—of good charaeter shall be eligible for licensure as a surveyor
intern if he or she qualifies under one (1) of the following provisions:

(1) A person holding a certificate of licensure as a surveyor
intern issued to him or her on the basis of a written examination by proper
authority of a state, territory, possession of the United States, the
District of Columbia, or any foreign country, based on requirements and
qualifications as shown on his or her application, which requirements and
qualifications, in the opinion of the board, are equal to or higher than the
requirements of this chapter, may be licensed as a surveyor intern at the
discretion of the board;

(2) A graduate from an approved engineering curriculum with
sufficient surveying courses, or a surveying technology curriculum of two (2)
years or more, approved by the board, who has passed a written examination
designed to show that he or she is proficient in surveying fundamentals, may
be licensed if he or she is otherwise qualified; or

(3)(A) An applicant who cannot qualify under subdivision (c)(2)
of this section and who has four (4) years or more of active experience in
land surveying of a character satisfactory to the board and who has passed a
written examination designed to show that he or she is proficient in
surveying fundamentals may be licensed if he or she is otherwise qualified.

(B) Each year of satisfactory work in an approved
engineering or engineering technology curriculum majoring in surveying may be

considered as one (1) year of experience in land surveying, but not exceeding
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two (2) years.

SECTION 55. Arkansas Code § 17-48-205(a)(2)(A), concerning the
administrative violations and penalties of a surveyor, is amended to read as

follows:

(A) A felony listed under § 17-2-102;

SECTION 56. Arkansas Code § 17-50-301(a)(2), concerning applicant
qualifications for registration as a certified water well driller or

certified pump installer, is repealed.

{2)—Isof good moral characters

SECTION 57. Arkansas Code § 17-52-308(b)(3), concerning complaints
against and disciplinary procedures for a home inspector, is amended to read
as follows:

(3)€A) Conviction in—any jurisdiction—of a misdemeanor—involving
moral turpitudeor of any felony listed under § 17-2-102-
B)—A plea—of nolo contendere or nocontest—is considered

s e 1 £ thi fon;

SECTION 58. Arkansas Code § 17-52-315(a), concerning the application
for registration as a home inspector, is amended to read as follows:

(a) Any person applying for registration or renewal of registration as
a home inspector shall beeof good moral charaeterand shall submit to the
Arkansas Home Inspector Registration Board:

(1) An application under oath upon a form to be prescribed by
the board;

(2) A current certificate of insurance issued by an insurance
company licensed or surplus lines approved to do business in this state that
states that the applicant has procured general liability insurance in the
minimum amount of one hundred thousand dollars ($100,000) and, if applicable,
workers’ compensation insurance; and

(3) The required registration or registration renewal fee with

the application.

SECTION 59. Arkansas Code § 17-81-304(a)(2), concerning the
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application for licensure as a chiropractor, is amended to read as follows:
(2) The applicant must submit proof satisfactory to the board of
graduation from a chartered school or college of chiropractic as herein

described and file with his or her application the affidavits of at least two

(2) licensed and reputable doctors of chiropractic shewing him eor her to be
of sood-—moral character.

SECTION 60. Arkansas Code § 17-81-305(a)(6), concerning the

qualifications of applicants for licensure as a chiropractor, is repealed.

{6)—Be—of good moral characters

SECTION 6I. Arkansas Code § 17-81-318(e), concerning the criminal
background check required for a chiropractor, is amended to read as follows:

(e) Except as provided in subsection (f) of this section, a person
shall not receive or hold a license issued by the board if the person has
been convicted of or pleaded guilty or nolo contendere to any felony listed
under § 17-2-102 or a crime involving meral turpitudey fraud, dishonesty,

untruthfulness, or untrustworthiness, or is a registered sex offender or

required to register as a sex offender.

SECTION 62. Arkansas Code § 17-82-304(b), concerning the licensing
procedure for dentists, is amended to read as follows:
(b) An applicant:
(1) Must Shall:
(A) Be at least twenty-one (21) years of age and—of good
moral reputationand charaeter;
(B) Submit upon request sueh proof as required by the
board may require touching upon ageyeharaetery and fitness; and
(C) Have beern graduated from an American Dental
Association-accredited college of dentistry with the degree of Doctor of
Dental Surgery or Doctor of Dental Medicine; or
(2) Must Shall:
(A) Be at least twenty-one (21) years of age andof good
moral reputation and charaecter;
(B) Have graduated from a college of dentistry in North

America with the degree of Doctor of Dental Surgery, Doctor of Dental
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Medicine, or an equivalent degree approved by the board;

(C) Have passed an examination approved by the board and
authorized under § 17-82-303;

(D) Be a resident of the State of Arkansas and the United
States and be in compliance with federal laws of immigration; and

(E) Serve a period of at least one (l) year under a
provisional license issued by the board to foreign graduates and successfully
complete the monitoring requirements as ordered by the board at the time the

provisional license is issued.

SECTION 63. Arkansas Code § 17-82-306(b), concerning the licensing
procedures for dental hygienists, is amended to read as follows:
(b) An applicant must shall:

{1)—Beof good moral reputation and character;

42)(1l) Have graduated from a dental hygiene program which is
accredited by the American Dental Association Commission on Dental
Accreditation and approved by the board for the training of dental
hygienists; and

43)(2) Submit upon request sueh proof as required by the board
may require touching upon eharaeterand fitness.

SECTION 64. Arkansas Code § 17-82-308(b)(3), concerning the
credentials for dentists and dental hygienists licensed in other states, is
amended to read as follows:

(3) A certificate from the authority which issued the license,
setting forth the applicant’s meral reputation—and echaraetery history with
the board, professional ability, and such other information or data as the

board may deem necessary or expedient.

SECTION 65. Arkansas Code § 17-82-316(c)(3), concerning the revocation
or suspension of a license for a dentist, dental hygienist, or dental
assistant, is amended to read as follows:

(3) The commission of any criminal operation; habitual
drunkenness for a period of three (3) months; insanity; adjudication of
insanity or mental incompetency if deemed detrimental to patients; conviction

of an—infamous—erime or a felony listed under § 17-2-102; addiction to
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narcotics; immoral, dishonorable, or scandalous conduct; professional
incompetency; failure to maintain proper standards of sanitation or failure
otherwise to maintain adequate safeguards for the health and safety of
patients; or employment in the practice of the profession of any drug,
nostrum, unknown formula, or dangerous or unknown anesthetic not generally

used by the dental profession;

SECTION 66. Arkansas Code § 17-82-802 is amended to read as follows:

17-82-802. License eligibility.

A person shall not be eligible to receive or hold a license to practice
dentistry or another healthcare profession issued by the Arkansas State Board

of Dental Examiners if the person has pleaded guilty or nolo contendere or
has been found guilty of either an infamouserime that would impaethis or

1 bild . . 1 hved . he S £ Ayl
a felony fetd

pardoned listed under § 17-2-102.

SECTION 67. Arkansas Code § 17-83-307 is amended to read as follows:

17-83-307. Grounds for denial, revocation, or suspension.

The Arkansas Dietetics Licensing Board may refuse to issue or renew a
license or may revoke or suspend a license issued under this chapter for any
of the following, but is not limited to:

(1) Violation of a provision of this chapter;

(2) Engaging in unprofessional conduct or gross incompetence as
defined by the rules of the board or violating the standards of professional
responsibility adopted and published by the board; or

(3) Conviction in—this—er any other state of any erime that isa
felony inthis state of a felony listed under § 17-2-1024eo%¢

{4)—GConvietionof a felony in a federal ecourt.

SECTION 68. Arkansas Code § 17-84-304(a)(3), concerning the
qualifications for licensure and internship for hearing instrument
dispensers, is amended to read as follows:

(3) Show to the satisfaction of the board that he or she:
(A) 1Is twenty (20) years of age or older; and

(B) Has an education equivalent of two (2) or more years
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of accredited college-level course work from a regionally accredited college
or universitys—and
{6)—TIs—of good -moral character.

SECTION 69. Arkansas Code § 17-84-308(a)(l), concerning the
suspension, revocation, nonissuance, or nonrenewal of a hearing instrument
dispenser license, is amended to read as follows:

(1) Being convicted of a crime invelving meoral turpitudeA

| ok ) i fied by the 4ud he clerk of tl
] ] o 1 ehall l ffie id

suspensiony revocationy or refusal to issue or renew listed under § 17-2-102;

SECTION 70. Arkansas Code § 17-86-203(e)-(h), concerning the powers

and duties of the State Board of Health regarding massage therapy licenses,

are amended to read as follows:

(e){) For purposes of this section, an—applicantis noteligible teo

the board shall follow the licensing restrictions based on criminal records

under § 17-2-102.
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i1y T 14 . iminal s

SECTION 71. Arkansas Code § 17-86-303(a)(l), concerning qualifications

for licensure as a massage therapist, is amended to read as follows:

(1) Furnish to the Department of Health satisfactory proof that

he or she is eighteen (18) years of age or older and of good moral charaecter;

SECTION 72. Arkansas Code § 17-86-311(a), concerning the disciplinary
actions and penalties for massage therapists, is amended to read as follows:

(a) The Massage Therapy Technical Advisory Committee may deny,
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suspend, place on probation, or revoke a license upon any one (1) of the
following grounds:

(1) ¢ s £ £inds e i1 e 1 e

felony listed under § 17-2-102;

(2) Malpractice or gross incompetency;

(3) The use in advertisements of untruthful or improbable
statements or flamboyant, exaggerated, or extravagant claims concerning the
licensee’s professional excellence or abilities;

(4) Habitual drunkenness or habitual use of any illegal drugs;

(5) Serving alcoholic beverages at the clinic or school in a

room where massage therapy is being performed or in a massage therapy school;

(6) Moral turpitude or immoral or unprofessienal Unprofessional

conduct;

(7) Failure to comply with the Department of Health’s Massage
Therapy Code of Ethics or any valid regulation or order of the committee;

(8) Invasion of the field of practice of any profession for
which a license is required, the diagnosis of ailments, diseases, or injuries
of human beings, the performance of osseous adjustments, prescription of
medications, or other breaches of the scope of practice of massage therapy;

(9) Failure of any licensee to comply with this chapter; or

(10) Failure to have licensed personnel to perform massage

therapy techniques in his or her clinic or school.

SECTION 73. Arkansas Code § 17-87-301(a), concerning the
qualifications for an applicant for licensure as a registered nurse, is
amended to read as follows:

(a) Qualificatioms. Before taking the examination or before the
issuance of a license by endorsement, an applicant for a license to practice
professional nursing shall submit to the Arkansas State Board of Nursing
written evidence, verified by oath, that the applicant:

1H)—Isof good moral charactersy

42)(l) Has completed an approved high school course of study or
the equivalent thereof as determined by the appropriate educational agency;
and

43)(2) Has completed the required approved professional nursing
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education program.

SECTION 74. Arkansas Code § 17-87-304(a), concerning the
qualifications of an applicant for licensure as a licensed practical nurse,
is amended to read as follows:

(a) Qualificatioms. An applicant for a license to practice practical
nursing shall submit to the Arkansas State Board of Nursing evidence,
verified by oath, that the applicant:

{1)—TIs—of good moral characters

42)(1) Has completed an approved high school course of study or
the equivalent thereof as determined by the appropriate educational agency;
and

43)(2) Has completed a prescribed curriculum in a state-approved
program for the preparation of practical nurses and holds a diploma or
certificate therefrom. However, the board may waive this requirement if the

board determines the applicant to be otherwise qualified.

SECTION 75. Arkansas Code § 17-87-305(a), concerning the
qualifications of an applicant for licensure as a licensed psychiatric
technician nurse, is amended to read as follows:

(a) Qualificatioms. An applicant for a license to practice
psychiatric technician nursing shall submit to the Arkansas State Board of
Nursing evidence, verified by oath, that the applicant:

H—Isof good moral charactersy

42)(l) Has completed an approved high school course of study or
the equivalent thereof as determined by the appropriate educational agency;
and

43)(2) Has completed a prescribed curriculum in a state-approved
program for the preparation of psychiatric technician nurses and holds a
diploma or certificate therefrom. However, the board may waive this

requirement if the board determines the applicant to be otherwise qualified.

SECTION 76. Arkansas Code § 17-87-312(d)-(l), concerning criminal
background checks for nurses, are amended to read as follows:
(d) Upon completion of the criminal background check, the

Identification Bureau of the Department of Arkansas State Police shall
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forward to the board all releasable information obtained concerning the
applicant in—the commissionof any offense listed in subseetion(e)of this
seetion.

(e) For purposes of this section, the board shall follow the licensing

restrictions based on criminal records under § 17-2-102. Exeept—as—provided

hibited in §§ 5-14-124 — 5-14-1274
19y 1 hibited in § 5-26-202;
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(20} Fel ce . he £amil hibited in §§ 5
26-303—5-26-306+

licitati iminal . hibited in §§ 5-3-201, 5-3-202, 5
3_30] 1 5_3_401 . £ i eg listed in thi | fon.

(£f)(1)4A)> The board may issue a nonrenewable temporary permit for

licensure to a first-time applicant pending the results of the criminal
background check.
4B)(2) The permit shall be valid for no more than six (6)
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months.

(C) Ot} ‘4 . . 1 1 14 1
not—posea threat to the health or safety of the publie-

H(g)(l) Any information received by the board from the
Identification Bureau of the Department of Arkansas State Police pursuant—te

under this section shall not be available for examination except by:
(A) The affected applicant for licensure or his or her
authorized representative; or
(B) The person whose license is subject to revocation or
his or her authorized representative.
(2) No record, file, or document shall be removed from the
custody of the Department of Arkansas State Police.

43)(h) Any information made available to the affected applicant for
licensure or the person whose license is subject to revocation shall be
information pertaining to that person only.

£5>(i) Rights of privilege and confidentiality established in this
section shall not extend to any document created for purposes other than this

background check.
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) (j) The board shall adopt the necessary rules and-regulatiens to

fully implement the provisions of this section.

L) hibited—in § 5-33-301.

SECTION 77. Arkansas Code § 17-87-707(a)(l), concerning disciplinary
actions for nurses, is amended to read as follows:
(1) Has been found guilty of or pleads guilty or nolo contendere
to:
(A) Fraud or deceit in procuring or attempting to procure
a medication assistive person certificate; or

(B) Providing services as a medication assistive person
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without a valid certificate; e®

(0} Committs Lme_of 1 frudes

SECTION 78. Arkansas Code § 17-88-302(2), concerning the
qualifications of an applicant for licensure as an occupational therapist, is

repealed.

{2)—The-applicant -must-be of good -moral characterys

SECTION 79. Arkansas Code § 17-88-309(b)(4), concerning the denial,

revocation, or suspension of an occupational therapist license, is amended to

read as follows:

(4) Being convicted of a erimey; other than minor offenses

therapyassistant felony listed under § 17-2-102; and

SECTION 80. Arkansas Code § 17-89-302(a), concerning the
qualifications of an applicant for licensure as a licensed dispensing
optician, is amended to read as follows:

(a) Every applicant for examination as a licensed dispensing optician
shall present satisfactory evidence to the Arkansas Board of Dispensing
Opticians that he or she is over twenty-one (21) years of age, of good meoral
charaetery a high school graduate or the equivalent thereof, and either:

(1) 1Is a graduate of a school of opticianry whose curriculum
consists of at least eighteen (18) months of didactic and practical
instruction which is accredited by a national accreditation organization and
approved by the board; or

(2) (A) Has been engaged in the providing of ophthalmic
dispensing services, as defined in this chapter, in the State of Arkansas for
a period of not less than five (5) years immediately before application.

(B) No more than three (3) years may consist of:
(i) Working in a qualified service optical
laboratory approved by the board; or

(ii) Providing ophthalmic dispensing services under
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the direct supervision of an Arkansas-licensed or registered dispensing
optician, Arkansas-licensed optometrist, or Arkansas physician skilled in

diseases of the eye.

SECTION 81. Arkansas Code § 17-89-303 is amended to read as follows:

17-89-303. Qualifications — Registered dispensing opticians.

Every applicant for examination as a registered dispensing optician
shall present satisfactory evidence to the Arkansas Board of Dispensing
Opticians that he or she is over twenty-one (21) years of age, of good meoral
eharaetery a high school graduate or the equivalent thereof, and either:

(1) Has a minimum of three (3) years’ dispensing experience in
Arkansas under the direct supervision of an Arkansas-licensed optometrist or
Arkansas-licensed physician skilled in disease of the eye;

(2) Has a minimum of three (3) years’ experience under the
direct supervision of a licensed or registered dispensing optician holding a
certificate of licensure or registry in the State of Arkansas, one (1) year
of which may be while working in a qualified full-service optical laboratory
approved by the board; or

(3) 1Is a graduate of an approved school of opticianry which has
been accredited by a national accreditation organization and is recognized by

the board.

SECTION 82. Arkansas Code § 17-89-305(b), concerning reciprocity for
dispensing opticians, is amended to read as follows:

(b) The certificate may be issued without a written or practical
examination upon payment of the fee prescribed in § 17-89-304(f) to the
Secretary-treasurer of the Arkansas Board of Dispensing Opticians and upon
satisfactory proof that the applicant:

(1) 1Is qualified under the provisions of this chapter;

{2)—Its—of good moral charactersy

43)(2) Has provided ophthalmic dispensing services to the public
as a dispensing optician in the state of licensure or registration for a
period of at least five (5) years for licensure or three (3) years for
registration immediately before his or her application for reciprocity to
this state; and

€4)(3) 1Is licensed or registered in a state which grants like
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reciprocal privileges to opticians who hold certificates of licensure or

registry issued by this state.

SECTION 83. Arkansas Code § 17-89-306(b), concerning an ophthalmic
dispensers from nonlicensing states seeking licensure as a dispensing
opticians in Arkansas, is amended to read as follows:

(b) The applicant must shall:

(1) Be qualified under the provisions of this chapter;

{2)—Be—of good -moral characters

43)(2) Have been engaged in ophthalmic dispensing as described
in § 17-89-102(4) for a period of:

(A) Five (5) years for applicants for licensure, of which
no more than three (3) years may be while working in a qualified full-service
optical laboratory approved by the board; or

(B) Three (3) years for applicants for registry, of which
no more than one (1) year may be while working in a qualified full-service
laboratory approved by the board immediately before the date of application;

€4)(3) Successfully complete the written and practical
examination for licensure or registry prepared and conducted by the board;
and

£5)(4) Have paid the fee prescribed in § 17-89-304(f) to the

Secretary-treasurer of the Arkansas Board of Dispensing Opticians.

SECTION 84. Arkansas Code § 17-89-309(a)(3), concerning grounds of
denial, suspension, or revocation of a licensure or registration of an
ophthalmic dispensers, is amended to read as follows:

(3) The applicant, licensee, or registrant being convicted of a

felony listed under § 17-2-102 in—any state or federal ecourty and net

SECTION 85. Arkansas Code § 17-90-301(b), concerning examinations for
licensure as an optometrist, is amended to read as follows:
(b) Every applicant for examination shall present satisfactory

evidence that he or she is:
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(1) ©Ower At least twenty-one (21) years of age;

(2) A successful candidate having passed all parts of the
National Board of Examiners in Optometry examination since January 1, 1997;
and

{3)—0f good-moral -character;—and

4)(3) A graduate of a college of optometry that has been
accredited by the Accreditation Council on Optometric Education of the

American Optometric Association.

SECTION 86. Arkansas Code § 17-90-302(c)(3), concerning licensure by
endorsement for optometrists, is amended to read as follows:

(3) A certificate of good standing from each authority which
issued the license, setting forth the applicant’s meral reputationand
charaetery history with the authority, professional ability, continuing
education compliance, and other information or data as the State Board of

Optometry may deem necessary or expedient;

SECTION 87. Arkansas Code § 17-90-305(a)(3), concerning the grounds
for denial, revocation, or suspension of an optometrist license, is amended
to read as follows:

(3) Conviction of a felony listed under § 17-2-102 or the

conviction of a misdemeanor, if the misdemeanor conduct would denote an

impairment in the ability to practice optometry;

SECTION 88. Arkansas Code § 17-91-101(a), concerning the licensing
requirements for an osteopathic physician, is amended to read as follows:
(a) The Arkansas State Medical Board shall accept for licensure by
examination any person who:
(1) 1Is at least twenty-one (21) years of age;
(2) 1Is a citizen of the United States;
{3)—Its—of good moral charactersy
£4)(3) Has not been guilty of acts constituting unprofessional
conduct as defined in the Arkansas Medical Practices Act, § 17-95-201 et
seq., § 17-95-301 et seq., and § 17-95-401 et seq.;
£5)(4) 1Is a graduate of an osteopathic college of medicine whose

course of study has been recognized by the Department of Education of the
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American Osteopathic Association; and
46)(5) Has completed a one-year internship in a hospital
approved by the American Medical Association or the American Osteopathic

Association.

SECTION 89. Arkansas Code § 17-92-305(a), concerning qualification of
applicants for licensure as a pharmacist, is amended to read as follows:
(a) Each applicant for examination as a pharmacist shall:
(1) Shall be Be not less than twenty-one (21) years of age; and
£2)—Shall be of good meral character and temperate habitsiand
£3)>(2) Shall -have Have:

(A) Graduated and received the first professional
undergraduate degree from a pharmacy degree program which has been approved
by the Arkansas State Board of Pharmacy; or

(B) Graduated from a foreign college of pharmacy,
completed a transcript verification program, taken and passed a college of
pharmacy equivalency exam program, and completed a process of communication
ability testing as defined under board regulations so that it is assured that

the applicant meets standards necessary to protect public health and safety.

SECTION 90. Arkansas Code § 17-92-311(a)(3), concerning grounds for
revocation, suspension, or nonrewal of licensure or registration, is amended
to read as follows:

(3) The person has been found guilty or pleaded guilty or nolo
contendere in a criminal proceeding, regardless of whether or not the
adjudication of guilt or sentence is withheld by a court of this state,
another state, or the United States Government for:

(A) Any felony listed under § 17-2-102;
(B) Any act involving meral turpitudey gross immoralityy

or which is related to the qualifications, functions, and duties of a

licensee; or
(C) Any violation of the pharmacy or drug laws or rules of
this state, or of the pharmacy or drug statutes, rules, and regulations of

any other state or of the United States Government;

SECTION 91. Arkansas Code § 17-92-317(e), concerning criminal
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background check requirements for an intern or pharmacist license or a

pharmacy technician registration, is amended to read as follows:
(e) Notwithstanding the provisions of § 17-1-103, no—person—shall be a

person is not eligible to receive or hold an intern or pharmacist license or

pharmacy technician registration issued by the board if that person has
pleaded guilty or nolo contendere to, or has been found guilty of, any of the
following offenses, regardless of whether an adjudication of guilt or
sentencing or imposition of sentence is withheld, by any court in the State
of Arkansas or of any similar offense by a court in another state or of any
similar offense by a federal court:

(1) Any felony listed under § 17-2-102;

(2) Any act involving meral turpitudey gross immorality,

dishonesty, or which is related to the qualifications, functions, and duties

of a person holding the license or registration; or

(3) Any violation of Arkansas pharmacy or drug law or
regulations, including, but not limited to, this chapter, the Uniform
Controlled Substances Act, § 5-64-101 et seq., and the Food, Drug, and
Cosmetic Act, § 20-56-201 et seq.

SECTION 92. Arkansas Code § 17-93-303(b), concerning qualification of
applicants for licensure as a physical therapist, is amended to read as
follows:

(b) Each physical therapist applicant shall:

(1) Be at least twenty-one (21) years of age;

{2)—Beof good moral charaectersy

3)(2) Have graduated from a school of physical therapy
accredited by a national accreditation agency approved by the board;

£4)(3) Have passed examinations selected and approved by the
board; and

45)(4) Submit fees as determined by the board.

SECTION 93. Arkansas Code § 17-93-304(b), concerning qualification of
applicants for licensure as a physical therapist assistant, is amended to
read as follows:

(b) Each physical therapist assistant applicant shall:

(1) Be at least eighteen (18) years of age;
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{2)—Beof good moral characters

3)(2) Have graduated from a school of physical therapy
accredited by a national accreditation agency approved by the Arkansas State
Board of Physical Therapy;

44)(3) Have passed examinations selected and approved by the
Arkansas State Board of Physical Therapy; and

45)(4) Submit fees as determined by the Arkansas State Board of

Physical Therapy.

SECTION 94. Arkansas Code § 17-93-308(a) (4), concerning the
revocation, suspension, or denial of licensure for physical therapists, is

repealed.

(4} Has 1 icted of ime imvolvi 1 Ceudes

SECTION 95. Arkansas Code § 17-93-412(a)(l), concerning the
revocation. suspension, or denial of a license for an athletic trainer, is

amended to read as follows:

(1) Been convicted of a felony er misdemeanoerinvelwving moral

SECTION 96. Arkansas Code § 17-95-104(a)(2), concerning a hospital’s

duty to report physician misconduct, is amended to read as follows:
(2) The hospital shall also report any other formal disciplinary
action concerning any such physician taken by the hospital upon

recommendation of the medical staff relating to professional ethics, medical

incompetence, meralturpitudey or drug or alcohol abuse.

SECTION 97. Arkansas Code § 17-95-307 is amended to read as follows:

17-95-307. License eligibility.

Ne A person shall -be is not eligible to receive or hold a license to
practice medicine or another healthcare profession issued by the Arkansas

State Medical Board if the person has pleaded guilty or nolo contendere to or

has been found guilty of either an infamous erime that would impaethis or
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herability to praetice medicine in the State of Arkansas—or a felony listed
under § 17-2-102y regardless—of whether the convietion has been sealedy
expunged,—or pardoned.

SECTION 98. Arkansas Code § 17-95-403(b)(2), concerning qualification
of applicants for licensure as a physician, is amended to read as follows:

(2) Is—of good moral charaeter and has Has not been guilty of

acts constituting unprofessional conduct as defined in § 17-95-409;

SECTION 99. Arkansas Code § 17-95-408(d) (2), concerning annual
registration for licensure as a physician, is amended to read as follows:

(2) 1If application for reinstatement is made, the board shall
consider the meoral echaraeterand professional qualifications of the applicant
upon notice and hearing before ordering reinstatement. Unless such a showing
shall thereupon be made to the board as would entitle the applicant to the

issuance of an original license, reinstatement shall be denied.

SECTION 100. Arkansas Code § 17-95-409(a)(2)(A), concerning the
grounds for denial, suspension, or revocation of a physician license, is
amended to read as follows:

(A)(i) Conviction of anyerime dinvolwving moral turpitude
or——convietion—of a felony listed under § 17-2-102.

(ii) The judgment of any such conviction, unless

pending upon appeal, shall be conclusive evidence of unprofessional conduct;

SECTION 101. Arkansas Code § 17-95-903(b)(7), concerning
qualifications of an applicant for licensure as a graduate registered
physician, is repealed.

H—IEs—of good moral charaecters and

SECTION 102. Arkansas Code § 17-95-910 is amended to read as follows:
17-95-910. Violationm.
Following the exercise of due process, the Arkansas State Medical Board
may discipline a graduate registered physician who:
(1) Fraudulently or deceptively obtains or attempts to obtain a

license;
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(2) Fraudulently or deceptively uses a license;

(3) Violates any provision of this subchapter or any rules
adopted by the board pertaining to this chapter;

(4) 1Is convicted of a felony listed under § 17-2-102;

(5) 1Is a habitual user of intoxicants or drugs to the extent
that he or she is unable to safely perform as a graduate registered
physician; or

(6) Has been adjudicated as mentally incompetent or has a mental
condition that renders him or her unable to safely perform as a graduate
registered physiciany—er

+H)—Has committedan—actof moral turpitude.

SECTION 103. Arkansas Code § 17-96-303(a), concerning qualifications

of an applicant for licensure as a podiatrist, is amended to read as follows:

(a) No—person—shall be entitledto A person shall not take any

examination for such registration unless that person shall furnish the

Arkansas Board of Podiatric Medicine with satisfactory proof that he or she:
(1) 1Is twenty-one (21) years of age or over; and
{2)—Is—of good moral character;yand
43)(2) Has received a license or certificate of graduation from

a legally incorporated, regularly established school of podiatric medicine

recognized by the Council on Podiatric Medical Education of the American

Podiatric Medical Association within the states, territories, districts, and

provinces of the United States or within any foreign country.

SECTION 104. Arkansas Code § 17-96-308(c)(2)(C), concerning the
definition of "unprofessional and dishonest conduct" regarding podiatric

medicine licensure, is repealed.

. . . . .
.

SECTION 105. Arkansas Code § 17-97-201(a)(5)(B), concerning the
membership of the Arkansas Psychology Board, is amended to read as follows:
(B) The Governor shall remove any member from the board if
he or she:
(i) Ceases to be qualified;

(ii) Fails to attend three (3) successive board
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meetings without just cause as determined by the board;
(iii) Is found to be in violation of this chapter;
(iv) Pleads guilty or nolo contendere to or is found

guilty of a felony er—anunlawful aet invelwving moral turpitude listed under
§ 17-2-102 by a court of competent jurisdiction; or

(v) Pleads guilty or nolo contendere to or is found
guilty of malfeasance, misfeasance, or nonfeasance in relation to his or her

board duties by a court of competent jurisdiction.

SECTION 106. Arkansas Code § 17-97-302(b)(l), concerning
qualifications of an applicant for licensure as a psychologist, is amended to
read as follows:

(b) (1) A candidate for a license shall furnish the board with
satisfactory evidence that he or she:

{A)—TIs of good moral characters

4B)(A) Has received a doctoral degree in psychology from
an accredited institution recognized by the board as maintaining satisfactory
standards at the time the degree was granted or, in lieu of a degree, a
doctoral degree in a closely allied field if it is the opinion of the board
that the training required therefor is substantially similar;

46)(B) Has had at least two (2) years of experience in
psychology of a type considered by the board to be qualifying in nature with
at least one (1) of those years being postdoctoral work;

D) (C) Is competent in psychology, as shown by passing
examinations, written or oral, or both, as the board deems necessary;

E)(D) Is not considered by the board to be engaged in
unethical practice;

E)(E) Has applied for a criminal background check and has
not been found guilty of or pleaded guilty or nolo contendere to any of the
offenses listed in § 17-97-312(f); and

46)(F) Has not failed an examination given by the board

within the preceding six (6) months.

SECTION 107. Arkansas Code § 17-97-303(b)(l), concerning
qualifications of an applicant for licensure as a psychological examiner, is

amended to read as follows:
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(b)(1) A candidate for a license shall furnish the board with
satisfactory evidence that he or she:

{A)y—Ts—of good -moral characters

4B)(A) Has a master’s degree in psychology or a closely
related field from an accredited educational institution recognized by the
board as maintaining satisfactory standards;

46)(B) 1Is competent as a psychological examiner as shown
by passing examinations, written or oral, or both, as the board deems
necessary;

D) (C) 1Is not considered by the board to be engaged in
unethical practice;

4E)(D) Has applied for a criminal background check and has
not been found guilty of or pleaded guilty or nolo contendere to any of the
offenses listed in § 17-97-312(f); and

E)(E) Has not failed an examination given by the board

within the preceding six (6) months.

SECTION 108. Arkansas Code § 17-97-305(d)(1l)(C), concerning the
qualifications for examination for a provisional license as a psychologist,

is repealed.

6)—Hasgood moral charaecters

SECTION 109. Arkansas Code § 17-97-305(d)(1l)(F), concerning the
qualifications for a provisional license for psychologists and psychological

examiners, is amended to read as follows:

(F) Has not been convicted of a—erime invelwving moral turpitude
or a felony listed under § 17-2-102;

SECTION 110. Arkansas Code § 17-97-308(f)(2), concerning annual
registration for licensure as a psychologist, is amended to read as follows:
(2) 1If application for reinstatement is made, the board shall
consider the meral charaeter and professional qualifications of the applicant

as in the case of an original application.

SECTION 111. Arkansas Code § 17-97-312(d)-(m), concerning criminal

background checks for psychologists and psychological examiners, are amended
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to read as follows:

(d) Upon completion of the criminal background check, the
Identification Bureau of the Department of Arkansas State Police shall
forward to the board all releasable information obtained concerning the
applicant in-the commission of any offense listed in subsection (£)of this
seetion.

(e) At the conclusion of any background check required by this
section, the Identification Bureau of the Department of Arkansas State Police
shall promptly destroy the fingerprint card of the applicant.

(f) For purposes of this section, the board shall follow the licensing

restrictions based on criminal records under § 17-2-102. Execept—as—provided
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3_30] 1 5 3 40 . e cs listed in thi ] .

(g)4H) The board may issue a six-month nonrenewable letter of

provisional eligibility for licensure to a first-time applicant pending the

results of the criminal background check.

Gy ot i d 1 . 1 1 14 1
not—pose—a—threatto—the health or safety of children~

HH-(h)(1l) Any information received by the board from the
Identification Bureau of the Department of Arkansas State Police pursuant—te
under this section shall not be available for examination except by the
affected applicant for licensure or his or her authorized representative or
the person whose license is subject to revocation or his or her authorized
representative.

(2) No record, file, or document shall be removed from the

custody of the department.

(i) Any information made available to the affected applicant for
licensure or the person whose license is subject to revocation shall be
information pertaining to that person only.

> (j) Rights of privilege and confidentiality established in this
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section shall not extend to any document created for purposes other than this

background check.
1) (k) The board shall adopt the necessary rules and-regulatiens to

fully implement the provisions of this section.

Ly hibited in § 5-38-30L.

SECTION 112. Arkansas Code § 17-98-302(a), concerning admission to
examination for licensure as a disease intervention specialist, is amended to
read as follows:

(a) The State Board of Disease Intervention Specialists shall admit to
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examination any person who makes application to the Secretary of the State
Board of Disease Intervention Specialists on forms prescribed and furnished
by the board, pays an application fee set by the board to defray the expense
of examination, and submits satisfactory proof to the board that he or she:
H)—Isa person—of good moral charaecters
£2)(1) Meets the minimum educational requirements;

3)(2) Meets the minimum specialized training requirements, as
determined by the board;
44)(3) Has had two (2) years of field experience in human
immunodeficiency virus/sexually transmitted disease intervention; and
£5)(4) 1Is actively engaged in the field of human

immunodeficiency virus/sexually transmitted disease intervention at the time

he or she makes application.

SECTION 113. Arkansas Code § 17-98-303 is amended to read as follows:

17-98-303. Issuance of certificate without examination.

The State Board of Disease Intervention Specialists shall issue a
certificate of registration without examination to any person who makes
application on forms prescribed and furnished by the board, pays a
registration fee set by the board, and submits satisfactory proof that he or
she:

H—Isof good moral charaectersy

42)(l) Has had at least two (2) years’ experience in the field
of human immunodeficiency virus/sexually transmitted disease intervention;
and

£3)(2) 1Is registered as a disease intervention specialist in a
state in which the qualifications for registration are not lower than the
qualifications for registration in this state at the time he or she applies

for registration.

SECTION 114. Arkansas Code §§ 17-98-305 and 17-98-306 are amended to
read as follows:

17-98-305. Application for reinstatement.

(a) A former registered disease intervention specialist whose
certificate has expired or has been suspended or revoked may make application

for reinstatement by paying a renewal fee and submitting satisfactory proof
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to the State Board of Disease Intervention Specialists that he or she has
complied with the continuing education requirements.
(b) The board shall consider the meral-eharaeter—and professional

qualifications of the applicant as in the case of an original application.

17-98-306. Refusal to renew — Suspension or revocation.
The State Board of Disease Intervention Specialists may refuse to renew
or may suspend or revoke a certificate upon proof that the applicant+
{1)—TIs not—of good-character;or
{2)>—TIs is guilty of fraud, deceit, gross negligence,
incompetency, or misconduct relative to his or her duties as a disease

intervention specialist.

SECTION I115. Arkansas Code § 17-99-302(b), concerning qualifications
of an applicant for licensure as a respiratory care practitioner, is amended
to read as follows:

(b) Each applicant must shall:

(1) Be at least eighteen (18) years of age;

2)—Beof good moral characters

43)(2) Have been awarded a high school diploma or its
equivalent;

44)(3) Have satisfactorily completed training in a respiratory
care program which has been approved by the Arkansas State Respiratory Care
Examining Committee, to include adequate instruction in basic medical
science, clinical science, and respiratory care theory and procedures; and

45)(4) Have passed an examination approved by the Arkansas State

Medical Board and the committee, unless exempted by other provisions of this

chapter.

SECTION 116. Arkansas Code § 17-99-307(3), concerning the grounds for
denial, suspension, or revocation of a respiratory care practitioner license,

is repealed.

(3} Has 1 i eted of e invelwd ]  cudes

SECTION 117. Arkansas Code § 17-100-302(b), concerning qualifications

of an applicant for licensure as a speech-language pathologist or
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audiologist, is amended to read as follows:
(b) To be eligible for licensure by the board as a speech-language
pathologist or audiologist, a person shall:

1)—Be of good-moral charaeters

42)(1) Possess at least a master’s degree in the area of speech-
language pathology or a master’s degree in audiology obtained on or before
December 30, 2006, or a doctoral degree obtained after January 1, 2007, from
an educational institution recognized by the board;

3)(2) Submit evidence of the completion of the educational,
clinical experience, and employment requirements, which shall be based on
appropriate national standards and prescribed by the rules adopted under this
chapter; and

44)(3) Pass an examination approved by the board before the

board approves a license.

SECTION I118. Arkansas Code § 17-100-302(d), concerning qualifications
of an applicant for provisional licensure as a speech-language pathologist or
audiologist, is amended to read as follows:

(d) To be eligible for provisional licensure by the board as a speech-
language pathologist or audiologist, a person shall:

1H)—Beof good moral charactersy

42)(l) Possess at least a master’s degree in the area of speech-
language pathology or audiology, as the case may be, from an educational
institution recognized by the board;

43)(2) Be in the process of completing the postgraduate
professional experience requirement; and

44)(3) Pass an examination approved by the board.

SECTION 119. Arkansas Code § 17-100-307(a)(3), concerning the grounds
for denial, suspension, or revocation of a license, or other disciplinary
action for speech-language pathologists and audiologists, is amended to read

as follows:

(3)(A) Being convicted of a felony listed under § 17-2-102 im
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{6)(B) At the direction of the board, and after due notice

and an administrative hearing in accordance with the provisions of applicable
Arkansas laws, the license of the person so convicted shall be suspended or
revoked or the board shall decline to issue a license when:

(i) The time for appeal has elapsed;

(ii) The judgment of conviction has been affirmed on
appeal; or

(iii) An order granting probation has been made
suspending the imposition of sentence, without regard to a subsequent order
under the provisions of state law allowing the withdrawal of a guilty plea
and the substitution of a not guilty plea, or the setting aside of a guilty

verdict, or the dismissal of the acquisition, information, or indictment;

SECTION 120. Arkansas Code § 17-101-305(a)(4)(A), concerning the
grounds for denial, suspension, or revocation of a veterinarian license, is
amended to read as follows:

(4) (A) Conviction of a felony er—ether erime invelwing meoral
turpitude listed under § 17-2-102.

SECTION 121. Arkansas Code § 17-102-304(a)(3), concerning
qualifications of an applicant for provisional licensure as an acupuncturist,
is amended to read as follows:

(3) Before any applicant shall be eligible for an examination,

the applicant shall furnish satisfactory proof to the board that he or she:

Ay T e . 1 ol by £ild Ceh R 1
14 . 1 ££3davs e 1 (2) b3 . 1
attestto his or her character;
4B)(A) Has successfully completed not fewer than sixty
(60) semester credit hours of college education, to include a minimum of
thirty (30) semester credit hours in the field of science; and
46)(B) Has completed a program in acupuncture and related

techniques and has received a certificate or diploma from an institute
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approved by the board as described in this section. The training received in
the program shall be for a period of no fewer than four (4) academic years
and shall include a minimum of eight hundred (800) hours of supervised

clinical practice.

SECTION 122. Arkansas Code § 17-102-304(c)(4), concerning
qualifications of an applicant for provisional licensure as an acupuncturist,
is amended to read as follows:

(4) Not have been convicted of a felony listed under § 17-2-102;

and

SECTION 123. Arkansas Code § 17-103-305(b), concerning the grounds for
renewal, revocation, or suspension of a social worker license, is amended to
read as follows:

(b) The board shall refuse to issue or shall revoke the license of a

person who has been found guilty of a felonyy—anyerime invelving moral
turpitudey listed under § 17-2-102 or criminal offense involving violence,

dishonesty, fraud, deceit, breach of client trust, or abuse of the vulnerable
unless the person requests and the board grants a waiver under § 17-103-

307(f).

SECTION 124. Arkansas Code § 17-103-306(a)(l)(D), concerning
qualifications of an applicant for licensure as a licensed social worker, is

repealed.

{D)—Hasgood moral charaecters

SECTION 125. Arkansas Code § 17-103-306(a)(l)(G), concerning
qualifications for a Licensed Social Worker license, is amended to read as
follows:

(G) Has not pleaded guilty or nolo contendere to or been

found guilty of a felonyy any erime invelwving meoral turpitudey listed under §

17-2-102 or criminal offense involving violence, dishonesty, fraud, deceit,

breach of client trust, or abuse of the vulnerable;

SECTION 126. Arkansas Code § 17-103-306(b)(l)(G), concerning the

qualifications for a Licensed Master Social Worker license, is amended to
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read as follows:

(G) Has not pleaded guilty or nolo contendere to or been

found guilty of a felonyyanyerime invelving moral turpitudey listed under §

17-2-102 or criminal offense involving violence, dishonesty, fraud, deceit,

breach of client trust, or abuse of the vulnerable;

SECTION 127. Arkansas Code § 17-103-306(c)(l)(H), concerning the
qualifications for a Licensed Certified Social Worker license, is amended to
read as follows:

(H) Has not pleaded guilty or nolo contendere to or been found

guilty of a felonyyeany erimeinvelving moral turpitudey listed under § 17-2-

102 or criminal offense involving violence, dishonesty, fraud, deceit, breach

of client trust, or abuse of the vulnerable;

SECTION 128. Arkansas Code § 17-103-307(d)-(k), concerning criminal
background check requirements for social workers, are amended to read as
follows:

(d) Upon completion of the criminal background check, the
Identification Bureau of the Department of Arkansas State Police shall
forward to the board all releasable information obtained concerning the
applicant inthe commission of any offense listed in subseetion (e) of this
seetien.

(e) For purposes of this section, the board shall follow the licensing

restrictions based on criminal records under § 17-2-102. Exeept—as—provided

4y Negld homicid hibited in & 5101053
5y xid . hibited in § 511 102
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6} False imprs in the £i . hibited in § 5

(26} ¢ loitati : hild im the £ ;
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hibited in § 5-27-605
(27} Fel tle al hibited in § 5-28-103;

e (f) (1) Information received by the board from the Identification
Bureau of the Department of Arkansas State Police under this section shall
not be available for examination except by the affected applicant for
licensure or his or her authorized representative or the person whose license
is subject to revocation or his or her authorized representative.

(2) No record, file, or document shall be removed from the
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custody of the department.

1) (g) Information made available to the affected applicant for
licensure or the person whose license is subject to revocation shall be
information pertaining to that person only.

4i)(h) Rights of privilege and confidentiality established in this
section do not extend to any document created for purposes other than the
criminal background check.

43>(i) The board shall adopt the necessary rules to fully implement

the provisions of this section.
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Ly hibited_in § 5-38-301

SECTION 129. Arkansas Code § 17-104-312(3)(F), concerning violations
of the Perfusionist Licensure Act, is amended to read as follows:
(F) A plea of guilty, nolo contendere, or a finding of

guilt of a felony listed under § 17-2-102 or any offense substantially

related to the qualifications, functions, or duties of a perfusionist, in

which event the record shall be conclusive evidence; or

SECTION 130. Arkansas Code § 17-105-102(b)(6), concerning
qualifications of an applicant for licensure as a physician assistant, is

repealed.

{6)—TIs—of good-moral characters

SECTION 131. Arkansas Code § 17-105-113 is amended to read as follows:
17-105-113. Violation.
Following the exercise of due process, the Arkansas State Medical Board
may discipline any physician assistant who:
(1) Fraudulently or deceptively obtains or attempts to obtain a
license;
(2) Fraudulently or deceptively uses a license;
(3) Violates any provision of this chapter or any regulations
adopted by the board pertaining to this chapter;

(4) 1Is convicted of a felony listed under § 17-2-102;

(5) Is a habitual user of intoxicants or drugs to such an extent
that he or she is unable to safely perform as a physician assistant;

(6) Has been adjudicated as mentally incompetent or has a mental
condition that renders him or her unable to safely perform as a physician

assistant; or
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7y & . . e 1 rudes
48)(7) Represents himself or herself as a physician.

SECTION 132. Arkansas Code § 17-106-107(a)(2), concerning the
licensing requirements for healthcare professionals who use radioactive
materials or medical equipment emitting or detecting ionizing radiation on
human beings for diagnostic or therapeutic purposes, is amended to read as
follows:

(2) Submit satisfactory evidence verified by oath or affirmation
that the applicant:

(A) 1Is qualified to administer radioactive materials or
operate medical equipment emitting or detecting ionizing radiation upon human
beings;

B)—Is of good moral characters

6)(B) Is at least eighteen (18) years of age at the time
of application; and

B> (C) Has been awarded a high school diploma or has

passed the General Educational Development Test or the equivalent.

SECTION 133. Arkansas Code § 17-106-110(a)(2), concerning discipline
for healthcare professionals who use radioactive materials or medical
equipment emitting or detecting ionizing radiation on human beings for

diagnostic or therapeutic purposes, is amended to read as follows:

(2) Has been convicted of a felony listed under § 17-2-102 in—-a

SECTION 134. Arkansas Code § 17-107-310(1l), concerning disciplinary
action for orthotists, prosthetists, and pedorthists, is amended to read as
follows:

(1) Has pleaded guilty or nolo contendere to or has been found

guilty of a felony listed under § 17-2-102;
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/s/J. Cooper

APPROVED: 4/15/19
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Stricken language would be deleted from and underlined language would be added to present law.
Act 1011 of the Regular Session

State of Arkansas As Engrossed: H2/4/19 S4/5/19
92nd General Assembly 1
Regular Session, 2019 HOUSE BILL 1255

By: Representative Dotson

By: Senator Hester

For An Act To Be Entitled
AN ACT TO PROMOTE, RECRUIT, AND RETAIN A HIGHLY
SKILLED WORKFORCE IN THE STATE OF ARKANSAS; TO AMEND
THE LAW CONCERNING LICENSING, REGISTRATION, AND
CERTIFICATION FOR CERTAIN PROFESSIONS; TO ESTABLISH A
SYSTEM OF ENDORSEMENT, RECOGNITION, AND RECIPROCITY
FOR LICENSING, REGISTRATION, AND CERTIFICATION FOR
CERTAIN PROFESSIONS; AND FOR OTHER PURPOSES.

Subtitle
TO AMEND THE LAW CONCERNING LICENSING,
REGISTRATION, AND CERTIFICATION FOR
CERTAIN PROFESSIONS; AND TO ESTABLISH A
SYSTEM OF ENDORSEMENT, RECOGNITION, AND
RECIPROCITY FOR LICENSING.

BE IT ENACTED BY THE GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF THE STATE OF ARKANSAS:

SECTION 1. Arkansas Code § 17-1-107 is amended to read as follows:

17-1-107. Reinstatement of licenses — Definition.

(T s 209 121207 LS
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1 he ekill | ethi  rod 1 Lass 1 ; ]
, ) i lentiale i .

{b)(a) A An occupational licensing entity shall by rule adopt reduced

requirements for reinstatement of a license, registration, permit, or
certification for a person who:
(1) Demonstrates that he or she:
(A) Was previously licensed, registered, permitted, or
certified to practice in the field of his or her profession at any time in
this state;

(B) Held his or her license, registration, permit, or

certification in good standing at the time of licensing, registration,

permitting, or certification;

(C) Did not have his or her license, registration, permit,

or certification revoked for:

(i) An act of bad faith; or
(ii) A violation of law, rule, or ethics;
(D) 1Is not holding a suspended or probationary license,

registration, permit, or certification in any state; and

(E) 1Is sufficiently competent in his or her field; and
(2) Pays any reinstatement fee required by law.

4e)(b) The occupational licensing entity may require that sufficient

competency in a particular field be demonstrated by:
(1) Proficiency testing;
(2) Letters of recommendation; or
(3) Both proficiency testing and letters of recommendation.
- (c)(l) Except as provided under subdivision 4e)}{2)(b) of this

section, the occupational licensing entity shall not require a person who

meets the requirements of subsection (a) of this section to participate in
the apprenticeship, education, or training required as a prerequisite to
licensing, registration, permitting, or certification of a new professional
in the field.

(2) The occupational licensing entity may require the person to

participate in continuing education or training if the continuing education
or training is required for all professionals in the field to maintain the
license, registration, permit, or certification.

4e)(d) A person shall not be required to comply with requirements
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under this section to obtain reinstatement of his or her license,
registration, permit, or certification if the person meets the requirements

for reciprocity.

+£)(e) If a criminal background check is required of an applicant for

an original license, registration, permit, or certification, or of a person

currently holding a license, registration, permit, or certification, then the

occupational licensing entity may require a person seeking reinstatement

under this section to meet the same criminal background check requirements as

the applicant for an original license, registration, permit, or

certification, or as the person currently holding a license, registration,

permit, or certification.

4g)(f) (1) As used in this section, "occupational licensing entity"

means an agency, office, council, bureau, board, commission, department,

committee, or other authority of the government of the State of Arkansas,
whether within or subject to review by another agencysy—exeept—the General
Assemblyy,the ecourtsyand the Governory that has the duty to license,

register, permit, certify, or otherwise approve a person to work in a
particular field or industry.

(2) As used in subdivision (f)(l) of this section "agency"

does not include the General Assembly, the courts, or the Governor.

SECTION 2. Arkansas Code § 17-1-108, as added by Acts 2019, No. 426,
is amended to read as follows:

17-1-108. Expedited temporary and provisional licensure — Legislative

intent.

(a)(l) It is the intent of the General Assembly to ensure that an

individual may be credentialed to work in Arkansas if he or she generally

demonstrates the skills and ethics required by state law based on the

individual’s experience and credentials in another state.

(2) It is not the intent of the General Assembly to cause the

licensing entity to engage in simple comparisons of the required hours of

training and other personal qualifications under Arkansas’s occupational

licensing statutes with those qualifications required in the state where the

individual is credentialed.

{a)(b) As used in this section:

(1) "Individual" means a natural person, firm, association,
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partnership, corporation, or other entity that may hold an occupational
licensure;

(2) "Occupational licensing entity" means an office, board,
commission, committee, department, council, bureau, or other agency of state
government having authority to license, certify, register, permit, or
otherwise authorize an individual to engage in a particular occupation or
profession; and

(3) "Occupational licensure" means a license, certificate,
registration, permit, or other form of authorization required by law or rule
that is required for an individual to engage in a particular occupation or
profession.

4b)(c) An occupational licensing entity shall by rule adopt the least
restrictive requirements for occupational licensure for an individual who:

(1) Demonstrates that he or she:

(A) Holds an occupational licensure that is substantially
similar to practice in the field of his or her occupation or profession in
another state, territory, or district of the United States;

(B) Holds his or her occupational licensure in good
standing;

(C) Has not had his or her occupational licensure revoked
for:

(i) An act of bad faith; or
(ii) A violation of law, rule, or ethics;

(D) Is not holding a suspended or probationary
occupational licensure in any state, territory, or district of the United
States; and

(E) 1Is sufficiently competent in his or her field; and

(2) Pays any occupational licensure fee required by law or rule.

‘e H)A)(d) (1) (A) An occupational licensing entity shall comply with
the requirements under subsection {b)(c) of this section by adopting the
least restrictive rule that allows for reciprocity or licensure by
endorsement.

(B) The rule adopted under subdivision {e)}(I)}€A)}(d) (1) (A)
of this section shall provide the procedure by which an occupational
licensing entity shall grant a temporary and provisional occupational

licensure for ninety (90) days or longer to an individual under subsection
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b)(c) of this section if presented with evidence of a current and active
occupational licensure that is substantially similar to practice in the field
of his or her occupation or profession in another state, territory, or
district of the United States.

(2) If a state, territory, or district of the United States does
not require occupational licensure for a profession that requires
occupational licensure in this state, an occupational licensing entity shall
adopt a rule that is least restrictive to permit an individual who is
sufficiently competent in his or her field to obtain occupational licensure
for that occupation or profession in this state.

(3) The occupational licensing entity may require additional
state-specific education for an individual with an occupational licensure in
another state, territory, or district of the United States that does not
offer reciprocity similar to reciprocity under this section to individuals
with occupational licensure in this state.

{d)1)(e)(l) Except as provided under subdivision {d)}{1)(e)(2) of this
section, an occupational licensing entity shall not require an individual who
meets the requirements of subsection b)(c) of this section to participate in
the apprenticeship, education, or training required as a prerequisite to
occupational licensure of a new professional in the field.

(2) The occupational licensing entity may require the individual
to participate in continuing education or training if the continuing
education or training is required for all professionals in the field to
maintain the occupational licensure.

4e)(f) If a criminal background check is required of an applicant for

an initial occupational licensure or of a—persemn an individual currently
holding an occupational licensure, then the occupational licensing entity may

require a—perseon an individual seeking his or her occupational licensure

under this section to meet the same criminal background check requirements as
the applicant for an initial occupational licensure or as the persen
individual currently holding an occupational licensure.

£)(g) The occupational licensing entity may require the individual
applying for occupational licensure under this section to meet any bonding,
financial statement, or insurance requirements that are applicable to all
applicants.

4g)(h) This section shall not apply to:
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(1) Reciprocity or license by endorsement provisions under §§
17-12-308, 17-26-315, 17-27-308, 17-28-306, 17-31-308, 17-36-304, 17-42-305,
17-43-307, 17-83-305, 17-88-305, 17-89-305, 17-90-302, 17-92-114, 17-92-308,
17-93-414, 17-97-306, 17-99-304, 17-100-304, and 17-103-302; or

(2) The occupational licensing entities that administer the
reciprocity provisions under subdivision {(g)(1)}(h) (1) of this section.

B} (i) An occupational licensing entity may enter into written
agreements with similar occupational licensing entities of another state,
territory, or district of the United States as necessary to assure fer that
licensees in this state have comparable nonresident licensure opportunities
as those opportunities available to nonresidents by occupational licensing

entities in this state.

/s/Dotson

APPROVED: 4/15/19
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